More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.59

Awesome: 29.31%
Worth A Look34.48%
Average: 12.07%
Pretty Bad: 13.79%
Total Crap: 10.34%

2 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Long Kiss Goodnight, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"And Geena comes skating to the rescue!"
4 stars

Geena changes hair color and personality. That pretty much sums up how superficial this flick is.

But sometimes superficial is ok. And I believe this may be one of those times. Be prepared to suspend all disbelief. If you can do that, you'll love this.

The setup is: 8 years ago, Geena Davis woke up in hosipital with total amnesia. Now, she lives as a homemaker, teacher and mom to the girl she was pregnant with back then. She bumps her head and starts to remember things... like how she can kill with her bare hands and how she knows everything about weapons and how to use them. it turns out she used to be a bitchy, tough, secret agent assasin lady. Samuel L. jacjson is the private investigator out to help her. And you know, get lucky in the mean time. Naw, he's a good guy. Since people are out to kill her, she needs his help.

This is a pretty well done suspense thriller. Davis got buff for the role, and is pretty damned convincing as a bitch. I like that. She's also pretty convincing as an assasin, since we thought she just baked and stuff. For Jackson this is more fo the same, but since he does it so well, we can't blame him at all. Director Harlin was infatuated with Davis both on and off screen, and it shows, but since she's the star we don't mind a little over-glorification. Direction and writinga re, as you might imagine, overshadowed by effects and whatnot. This being a thriller, after all.

4 sporks because it is above average, and Geena licks Jackson's ear.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=644&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 10:41:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 Austin Film Festival For more in the 2006 Austin Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell kiss it goodbye it sucks 1 stars
10/09/12 Golden J. Williams Jr. Good female assassin (formerly called HYENA) do you remember why?? 5 stars
11/16/11 Jeff Wilder Doesn't do a much as it could with premise. But entertaining enough. 4 stars
7/07/10 PAUL SHORTT DAFT, OVER-THE-TOP, FAST-PACED THRILLER 2 stars
9/02/09 the dork knight Blood-soaked satire with snappy dialog. Shame that it runs on a bit too long 4 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 4 stars
9/16/08 janie geena davis was one bad momma in this flick.jackson was fantastic.. 5 stars
11/24/06 William Goss Messy fun, with enough snarkiness for ten movies. 4 stars
9/16/06 Sepi53 GREAT ACTION with Geena and Samuel super hyper good! 5 stars
6/14/05 E-FUNK It never lets Harlin fan down. It sucks, it's indulting and it smells like dog-shit. 1 stars
4/15/05 reptilesni This was a fun B movie. Don't expect much, just enjoy it for what it is. 3 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson AN AWESOME, AWESOME FILM, NO DOUBT ABOUT IT! Just suspend disbelief & enjoy it. I SURE DID! 5 stars
8/24/04 john bale Silly as, but mostly harmless fun, and Geena gets undressed a lot ! 3 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean A lame amnesiac secret agent movie. I didn't buy Geena Davis in this role. 2 stars
1/17/04 John good actioners still retain a sense of reality- this one is far fetched nonsense with guns 2 stars
8/02/03 doug good 5 stars
6/17/03 Francis Implausibility in the details ruins it - I lasted 20 minutes 2 stars
5/12/03 R.W. Welch Had a good set-up but slides into unconvincing formula action schtick. 3 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby One of the best all-time actioners. Spectacular entertainment! 5 stars
10/24/02 colleen a blast and extremely quotable 5 stars
7/21/02 Croweater had promise but doesnt come close to fulfiliing it one little bit 2 stars
6/13/02 Marianne Blackwelder Geena Davis & Samuel L. Jackson -- what can you expect? 1 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Shallow, brainless tripe 2 stars
2/26/02 Arthur Wright Absolutely the greatest action flick EVER with a female hero.Top ten overall male/female 5 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Very Good Overall, but I Still Couldn't See Davis In This Role. 4 stars
10/18/01 INCUBATOR Very nice 5 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy harlin's better movie along with DH 2, pretty good action, jackson is great!! 3 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Sorry Dakamus, but I didn't buy Davis as a tough action heroine. But the movie was okay 3 stars
8/18/01 Dakamus I can buy Davis and a believable action heroine. And Jackson was funny as fuck! 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk That Finnish fuck did it again! THIS BLOWS! 1 stars
7/01/01 S. Dean Utterly believable fantasy. 5 stars
3/20/01 jerryg above average! 4 stars
2/17/01 Jake utterly awful! 1 stars
2/14/01 Richard Wright It has a female protagonist and she's lost her memory. Apart from that same old, same old.. 3 stars
2/12/01 Leather jacket Damn...buckle up baby...you are in for a terminator fucker ride 5 stars
2/06/01 Turtle An action-packed and fun thriller. 3 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin Blond hair???? I mean, come on... 4 stars
11/10/00 U.M.F. Yeah baby 5 stars
1/24/00 Casey Jarzabek SAMUEL L IS THE FUNNIEST ACTOR I KNOW 5 stars
1/24/00 Casey Jarzabek SAMUEL L IS THE FUNNIEST ACTOR I KNOW 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster What a joke , i only wish she drove off the edge of a cliff at the end of the movie . 1 stars
8/04/99 Lauren I want to do that thing with the shot glass.... 5 stars
12/15/98 paulstanley totally incredible flick, geena davis is awesome.. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred I didn't think Geena could be an uglier actress. I'll be fuckered. 2 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Though I love Geena Davis, this just had me saying, 'Suck My Dick'!!!!! 2 stars
8/29/98 Johny I seemed to enjoy this more than most people 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Oct-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Renny Harlin

Written by
  Shane Black

Cast
  Geena Davis
  Samuel L. Jackson
  Yvonne Zima
  Craig Bierko
  Tom Armandes
  Brian Cox



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast