More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.56

Awesome33.98%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Average: 11.97%
Pretty Bad: 10.04%
Total Crap: 15.44%

9 reviews, 205 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

Me and You by Peter Sobczynski

Man in the Orange Jacket, The by Jay Seaver

Midnight Swim, The by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


8 Mile
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Another Director? This Film Gets The Rap-Off!"
2 stars

Walking into 8 Mile, it was hard for objectivity to hold the door open for me. Itís already impossible for inanimate states of mind to physically hold open anything. Double that when itís a state of mind that, for the first time in my existence as a professional movie critic, I was not ready to engage. I hate rap. Double that hatred for Eminem. Whatís for me to see that I like? Walking out of 8 Mile, I was surprisingly not offended, not angry, notÖreally anything. So why all the hype? Why all the critical praise about Eminemís performance and the importance of this film? All of them questions I pondered upon reflection which reduced me to turning to my imaginary non-friend who calls himself Erikiminem who insisted on debating me in a rap/write-off as to what this film was all about.

So why all the bile
About 8 Mile
Youíre treating this film
Like it were a piece of phlegm
I know that doesnít actually rhyme
But itís a nice try
My question to you is why?


Let me try to put it into actual sentences. The filmmakers of 8 Mile have sworn to us that this is not in any way, shape of form the story of one Marshall Mathers aka Eminem. Itís set in 1995 Detroit where white wannabe rapper, Jimmy Smith Jr. (Eminem) has just dumped his pregnant girlfriend, choked big time on stage at a ďrap-offĒ and has moved back into his momís trailer. Smoking may be illegal most places in California but it doesnít mean they had to blow it all up my ass.

Itís not his life story
Iím so fuckiní saw-ry
Bitch, this movieís about rap
So take yo bitch-ass to the gap


Again, nice to know you can pronounce words anyway you want to make a rhyme, but before I get back to the staw-ry, Iíll address that point. Yes, itís true, Iím not a fan of the rap. But pretend your average white man, black man or alien went into this film knowing nothing about rap. What they would pull away from it is that itís an ďartformĒ thatís the equivalent of calling someoneís mama fat. Anytime anyone in this film raps, its nothing more than a fast string of rhyming insults directed at someone. Thatís the whole point of the rap-off. Even when people are practicing on the street (with the possible exception of re-writing the lyrics to Sweet Home Alabama) itís relegated to putdowns and no reason to go with its rhymes. Iíve certainly thrown the criticism down on others before, but never did I get a record contract out of it.

You donít understand dawg
Get yo head outta the fog
This is about life on the street
A circumstance thatís hard to beat
Itís not about getting rich
Ya stank-ho bitch.


Oh I see, so this is some hard, tough new story that needs to be told to America like Boyz 'N' the Hood or Breakiní? I always hear critics bitching about ďblack storiesĒ being told through the perspective of a white guy. (Glory, Cry Freedom, Windtalkers Ė the list is endless.) Question: Since rap is an artform that was essentially started by African-Americans, where is the outrage now?

Bitch, you are the outrage
Get outta the cage
It ainít about black or white ya know
Youíre just a big homo.


Thank you for proving that rap is clearly about loving your neighbor. I find it interesting that the filmmakers went out of their way to make this a kinder, gentler Eminem. While his real-life lyrics reflect rampant homophobia not to mention more narcissism than Vanity Smurf in the Hall of Mirrors, in 8 Mile his character sticks up for the gay guy, looks out for others and is even supplied with a blond doe-eyed little sister (that he talks to like a puppy) so we can see how sensitive and caring he is. He tells others not to swear and yell in front of her, but then yells and swears and picks fights with the very people heís telling to cease and desist as she watches.

Did we watch the same movie
Or did you run out to take a pee
You know nothiní Ďbout rap
On your head I take a crap


I apologize. Let me get back to the story. This lead character chokes in a big competition at the beginning of the film. They have a best friend who also partakes in the same dream, but recognizes the talent of their friend and urges them to get back on the horse. (They will eventually fight over it and have a brief breakup.) The characters live in a worn-down white trash kind of area and want to break out and get something more for their family. Oh wait, thatís Blue Crush, that surfing movie that Universal put out this summer. Sounds a lot like 8 Mile though, donít it?

There is certainly no comparison
Youíre outta yo league son
Iíll send over Charles Manson
To watch Sanford & Son


OK, I donít know what the hell that means, but you must be tone deaf, dumb and blind not to see the similarity. You want me to even get into Purple Rain with Prince?

Prince is a princess
Like a salad made of watercress
Eminem is the real deal
My favorite meal is veal


Fair enough, Iím not a big Prince fan either, but at least there was music in Purple Rain. You know music. Songs, melodies, instruments. But you truly think the overall film doesnít follow the ABCs of Blue Crush nor play like Purple Rain with a different breed of music? How about this? The tournament at the end? The rap-off. Jimmy Jr. vs. the black rappers who have harrassed and beaten him up for 100 minutes? Would you have been surprised if Eminem crane-kicked them on stage? It wasnít a bit too much Karate Kid for you?

Do you have a problem with that, Mr. Lawrence
Let me give you some insurance
Fifty-four million canít be wrong
Where the hellís my bong


I donít know, but what about the acting? Is Eminemís performance REALLY all that special? Itís a fine, serviceable performance (certainly not worthy of the Oscar hype) of a character that I felt rather indifferent about. Obviously there are some good intentions, but he picks at least three fights in the movie, decides to shoot a police car with a paintball gun when cops are never presented as ďkeeping the man downĒ, and the aforementioned maybe/maybe not knocked up girlfriend ditching (even though he leaves her his car.) Mekhi Phifer is quite solid in the Michelle Rodriguez role from Blue Crush. Kim Basinger is completely miscast as the hottest white trash, physically perfect mother with a thick Southern accent in Detroit. And was Brittany Murphy on cocaine during the entire shoot? Itís obvious she hasn't eaten since Clueless but was she supposed to be playing a coke whore or just a regular whore, because I never saw any drugs?

Brittany Murphy is hot
You are not
Iíd fuck Kim Basinger wearing nothiní but a jacket
You are clearly nothiní but a faggot


How original of you to dip into the gay well twice, but let me get this straight. So as long as the women are hot and are willing to screw, thatís enough for you? And anyone who offers a contrary position is gay? Youíre a stupid, angry young man, Erikiminem. And what is Eminem so angry about? Politics? Bad movies & music? Once you breakout of your crappy existence and become a gazillionaire, donít you forfeit your right to still be angry about how crappy your life USED to be? Unless its helping someone else or bringing attention to a bigger problem, you might as well just be stroking yourself off in the mirror because the only one youíre servicing is yourself.

8 Mile is about strength and growth
Movie critics are supposed to like stories Ďbout both.
You donít know cause ya never lived it
Everything you think you know
You donít know shit


Iíll tell you what I do know, or at least what I think I know. If this movie had been directed by someone other than Curtis Hanson (L.A. Confidential, Wonder Boys); Iím talking some nobody shmoe or some flashy music video director, critics would have dismissed this as just another singer-turned-actor star vehicle with no more depth than a shot glass. Seriously, a directorís name and reputation goes a long way. Imagine the ďA _____ __________ FilmĒ credit. Now fill in the blanks with Brett Ratner, Tom Shadyac or Rob Cohen. Does 8 Mile carry any more or less weight? Would it be any better than say a film called 1000 Miles starring the Proclaimers twins?

Yo...I...Yo Yo Yo FUCK yíall man. I bust a cap in your ass

Way to end an argument. Look, like it, donít like it, doesnít matter to me. The filmís far too absentee on the gritty ďedgeĒ front to truly keep it real and its not incendiary enough to warrant anger. 8 Mile isnít worthy of all the hype and buzz. I could just give a childís answer and say ďbecause.Ē I could have just keep my incoming attitude, the one prepared to simply rip the film, you know. But you know I wouldnít do that cause I write what I see and try to be a pro.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6297&reviewer=198
originally posted: 11/12/02 12:59:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/22/14 Richard Brandt Kudos to Eminem for being willing to portray himself as a mass of insecurities 4 stars
1/13/12 PAUL SHORTT GRITTY DRAMA WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
8/04/11 mohsin havnt seen a better movie than this 5 stars
6/12/11 Jeff Wilder Formulaic story. But well-shot and the performances are good. 4 stars
4/27/09 Jimmy McPerson haven't seen the movie, but this review probably hits it on the head- good site 3 stars
12/28/08 Samantha Pruitt Eminem is great in this, pretty cool story 4 stars
9/08/08 lorene Eminem is HOT HOT HOT!!!!! 5 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Eminem is Awesome! 5 stars
3/15/08 art A REALISTIC AND WONDERFUL FILM EMINEM IS SENSATIONAL 4 stars
10/30/07 Beau A fantastic film with superb yet a suprising performance from Eminem! 5 stars
10/15/07 fools♫gold I can't think of a reason why this is worse than anyotherCurtisHansonflick, but there itis. 4 stars
7/02/07 jon Where can i download this movie for free 5 stars
3/27/07 kathy underheart childress' attempt at 'humour' are as successful as the film 2 stars
11/05/06 Ronin I am not a huge fan of Rap/Hip-Hop but the movie is still great 4 stars
10/16/06 jakey g fck great film ....sum wicked rymz 5 stars
10/16/06 jakey g fck great film ....sum wicked rymz 5 stars
8/20/06 kam wiked but adultly dat smy style go eminem 4 stars
5/17/06 Paddy I never realised made-for-TV movies got distribution before this 2 stars
4/02/06 JRE alright but pointless 3 stars
3/22/06 Chris Awesome! 5 stars
3/11/06 Josh Standlee Face it people, rap music is fucking up the planet! 1 stars
2/20/06 Tanya it is worth a look but not a favorite 3 stars
2/11/06 Seanboy Eminem shows off some serious chops in a pleasantly surprising flick 4 stars
1/16/06 Fuck Rap Music the scene where they make fun of lynyrd skynyrd was stupid, rock is fucking miles better 1 stars
1/09/06 JM Synth Okay, but overated; little appeal for most non-rap fans (and over-20s?) 3 stars
12/30/05 Simon Rap-haters need to just give it a chance; unique and dramatic story, albeit flawed. 4 stars
12/14/05 Indrid Cold Interesting characters and setting, but ultimately nothing much really happens. 4 stars
11/07/05 LP Quagmire All this needs is a charismatic leading man, an arresting plot, and some decent tunes. 1 stars
10/18/05 james awseome 5 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane Emenim is black.... 1 stars
8/13/05 ES you know for an actor/singer M&M is a hell of a candy 1 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington Wildly overrated, are movies with music stars so bad that this is seen as "awesome"? 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Pretty good, I guess 4 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady This reminds me of back in the day when I used to rap,just kidding, fuck this nigger shit. 1 stars
4/29/05 Anthony G Weak shit, eminem is a wigger and he cant act,this movie sucks 1 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway Overrated 3 stars
3/26/05 Denise ok 3 stars
3/19/05 lora eh 3 stars
3/07/05 Elton John emeinem is gay 1 stars
3/05/05 Carolyn Rathburn was not my kind of movie, didn't like it 2 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung eminem rocks! 4 stars
3/02/05 Maggie Dressler A really honest movie - acting could be better 4 stars
3/02/05 Colleen Goldrick Excellent 5 stars
2/08/05 Noodles The film has a thin storyline and is filled with old cliche's. All in all its shit! 1 stars
2/03/05 haha fuck wiggers 1 stars
12/16/04 Misty The film was one of the best movies i've ever saw! I Love Eminem 5 stars
12/14/04 Colby Murtha it was off da chain 5 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams Eminem has to accept that he is WHITE. 3 stars
11/17/04 Gooey yo yo yo this movie is shit, if you like it, you suck ya moms tit. 1 stars
10/31/04 ELI They said bitch too many times. The rest was pretty good 4 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G tru dat! 1 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz ok 3 stars
7/06/04 Talonsoft I wanted to hate this movie, i hate rap, but it was decent 4 stars
7/01/04 Nobody Obscene publicity stunt for Eminem 1 stars
6/06/04 Daveman Apart from the violence and the sex which carried no emotional impact, this is a solid film 4 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 I HATE RAP, but this was still a pretty decent movie, surprised the heck outta me 4 stars
3/21/04 Kayla nice movie..eminem is pretty hott...actually he is really sexy and i love this movie!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/09/04 jad makki nothing 5 stars
3/02/04 Margie Started off good, then gratuitous sex, and I was turned off. Eminem has potential though... 2 stars
2/29/04 actionjackson2099 I would have to say that the best part of 8 Mile was the song Lose Yourself. 2 stars
2/16/04 Rebecka Collier I thought it was ok but it could of been better 4 stars
2/02/04 jdogg eminem raped darkofnight's mom 5 stars
2/02/04 Jack Sommersby Drearily familiar tale, further hampered by Eminem's subpar acting. 1 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody It could have been better - but the rap wars were amazing! 3 stars
1/03/04 A F Suprisingly good. Truth about trying to make it in music. No sugar coated ending. 4 stars
12/30/03 Jiz Kinda dragged, but the ending 15 mins were worth it. 4 stars
12/19/03 ignoramus killer People who says this movie sucks don't know what the fuck they are talking about 4 stars
11/10/03 nigger fo' real white mofucka! WHITE MOFUCKA!!!!! CCCRRRRRAAACCCKKKAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Rap promotes violence and drug use! Let it die out! Rock'n'Roll will survive! 1 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus Great movie, I'd rather see a Snoop Dogg story tho! 5 stars
9/26/03 Goofy Maxwell As timid as Hanson is here, there's no comp. 4 the cowardice of king lucifer. 3 stars
9/17/03 Jinnvisible Needed 30 minutes screen time rapping not 3 minutes screen time raps ,wasted oppotunity 3 stars
9/04/03 king latifah total faggoty shit- all you losers who liked this are worthless nigger lovers 1 stars
8/24/03 FrayLo Pretty enjoyable movie, I'd watch it again. 4 stars
7/23/03 Double G There ar no m'ms in the movie, sucks 1 stars
7/22/03 Monster W. Kung Predictable and quite insipid. Not awful, but certainly nothing special. 3 stars
7/18/03 a_bomb They blocked off most of the city for this? 1 stars
7/07/03 Terrance Rogers It was tight 5 stars
6/11/03 Phil Great stuff!! The rap battles are phenomenal! 5 stars
6/08/03 Jack Sommersby Don't quit your day job, Eminem. 1 stars
5/24/03 Chanelle Watson Wickid! Love the Rapping 5 stars
5/15/03 emily poos this is an awesome movie i watched it over and over again 5 stars
5/12/03 Shadaan Felfeli Good Film ! Though apart from Eminem I couldnt understand a word the others were rapping ! 4 stars
4/13/03 elizaveta I'm such a fucking yuppie. Fantastic 5 stars
4/11/03 Ross Bernard Yawn yawn yawn 1 stars
4/05/03 Stephanie More rapping, less cruising in car would have been more entertaining 4 stars
4/02/03 craig it rules i want to be a rap star but i don't no where to start 5 stars
3/28/03 Jarrod_101 you can do it rabbit! show them you can flow! I believe in you! 3 stars
3/19/03 Blah. Nothing special, but I'm giving it a bad rating just because I hate Eminem fans. Heh. 1 stars
3/13/03 BLACK CHIMNEY SWEEPER oh god- soooo good. almost as good as DRUMLINE, yo. peace out. 1 stars
3/07/03 marzio arigoni@rtsi.ch Too conventional, too sweet, Rabbit 3 stars
2/24/03 don't dis my homies!!!!! '' i'm a white rappa--yo,word,yo.'' yeah. I could care less. 1 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones EMINEM IS AWESOME!!! Keep makin' records and keep toppin' them charts!!! 5 stars
2/10/03 Jolted Chicken a 2 hr promo for Eminem 1 stars
2/06/03 123 Better than wat i expected, didnt think rap movies will be this good 4 stars
1/26/03 Jewels 8 Mile is one of the best movies ever 5 stars
1/26/03 thejames pure shit. if you like this movie you are a dumbass. 1 stars
1/23/03 Parnian Eminem Rox! Eminem Is The King!! 5 stars
1/21/03 sports writer the hip-hop Rocky 4 stars
1/20/03 malcolm rap is legitimate now because a WHITE guy does it? FUCK THAT. nice film though. 3 stars
1/20/03 Pam be Dextrous Interesting, even if Kim Basinger looks too young to be Eminem's mother. 4 stars
1/16/03 dAnNi~AnNiE he is so hott and so good looking!!! he is such a great person i just love him!!! 5 stars
1/15/03 You suck ass at rapping This is the gayest sight ever and you cannot rap u faggot wannabe 5 stars
1/10/03 sarah howell Eminem Rules @ n e thing he do..he so real and speaks his mind 5 stars
1/09/03 michele (mich mich) luv the freestyles 5 stars
1/03/03 GoDfAtHeR truth,pain,love,talent dats wut its all about 4 stars
1/03/03 Jeff Joseph It was sweet 5 stars
1/01/03 marian whatever eminem do is perfect.. 5 stars
12/30/02 Femme_Fataleaa Surprisingly good 4 stars
12/25/02 Matt DeRosa Eminem is the total package he can rap act and he aint scared of shit that we kno of so he 5 stars
12/23/02 Christ Shady Yoo man this movie is cool you know why?! coz Eminem is Best man He is the Best Rapper 5 stars
12/23/02 jad it s a really great movie 4 stars
12/22/02 fi0na truthful and harshly frank, but AMAZING! BRITTANY MURPHY RULES! 5 stars
12/21/02 Pete This movie showed exactly what Em had to go through to proove his tallent! 5 stars
12/21/02 Stephanie Fucking Awesome 5 stars
12/20/02 Mr. Perfect Not bad. Eminem's still a hypocritical coward-ass motherfucker, though 4 stars
12/19/02 heather this is a damn good moviw 5 stars
12/18/02 Dgz. Excellent. 5 stars
12/12/02 robert kelly the movie was the best thing I seen in years! 5 stars
12/12/02 Brian this was a great movie 5 stars
12/11/02 amy "eminemslady84@yahoo.com" you have to buy the movie when it comes out. he's so hot 5 stars
12/10/02 Sarah This is the BEST MOVIE 5 stars
12/10/02 sir cumfrence o my fuckin god this is a great movie!!! 5 stars
12/09/02 Stephen Rawls this movie was the "Karate Kid", but with hip hop. The karate kid rules,8 mile let me down 3 stars
12/09/02 Kris Rossi eminem make everyone look stupid 5 stars
12/05/02 GhEtTo_BaYbE3 It Wuz awsome! I saw eminemz @$$! 5 stars
12/02/02 Bi freestyles are hot as hell 5 stars
12/02/02 Anna This movie was great! And Eminem? Soo impressed by his acting! 5 stars
11/28/02 chris this movie is the best, the freestyles included in the movie were outrageous and sick! 5 stars
11/25/02 Mashed Potatoes Dragged on too much, should have showed him become successful 2 stars
11/24/02 Vince just saw it, definitely worth watching. 4 stars
11/24/02 ajay yeah... just average. 3 stars
11/23/02 amandanine Oh I get it . . . being hostile and stupid is a good thing . . . it's cool and stuff 2 stars
11/23/02 Obi Wan Wow . . .Em did his thing . . .better than I expected. 4 stars
11/20/02 Mortis I just realized Em's kinda hot! But I know why they call him Rabbit! Ha 4 stars
11/19/02 poetchuck Kim Basinger is hot, this movie is not 2 stars
11/19/02 michele it was good but wasn't totally satisfied. 4 stars
11/19/02 Melis "Dope rapper"? Dope actor. Who would have thought? 5 stars
11/19/02 chedder bob yea so i shot my self in the nuts i still think it was a dizope movie 5 stars
11/18/02 Gina Nelson Holy shit it's one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. What can't Eminem do? 5 stars
11/18/02 Steve Eminem is the shit! Whoever dosent think so, can suck my dick! 5 stars
11/18/02 Party Boy 610 This movie was more dope then a bag a smack, FUCK THE FREE WORLD 4 stars
11/18/02 d12 for life eminem is the shit if u dont liek it u must have a vagina and a clit BIATCH 5 stars
11/18/02 Melanie 8 mile kicks ass! 5 stars
11/17/02 april 2 timez + i want 2 go again - illezt shit i eva seen - funnier too + freestylez wuz hott 5 stars
11/17/02 Tim Taylor Hey M&M, you're fucking WHITE!!! You trailer trash sack of nut sack smegma! 1 stars
11/17/02 Bill Sentore I should have spent the hour and 51 minutes getting a root canal 1 stars
11/17/02 Faze LA, NY, MENIME lick balls hg, Tom W., Lady who hates romantic comedies. Tightest battle/bio movie " 5 stars
11/17/02 Dennis its a fucking great movie i love it when he disses poppa rock at the end 5 stars
11/17/02 stacy illest movie 5 stars
11/16/02 cam ive seen 8miles twice and both times it got way better. the freestyles were fuckin amazing! 5 stars
11/16/02 hg sux 1 stars
11/16/02 colleen ryan EMINEM IS MINE.. FUKIN HOTT NESS ...MARRY ME!! 5 stars
11/16/02 Thomas M. Wilborn Jr. I thought that the movie was excellent and I hope to see Eminem do more movies. 5 stars
11/16/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies didn't need a movie to tell me eminem is a white-trash loser -- not the shit, just shit 1 stars
11/16/02 Tom Wells Two words to remember, Vanilla Ice 1 stars
11/15/02 Illicit I thought it wasnt that great when i first saw it but now that i think of it, its a classic 5 stars
11/15/02 eminemkid79 I seen 8 Mile twice the day it opened....it was the shit and I loved the music! 4 stars
11/14/02 ^ZuLu^ I liked it a lot: nice pictures, actors are ok, music's cool, story's great. 5 stars
11/14/02 Joe Stark (Bio Man) This movie is pure shit from beginning to end! Eminem is a little faggot! 1 stars
11/14/02 tim killea i loved this movie, the freestyles were sick 5 stars
11/14/02 KillerK144@aol.com YO the freestyles in 8 mile were off the hook if anybody knows were i can get them tell me 5 stars
11/14/02 eat shit yuppies you got to be a hip hop head to like this movie 5 stars
11/13/02 Amanda Hope Wright I LOVE THIS MOVIE 5 stars
11/13/02 jordan fuck you this movie was the shit 5 stars
11/13/02 mike why did brittainy murphy do this movie she was nothing but a gold digging hussy she must be 3 stars
11/13/02 John Davies Not the best or wost movie, good first performance, I got what i expected, overall not bad! 5 stars
11/13/02 Ray Allen What a joke 1 stars
11/13/02 please, dear lord, shoot me. oh, and people thought crossroads was bad. sing or act...dont do both. 1 stars
11/13/02 liz lost i guess if you want people to feel sorry for you....he should stick to the music..... 4 stars
11/13/02 Stephanie Loved every minutes of it! 5 stars
11/12/02 .Choadushouse. It was fun. B.Murphy was a hot slut. Eminem's dumb making himself look all good..story=WEAK 3 stars
11/12/02 DJ JT MONEY This movie was off da hook fuckin awsome freestyle 5 stars
11/12/02 Lisa D Completly amazing and freestyles were off tha hook 5 stars
11/12/02 Pat Fucking Awesome 5 stars
11/12/02 Jimmy O raper? well....uh...ok. Pretty good movie anyway. 4 stars
11/12/02 kevin sherrer eminem is the best fuckin raper ever 5 stars
11/12/02 Joe Andrusko fuckin awesome, biggest em fan rite here!!!! 5 stars
11/11/02 wordUP eminem knows his shit, FREESTYLE FRENZY 5 stars
11/11/02 Chicago Raven Eminem did a good job, but film dragged. Battle at the end rocked. 4 stars
11/11/02 Film Dude Eminem can kind of act... shattered my expectations, which were jack shit. 3 stars
11/11/02 lisha this movie was fucking badass but i'll admit it could have been better 5 stars
11/11/02 Spankachu it was surprisingly good--way better than that britany spears shit 4 stars
11/11/02 poppinpills eminem knows how to fuckin freestyle 4 stars
11/11/02 Gibbo superior acting, plodding script 4 stars
11/10/02 Eric I'm no Eminem fanboy, but still thought the movie was pretty good 4 stars
11/10/02 khaki jorsen I don't know why, but I liked it. Just like I don't know why I like Eminem, but I just do. 4 stars
11/10/02 Brian eminem just stared at the camera looking pathetic half the time. it could have been worse 3 stars
11/10/02 azn its not freestyle after like, 20 takes to make a scene...movie sucks just like eminem sucks 1 stars
11/10/02 asina Eminem is a surprisingly good actor.... 4 stars
11/10/02 freddy mac yo dis was hot my nigga ripped it at da end 5 stars
11/10/02 Tyree THE BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
11/10/02 john its the gayest movie ever 1 stars
11/10/02 cinkcool not bad 4 stars
11/10/02 mavi999 id go again just to see eminem! 5 stars
11/09/02 Yo Mama! I got very in to this movie...the freestyle stuff was amazing...good stuff! 5 stars
11/09/02 Bunny Rabbit IT WAS NO SPICE WORLD. new low for Kim Basinger 1 stars
11/09/02 Nicole Not exactly sure how I feel about this movie.... 3 stars
11/09/02 KMAN Not a master piece but worth a look 4 stars
11/09/02 Illicit Tight shit, freestyles were awesome, could have been better, all in all tight shit 4 stars
11/09/02 syrius Eminem's acting is pretty good 4 a first timer, other than that, the movie was OKAY 3 stars
11/09/02 thejames Just m&m attempting to rhyme and eating shit. Waste of other talents. 1 stars
11/09/02 The Ayatolla of Rockinrolla Eminem gives a very good performance, but movie drags on and is very formalic. Great end. 3 stars
11/09/02 Slim Anus eminem=gay 1 stars
11/08/02 Frank lots and lots of succulent, delectable handjobs given by brittany murphey 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Nov-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Jan-2003


Directed by
  Curtis Hanson

Written by
  Scott Silver
  Jesse Wigutow

Cast
  Eminem
  Kim Basinger
  Brittany Murphy
  Mekhi Phifer
  Eugene Byrd
  Taryn Manning



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast