More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 7.86%
Worth A Look: 10.71%
Average: 27.86%
Pretty Bad32.14%
Total Crap: 21.43%

7 reviews, 98 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Death of Dick Long, The by Jay Seaver

Blinded By the Light by Lybarger

Blinded By the Light by Peter Sobczynski

Good Boys by Peter Sobczynski

Divine Fury, The by Jay Seaver

Them That Follow by Jay Seaver

Bravest, The by Jay Seaver

Abyss, The by Rob Gonsalves

Bodies at Rest by Jay Seaver

Hobbs & Shaw by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Star Trek: Nemesis
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Doug Bentin

"If you're going to boldly go, go now."
3 stars

I’ve never been a Trekite (this coinage is to avoid the “Trekkie” vs. “Trekker” trap—“Trekophile” will work just as well), but I’ve enjoyed my voyages to the stars over the years, and I’ve felt much closer to the first two Trek crews than I ever have to the characters from the Star Wars galaxy.

The last three incarnations of the Trek world, however, have left me pretty chilled and if the only choice is between turning the film franchise over to the Voyager crew or putting the good ship Enterprise away in moth balls, I’ll take the top shelf in the closet, right next to Charlie Chan, any day.

The Next Generation crew still looks to be in good shape. There’s none of the Bones’ age or Shatner gut on display in “Nemesis.” Producer Rick Berman could easily squeeze a couple of movies more out of these guys and gals, if he didn’t wait four years before releasing number 11 in the series.

But if the improbable next one weren’t any better than number 10, I’d advise Berman not to bother.

“Nemesis” is moderately entertaining, but the crossover potential to reach non-Trekistas is thin. It’s not that you need to know the crew’s back-story to appreciate what they do in the new movie. It wouldn’t hurt, of course, to know Riker’s and Deanna’s history, and why another of the characters is so beloved by the others, but you can take some things for granted and go with the action of the picture.

The movie’s greatest flaw is not that it is an outgrowth of a TV show, but that it is still clinging to TV visuals. Director Stuart Baird shoots most of the dialogue scenes—and there are a lot of them—in screen-filling close-up. This will help the movie play well on television, but it overwhelms a theater audience. Most of what the characters have to say doesn’t require the emotional emphasis close-ups force on us. What they do is cut down on the amount of set design that would be necessary in a wider shot. I guess this allows the bulk of the non-actors’ salary budget to be spent on the battle sequence that concludes the film, but it gives the entire enterprise, as it were, a cheap and incomplete feel.

The film begins with a wedding and the promise of a honeymoon. The nuptials will split up the crew. We go into the movie expecting that this cast will not reprise their roles yet again as the picture’s tag line promises that this is “a generation’s final journey.”

But before the newlyweds can leave the ship, the Enterprise is sent to the planet of Romulus. Praetor Shinzon (Tom Hardy) is making peace overtures, but he insists on meeting Capt. Picard (Patrick Stewart) in person. Picard discovers that Shinzon is, in fact, a younger version of himself, cloned without his knowledge or consent.

It’s no mystery to us from the start that Shinzon’s true intent is to force a complete blood transfusion from his older self, and then destroy the Earth. Some little brothers are just like that. Part of the bait used to draw the Enterprise crew into the net is a prototype robot called B-4 that looks just like Data (Brent Spiner) but is seriously lacking in the asimov circuits. This device allows the screenwriters to double up on the double motif.

Once Picard figures out what’s going on, the rest of the film is pursuit and escape, with a grand battle between star ships for a finale. It looks pretty sharp, but once again (and I write this while emitting a huge sigh) we have to tolerate the same old explosions in the vacuum of space and “space acting.” On a talk show long ago, Stewart and the rest of the Next Generation cast gave a display of what they called “space acting,” which meant grabbing the arms of their chairs and shaking themselves to simulate being onboard a ship that was getting laser blasted.

Other reviewers have complained about this aspect of “Nemesis,” that we see the same old tossing around of bodies on the bridge (one of which belongs to “X-Men” director Brian Singer in a cameo), the same old sparks falling from the ceiling, and the same old worries that the shields are down to 10 percent capacity. In this respect, “Nemesis” is more retro than “Far From Heaven.”

I suspect that the faithful in the audience would be sorely disappointed if these elements were omitted. It would be like a James Bond movie without the scene with Q, or a Sherlock Holmes story that was missing the moment when Holmes explains some marvelous deduction to Watson. “Amazing Holmes!” “Not at all, Watson.”

It’s always good to see old friends on the screen, and for many of us one or more of the Enterprise crews are just that. But when old friends grow tired of dropping by, and cease having anything to say when they do, maybe it’s time call it a day.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6455&reviewer=405
originally posted: 01/25/07 05:17:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

11/17/10 chris walsh **** awsome 5 stars
9/09/09 Nice one Berman Not for die-hard fans either- Holy Mother Of God it was awful! Not kidding. 1 stars
5/17/09 Sam Like Picard/Data fanfiction in cinematic form. Beware of vampire Romulans. 2 stars
10/18/08 PAUL SHORTT FLAT, UNEVENTFUL AND DULL 1 stars
7/08/08 Kang The android twins look like they were left by the warp core too long and have begun to melt 1 stars
5/26/08 Admiral Hornblower Patrick kept this one out of the drink... barely. 3 stars
1/23/08 V Cheaply ritten rehash of Star trek 2 with low budget FX worthy of Babylon 5.not the worst. 2 stars
12/16/07 Jason Typical star trek-BORING! Some good fight scenes. 2 stars
2/08/07 Gorgonzilla Not as bad as Insurrection. But still a horribly missed opportunity. 2 stars
8/21/06 Indrid Cold WTF??!! The movies are no bigger or more exciting than a typical episode of the show. 3 stars
3/26/06 ScottM The premise makes no sense. How does a slave build a hyperadvanced starship undetected? 2 stars
8/18/05 ES What ever happened to Q? 1 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot Stuart Baird— YOU TOTALLY SUCK! Stay away from Trek! 2 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier A poor way to end the series 3 stars
5/18/05 Pippin007 Stars Wars is better. 2 stars
9/18/04 Jeff Wilder Badly written and cliched. 2 stars
8/02/04 P.Rodriguez Scott W. Is right on the money. 2 stars
4/24/04 Easter Lemming Only A Few Moments Prevent This From Being Total Crap 2 stars
1/22/04 Abe Giesbrecht Great 4 stars
12/14/03 Eric Boring and contrived, almost every facet of the plot is just to set up Data's death. 2 stars
11/17/03 Sanzai I liked it a lot, but I'm biased. Can't say what a non-fan would think.... 5 stars
9/19/03 Jim The big space battle makes it worthwhile 4 stars
7/13/03 3man I just hope they don't pimp out another Trek movie. 3 stars
7/11/03 Steve Watched after another better movie- didn't help! 2 stars
7/06/03 flip I can't believe they killed Data...... 3 stars
6/17/03 Gil Carlson Pathetic, lifeless drek and what's with those dune buggies? 1 stars
6/14/03 Jim Slade Tired rehash - Intended to those who will watch anything "Star Trek" 1 stars
6/06/03 Devin Rice It has two sides, one new and the other that has been used many times but maybe the best 5 stars
6/01/03 Rod Baird, while a competent director was not familiar enough with the characters. 2 stars
5/24/03 Gecko Fanfoot Every bit as bad as Star Trek V...no, IT'S WORSE! 1 stars
5/22/03 Charles Tatum Above average effects and look lift awkward opening half hour 4 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Unbelievably bad. This, unfortunately, was the franchise buster. Bring back Kirk! 1 stars
3/18/03 Mike IT sucks 2 stars
3/18/03 Stas Luban Nemesis has less plot than All My Children, and is a video game on big screen 1 stars
3/16/03 Cameron Slick the worst of the even numbered treks, but still quite a good premise and a cool climax 4 stars
3/13/03 Valerie Cameron Far far from the best of Star Trek movies. Takes so long to get going you hardly care. 2 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Data dies, and the crew separates. And when the FUCK're they gonna make Picard an Admiral? 3 stars
2/12/03 alien assassin Not bad, but the entire concept is way past it's use by date. 3 stars
2/12/03 Dasboot A middle-ground Trek film that has its good points but suffers from some bad ones 3 stars
2/11/03 spacecowboy MAN, WTF!?!?!? and wtf did that Data dude die! MAN, WTF 3 stars
1/27/03 STEVE DIE STAR TREK DIE!! HAHAHAHAHEHEHEHEHPHOHOHOHE...I SAID DIE!!!NOW!DIE HEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHEHHEH 1 stars
1/21/03 Eric Better than Insurrection, hardly the thrill ride that is First Contact. 3 stars
1/18/03 Colin Selby WHAT A SMOULDERING PILE OF POO.DON'T CALL US 1 stars
1/18/03 Nate This sucks, far too many errors 1 stars
1/17/03 Katub Trek X is a stinkfest of the highest order, and I'm being nice! 1 stars
1/14/03 snowconehead this movie is the epitome of the word "eh" 4 stars
1/13/03 Vitality1 Cheesy, but what ST movie isnt? Plus, has a Wesley Crusher cameo and Shinzon is yummy 4 stars
1/12/03 Vicious Blah. 2 stars
1/06/03 John Weak and ill-conceived 1 stars
1/03/03 Andrew F Bit cheesy, but still fun 3 stars
1/02/03 michaelb14 Not nearly as bad as I was expecting, not that bad 4 stars
12/31/02 Dominic I went to keep a friend company. I am thinking about never speaking to them again. 1 stars
12/24/02 bipartisan Time to milk some more $$$ from the Trekkies - awful, awful film 1 stars
12/23/02 3man Cool battle but poorly edited. I hope it's the end. 3 stars
12/22/02 Kent Wow - it sucked! 2 stars
12/22/02 Kraig Hamilton Piece of crap.... horrid... 1 stars
12/21/02 thermodynamic It's worn out, tired, unoriginal, just plain crap 1 stars
12/21/02 Billy Chan Don't listen to the naysayers...this is worth seeing, has plenty to recommend 4 stars
12/20/02 Roy Wall Best starship battle ever! 5 stars
12/19/02 Andrea I enjoyed it regardless of its flaws 4 stars
12/19/02 Joe Make It Stop Oh God Make It Fucking Stop 1 stars
12/19/02 Frank Grimes Ok, but a script that could stand on its own would be appreciated 3 stars
12/18/02 nick2k a travesty! this is supposed to end the tng-series?! fuck this shit! 2 stars
12/18/02 Uncle Salty Somewhat predictable, plus, haven't they heard of the Atkins diet in the future? 4 stars
12/18/02 Darren Shea Derivative of better movies, and pointlessly maudlin. For die-hard Trek fans only. 3 stars
12/17/02 Superdave Ah, its Ok, and worth seeing, but don't get your hopes up 3 stars
12/17/02 Steve Strahlk As a true scifi buff, there are few films that hold a candle to this one. True Trek! 5 stars
12/17/02 steven seagall hey, it's better than any movie i've ever been in... 2 stars
12/17/02 Saynt Tanami This was among the top three ever made!! 5 stars
12/17/02 ben awesome 5 stars
12/17/02 Benjamin Leatherman A lot of great action and a good villain, but less B4 would have made it better. 4 stars
12/17/02 bob didn't live up to hype 2 stars
12/17/02 Mortis I prefered Nemesis when it was called Wrath of Khan 3 stars
12/17/02 Hotaine The dead character was very much alive at the end of "All Good Things..." 2 stars
12/17/02 Roy Smith Go during matinee or hate yourself - stupid ideas abound. 2 stars
12/17/02 Tony Morris It is with much regret that I found "Solaris" a more entertaining film 2 stars
12/16/02 D Did Worf get demoted?He became Ambassador at DS9 end. I expected more for a finale. 4 stars
12/16/02 Matt Thiel I expected Lore to return. 2 stars
12/16/02 Jimmy Jamez eh. s'alright. go to a matinee. 3 stars
12/16/02 Lloyd Good movie brought down by bad editing. Still I thought it was OK 3 stars
12/16/02 Brandon Continuity Problems (B4)! Crusher, Worf, Geordi reduced to background clutter! Mind Rape! 1 stars
12/16/02 Boba Fett Booooooorrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnggggg...shoulda seen Drumline 2 stars
12/16/02 Negman I found it more enjoyable than episode 2. 4 stars
12/15/02 Recockulous Oddly lacking in soundtrack, it was an homage to ST II. One of the top 3 ST films, I think. 4 stars
12/15/02 Kisuta Didn't feel like a big enough movie to kill off a main character. 3 stars
12/15/02 Trek nerds rejoice! You have more Rick Berman Star Trek crap to digest! Everyone else knows this is crap. 1 stars
12/15/02 iso Fucking amazing. If you don't like it, you're being too critical 5 stars
12/15/02 Damm Wasn't even worth seeing 1 stars
12/15/02 Nessus Was a pretty decent action movie, but it didn't feel like a Star Trek movie. 3 stars
12/14/02 brent young a really fun ride in the star trek universe and a fine (probable) ending to TNG movies 5 stars
12/14/02 Benjamin Leatherman Less B4 and more of the Remans would have made this film better. Still pretty kick ass!!!!! 4 stars
12/14/02 Kooler Everyone but Picard looks like shit. Riker could barely fit in the jeffries tube. 2 stars
12/14/02 Wazzy Utter crap. Broke even the easily bendable Star Trek laws. A waste of money. 1 stars
12/14/02 Miguel I'd honestly rather see Attack of the Clones again than this... 2 stars
12/13/02 Wayne I'd rather listen to Shatner sing than see this crap again. 1 stars
12/13/02 Brian Rocks!!!! 5 stars
12/12/02 Randy started great....then just tapered off 3 stars
12/11/02 Tony Young Though the territory has been tread before, this film is invigorating with great characters 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Dec-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 04-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast