More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.05

Awesome: 18.75%
Worth A Look: 6.25%
Average: 3.13%
Pretty Bad: 4.69%
Total Crap67.19%

4 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Guardians of the Galaxy by Peter Sobczynski

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eight Crazy Nights
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"If only Sandler's talent were the equal of his egotism."
1 stars

This movie's gotta be the result of some pot-induced wager between Adam Sandler and his nattering cronies: "Hey guys, I'm like a $20 million movie star! How freakin' FUNNY is that? I bet I can make ANY movie I want! I could make a shrill and stunningly obnoxious Hannukah cartoon, one that offers not one single laugh, and I bet a studio would release it!" And the sad part is that Sandler won that bet.

It's a holiday cartoon, so it's kosher for family viewing, right?

No way. Unless you consider farts, shit, and merciless child cruelty suitable family viewing. (One can only assume that Sandler does.)

So it's a nasty and acerbic cartoon for grown-ups then? Uh, wrong again. I don't know many grown-ups who consider 10-second burps and treacly artificial bullshit the pinnacle of entertainment.

WHO was this movie made for? Even those who consider Mr. Deeds and Little Nicky "underrated comedy masterpieces" will watch this one jaws agape, wondering what the hell they're watching.

The animation is substandard, the threadbare plot is stolen (poorly) from A Christmas Carol, the musical moments (yeah, it's a musical) are horribly written and non-melodious, the overall tone is smarmy and hateful, and the voice characterizations are arguably the least pleasant ever recorded for a feature length movie. (Not at all surprisingly, Sandler provides the voices for the three main characters: one bland and nasty, one shrill and female, and one so astonishingly grating that I can't believe the producers kept it in there. Oh wait, Sandler's the King. I forgot.)

This flick could possibly be dismissed as yet another piece of Sandler meandering, but animated films usually take lots of time and effort to produce. The animators must have wondered why they were even bothering.

Every big movie star has their own awful vanity project and now Sandler does too. This one joins the animation ranks alongside Mel Brooks' Shinbone Alley and Ralph Bakshi's Wizards. If you've never heard of those atrocious movies, that's kind of my point.

The only thing about this movie that stands out as memorable is its overwhelmingly pathetic devotion to non-stop product placement. That and the omnipresent awfulness.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6388&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/18/03 05:55:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/11 Ark Turd! Smarmy and mean-spirited! Sandler=turd! 1 stars
12/29/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess A mixed bag 3 stars
5/23/09 art THE BOTTOM OF THE BARELL! 1 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner Sandler makes some great films! 5 stars
7/08/06 NS I laughed and laughed, but it can be offensive crap. 2 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor No comment 1 stars
12/27/04 mjoc Why? Crap this bad should be illegal. 1 stars
8/06/04 ELI I did not laugh ONCE during this movie. >:( 1 stars
5/04/04 Greg Axelson Da Bomb 5 stars
3/24/04 Neo I think this movie is just great. Just hilarious. 5 stars
2/24/04 Libby C. This is one of the best movies ever! I love it! 5 stars
2/10/04 Greg I think this movie was funny, who cares about maturity! 4 stars
2/08/04 anonoymous Funny movie... 5 stars
2/02/04 Janelle Baril This movie kicked so much ass! It made me laugh and cry! Definetly one of Adam S.'s best! 5 stars
1/29/04 taylor you stuipid fat bitch adam sandler rolls 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Crude humor and mediocre original tunes are no help to this awful animated flick. 1 stars
12/19/03 bernard shaw this movie sucked way too much 1 stars
12/06/03 bender it just stoops too low. has a few laughs here and there, but not enough 2 stars
11/20/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) This is a damn good movie, you sons of bitches! Very funny, & Whitey is cool. 5 stars
11/17/03 Classic Crude Comedy Raunchy, mean-spirited, and hilarious! 4 stars
5/26/03 mee funny 5 stars
5/22/03 fgkughkgbyu steve oederkerk kicks sandlers' ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/24/03 J.M. Excellent, Masterpiece, a credit to the nation 5 stars
4/13/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! it's very simple. Adam Sandler fans are gay. 1 stars
3/31/03 Mandy I thought it was reeli funny!! haha but i see how others could find it offending... 5 stars
2/22/03 Jon lame 1 stars
2/18/03 taj Adam, please convert to another religion. 1 stars
2/11/03 Crystal Costa Not good for kids 3 stars
1/31/03 Her Royal Heinie Animated self-parody of Adam Sandler, who is better not parodied. 2 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig it dsoesn't even deserve a friggin Razzie 1 stars
12/14/02 George Jung=Pedophile Here's a good reason to see The Two Towers 1 stars
12/07/02 BAM GREAT 5 stars
12/05/02 Snookeroo Even the trailer for this flick is offensive; what mean-spirited trash! 1 stars
12/04/02 White Bread Pretty good. Best Christmas film since Serendipity. 4 stars
12/03/02 Chancey Sugarpants I'd like 2 smash this tard in the head with a brick for making shit but it'd have no effect 1 stars
12/03/02 Anarchy Azmi adam sandler=good.. 4 stars
11/30/02 Mike At least it was only an hour... felt like two and a half! 1 stars
11/29/02 Adam Sandler = The Enemy Could this movie be the last nail in his coffin? Let's hope so! 1 stars
11/28/02 Joe Deblow FINALLY returns! I hope this guy gets hit by a friggin bus 1 stars
11/28/02 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla I think I laughed twice 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Nov-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 21-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Dec-2002


Directed by
  Seth Kearsley

Written by
  Allen Covert
  Brooks Arthur

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Tyra Banks
  Jon Lovitz
  Kevin Nealon
  Rob Schneider
  Austin Stout



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast