More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.63

Awesome: 6.78%
Worth A Look: 1.69%
Average: 6.78%
Pretty Bad: 16.95%
Total Crap67.8%

1 review, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Crow: City of Angels, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"As the crow flops"
1 stars

This sequel to the hit starring Brandon Lee in his last film role has none of the original's characterization, and the cinematography is so yellow, the film stock may have been soaked in a puddle of piss.

Ashe (Vincent Perez) and his young son Danny (Eric Acosta) are murdered by a bunch of drug dealers after they witness a murder. Ashe returns from the dead and is discovered by Sarah (Mia Kirshner), supposedly the girl from the first film, who is now a tattoo artist trying to help the helpless in Los Angeles. What follows is an astoundingly simplistic revenge drama: Ashe is the supernatural personification of the crow, and hunts down the murdering gang one by one, dispatching them in grisly ways and leaving his crow calling card. Eventually, the gang kidnaps Sarah, and Ashe loses his powers to the gang's leader, Judah (Richard Brooks).

No other film in recent memory has been as ugly as this one. Like I said, the film stock looks like it was marinating in a rich urine-based sauce. As the first film was black as pitch (and more effective), this film looks like my VCR is failing. Ashe comes back to life, and has his revenge. There is no tortured soul, no questions about violence begetting violence, this film degenerates into something akin to a slasher film. An unkillable being is stalking and murdering a supporting cast one by one. Substitute topless camp counselors for the gang, and a hockey mask wearing lawn implement wielder for Ashe, and you have a "Friday the 13th" entry.

The special effects are very good until the climax. The film is so unrelentingly ugly, as we are treated to Ashe and Danny's deaths again and again, and Los Angeles has never looked more like Dante's version of hell, that the viewer will eventually succumb to the darkness and give up all hope, too. Despite all the mayhem, there is not a cop in sight, and Perez does not make a terribly convincing avenger. While there are some good effects and direction, eventually this is just another excuse to milk a hit film with little of the first's originality.

The fact that Brandon Lee died so young because of an accident while filming the original makes me sad. What's next? Finding a Vic Morrow look alike to shoot another "Twilight Zone: The Movie?" Oh, never mind, a fourth installment of "The Crow" is set for next year, starring Edward "are my fifteen minutes up yet?" Furlong. You can always rely on Hollywood.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=626&reviewer=325
originally posted: 10/29/03 07:28:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/22/11 cody a good follow up with decent story and action, vincent perez is good as the crow. 3 stars
8/19/09 Jeff Wilder Why some sequels should remain unmade. 1 stars
9/01/05 unlimited Terrible sequel, but...okay on it's own. 2 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez yeah pretty bad 2 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny Worse than the original, easily, but...interesting on it's own. 3 stars
8/29/05 Jabberjaw Poor, pointless sequel, but with an interesting look and feel. 2 stars
8/27/05 cam-ron Sucks, yes, but...it's a masterpiece compared to WICKED PRAYER!!!!!!! 2 stars
8/26/05 Termite Great looking and...well...that's it. 2 stars
8/25/05 Copper Pretty damn bad sequel/remake...gets better with repeat viewings, but still... 2 stars
8/17/05 ES No where near as good as original, hero should have looked different from first movie 1 stars
11/25/04 drfardook Ok, it looks great at times... but keep the mute on to avoid the pain. 2 stars
10/08/04 Restless what an awsome movie 5 stars
7/08/04 Amanda I thought this movie was kick ass in a dark way. The second one wasn't bad either! 5 stars
6/16/04 Jeff W Pitiful rehash of the far superior original. 1 stars
5/14/04 X Brandon Lee must be rolling around in his grave 1 stars
5/05/04 gray let Brandon Lee rip alreadY!! 1 stars
2/23/04 Whatevr I'd rather crap in the dvd player than watch this again 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Not as good as the original 3 stars
12/08/03 lilcutie sucked 1 stars
10/29/03 y2mckay dismal - although the scene in the stripper booth was kinda cool 1 stars
10/29/03 tatum An insult to the original and Lee's memory 1 stars
7/28/03 Boomer This never happened..... 1 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Fancy set design can't compensate for piss-poor writing and hom-hum characters. 1 stars
11/26/02 random greg bloody brilliant!!! 5 stars
11/22/02 dead huh\ 1 stars
7/12/02 Jessica :) I'm surprised Brandon Lee didn't come back from the grave to get revenge. 1 stars
4/13/02 Sugarfoot Goyer knocked "The Punisher" but compared to this crap it's Citizen Kane. 1 stars
3/18/02 Jessica Davis Of the 25 worst movies of all time, one of 7 without Ashley Judd in them. 1 stars
2/06/02 Andrew Carden Even Fans Of The First One Will Be Disappointed. 1 stars
10/17/01 TONEdef seeing deftones for a second made it decent... and good soundtrack... 2 stars
9/13/01 Elgyn I don`t understand how David Goyer (the writer) got work after this. Sets & music are good. 2 stars
6/13/01 blap How can Tim Pope — director of Cure videos — make a movie so bad? 1 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Rich art direction, hot Mia Kirshner, offensive to the late Brandon Lee 1 stars
2/06/01 sting hey that guy looks just like me 5 stars
1/30/01 rubber WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS CRAP? 1 stars
1/18/01 God Jones "Total Crap" is a compliment to this ... thing. 1 stars
12/20/00 Jaymie Should of has Mark Decascos as the movie crow currently he's the TV one 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla total fucked up useless garbage, for shit's sake don't see this turkey, watch the original 1 stars
11/08/00 Romana A kick in the balls to the original 1 stars
5/29/00 Cooke They really could have done a lot better. 3 stars
5/03/00 PJ I realyy loved the first one, and I really really hated this crap!!!! 1 stars
4/17/00 Steve Tied (with Hardware) for my worst movie of all time... 1 stars
3/21/00 Laura MacLachlan Evil, evil, defiling movie. nearly exact plot of the first, but it SUCKED 1 stars
9/23/99 Matt Brandon should come back and kick the shit out of the people who made this crap!!! 1 stars
9/03/99 godsdog How much can you improve on crap? Better than 1st, but they're not taking the idea places. 2 stars
2/02/99 Binky Shameful. Wasted franchise. 1 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart Yukky movie, drinking Pepto-Bismol is more like it. Kills my universe! 1 stars
11/24/98 bizzy crapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrap 1 stars
11/21/98 Slupet Piece of shit movie, drinking draino is time better spent. 1 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce What a disgrace. Brandon is spinning in his grave. 1 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Without Proyas and Lee, this franchise is nothing. What a shame they're making a TV Series. 1 stars
8/28/98 Johny Awful sequel to the great original 1 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress NO! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Aug-1996 (R)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast