More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.24

Awesome: 5.56%
Worth A Look: 9.26%
Average: 7.41%
Pretty Bad59.26%
Total Crap: 18.52%

4 reviews, 30 user ratings



I Spy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Stupid surveillance ."
2 stars

Borrowing the barebones idealism of the original 1960s TV series concerning two spies, one black, one white (formerly Bill Cosby and Robert Culp), Betty Thomas’ re-introduction abandons nearly everything else for a senseless comedy of oopses and whoopses.

Owen Wilson, making no amendments to his typical bumbling characters, is the spy who must team-up with Eddie Murphy, making no amendments to his typical breed of ostentatious characters, playing a boxing champ (“Slapfest in Budapest”) who can gain Wilson the access to a gala of criminals. And at the bash is where the thief of a high-tech government jet is planning to auction it off. It’s 90-minutes of blunder, lessened in asininity only when it finally settles down to the basic mode of dumb comedy by discarding both actors’ usual schtick. Highlights are along the lines of Murphy feeding Wilson the lyrics to “Sexual Healing” in an attempt to woo fellow spy Famke Janssen.

With Malcolm McDowell.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6271&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 17:56:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/20/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Doesn't really have much to do wtih the TV. show, but it's still kinda decent. 3 stars
8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Better than Pluto Nash. But still lame. Go to Budapest instead and see it yourself. 2 stars
5/19/08 PAUL SHORTT INSIPID AND MIRTHLESS 1 stars
9/08/05 matt it had its moments 3 stars
9/05/05 tony stupid with some funny parts 2 stars
6/16/05 mysterio it was really funny, eddie murphy as funny as ever, no problem here 4 stars
2/26/05 swamprat Yeah- worth a look- don't think abouit the plot just watch Eddie! 4 stars
6/05/04 Michael tucker Eddie Murphy made the movie good, he still got it. EDDIE!! EDDIE!! EDDIE!! 5 stars
6/05/04 Geron Smith Eddie Murphy is a g n funny. i dont know why these other dumasses like cat smith or gecko 5 stars
3/26/04 Alfred Guy Borders on total crap. And I watch almost anything. 2 stars
3/25/04 Shelley Shea Eddie Murphy still makes me laugh. 4 stars
3/25/04 Erica Thornton A mildly funny piece of fluff. 3 stars
3/24/04 Cat Smith While I love Owen Wilson, I could have happily killed Eddie Murphy. This film is Crappy. 1 stars
3/24/04 Leslie Lato A comedy... without laughs. 2 stars
3/09/04 Jaco Visser Have ssen better, but what else to expect from Chan? 2 stars
6/03/03 Virgil Both actors are usually funny, but they were floundering in this movie. Sucked! 1 stars
4/19/03 Gecko Fanfoot This movie could have been much better with Chris Tucker instead of Murphy. Oh well. 2 stars
3/05/03 Andrew Carden Horrid Adaption Of Unfunny 60's Crime Show. 1 stars
2/04/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Exasperating overkill of the feuding partners theme. 2 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Eddie Murphy and Owen Wilson are great together. Another great buddy comedy/action flick. 4 stars
1/13/03 343 3r3 5 stars
1/10/03 Paul Coleman Worst movie of the year. The filmmakers should be ashamed! 1 stars
12/08/02 Michael Flynn 1/2*: Let's see...cliches, plot holes, cliches, plot holes...the misery never ends here. 1 stars
11/24/02 Joe Zappa "The Tuxedo," "The Transporter," "I Spy." Same movie, different name. 2 stars
11/10/02 Mipchunk I thought this was about the transexual in Eddie's van, what a letdown. 1 stars
11/06/02 Kyle Kryger Had some slow points, but overall is was the best new release I've seen in 6 months 4 stars
11/02/02 Uncle Salty Shovel this one on top of the other 512 buddy-film shit remakes we've seen. Murphy is OVER. 1 stars
11/02/02 Jake No more Eddie Murphy! He sucks. 1 stars
11/02/02 Darren Shea Passable entertaiment - the leads have good chemistry, but the so-so script drags in spots. 3 stars
11/01/02 monkeysvsrobots.com they are making a hawaii five o movie. i'll probably see that. didn't bother w/ this... 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Nov-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Jan-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast