More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.44

Awesome: 10.42%
Worth A Look: 10.42%
Average: 27.08%
Pretty Bad: 16.67%
Total Crap35.42%

4 reviews, 24 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


2 Days in the Valley
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I like it for the catfight and the catfight alone."
2 stars

Ack.

*THIS* was supposed to be the next Pulp Fiction?

Not bloody likely.

The flick's a mess. Some all right performances from Eric Stoltz and Danny Aiello, and James Spader is just plain creepy (why can't he play just an ordinary guy for once?), plus a neat little catfight between Charlize Theron and Teri Hatcher.

But that's it.

It's almost too quirky for it's own good.

Fastforward to see the catfight and then turn the thing off. Nothing else to see here.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=637&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/19/98 01:05:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell entertaining crime comedy spader & theron are great 4 stars
5/27/15 stanley welles solid, tense entertainment 4 stars
12/20/10 Mike Pulp Fiction knock-off is passable, but missable 3 stars
11/15/05 Indrid Cold Not nearly as hip or funny as it thinks it is. Some cute girls in underwear though. 3 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson Flawed, but undeniably entertaining. Aiello, Spader, & Theron stand out in a good cast! 3 stars
3/30/04 The More You Know Inspired by a better film, Bread and Chocolate, but Valley drew me into it's ups and downs. 4 stars
4/05/03 Jack Sommersby Ditto, Charles. 1 stars
3/07/03 Charles Tatum Tarantino wannabe 3 stars
4/24/02 Butterbean If Pulp Fiction and A Fish Called Wanda had a baby with a clubbed foot. 3 stars
4/07/01 Monday Morning This is one smart flick; great balance of black comedy, mystery and thriller. 5 stars
2/04/00 arnold entertaining 5 stars
12/07/99 CATM I found it to be very entertaining, Charlize is gorgeous, and the cat fight was just great! 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Aiello saves the day. What more do you want? 4 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Decent acting salvages a lame script. What's the deal with Jeff Daniels' character? 3 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein This movie was written by morons. It is a turd floating in the toilet.damn you Bill Paxton. 1 stars
3/14/99 Love Donkey Fast, funny. I saw it twice. 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules Here's an idea, bad dialogue, stupid story, characters no one cares about... Lets do it! 1 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz As crime films go, this one is a clever toe-tapper. 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald The video cover said "Out Pulp Fiction's Pulp Fiction". This was NO Pulp Fiction. 2 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy watched it drunk. it didnt help. this movie blows ass. 1 stars
8/29/98 Matt I wanted to enjoy this flick, I really, really did, but i was let down 3 stars
8/29/98 Johny Just a lame as hell PULP FICTION ripoff 1 stars
8/26/98 Pete I LOVE Charlize Theron. I wish I could say the same for this flick. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Charlize Theron is great. Stoltz is great. Everyone else was "Movie Of The Week". 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Sep-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Sep-1997 (MA)


Directed by
  John Herzfeld

Written by
  John Herzfeld

Cast
  Greg Cruttwell
  Jeff Daniels
  Eric Stoltz
  Charlize Theron
  Danny Aiello
  Marsha Mason



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast