More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.02

Awesome: 28.57%
Worth A Look: 14.29%
Average: 20.41%
Pretty Bad: 4.08%
Total Crap32.65%

1 review, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hot Chick, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Dude, he totally acts like a girl in this movie. That's so awesome."
1 stars

I always hoped I would live my entire life without hearing someone utter the words "Rob Schneider IS the hot chick." Once again, life proves to be one crushing disappointment after another.

The premise of this insipid, worthless comedy is that a hoochie high school girl named Jessica (Rachel McAdams) puts on a magic earring that makes her switch bodies with whoever wears the other one. In this case, it's a low-life criminal named Clive (Rob Schneider). So one morning she wakes up, and she has Rob Schneider's body. You can imagine the shame. Bad enough you're a lithe young teen-age hottie who suddenly has a man's body; does it have to be Rob Schneider's? That horrific thought alone warrants an R rating.

At any rate, Jessica calls her best friend April (Anna Faris) and convinces her that, Schneideristic appearance aside, she really is Jessica, and April accepts her for who she is. So do their other friends. They also start to accept the fat girl, and the witch girl, and the black girl accepts her Korean mother -- in the end, every single character, including some of the extras and people hired by the caterer, has had a change of heart and learned to accept people for who they are.

Whatever. The movie's still not funny.

But back to the point. Now stuck in a man's body, Jessica does the worst thing she could do: She keeps acting like herself. A smart person in this situation would realize that since she looks like a man, she should probably try to act like one, wear a man's clothes, use a man's mannerisms, and so on. But Rob Schneider acting like a man isn't funny. Rob Schneider acting like a girl, though -- well, that's not funny, either. But it at least has potential.

And so there's Rob Schneider, talking like a girl and wearing frilly clothing and looking at cute guys. Naturally, everyone around him thinks he's gay, which of course is THE FUNNIEST thing in the world, to think a guy is gay. And then, when Jessica in Rob's body convinces her boyfriend (Matthew Lawrence) that it's her inside there, and that if he truly loves her, it won't matter what her body looks like, and then they almost kiss -- DUDE, that's two guys kissing! No way!

Nearly all of the humor in the film relies on characters behaving contrary to the way real people behave, which ruins the chances of it being funny. The fact that Jessica doesn't even try to put on an act is severely limiting, and on that flimsy premise hangs the entire film.

Schneider is not an especially gifted comedian, though I enjoyed his last two films, "Deuce Bigalow" and "The Animal." "The Hot Chick," though, is a step backward, an uneven, unfunny, unenjoyable experience.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6453&reviewer=247
originally posted: 12/15/02 06:43:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/11 Ashley Corpening Rachel McAdams's punishment in advance for (brilliantly performed)meanness of Regina George 3 stars
6/15/11 My apples are rotting A cinematic cancer. If I could give it zero, I would. 1 stars
3/25/08 TheGuvAnator If you wanted to be entertained for 90 minutes Watch this filem VERY FUNNY!!!! 5 stars
9/25/07 Beau LING LING you forgot your bling bling, your not ashamed of me lol!! actualli hilarious 4 stars
3/31/06 Anthony Feor Rob Schnieder should fire his agent or retire 1 stars
2/02/06 JM Synth I actually like Schneider, but this was crappy. Lazy humour and mawkish sentimentality 1 stars
10/15/05 tony hardly funny. Get it out of here! 1 stars
2/26/05 Mel Gordon Very funny. I especially liked ,Megan Kuhlman in her role. Do you have any more info on her 4 stars
1/17/05 JJ was funny 5 stars
11/27/04 Matt C I had low expectations and instead I laughed the entire time! 4 stars
6/21/04 Samuel It was ok, not much though. 3 stars
5/03/04 Me a great film 5 stars
4/01/04 Gray I thought it was funny if preachy in parts 3 stars
3/02/04 Ray Fuck you who ever wrote this shit.Rob Schneider Rules aight mofos. 5 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody What will be next? Rob Schnider is...a carrot! A stapler? A good actor?! 3 stars
12/10/03 re AWESOME really funny 5 stars
11/27/03 he i thought it was funny 5 stars
10/31/03 Doveyard Twayblade Quarkpainters Despite funny moments, this chick with a dick flick lets snob chicks off too easy! 3 stars
10/11/03 Princees the movie is ok 3 stars
10/01/03 Redpajammas funny 5 stars
8/09/03 dado nothing special but some funny moments 3 stars
8/04/03 The Punisher You guys knew what to expect before you saw it. Do you bitch about McDonalds food too? 2 stars
6/29/03 Rosalie I usually don't laugh at stupid comedy. I laughed at this movie. 4 stars
6/28/03 seamaxine Rob is brilliant. He has to be comfortable with his manhood to pull this off!Hilarious! 5 stars
6/17/03 Mike pink panties rule and I wanto to be a girl now 5 stars
6/02/03 Matt Hubbard I liked it! I laughed many times watching it. Premise may be lame, but gags are hilarious! 4 stars
6/02/03 kyle i think this is the stupidest movie i've ever seen. it's not even remotely funny. 1 stars
3/31/03 D R I laughed my ass off and I was entertained... Isn't that the point? 4 stars
2/23/03 Rob is COOL Your ratings are absolutely crap, you r not a good film critic 5 stars
2/22/03 Doveyard Twayblade Quarkpainters Despite funny moments, this chick with a dick flick lets snob chicks off too easy! 3 stars
2/12/03 Emily IT WAS ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS!!!! :) 5 stars
1/20/03 BAM THE BEST COMEDY FILM OF THE YEAR 5 stars
1/10/03 Mipchunk who needs dr. kevorkian when movies like this put you into a painful coma? 1 stars
1/09/03 Chowie pppppffffttttt, meh..... 2 stars
1/04/03 WestcoastPunk It had its moments but wasn't even on my top 100 list 3 stars
12/28/02 Matt and Rob Any one who even thinks this movie is remotely good, should be kicked in the teeth (gay). 1 stars
12/23/02 Butterbean Of course it's stupid, but it was charming as well. 3 stars
12/23/02 stud A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
12/17/02 Mortis It was a sweet, endearing girl empowerment movie. Little girls should see it. 4 stars
12/15/02 Pushing Up Daisies They wheeled my lifeless corpse out of the theater feet first after I saw this shite. 1 stars
12/15/02 Buddha Do we blame Schneider for sucking or Sandler for bankrolling yet another sucky movie? 1 stars
12/14/02 Jimmy This movie was soooooooooo gay! 1 stars
12/10/02 BAM A GREAT COMEDY 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Dec-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2003


Directed by
  Tom Brady

Written by
  Tom Brady
  Rob Schneider

Cast
  Rob Schneider
  Rachel McAdams
  Anna Faris
  Andrew Keegan
  Matthew Lawrence
  Robert Davi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast