More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 7.86%
Worth A Look: 10.71%
Average: 27.86%
Pretty Bad32.14%
Total Crap: 21.43%

7 reviews, 98 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Star Trek: Nemesis
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Didn't these guys used to BOLDLY go NEW places?"
2 stars

Three things before we begin: 1. I absolutely adored 'Star Trek: The Next Generation' as a TV series. 2. I've yet to see a Star Trek flick with the TNG cast that wasn't a gaping yawnfest. 3. That includes this one.

While on our way out of the theater, my friend Josh and I were debating the merits of Star Trek: Nemesis. (Interesting note: "Nemesis" was originally set to be the title of the previous entry. They went instead with Insurrection, and used Nemesis here. No real point; just wondering aloud if these titles actually MEAN anything or if they're just being used instead of "Part 9" and "Part 10".) Neither of us were exactly enthusiastic about what we'd just seen, but he felt mildly defensive of his beloved TNG crew and professed that Nemesis simply "wasn't that bad". So my question to him was:

"If you matched this movie up against any random episode of 'The Next Generation' and rated them based on script, acting performances, and overall entertainment value - which would prove more satisfying?"

In other words, we're now paying 8 bucks a pop to see an extended TV episode, and (aside from some glossy new FX) it's an episode that's not particularly smart, exciting, or engaging. The law of diminishing returns has overwhelmed the crew of the U.S.S. Enterprise, and after slogging through this newest chapter my guess is that this rocket has simply run out of fuel.

The plot involves a whole lot of discussion about positronic rays, twin-brother robots, Romulans and Remans, and evil clones (hmm, where'd THAT concept come from) yet there's very little here to challenge those who ten years ago delighted at the intricate cleverness of the original series. Sure, the familiar crew is (for the most part) present and accounted for, but if you can find one important or interesting idea put forth by anyone but the Picard or Data characters...then your love for the source material has clouded your brain and you must be deprogrammed soon.

Patrick Stewart is, as always, a joy to watch. Too bad that the criminally talented character actor will probably never find consistent, popular work outside of this interstellar dinosaur. (Yes, he makes even bad dialogue sound authentic, but this guy's too good an actor to spend his entire career spent with his skinny arms dangling about in a red space suit.)

As far as Brent Spiner's Data is concerned, I'm simply not a fan - so any criticisms about his banal presence and tiresome antics may be taken with a grain of salt. As if in response to my most arcane nightmares, we get two Datas this time around. One sings.

The rest of the crew is left mainly to wander about in the background, muttering about unrelated plot points like new weddings and... Actually I think that's the only real subplot: Riker and Troi are finally wed. In the grand history of cinematic nuptials, this wedding ranks somewhere above Prinze/Gellar but much lower than Kermit/Piggy.

To be fair, we are offered a somewhat cool chase scene set on a Pitch Black-ish monochromatic planet, and there is an extended spaceship battle that will keep you entertained if you ignore every law of science you've ever gleaned, but in between the claustrophobic action bits there's very little onscreen that's more interesting than the face of your watch. (If you consider Picard arguing with his younger self about the nature of man the pinnacle of all things thrilling, there may be a stray 25 minutes in here you'll enjoy.)

Notable mainly for its painfully earnest and trite dialogue and a dutiful (if pointless) devotion to silly mini-cameos, this sequel is as push-button and formula-bound as they come. Whoopi Goldberg, Kate Mulgrew, and Wil Wheaton each make quick appearances, as do a few spoken references to the Borg: lazy lip service meant to appease the old-school fans, fans who deserve better than just an off-hand comment or familiar face to keep them sated. Coated in plastic goo are two likable actors I didn't even recognize (Ron Perlman and Dina Meyer), while head baddie Tom Hardy does everything he can to channel Jaye Davidson's career-shortening presence from Emmerich's Stargate.

Blah, I digress. It's not even important for a Star Trek movie to be GOOD anymore. The flicks act as an integral tentpole for the whole circus. Taken as a tool to help retain public awareness for the various Star Trek books, video games, toys, and TV shows, Nemesis does its job relatively well. Unfortunately, movies need to be more than well-polished product to earn my recommendation.

Recommendable only to those most ardent Star Trek fans; the ones who are willing to overlook a boatload of lazy and predictable gimmicks only to visit with some beloved old characters just one more time. To those fans, I say simply this: see 'Nemesis' once; enjoy your 'Next Generation' DVDs forever.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6455&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/14/02 06:36:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

11/17/10 chris walsh **** awsome 5 stars
9/09/09 Nice one Berman Not for die-hard fans either- Holy Mother Of God it was awful! Not kidding. 1 stars
5/17/09 Sam Like Picard/Data fanfiction in cinematic form. Beware of vampire Romulans. 2 stars
10/18/08 PAUL SHORTT FLAT, UNEVENTFUL AND DULL 1 stars
7/08/08 Kang The android twins look like they were left by the warp core too long and have begun to melt 1 stars
5/26/08 Admiral Hornblower Patrick kept this one out of the drink... barely. 3 stars
1/23/08 V Cheaply ritten rehash of Star trek 2 with low budget FX worthy of Babylon 5.not the worst. 2 stars
12/16/07 Jason Typical star trek-BORING! Some good fight scenes. 2 stars
2/08/07 Gorgonzilla Not as bad as Insurrection. But still a horribly missed opportunity. 2 stars
8/21/06 Indrid Cold WTF??!! The movies are no bigger or more exciting than a typical episode of the show. 3 stars
3/26/06 ScottM The premise makes no sense. How does a slave build a hyperadvanced starship undetected? 2 stars
8/18/05 ES What ever happened to Q? 1 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot Stuart Baird— YOU TOTALLY SUCK! Stay away from Trek! 2 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier A poor way to end the series 3 stars
5/18/05 Pippin007 Stars Wars is better. 2 stars
9/18/04 Jeff Wilder Badly written and cliched. 2 stars
8/02/04 P.Rodriguez Scott W. Is right on the money. 2 stars
4/24/04 Easter Lemming Only A Few Moments Prevent This From Being Total Crap 2 stars
1/22/04 Abe Giesbrecht Great 4 stars
12/14/03 Eric Boring and contrived, almost every facet of the plot is just to set up Data's death. 2 stars
11/17/03 Sanzai I liked it a lot, but I'm biased. Can't say what a non-fan would think.... 5 stars
9/19/03 Jim The big space battle makes it worthwhile 4 stars
7/13/03 3man I just hope they don't pimp out another Trek movie. 3 stars
7/11/03 Steve Watched after another better movie- didn't help! 2 stars
7/06/03 flip I can't believe they killed Data...... 3 stars
6/17/03 Gil Carlson Pathetic, lifeless drek and what's with those dune buggies? 1 stars
6/14/03 Jim Slade Tired rehash - Intended to those who will watch anything "Star Trek" 1 stars
6/06/03 Devin Rice It has two sides, one new and the other that has been used many times but maybe the best 5 stars
6/01/03 Rod Baird, while a competent director was not familiar enough with the characters. 2 stars
5/24/03 Gecko Fanfoot Every bit as bad as Star Trek V...no, IT'S WORSE! 1 stars
5/22/03 Charles Tatum Above average effects and look lift awkward opening half hour 4 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Unbelievably bad. This, unfortunately, was the franchise buster. Bring back Kirk! 1 stars
3/18/03 Mike IT sucks 2 stars
3/18/03 Stas Luban Nemesis has less plot than All My Children, and is a video game on big screen 1 stars
3/16/03 Cameron Slick the worst of the even numbered treks, but still quite a good premise and a cool climax 4 stars
3/13/03 Valerie Cameron Far far from the best of Star Trek movies. Takes so long to get going you hardly care. 2 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Data dies, and the crew separates. And when the FUCK're they gonna make Picard an Admiral? 3 stars
2/12/03 alien assassin Not bad, but the entire concept is way past it's use by date. 3 stars
2/12/03 Dasboot A middle-ground Trek film that has its good points but suffers from some bad ones 3 stars
2/11/03 spacecowboy MAN, WTF!?!?!? and wtf did that Data dude die! MAN, WTF 3 stars
1/27/03 STEVE DIE STAR TREK DIE!! HAHAHAHAHEHEHEHEHPHOHOHOHE...I SAID DIE!!!NOW!DIE HEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHEHHEH 1 stars
1/21/03 Eric Better than Insurrection, hardly the thrill ride that is First Contact. 3 stars
1/18/03 Colin Selby WHAT A SMOULDERING PILE OF POO.DON'T CALL US 1 stars
1/18/03 Nate This sucks, far too many errors 1 stars
1/17/03 Katub Trek X is a stinkfest of the highest order, and I'm being nice! 1 stars
1/14/03 snowconehead this movie is the epitome of the word "eh" 4 stars
1/13/03 Vitality1 Cheesy, but what ST movie isnt? Plus, has a Wesley Crusher cameo and Shinzon is yummy 4 stars
1/12/03 Vicious Blah. 2 stars
1/06/03 John Weak and ill-conceived 1 stars
1/03/03 Andrew F Bit cheesy, but still fun 3 stars
1/02/03 michaelb14 Not nearly as bad as I was expecting, not that bad 4 stars
12/31/02 Dominic I went to keep a friend company. I am thinking about never speaking to them again. 1 stars
12/24/02 bipartisan Time to milk some more $$$ from the Trekkies - awful, awful film 1 stars
12/23/02 3man Cool battle but poorly edited. I hope it's the end. 3 stars
12/22/02 Kent Wow - it sucked! 2 stars
12/22/02 Kraig Hamilton Piece of crap.... horrid... 1 stars
12/21/02 thermodynamic It's worn out, tired, unoriginal, just plain crap 1 stars
12/21/02 Billy Chan Don't listen to the naysayers...this is worth seeing, has plenty to recommend 4 stars
12/20/02 Roy Wall Best starship battle ever! 5 stars
12/19/02 Andrea I enjoyed it regardless of its flaws 4 stars
12/19/02 Joe Make It Stop Oh God Make It Fucking Stop 1 stars
12/19/02 Frank Grimes Ok, but a script that could stand on its own would be appreciated 3 stars
12/18/02 nick2k a travesty! this is supposed to end the tng-series?! fuck this shit! 2 stars
12/18/02 Uncle Salty Somewhat predictable, plus, haven't they heard of the Atkins diet in the future? 4 stars
12/18/02 Darren Shea Derivative of better movies, and pointlessly maudlin. For die-hard Trek fans only. 3 stars
12/17/02 Superdave Ah, its Ok, and worth seeing, but don't get your hopes up 3 stars
12/17/02 Steve Strahlk As a true scifi buff, there are few films that hold a candle to this one. True Trek! 5 stars
12/17/02 steven seagall hey, it's better than any movie i've ever been in... 2 stars
12/17/02 Saynt Tanami This was among the top three ever made!! 5 stars
12/17/02 ben awesome 5 stars
12/17/02 Benjamin Leatherman A lot of great action and a good villain, but less B4 would have made it better. 4 stars
12/17/02 bob didn't live up to hype 2 stars
12/17/02 Mortis I prefered Nemesis when it was called Wrath of Khan 3 stars
12/17/02 Hotaine The dead character was very much alive at the end of "All Good Things..." 2 stars
12/17/02 Roy Smith Go during matinee or hate yourself - stupid ideas abound. 2 stars
12/17/02 Tony Morris It is with much regret that I found "Solaris" a more entertaining film 2 stars
12/16/02 D Did Worf get demoted?He became Ambassador at DS9 end. I expected more for a finale. 4 stars
12/16/02 Matt Thiel I expected Lore to return. 2 stars
12/16/02 Jimmy Jamez eh. s'alright. go to a matinee. 3 stars
12/16/02 Lloyd Good movie brought down by bad editing. Still I thought it was OK 3 stars
12/16/02 Brandon Continuity Problems (B4)! Crusher, Worf, Geordi reduced to background clutter! Mind Rape! 1 stars
12/16/02 Boba Fett Booooooorrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnggggg...shoulda seen Drumline 2 stars
12/16/02 Negman I found it more enjoyable than episode 2. 4 stars
12/15/02 Recockulous Oddly lacking in soundtrack, it was an homage to ST II. One of the top 3 ST films, I think. 4 stars
12/15/02 Kisuta Didn't feel like a big enough movie to kill off a main character. 3 stars
12/15/02 Trek nerds rejoice! You have more Rick Berman Star Trek crap to digest! Everyone else knows this is crap. 1 stars
12/15/02 iso Fucking amazing. If you don't like it, you're being too critical 5 stars
12/15/02 Damm Wasn't even worth seeing 1 stars
12/15/02 Nessus Was a pretty decent action movie, but it didn't feel like a Star Trek movie. 3 stars
12/14/02 brent young a really fun ride in the star trek universe and a fine (probable) ending to TNG movies 5 stars
12/14/02 Benjamin Leatherman Less B4 and more of the Remans would have made this film better. Still pretty kick ass!!!!! 4 stars
12/14/02 Kooler Everyone but Picard looks like shit. Riker could barely fit in the jeffries tube. 2 stars
12/14/02 Wazzy Utter crap. Broke even the easily bendable Star Trek laws. A waste of money. 1 stars
12/14/02 Miguel I'd honestly rather see Attack of the Clones again than this... 2 stars
12/13/02 Wayne I'd rather listen to Shatner sing than see this crap again. 1 stars
12/13/02 Brian Rocks!!!! 5 stars
12/12/02 Randy started great....then just tapered off 3 stars
12/11/02 Tony Young Though the territory has been tread before, this film is invigorating with great characters 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Dec-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 04-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast