More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.41

Awesome44.32%
Worth A Look: 12.5%
Average: 11.93%
Pretty Bad: 2.27%
Total Crap: 28.98%

5 reviews, 146 user ratings



Jackass: The Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"God forgive me,but I laughed. A lot."
3 stars

'Jackass: The Movie' is perhaps the easiest movie in the world to review. Do you like the tv show? You'll love the movie. Do you hate the tv show? You'll hate the movie.

There's a lot of criticism aimed at 'Jackass'and I'd agree with a lot of it. It promotes dead brained behaviour over thought, intelligence and creativity. For every Johnny Knoxville that has a bit of depth and charm to him, there's 5 long-haired skaterboy loons hanging around him, gibbering nonsense. 'Jackass' has the unfortunate effect of attracting dead-beats, hanger-ons and dropouts who contribute nothing to the show apart from some background scenery. Someone should tell them to get a wash and get a job.

And some stunts just don't work. No matter how many times they dress up as old people to shoplift it won't be amusing. And the party boy who strips off in front of other people and prevents them from crossing a road or doing their job deserves to have every one of his teeth smashed down his fucking throat.That's just annoying, plain and simple.

But then there are the ones that do work and are very, very funny. There's the crocodile set loose in their parents house.There's the paper cuts between the fingers that may well be the most painful thing to watch since Kathy Bates took a sledgehammer to James Caans ankles.

And then there's the highlight of the movie where they sneak onto a golfcourse and interrupt a bunch of jumper wearing middle class pricks by setting off a siren whenever they're ready to tee off. Come on, who wasn't cheering them on when they were doing that? There may be little talent involved here but 'Jackass' has an anti-authority streak a mile wide that's hard to resist.

As I said, it's the easiest movie in the world to review.You already know whether you'll like it or not.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6252&reviewer=293
originally posted: 09/02/04 22:26:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

1/28/10 Dane Youssef "Jackass" Too Hot For TV. Too crazy for the big screen. Is this for you? You know who u r 4 stars
2/09/09 CAPTAIN OBVIOUS Anyone who likes this movie is the reason civilization will die. You are all morons. 1 stars
3/20/08 Vinny Scott Weinberg is still scared by the bloodied shit marked wedgies he received in school! 5 stars
1/23/08 Chase Laughed my butt off. 5 stars
9/22/07 Matt it's freaking funny and nonstop laughs 5 stars
9/10/07 BlackJack Lets face it, Jackass blows, it's for dropkick MTV retards only 1 stars
7/04/07 Charles Tatum Jaw droppingly awful- let the dumbing of America continue 1 stars
5/10/07 manDa itsz a killAh film . id lOv tO c thAt rOund hEree =] 5 stars
3/25/07 Pandaba You bunch of braindead fuckheads, american cesspit 1 stars
2/09/07 kid best fucking thing i have ever seen an insparation. paul should shut the fuck up 5 stars
1/17/07 jack The funniest movie of all time; after Jackass II. those who don't like; don't watch.fuckoff 5 stars
11/14/06 potato it is a wikid film 5 stars
11/11/06 Henry heh, its funny 4 stars
11/06/06 John O. A really good film that does something original... 5 stars
10/21/06 Rave Im 15..And i still find this crap! 1 stars
9/24/06 Mark 100% Grade-A crap! This movie speaks volumes about the level of intelligence in society. 1 stars
9/17/06 papa smurf pain and humilation is funny when jackass does it, 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon dude this movie was funnier tha expected but I didnt expect much but johnny knoxville is in 3 stars
3/21/06 loi paul is a selfobsesd looser with no sence of humer, the movie is brill 5 stars
11/27/05 millersxing lowered expectations for cinemastill earns laughs 3 stars
9/15/05 Tom Burns Hilarious, a laugh a minute. 5 stars
8/15/05 ryan it wz fab ,were making1 5 stars
6/14/05 i am god CKY is alot better 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Like a movie length episode, which means its quite funny but not start to finish hilarious. 4 stars
3/24/05 Wendell Harris This movie was the best sober, but its just crazy when your stones 5 stars
3/12/05 Arnie Weak, but I did laugh a few times 2 stars
1/31/05 Paul get a job 1 stars
1/19/05 Jeff Anderson Yes these morons are sick, twisted, and insane, but I'll except it! IT'S A SCREAM!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/01/04 Kegsie Entertainment is Entertainment. Morals and Wanky Sentiment? No. Fun and Entertaining? Yes!! 5 stars
10/14/04 da hood' this movie used to be funny but people imitating this are no longer funny.... 5 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy I'm not proud of it, but I laughed my ass off, or at least 1/2 off. 5 stars
9/10/04 Munchie8 Kids hurting themselves.. funny, but gets old after the 3rd time... 4 stars
7/08/04 Spinz FUNNY AS HELLLLLL that fog horn on the golf course was the funniest thing! EVER! 5 stars
6/30/04 Max ridiculous film, ridiculous crap, a sure way to get kids to hurt themselves 1 stars
5/17/04 intelligent single woman Mentally retarded fucking pigs who deserve to DIE killing themselves on screen! Please?! 1 stars
5/06/04 becca nkosi exellent baby 5 stars
2/08/04 Jake Entertainment for self hating morons who find self mutalation and abuse funny 1 stars
1/21/04 Cassie Radabaugh Rock the fuck on!!! 5 stars
1/03/04 A F Only watch it once. 4 stars
12/19/03 Ryan Moore Rocks! Fuck the critics, this films rules 5 stars
10/16/03 katie awesome movie..... johnny knoxville is workin' it too! Also, Bams mom said F*** 5 stars
10/09/03 Raven This movie is rock!!! and i want to join them!! 5 stars
9/23/03 Colin You'd have to be very stupid to actualy belive this iskin of crap is good 1 stars
9/21/03 Jinnvisible Who is always in the dangerous animal sketches?(minus bulls)Steve-o `THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE` 4 stars
9/14/03 J You will laugh through entire movie. 5 stars
9/12/03 EDFan has definite highs and lows 4 stars
8/26/03 Jdoe Yeah Dude, they ROCK!!! 5 stars
8/23/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng Not really a movie, but I laughed my ASS OFF! 4 stars
8/15/03 Dear "Dear Moron" Fuck you. you just dont like this cos u r old. this movie is the shizznit 5 stars
8/14/03 Mrs.Steve-O jackass f*ckin rocked! If you don't like it then f u 5 stars
8/09/03 Ghetto Smurf I swapped Tom Green for this. It was almost worth it. 4 stars
8/04/03 Joman fucking hilarious 5 stars
8/03/03 Roxy Lee Taps into the voyeur in all of us. Fascinating. 5 stars
7/31/03 Nicole Wretched - felt ill through most of it 1 stars
7/20/03 JACKASS RULZ this is the best movie eva, shut up all the losers who hate it 5 stars
7/19/03 Daddy Plaid Put that crackpipe down courtney! If u liked this movie, go get Banned from TV Jackass!! 5 stars
7/17/03 Hey Wat NOw? yer it woz da bomb dis shit woz 5 stars
7/10/03 Dead Ringers FX Rule! Laughed my ass off many times. Even more in the DVD "additional footage." Fearless fuckers! 5 stars
6/22/03 Dear Morons Learn how to speak English, dopes. Oh, this movie sucks. Bad. 1 stars
6/22/03 Ghetto Smurf What are you guys, like, 80 years old? This movies gonna win an Oscar! 5 stars
6/07/03 Rob this movie kickes some ass dude 5 stars
6/04/03 courtney i really like it and i think steve-o is HOT! 5 stars
5/15/03 Zach Ridiculous, but I did find my self laughing out loud here & there......... 2 stars
5/13/03 Xcorpion No doubt about it! It realllly SUCKSSSSSSS! Bunch of morons trying to be someone!! 1 stars
5/02/03 ravee Total shit! 1 stars
4/24/03 GWB shite 1 stars
4/18/03 Doc Shock A few good moments, but otherwise I enjoyed the TV show more. 2 stars
4/14/03 Chris Jackass is the best movie of all time! I don't care what you snobby film critics think. 5 stars
4/14/03 Dubs Jackass sucks and its fans deserve to die 1 stars
4/13/03 V Do any of you morons speak English? 1 stars
4/13/03 Ryan Dickey THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!,and sadamn is dead 5 stars
4/11/03 Nikki i hate the critics who put dis movie down;no senses of humor-it rocked-johnny k is my hero! 5 stars
4/09/03 fgh fgh 5 stars
4/09/03 Chris Copper This was a hella funny movie 5 stars
4/09/03 sadam housein sadam iz allive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/08/03 blake hamilton luv it no 1 elz wud hav the balls to do wut they did"sniffing wasabi" 5 stars
4/06/03 mariah funniest movie made in a long time ( johnny is so hot!!!!) 5 stars
4/04/03 Jackass Lover This Movie is the best Movie suck dick if you don't like it 5 stars
4/03/03 nathon i think that it was a great movie where u laugh tha whole way through it and spew a bit 5 stars
4/03/03 Carrie This is the absolute worst movie EVER made!!!!!! This movie doesn't even deserve 1 star!!! 1 stars
4/01/03 Utsav Vaidya I laughed my shit out 5 stars
4/01/03 Shawna Hated it. Didn't need to see a bunch of fags puke and shit. 1 stars
3/31/03 bam margera bloody brillient 5 stars
3/30/03 sarah miller dude this is a funny ass movie!!! 5 stars
3/30/03 Nigel pence Godawfully great!!! Evolution in action 5 stars
3/29/03 jessica buiniskas its very cool love bam m.he is so cool and very cute.bye 5 stars
3/28/03 Rocky I laughed HARD...and I can barely tolerate the tv show. Yeah it was fucking funny. 4 stars
3/28/03 Trever Pryce A non-stop laugh riot. 5 stars
3/26/03 t this movie is the madest movie i've ever seen 5 stars
3/26/03 smitty side splitting 5 stars
3/26/03 Valentina Maoudis I saw it twice and i thought it was great, i was laughing the whole way through it. 5 stars
3/25/03 dominic toreto most halarious damn movie ive ever seen 5 stars
3/25/03 Jon One of the funniest movies ever....Period 5 stars
3/22/03 adam morris funniest/best film i ever saw FACT 5 stars
3/20/03 JT THW WORST MOVIE I´VE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE! 1 stars
3/19/03 nathan parke it was so cool 5 stars
3/15/03 kathryn it was utter bollocks, so there 1 stars
3/13/03 woody cool 5 stars
3/11/03 ben it is fuckin mad 5 stars
3/11/03 Judy sweeney great movie 5 stars
3/10/03 GK Anyone who has ever given this movie a bad rating has watched the entire movie....wierd? 5 stars
3/09/03 Pedro Miguel The Funniest Movie i ever see... The 21 century.. where everything becomes for money 5 stars
3/08/03 Joanna Young It's good for a laugh, it's not like you have to respect them. 4 stars
3/03/03 Taffy Screw you guys. Jackass rules (so does Friday the 13th, might I add). 5 stars
2/24/03 Chris Douglas Funniest thing i ever senn in my life! 5 stars
2/24/03 serial thriller I anxiously await the day these stupid fucks kill themselves. 1 stars
2/23/03 Dani O. There are more practical ways to torture yourself. Such as forks and electrical outlets. 1 stars
2/09/03 Robbie Some seriously funny shit!! 5 stars
2/07/03 Chris The Worst Movie That I've Evere Seen, And I've Seen All The Friday The 13th Films 1 stars
2/05/03 Shari The Decline of Western Civilization - Hollywood Style - ...but in a funny way 4 stars
2/02/03 Chiendog The Decline of Western Civilization - Hollywood style. 1 stars
1/24/03 alien assassin Knoxville is a pathetic excuse for a human being. At least Marquis de Sade was literate ! 1 stars
1/05/03 malcolm just like the TV show only more of all the shit u don't like 4 stars
1/03/03 Adie Very very Funny, but don't let your kids watch it 5 stars
1/01/03 Elizaveta I wish they screwed around with rich white hoity-toity people more than the gross stuff 4 stars
12/03/02 jason painfully funny 5 stars
11/21/02 Warbandit Typical MTV crap, don't waste your money on that sh!tpile 1 stars
11/20/02 palaboy101 Most r really hilarious, some 2 gross. Knoxville & group are either geniuses or assholes. 4 stars
11/05/02 Blubberbot There's no story. Just good fun. 4 stars
11/05/02 JD Best laughs involved bystanders, bikes, golf carts, X-rays, and crashes. Too much man ass. 4 stars
11/03/02 Viper too stoopid, but funny 5 stars
11/03/02 cinkcool Parts were great, some parts unwatchable, i.e snowcone and papercuts. 4 stars
11/01/02 P.D. Perfect for 15 year old boys, it's target. 1 stars
11/01/02 M The title says it all 1 stars
10/31/02 Jahiro Absolutely motherfucking hilarious, never more so than the end, w/"Jackass 2063". Oh my God 5 stars
10/31/02 Dark Barøn Jackasses. 1 stars
10/30/02 Myztiq Grow up 1 stars
10/30/02 Bill People who bash this take themselves too seriously. It was hilarious. 5 stars
10/29/02 Frankly not the best movie ever, but it gave me a fuckin' laugh 4 stars
10/29/02 zotteLORRE pointless. like it? die now, please. 1 stars
10/29/02 Wolf Mostly disturbing, some funny, pay matinee only. 2 stars
10/29/02 Jeff in Montco If you loved this movie, do the world a favor and eat a bullet. Your existance is unwanted 1 stars
10/28/02 Law Mindless entertainment--which we all need sometimes!!! Had me laughing in the aisle!!!! 5 stars
10/28/02 constintine No, No, No 1 stars
10/28/02 Sucks More Than Just Ass People who find this funny are drunk, stoned, or both. For the lobotomized idiots only. 1 stars
10/28/02 .Choadushouse. The greatest non-movie I've ever seen in the theatres! Non-stop laughs. 5 stars
10/28/02 dredphul better than i expected -- but some stunts were stomach turning, don't eat before viewing 4 stars
10/28/02 Butterbean Watching the looks on the onlookers's faces never gets old! 5 stars
10/28/02 Viper stupid but funny 5 stars
10/28/02 Shitmeister Everyone likes feces, especially stupid, ugly people :) 1 stars
10/27/02 Eric I'm sort of embarrased to admit it, but I thought it was funny too... 4 stars
10/27/02 Superdave OMG, WHY? 1 stars
10/27/02 Jiz I smell Oscar too, a plastic one getting rammed up Knoxville's braindead masochistic ass. 1 stars
10/26/02 Lauren Totally entertaining!!! Greg M. shouldn't review a movie untill he sees the WHOLE thing... 5 stars
10/26/02 18to30YoungMale Stupid...but I hurt from lauging. I smell Oscar!!! 5 stars
10/26/02 syrius HOLY SHI- AT! damn!, two phrases that explain everything about the movie 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Oct-2002 (R)
  DVD: 05-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast