More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.61

Awesome79.28%
Worth A Look: 11.3%
Average: 3.77%
Pretty Bad: 2.82%
Total Crap: 2.82%

15 reviews, 441 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"More dark magic."
5 stars

Even though I was lost through some of it, I liked 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers' better than its predecessor, 'The Fellowship of the Ring.' As the middle section of what is really one long story (or one long nine-hour movie), it doesn't bother setting anything up -- it assumes you've seen the first one -- and just plunges in.

Whereas Fellowship gave us the sunlit complacency of the Shire darkening into grim duty, Two Towers begins on a note of near-disaster -- a dream of the standoff between the wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen) and the fearsome Balrog -- and mostly keeps its jaws clenched in readiness for hopeless battle. The theme of this Act Two is good warriors standing tall in the face of odds that could hardly suck worse.

If that sounds like a downer, it isn't; Peter Jackson, delivering the second of his three Christmas gifts to J.R.R. Tolkien fans worldwide, comes most alive during the scenes of peril and evil, of which there are enough here for a year's worth of movies. One could conceivably enjoy The Two Towers knowing very little of its conflicts or interspecies politics; it can be processed as pure cinema, and forget about the plotlines, which in any event are unavoidably way stations to The Return of the King. We do spend a great deal of the movie watching characters prepare for things that won't happen in the movie; even the big-bang sequence, the battle at Helm's Deep, is but a minor skirmish in the grand scheme of things.

A good deal of the dawdling is fun. The fearful comic-relief hobbits Merry (Dominic Monaghan) and Pippin (Billy Boyd) find themselves hanging on a massive walking and talking tree -- an Ent, really, a sort of plant elemental that watches over the green. These Ents talk slowly and arrive at decisions even more slowly; Jackson seems to be tweaking the ponderousness of most epics. Meanwhile, the human warrior Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) tries to get the woefully unprepared kingdom of Rohan ready for legions of merciless Uruk-hai sent by the evil wizard Saruman (Christopher Lee); and Frodo Baggins (Elijah Wood), bearer of Tolkien's mystical McGuffin the One Ring, and his loyal friend Samwise (Sean Astin) slouch towards Mordor to dispose of the thing, accompanied by the wretched Gollum.

Most of the hype surrounding Two Towers has centered on Helm's Deep and Gollum. Of the two -- and the battle is one of the best of its kind in film history, a symphony of bloodlust and hopes dashed and restored -- I prefer the little creature who used to be called Smeagol before the Ring stole his mind and soul. As you've heard, Gollum is played in voice and gesture by Andy Serkis, and fleshed out digitally by Jackson's computer wizards. You'll always be aware that Gollum isn't literally "real," but in his pathetically addled way he's more real than anyone else in the movie. Jackson seems to have studied Jar Jar Binks and learned from George Lucas's mistake.

Two Towers may play narratively as a downer, but Jackson is too spirited a director to get bogged down: Characters are always reminding each other to keep hope alive in the midst of dread and panic. Hope is there, too, in the raw beauty Jackson finds everywhere, whether in battle or in a poetically downbeat episode at Rivendell with a weeping Arwen (Liv Tyler).

Jackson hasn't disdained his horror-movie roots, either: no director could be happier among the Orcs and Uruk-hai, and he has the diabolical wit to end this second entry on a note of demented enthusiasm that functions as a chilling cliffhanger. 'Fellowship' interested and entertained me; this one hooked me.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6450&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/27/07 15:29:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/10/14 nopudgxudd USA 5 stars
6/16/14 Eric Plant This movie is amazing ! 5 stars
1/27/14 Cfwgnhut USA 4 stars
10/29/13 Ja Nevertheless I loved it ! 5 stars
8/03/13 austin just as good as fellowship maybe better 5 stars
5/16/13 Baylee Nelson I adore this film! Watch it, please! It's fantastic. Read the book first though! 5 stars
4/02/13 Julie Link I can watch this trilogy repeatedly... love to have a film fest for the entire day 5 stars
10/18/12 Ben H Not as good as the others, but amazing still 5 stars
8/29/12 Alanna this one improves on film 1. the battle at helm's deep is choreographed to the max! 5 stars
1/27/12 C.M. Chan Great, but read the book 5 stars
10/02/11 7thstranger Best of the bunch - Love the final charge by Gandalf at the end! 5 stars
7/03/11 Jennifer B didn't like this one 2 stars
4/18/11 Tom D Not as good as the other 2 but still a solid way to waste 3+ hrs. 5 stars
12/16/09 chief wiggum stevo uk die cunt 5 stars
10/23/09 Bob87 Thank you for having the courage to resign, and to bring this scandalous behaviour to light 3 stars
2/18/09 Sally Sundeen I love this movie...I love all three of them! But this one was epic! 5 stars
1/04/09 Samantha Pruitt awesome movie, the battle was freaking insane!!! lot of great moments. 5 stars
12/06/08 Shaun Wallner My kind of film. 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT WHILE THIS FILM BY NECESSITY LACKS FELLOWSHIPS HEART, TWO TOWERS OUTDOES ITS SPECTACLE 4 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White Great but better as marathon movie 5 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Extended version great, even if it didn't follow the book 100%. We love 'em. Get all 3. 5 stars
7/16/07 David Kimble Sat spell-bound while watching - a must see! 5 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger wow. but this is the least favourite of mine in the trilogy. 3rd is pure cinematic magic 5 stars
6/18/07 plox george lucas is a faggot 5 stars
5/14/07 dramasweetie32 oh my gosh this movie rox my sox off 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Blew me away... in fact, it blew me out the cinema. oh no wait, thats just me leaving. crap 1 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold I'vealwaysthought thefirsttwo werebetterthan the third. Hell,I evenwishI gavethethirda 3/5. 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Pretty darn good, but best when viewed along with one of the other movies. 5 stars
2/17/07 action movie fan the second chapter-excitng and aweinspiring as any lord of the rings-excellent battle scene 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Much better than it's predecessor. 5 stars
1/10/07 Bitchflaps Less irritating hobbits in this one, but Legolas and Gimli get more lines (doh!) 2 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Since when does Gollum have multiple personalities? Good movie otherwise 4 stars
10/22/06 basher shits on starwars...from a great height 5 stars
9/05/06 The Maz Still awesome. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist ALL 3 R a notch or 2 above medieocre, like I said previously, they R 3 popcorn flicks. 4 stars
7/26/06 Quigley one of the most powerful movies ever made. amazing in every way. I'll never stop loving it 5 stars
7/15/06 Marty weakest part of the series, but gotta know what happens right? 4 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty Thought this movie was great 5 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber The weakestofthe trilogy - the White City sequence was a BIG mistake! 3 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 just keeps getting better 5 stars
5/01/06 Dan Great movie :o 5 stars
4/12/06 matt Brilliant, epic and stunning on every level. One of the best films ever! 5 stars
4/11/06 C Vega somehow someways matches the first part in terms of quality. 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE better than the first one. which is really hard to do 5 stars
3/22/06 me powerful 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Not as good as the first or third but it remains a must see 4 stars
2/27/06 Anthony Feor Exellent 4 stars
2/18/06 Mike Gillenkirk The greatest movie of all time! 5 stars
2/10/06 G kicke dass 5 stars
1/04/06 cody a very good followup with more cooler action and better visual effects, wood gives a cool 4 stars
12/16/05 ........... This is great, but the first one is better!!!!! 5 stars
12/12/05 R.W.Welch Noticeably weaker than episode 1 but some jazzy F/X. 3 stars
11/19/05 dobo fuks potter the worst of the 3 but still awesome EE dvd major improve asswipe go fuk potter ur bf twat 5 stars
11/16/05 Quigley this is one powerful movie with profound imagery that will stay with you. awesome Ent siege 5 stars
11/12/05 Jim sleeth an adventure in fastasy, story characters 5 stars
10/27/05 chris an exellent movie i loved the bttle of helmsdeep !! 5 stars
10/24/05 xavier a longgggggggggggggggggggggg saga 5 stars
9/24/05 Anthony G God Damn this movie was good, you people are fucking dumb. 5 stars
9/19/05 Jonathon Holmes wow 5 stars
9/18/05 Indrid Cold Exactly; it's not fresh and we're still a ways from the climax. 4 stars
8/12/05 ES at least there's not as much 'do you have the ring? where's the ring? we need the ring 4 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington Boring & Overrated! Final fight was awesome, but it's too little too late. 3 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma I thought it was better than the first, but it's still overrated 4 stars
7/01/05 Vic This is the best one form the serises 5 stars
6/20/05 darick Better than the first 4 stars
6/12/05 Manu Ginobli ZzzzZzzZ...huh? What? Is the movie over yet? 2 stars
5/27/05 Quigley Ric you are a loser; since when did you even know what a good film is? obviously never! ha! 5 stars
5/27/05 tony Exellent epic battles. Everything about it is exellent!! 5 stars
5/20/05 susan varney great follow-up 5 stars
5/15/05 Ric The only one in the trilogy I don't like, this one's rather dull with some subpar f/x. 2 stars
5/03/05 NYCLaura Amazing. Stunning. See the long versions of all three. 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley Chicago, no! This film towers above it! another powerful film with incredible battles. 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 ANOTHER AWSOME MOVIE!!! Chicago sucks!! why did it lose????? 5 stars
4/20/05 jellosheriff Great film. In a class by itself. 5 stars
4/18/05 Rhianna Correa Great story and visualy outstanding. 5 stars
4/14/05 Marilouise so great even the extended wasnt long enuf 5 stars
3/30/05 Charlie Same old crap, just like the first one! 2 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Cool 4 stars
2/18/05 .... TOSS ME THEN BIATCH 5 stars
2/11/05 bob thedwarf chicago is wank dude 5 stars
2/08/05 matt This lost to Chicago? HOW??? 5 stars
2/01/05 Angela my fav of the three, lots of bloom and monghan, very good 5 stars
1/09/05 JJ extended eddition=twice as good 5 stars
12/04/04 have u seen two towers EE better deeper story+character development+nastier fightin+miles more interesting 5 stars
12/04/04 gray beats quintins crap 5 stars
12/01/04 umer this movie stands on its own in comparison to previous part.truely a great movie.battle sce 5 stars
11/06/04 TCIC Eqauls the first but doesn't break the barrier 5 stars
10/24/04 lotr proper owns u(they are the best films ever easy) EEdvd of this reings supreme alongside fotrEE but wait soon rotkEE u cant beat this 5 stars
10/15/04 Pete Part 1's still the best 3 stars
10/13/04 Laura Hobbits are sooooooo cute!!! 5 stars
8/01/04 Vince Yesssssssss! 5 stars
7/20/04 CORPSEGRINDER NEEDS MORE GRUESOME SCENES WITH BETTER PAIN SOUNDS 4 stars
7/15/04 John McIntyre Sweet battle made up for the boring 3 hours 5 stars
7/12/04 SF the nightmare endures 2 stars
7/10/04 Bobbo Not QUITE as good as the original, but excellent 5 stars
6/18/04 Chad Hate It! 1 stars
6/17/04 kitfo1 please tell me that all those annoying hobbits die horribly in part 3. 3 stars
6/03/04 Angel TT is the boring book, but the movie is good. 4 stars
6/02/04 T-Shirt Guy This one sucked too 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody the worst of the three...but still awesome! Now that's saying something 5 stars
5/21/04 Butt Kicker Looks like da hood, Yyanvar, Raven & wintermute couldnt get sex in a $2 brothel. Get a life 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot The script is probably the best in the trilogy,helms deep build up is cinematic gold! 5 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it One movie to rule them all....... 5 stars
4/26/04 The Talking Elbow It was a good movie. 5 stars
4/23/04 lizzy it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooo kwl da best film next to da 3 one!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt An extremely boring movie that's hard to sit through. 2 stars
4/10/04 Joe Boring compared to Fellowship, it's too stagnant and stuffy. 2 stars
3/31/04 sansho Well made, with memorable trees, but surprisingly uninvolving. 3 stars
3/31/04 Raven Midgets keep walking far to put evil jewellery into a volcano, some trees talk and fight 1 stars
3/23/04 c.r This sequel was great , it was more entertaining than first one , but ending was not great! 4 stars
3/20/04 midnight phenix song i love the lord of the rings orlando bloom is so hot plus i love fantasey 5 stars
3/20/04 true review people love this movie because it means they can just watch instead of reading the books 2 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Magnificent! 5 stars
2/26/04 keekeeleena i loved it it was awsome 5 stars
2/14/04 ALESSANDRO i LOVE THESE COSTUMS AND THE epic SENTENCES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SEE IT! AND ADVICE ALL 3 TOGETHER 4 stars
1/29/04 alisha yeager johney deep is hot 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Even better than the first one. See the extended! It's brilliant. P.S. Frodo's amazing. 5 stars
1/12/04 Chrys incredibly beautiful 5 stars
1/05/04 Katrina Get Stuffed Tim Triangle oh i suppose the name Tim Triangle is better!!!!!!LEGOLAS IS HOT 5 stars
12/30/03 Chlo Gyllenhaal I loved this movie...but the battle at helm's deep didn't really turn me on that much... 4 stars
12/29/03 Hooters Gurl Definitely the best of the trilogy, with the perfect blend of action and drama 5 stars
12/24/03 Joel W. De Sario For years we prayed for this film of J. R. R. Tokien's masterpiece. 5 stars
12/21/03 quire The movie blew. 1 stars
12/21/03 Littlepurch Not as good as everyone says but still enjoyablr and gr8 visually. 4 stars
12/20/03 Desperado Anyone who say this is total crap doesnt even deserve to call themselves smart, Awesome 5 stars
12/15/03 Stephanie Buy this movie in extended edition. It's worth it. 5 stars
12/12/03 lord of the rings it was gooooooooooooooooooooooood 5 stars
11/30/03 Sammy wintermute... the words you speak are blasphomus.This movie is awesome but 3 will be better 5 stars
11/28/03 john not nearly as sure footed in its pacing as part 1 but Gollum and Treebeard save the day! 4 stars
11/24/03 Gi Gi only the best movie, #3 will be better, I bet 5 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician Incredible!!! 5 stars
11/21/03 Linda Nguyen It is a really cool movie! 5 stars
11/18/03 Zach Graham Now my favorite movie 5 stars
11/06/03 steve doesn't like this movie can kiss my hairy german ass 5 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Excellent sequel, CGI Gollum is amazing. 5 stars
10/21/03 rod pfeifer just makes me want to see the return of the king even more 5 stars
10/19/03 Littlepurch Why do people like this so much? Far too long & predictable. Quite good action I suppose. 3 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Yet another unforgettable masterpiece! 5 stars
10/16/03 Carmelita Florine lurvin Elijah bebe 5 stars
10/11/03 Jinnvisible Justice4tolkien, although Tuvac/Chow yun fat/Salma hayek would make a more metropolitan elf 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant An epic on all levels with some of the heart missing from 'Fellowship'. Bring on 'King'. 4 stars
10/04/03 Double G Great Film, Golum(sp) is funny, i loved it 5 stars
9/29/03 Rebljeff Jackson is a genius! Simply awesome!! 5 stars
9/28/03 Destwer My 3rd viewing of this masterpiece was the best, bring on ROTK 5 stars
9/27/03 Lord Chu Ultimate. Anyone who can't see the beauty that is this film should be examined for issues. 5 stars
9/25/03 jimmy d i bought the dvd to see what i missed, but i shit myself again and msised it. 2 stars
9/23/03 jada wasn't good as first, seemed like filler until next 3 stars
9/18/03 wintermute fuck it,its a brill film 5 stars
9/12/03 Mitch undoubtedly the best movie of all time! 5 stars
9/12/03 sophia best movie of all times 5 stars
9/11/03 Fred better than the first 5 stars
9/07/03 Croweater This film is quite brilliant...and your review sucks Wintermute. 5 stars
9/04/03 jimmy d it was good but i ate too many hot dogs and shit myself in the theater.so i missed some 5 stars
9/04/03 ChanceHead Ian is a fucking piece of shit faggot living on the resevoir in MS sucking Tumor's dick. 5 stars
9/03/03 It's just me WOW! And I thought the first one was good! Can't wait for the Return of the King! 5 stars
9/03/03 Kyle Not as good as FOTR, and I thought a little hard to follow. 4 stars
9/01/03 Berit Great movie 5 stars
8/28/03 anna It's all about Gollum. Viggo is Sex. Better than FOTR. Cant wait for ROTK 5 stars
8/27/03 Redjek Amerian jackson thought he had better ideas.....he was wrong. 1 stars
8/25/03 Peace Frog The best film of 2002! Superb in every way! A cornerstone to a masterpiece trilogy. 5 stars
8/18/03 Simon Hedges V. Good overall, but what did they do to Faramir and Treebeard? 4 stars
8/13/03 Nancy295 Awesome but confusing - hard to follow the storyline. 4 stars
8/11/03 Mike Krasienko Man nigga I got ta say dat dis iz the bitchinist movi i ad eber seen dog 5 stars
8/06/03 Angela Yeah two towers is worth a look but it is better than Fellowship. More action less plotline 3 stars
7/28/03 Boomer Better than the last one, can't wait til King Returns 5 stars
7/27/03 Berta Dick Yeeeeeehaaaaaa 5 stars
7/24/03 Mag Pie Elijah Woods is so Sexy The was way better tahn Harry Potter 5 stars
7/23/03 Flounder This is the second part of what may live to be the greatest fantasy of all time 5 stars
7/22/03 mayra what can i say? it fucking rocks! can't wait for the last part to come out.. 5 stars
7/12/03 Jacinna Goyne Amazing. This movie made my knees tremble. 5 stars
7/09/03 Rod Johnston Those elf chicks are fucking hotties!Like Legolas I would take my bow and do naughty things 5 stars
7/09/03 Connie Kauffman Bloody -->insert flattering term here<-- 5 stars
7/07/03 cinkcool great 5 stars
7/07/03 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Disjointed compared to FOTR. But what can compare to FOTR? Can't wait for ROTK. 5 stars
6/28/03 Dave Hopman Great Sequel 5 stars
6/28/03 Flounder I am simply blowed away at what Peter Jackson and his team have achieved 5 stars
6/24/03 Armando Fantastic!Best movie ever!! 5 stars
6/17/03 Large Farve Awesome 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Oh My God ! He did it again ! 5 stars
6/09/03 Rebecca Go stick your head up someone's ass if you don't like it. It's the best movie ever. 5 stars
6/04/03 Emma Wilkinson Liked especially Legolas when he jumped onto Arod and slid down steps on shield! Go LOTR!!! 5 stars
5/31/03 Jareth Like the first film, It gives all of the main characters depth, except Legolas and Gimli. 5 stars
5/28/03 your worse goddamn nightmare I think it's the best LOTR thus far. It's not 100% faithful to the book, but who gives a F 5 stars
5/22/03 Pam Loved it. A lot. 5 stars
5/08/03 John Lipian This is what we go to the movies for! More exciting than playing with Beryllium! 5 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones read the books...could be better but the action was great 4 stars
5/04/03 aj great!!! 5 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Enjoyed it. It was definitely better than the first. Still..not THAT great!! 4 stars
4/24/03 mark anthony cabrera This film is superb in every way I see it... especially with Gollum 5 stars
4/24/03 GWB Holy jesus amazing 5 stars
4/22/03 Dave Not as good as Fellowship, but none the less. Pure brilliance. Roll on ROTK 5 stars
4/19/03 karina filmul este beton! ce sa mai spun? asteptam partea a treia! 5 stars
4/18/03 Tasha the film and photography were awesom-but the first lotr was a little better 5 stars
4/17/03 Andrew Carden Not Anywhere As Good As The Original. McKellan Is The Only Merit. 2 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Makes the first movie look like Battlefield Earth. 5 stars
4/16/03 Croweater Wintermute - maybe ringmaster is more your style? 5 stars
4/15/03 The Talking Elbow You don't like the genre Mr Do? All... what, four movies? 5 stars
4/13/03 IsaacBaldwin the second installation of the greatest epic films ever 5 stars
4/12/03 me good 5 stars
4/10/03 davina For fans of Tolken, this is a movie worth seeing. 5 stars
4/08/03 Mystique really good ...wow... 5 stars
4/08/03 Shadaan Felfeli Disgustifying, stupifying and generally awful.Liv Tyler scenes are worth watching 2 stars
4/06/03 Carrie Wein It's the best film of 2001-2003! 5 stars
4/04/03 john great movies, only things i hated were peter jackson changing the storyline 5 stars
4/02/03 Mr. Do too much genre related.. i don't like the genre 3 stars
4/01/03 Harry dadswell A fantastic film. The best of its kind 5 stars
3/30/03 Michael Pattiosn amazing 5 stars
3/25/03 DMF Are there any *intelligent* people that didn't like this movie? 5 stars
3/24/03 May Q. Horney SHOULD HAVE WON BEST PICTURE! Fuck SHITCAGO! 5 stars
3/18/03 Jack sydney 1 stars
3/13/03 old dead nigger dan lipian, you should have been aborted. may god strike you dead. 5 stars
3/13/03 Flounder Actually tops the original! If you have not seen this movie yet, what are you waiting for? 5 stars
3/13/03 Maddy Rocked 5 stars
3/11/03 George Raft Boring, over-inflated and pretentious. Only for genre fans. 2 stars
3/11/03 Michael Lush Owwwww it just keeps getting better 5 stars
3/10/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Oughta win, esp.after 1st episode didn't. Too bad SHITCAGO is poised to sweep Oscars! 5 stars
3/10/03 Stephanie Throckmorton Rivals first movie, but more active acquaintence with book needed to follow this one. 5 stars
3/07/03 Taylor Fladgate Better than the first. 1-D characters, though. 4 stars
3/06/03 JOHNNY BROOKS I AM STUPID YES AND IM GAY SO I SHOULD BE WHIPPED AND KILLED 5 stars
3/05/03 DMF JOHNNY BROOKS is brave but incredibly stupid. 5 stars
3/03/03 JOHNNY BROOKS PATHETIC 1 stars
3/02/03 DarkFaery70 IT KICKED ASS, ANYONE WHO THINKS OTHERWISE IS A MORON..MUHAHHA 5 stars
2/26/03 Onins haven't seen it? might as well kill yourself! seen it 10 times already! just can't get enaf 5 stars
2/24/03 soni i don't know if "blistering" is even the right word for the movie. it certainly is more. 5 stars
2/15/03 rebe it was the best! i had to go see it again right after i had all ready seen it! 5 stars
2/15/03 Frodo2 NOT LONG ENOUGH!!! SHOULD SWEEP OSCARS! 5 stars
2/15/03 LOTR fan no best adapted screenplay nomination? What the..? 5 stars
2/13/03 Anonomous this was great i can't wait to see it again 5 stars
2/13/03 Steve Spencer Fantastic film, where's the DVD already? 5 stars
2/12/03 PDog Too awesome to assign a rating 5 stars
2/11/03 g dub if you havent seen this i pity you 5 stars
2/11/03 Mopsa only 5 stars because there's no "6 stars - f****** awesome" 5 stars
2/10/03 FcPoliFan Quite an improvement 4 stars
2/05/03 123 a great epic, toilet is the only problem if you watch this in cinema 5 stars
2/05/03 Krysiek Average. Superficial chaos the first hour. The final siege overrated. 3 stars
2/02/03 The Abyssmal Horror bob dole should be fed to the uruk hai for such slander 5 stars
2/01/03 Suzz loved it 5 stars
1/28/03 bob leather jacket I Double Dogged Dare You to Make a BETTER film than this 5 stars
1/28/03 The Chinaman It's a lot better then FOTR there's no way you CAN'T enjoy tihs movie , unless yer a cynic 5 stars
1/26/03 Glen luv Liv Tyler 5 stars
1/26/03 Liz Meyers Great special effects. And how the hell was Jackson supposed to put the whole book in? 5 stars
1/25/03 Francois May rival as the best movie(s) 5 stars
1/25/03 Claira Carter Brilliant and Spectacular 5 stars
1/22/03 Bonz Seen it twice - gets better & better ... will definitely see it again & again & again :) 5 stars
1/21/03 Hana TOO DAMN LONG 1 stars
1/21/03 Ryback Yeap, Fellowship was better I thought this movie lacked the cool scenes that fellowship 4 stars
1/21/03 Andy Bronson disapointing it uses too many recycled shots and the editing seems rushed 4 stars
1/20/03 Monster W. Kung Good, but not as great as Fellowship. 4 stars
1/19/03 Senator Blutarsky Only Peter Jackson could make talking trees seem credible in a movie 5 stars
1/19/03 vessejoigt great 5 stars
1/18/03 Goofy Maxwell 'TTT' like TNT:long wait-> slow burn-> big bang. The wait was worth the look. 4 stars
1/17/03 crystal It's the best movie in the wold. 5 stars
1/17/03 Angolmois It doesn't stay true to Tolkien. Not as good as the first. Disjointed. 3 stars
1/16/03 Maruschka this movie is damn good! so shut the fuck up! its the best movie ever! just read the books! 5 stars
1/16/03 John McNew Better than the first and with a better 'ending'! 5 stars
1/16/03 Jon Lacking a proper ending...? Part 3, anyone? 5 stars
1/16/03 Jonathon Wong IM a gay shit and i think Legolas is SXXY! Awesome for ass!! 5 stars
1/16/03 Grunt Holy *^#@ - Woof !!!! 5 stars
1/15/03 Ayla Tolkein done beautifully yet again! Saw it 2x. 5 stars
1/14/03 Eloise Very looooooooonnnnnngggggg and lacking a proper ending 3 stars
1/13/03 Vitality1 awesome awesome awesome, and not just cuz Legolas kicked some major ass 5 stars
1/12/03 Anton I didn't know Lord Of The Rings from Burger Rings, after seeing this...I'm a believer. 5 stars
1/12/03 Russ Equal to the first. 5 stars
1/11/03 Isabelle I dare any1 2 see the film and come away unmoved or unchanged!!! I CRIED!!! 5 stars
1/11/03 mwildema saw it 2x to appreciate. better second time 3 stars
1/10/03 reflex consider this i hate movies....ok not all movies ....damn sure not this one! 5 stars
1/10/03 J Hey bitchslap admin, get wintermute off of the site, he's the only fuckstick you 've let by 5 stars
1/10/03 kosta havent seen it 5 stars
1/09/03 me simply beautiful 5 stars
1/09/03 Law 10 thousand times better than Star Wars!!!! 5 stars
1/09/03 Tyro Superb in every sense. 5 stars
1/09/03 TIMMAY FUKING GOOD 5 stars
1/08/03 Respect Nerd movie? Not for braindead fuckheads you mean? Oh, ok then. 5 stars
1/08/03 Gruther Magnificant cinema, despite the changes to the story 5 stars
1/08/03 the spam-handler I thought a movie was for us lysdexic people who couldn't get though Tolkien's paragraphs 3 stars
1/08/03 Ashley Great film! 5 stars
1/08/03 kitt4film@hotmail.com I loved this film, and cannot wait to see the third. I plan to go again and again. 5 stars
1/07/03 deanna I read the Silmarillion (Tolkien geek cred) and the movies ROCK!!! 5 stars
1/07/03 Mitsaso I wasn't blown away,but it's a very good way to spend 3 hours... 4 stars
1/07/03 Blah Blah Blah This movie was really good, naysayers = cynics , don't listen to them, hooray for fantasy!! 5 stars
1/07/03 liz lost it rocked!!! better than the first... 5 stars
1/07/03 jarrod_101 a long boring buildup to a good battle scene. I expected much more. 3 stars
1/07/03 Rambin Wreck Pure........Simple............Genius 5 stars
1/06/03 Elladan This movie is shockingly cool. 5 stars
1/06/03 Max Lethal Saw it twice and it was twice as good the second time. 5 stars
1/06/03 MacBastard Thank you, Peter Jackson, for restoring my faith in the Hollywood Movie. Utterly amazing. 5 stars
1/05/03 Grima was creepy I saw it three times and it still kicks ass 5 stars
1/04/03 Paul Great movie. 5 stars
1/04/03 WestcoastPunk Holy fucking crap is all I can say. 5 stars
1/04/03 Josh One of the greatest spectacles in cinematic history 5 stars
1/04/03 Jackie L. Tajiri "The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers" is a visual banquet of unforgettable images. 5 stars
1/04/03 KC AWESOME! 5 stars
1/03/03 rantic i am a shite and im gay...please kill me as being gay and needing but love is all rong 5 stars
1/03/03 BAM BEETER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
1/03/03 Anonymous Hey Rantic, this movie fucking ruled... you are gay, go have sex with paul 5 stars
1/02/03 michaelb14 All I can say is wow! 5 stars
1/02/03 Lee Outstanding 5 stars
1/02/03 rantic boring shite 2 stars
1/01/03 Flounder One of the greatest cinematic achievements of our lifetime! Truly amazing. 5 stars
1/01/03 Slash the Berzerker I want to be Peter Jackson when I grow up. 5 stars
1/01/03 KMG VIGGO, PLZ GET NEKKID..I WANNA SEE THEM THERE ASS CHEEKS 5 stars
1/01/03 voidrunner Phenomenal 5 stars
1/01/03 Erica Can you get any better than this? 5 stars
12/31/02 Chowie-Pie THIS WAS WICKED!!! 100000000 TIMES BETTER THAN THE 1ST ONE AND THAT ONE KICKED TOO!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/31/02 Edwin Duthie The most visually spectacular movie ever. 5 stars
12/31/02 Susan Absolutely AWESOME 5 stars
12/30/02 Countess of Nad Mullach FANTASTIC!!! and because he's never ever mentioned: BEAUTIFUL PERFORMANCE BY DAVID WENHAM!! 5 stars
12/30/02 gyro_44 Shall I describe it to you, or would you like me to get you a box? (great movie by the way) 5 stars
12/30/02 nate worth disappointing - a hodgepodge. changed too much. 3 stars
12/30/02 ZenGator It's the middle of one 9-hour epic film, but it's still satisfying on its own merits 5 stars
12/29/02 rotten s. milk Great movie. 5 stars
12/29/02 Obi Wan Saw it again and now I can't wait for the DVD . . .When's the ROTK due??? 5 stars
12/29/02 D. G. Meyer Either read the books or watch the first movie again. After that, this one rocks! 5 stars
12/28/02 Yo Mama! Speechless....sooooo good...spectacular.....insert other superlatives here! 5 stars
12/28/02 Colin Selby Peter Jackson rules 5 stars
12/28/02 KMG Viggo, how I lust for you....come to me Viggo.......please me 5 stars
12/28/02 i saw it AGAIN!!!!!!!! MY god ITS full OF stars!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/28/02 DMF That was 3 hours!?! My butt says yes. My head says "MORE!" 5 stars
12/28/02 Senator Blutarsky Industrialization vs. conservation, at its best! 5 stars
12/28/02 Scott Upton I can't imagine how it could have been better 5 stars
12/28/02 Matt and Rob Not as good as the first one, but it was still pretty damn awesome 5 stars
12/28/02 Jesse the Movie Ventura Pretty fucking beautiful images. Beautiful music. Triple feature will be best! 4 stars
12/28/02 Yuba Staad Seemless and consistent 5 stars
12/28/02 Hotaine Don't be pissed when it doesn't end, it's just the middle. 5 stars
12/28/02 Jimmy Jamez it made me stiff 5 stars
12/28/02 Rod Whitfield Absolutely stupendous!!!! 5 stars
12/27/02 Rodelio Padrique BEST FILM OF THE YEAR! IN THEWHOLE UNIVERSE! 5 stars
12/27/02 PsiSeeker A great Epic adventure, amazing cinematography and cast. 5 STARS!!! 5 stars
12/27/02 alien assassin The film of the year. If you don't like thi, get the DVD of "Conan the Destroyer" !!!! 5 stars
12/27/02 willy i get wet just thinking about it 5 stars
12/27/02 Den Crazy! 5 stars
12/27/02 David Dickinson Mind Blowing, freatest movie ever 5 stars
12/27/02 John H Great film, as expected, close enough to book 5 stars
12/27/02 Jim Terrific battle scenes, horrific images on the way to Mordor, and a most pitiable Gollum 5 stars
12/27/02 Zargo miraculous achievement, far better then fellowship 5 stars
12/26/02 Dom Corleone Sensational 5 stars
12/26/02 Matthew Smith simply a Magnificent experience, far superior to the first film 5 stars
12/26/02 Bunnyrab Astounding. Simply awesome, in the original sense of the word. 5 stars
12/26/02 Angry Lemur OH MY GOD... Cinematic perfection. 5 stars
12/26/02 .Choadushouse. F.cking SO overrated. Long, boring, uneventful. Other Jackson films are far superior 3 stars
12/26/02 STEVE MAYBE OSCAR WILL SMILE WITH BEST PICTURE THIS TIME ROUND? 5 stars
12/25/02 kiwi breathless!!!!! 5 stars
12/25/02 pdawg perfect! 5 stars
12/25/02 Jay Great movie - Oscars should be given 5 stars
12/25/02 JesseL This movie R-O-C-K-S The kids loved it. Only gollums don't like it. 5 stars
12/25/02 PaRaDoX i would love to have sex ..while im watching it..rico!!! 5 stars
12/25/02 Anarchy Azmi lacked the pace of the first?...the first had no pace!!..jiz you are insane 5 stars
12/24/02 Jiz Lacked the pace of the first (first half was kinda boring) but was still good 4 stars
12/24/02 guisada TTT is the best thing i have seen in my life. all else is crap. 5 stars
12/24/02 Dustin Is there a TOTALLY Fucking Awesome option? I need a higher rating... 5 stars
12/24/02 darth vade-rr incredible 5 stars
12/24/02 matt wakeman viscreal and unmissable, best film of the year 5 stars
12/24/02 Lala Legrand I am somewhat biased but I absolutely am smitten with this trilogy 5 stars
12/24/02 Wow Uhm, oh god. Oh god. OH GOD. 5 stars
12/24/02 Mikey Wars sceens nuts arrows flying Into thousands of orcs wow Elfs shot fast. 5 stars
12/24/02 Movie Expert Has the best visual effects of all time,has brilliant acting and script, a masterpiece 5 stars
12/24/02 Dominic Love it, you know you want to 5 stars
12/24/02 Trish Absolutly Incredible 5 stars
12/24/02 Kevin McKenna Tremendous achievement 5 stars
12/24/02 Fonq35 Scale and epic sweep like you have never seen... 5 stars
12/24/02 Duncan A fantastic film! Don't miss it! 5 stars
12/24/02 kohawk The flood was amazing. Great movie. 5 stars
12/24/02 Sally Plunkett How can PJ not win best director for these stunning films that no one else ever dared touch 5 stars
12/24/02 James Can't wait for the next!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/23/02 Karl Marx Peter Jackson owns you! This movie is beyond awesome. 5 stars
12/23/02 hongkongkian Absolutely fabulous and stirring on every level!!! At least on the same par as Fellowship. 5 stars
12/23/02 Baillie Peter Jackson belongs with Michelangelo and Leonardo Da Vinci. 5 stars
12/23/02 Benjamin Leatherman ic and majestic, everything that AOTC should have been. I still liked FOTR better. 4 stars
12/23/02 Wolf They shoulda used burning oil and flaming arrows. Nuffsaid. 5 stars
12/23/02 Matt Noske A perfect chapter to a perfect tail. 5 stars
12/23/02 Thomas M. Borger Monumental Filmaking 5 stars
12/23/02 Tom F Fantastic, great character work (esp. Smeagol/Gollum) 5 stars
12/23/02 Chris Movie of the year! Even better than the first! 5 stars
12/23/02 Nikita These two movies are seamless, superb! 5 stars
12/23/02 ^ZuLu^ Much better than the first: more action, great effects and all well done. 4 stars
12/23/02 Brian AWESOME!!! 5 stars
12/23/02 Edler Illicit, which came first? Star Wars or Tolkien's books? Perhaps Lucas is the copycat? 5 stars
12/23/02 Jason Gortician More intense than the life of a Repo Man. 5 stars
12/23/02 Athena fabulous 5 stars
12/23/02 David M Rosonowski This was a very good use of three hours... 6 in my case. I saw it twice. The sheer scale! 5 stars
12/23/02 Illicit Waaay to much walking, am i the only one who thinks these movies are like Star Wars? 4 stars
12/23/02 Koitus YOUR life "will be forfeit," if you don't see this 2nd installment! Awesome! 5 stars
12/22/02 AK47 This movie rapes typical Hollywood in the ass with a barrel cactus! 5 stars
12/22/02 Neo Damn, It looks like my chances of having the next best trilogy just went down the drain. 5 stars
12/22/02 malcolm i gotta wait another year for the rest?! DAMN! 5 stars
12/22/02 Morally Sound Far better than FOTR. This is truly an epic! Awesome! It kicks ass! 5 stars
12/22/02 MidniteArrow Good movie - but it WAS NOT Tolkien's "The Two Towers" - too much was changed. 4 stars
12/22/02 KMAN speechless... 5 stars
12/22/02 Anarchy Azmi achieves everything that harry potter and star wars (combined) failed..... 5 stars
12/21/02 Zefram Mann We are witness to cinimatic history. 5 stars
12/21/02 George Syrius: No, no he doesn't. 5 stars
12/21/02 Shams Huque The feeling I got when Gandalf arrives late in the film on horseback says it all... 5 stars
12/21/02 Vicious the rating says it all 5 stars
12/21/02 syrius doesn't gollum/ smeagal remind you of jar jar binx? O yeah, the movie was great also. 5 stars
12/21/02 bullit17 Wow. All I can say is just ... WOW! 5 stars
12/21/02 Billy Chan The people that pick on this movie haven't got a clue. 5 stars
12/21/02 C3PO i'm programmed for comic relief, not destruction! 5 stars
12/21/02 SomeoneWhoAppreciatesThisMovie What's with you whiners? Boohoo so Wormtongue cried who cares, l thought it ws a good scene 5 stars
12/21/02 Curtis H. I am now totally confident LotR will become the single greatest trilogy in film history. 5 stars
12/21/02 ajay They cheese'd it up a bit more (a lot of single tears running down cheeks). still great! 4 stars
12/21/02 Human Shield It strays too far from the book. They ruined Faramir. I wanted to like it. 3 stars
12/21/02 paganchyk CGI and real emotion side by side. George Lucas, please take notes! 5 stars
12/21/02 E-Rock Star What? Indiana Who? There's a new "King Trilogy" in town... 5 stars
12/20/02 Gracy Lionheart Not the dark, desperate tale that I expected. It was muddled and too cliched. 2 stars
12/20/02 Titec Better than the first, nice work with golum 5 stars
12/20/02 The Talking Elbow This movie slaps you in the face with grandeur. 5 stars
12/20/02 Senator Blutarsky The themes of Tolkien ring out and make this fantasy movie so much more 5 stars
12/20/02 George Am I the only one who wanted to see Gollum say "Take that, Jar-Jar" at the end? 5 stars
12/20/02 Obi Wan 1 Word, WOW!! Loved it!! An Oscar for sure this time!! My Precious..LOTR II 5 stars
12/20/02 Kwith When the Ents started marching I almost fainted! Unbelievable!!!! 5 stars
12/20/02 tony rizzo you cant compare jackson to lucas. Jackson is a real artist and this work has real emotion. 5 stars
12/20/02 Str8Dog why create realistic cg creatures then give them disney cartoon eyes? 5 stars
12/20/02 Flounder Not better than Fellowship but just as good. Move over Lucas, you have found your match! 5 stars
12/20/02 veddermatic I hope hollywood take notes on this film!!! 5 stars
12/20/02 Tom M Couldn't be better 5 stars
12/20/02 Todd Holy shit! 5 stars
12/20/02 Andrew F George Lucas knows where to shove it 5 stars
12/20/02 Kevin I thought nothing could be better than fellowship. When's the DVD!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/20/02 lmy incredible 5 stars
12/20/02 Edric Unbelieveable. Simple incredible. 5 stars
12/20/02 Gaiia BEAUTIFUL MOVIE!!! gollum, great; gandalf and aragorn so lovable! 5 stars
12/20/02 A Ryan Unbelievably awsome movie Gollum is so cool 5 stars
12/19/02 Uncle Salty The only thing bad was the coming attractions. Beware The Core! 5 stars
12/19/02 gromm At times too long, at others not long enough. See it and understand. :) 5 stars
12/19/02 Elizaveta so so very splendid....I heart Aragorn 5 stars
12/19/02 strider3700 364 days and counting 5 stars
12/19/02 MollieDollie Simply phenomenal. 5 stars
12/19/02 Arrowroot of Arrowshirt Seemed more deliberate than the first but well worth it...damn another year 4 stars
12/19/02 Large Farve I am REALLY looking forward to Return of the King next year. Even more than my wedding. 5 stars
12/19/02 Allen Gandalf was moving, Gollum, Aragorn, Treebeard tremendous. Helm's deep greatest battlescene 5 stars
12/19/02 thejames Fucking great, but is there something going on between sam and frodo? 5 stars
12/19/02 George More entertaining than the first, although both are excellent. Plot cuts are irrelevant. 5 stars
12/19/02 Blaise Excellent rendition for those who haven't read the book. Plot cuts may dissappoint readers 4 stars
12/19/02 Darren Shea More effective than the first. Nearly perfect, marred only by some iffy CGI. 5 stars
12/19/02 Chicodawg Great movie. 5 stars
12/18/02 nick2k different flow than the 1st, but still great. one more year to go...fuck. 5 stars
12/18/02 Jimmy AWESOME! Better than the 1st Movie! 5 stars
12/18/02 The Tick Different than the 1st, but equal in it's own way. You will not be disappointed. 5 stars
12/14/02 CHEESEBALL THE OVERLY EMBALMED ACADAMY NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE GENIUS! 5 stars
12/13/02 will i also saw a sneak preview, it was stupendous 5 stars
12/08/02 Regis I saw an advanced screening of this movie and it kicks ass! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Dec-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Aug-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Dec-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast