More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.34

Awesome60.87%
Worth A Look: 27.33%
Average: 3.11%
Pretty Bad: 2.48%
Total Crap: 6.21%

10 reviews, 101 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


25th Hour
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Negative time."
4 stars

Spike Lee’s unbalanced, two-tiered mouthpiece on New York, post-9/11, certainly comes off better than his spouting, unbalanced satire that came before, Bamboozled.

(It also comes off better than Scorsese’s tribute to the Big Apple, another world of the same city in Gangs of New York.) But it seems a long time since Lee has mattered, even despite his stronger commercial efforts — Summer of Sam and He Got Game — and so the glimpses of his earlier voice certainly send an invigorating reverberation throughout the film, though it’s still only an echo bouncing off of a lot of superfluous walls. It’s Edward Norton’s twenty-fifth hour, prefacing us a little farther back than that, in which he ultimately counts down his last day before going off to prison. He has some encounters with boyhood, and more recent, friends — all seemingly having ended up in different places and spaces in life from one another — leading towards a “going-off” party that night. He spends some time with his father who has his own ideas of what has happened and what can still happen; he mulls around his house and is somewhat distant from his unnaturally-named girlfriend Naturelle. Lee gives us a broad spectrum of the various walks of life all throughout New York that cross paths with our “anti-protagonist,” similarly defining the film with a staunch cast (Philip Seymour Hoffman, Barry Pepper, Brian Cox, Rosario Dawson). And each of them, in some fashion, is still in the process of reaction and adjustment to the hit their city took. It’s an angry film (“Fuck this city and everyone in it” — accompanied by a montage of Asians, Jews, Muslims, etc.) that vacillates between pointing fingers and letting off steam. There are any number of emotionally crucial moments that are played so well (just the opening, showing various angles of the blue lights reaching to the stars, erected in place of the Twin Towers), but there is also a lot of excess, a lot of unnecessary. And after a while, the anger turns to a pout and the adults become merely children, and then the focus blurs (remember Bamboozled?), and the movie winds up rambling on too long, drudging up a neutral indifference. With Tony Siragusa and Anna Paquin.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6463&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/11/04 14:13:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell a potent look at a mans last days of freedom 4 stars
6/14/12 tommy yes spike lee's masterpiece.....one of many... 5 stars
3/03/11 chris c A somber look at a man's last days of freedom shadowed by the tragedy of 9/11 5 stars
2/03/11 isaiah one of my three favorite movies 5 stars
6/12/10 PAUL SHORTT TURGID BUT POWERFUL AND WELL ACTED 3 stars
12/21/08 Tony Transformed the way I look at justice and redemption. 5 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
5/19/08 jointz Ed Norton transcends being just an actor in 25th Hour. Spike really outdid himself! 5 stars
3/11/08 Leumas Spectacular 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I could watch this movie over and over again...and have. 5 stars
10/24/07 lee Hanson What a powerful film. It is flawless from beginning to end. 5 stars
6/11/07 fools♫gold I related to everyone but Norton's character until the beautiful end. 5 stars
5/31/07 ES alright, not much there 3 stars
10/21/06 Billychic Loved the movie - however, I'm still trying to figure out the ending... 4 stars
8/30/06 scott amazing movie, emotion packed, interesting 4 stars
3/28/06 john martin one of the best american movies 5 stars
8/08/05 E This confusing, plot-less piece of crap is overrated 2 stars
8/06/05 Naruto COMPLETE NONSENSE!!! The reviewers are mad 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A long, dull, and uninteresting movie 2 stars
6/12/05 Hack-SAW The rating says it all... 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Possibly Spike Lee's very best movie next to Do the Right Thing. 5 stars
5/11/05 Simon A movie as carried by its fantastic cast-performances as any. Powerful. 5 stars
2/07/05 bodi Najlepszy fim jaki iwdzialem 5 stars
12/21/04 DM Powerful, but Lee gets caught up in his own excesses 4 stars
10/30/04 payvand one of my all-time favorites, unbelievable monologues, unbelievable performance by norton! 5 stars
10/13/04 Steve Newman 30 minutes too long - wuld not watch again 3 stars
8/27/04 Billy GRRRRRRRRRRRREAT! 5 stars
8/12/04 kc norton is great 5 stars
6/01/04 Big Russian So Spike, so different, so good, great casting 5 stars
5/22/04 vasilis I LIKED IT A LOT 5 stars
4/15/04 Charlene Javier Another good film from Lee. 4 stars
4/15/04 rojo Great acting and directing, absorbing drama. 5 stars
4/15/04 alice Sucked bigtime. Forced myself to see it but could'nt watch it till the end soo boring... 1 stars
4/11/04 y2mckay Norton gives great performance, film holds interest until pretentious wrap-up 4 stars
2/18/04 Lauren The best movie i have ever seen! Edward Norton is the best of the best 5 stars
2/02/04 This girl Freaking fantastic. Poignant and provocative and some great visual flair. 5 stars
1/24/04 Ben Carasso A verist impression of New York and is dwellers' Yhe monologur in front of tke mirror is ai 5 stars
1/20/04 Chuckie Atkins Jr. I don't get how it relates to 9/11, except it acknowldeges that it happened. 4 stars
1/17/04 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Excellent in all departments. Another great one for both Spike and Norton. Kick-ass. 5 stars
1/02/04 OnlyChild Love Ed, but hate the movie. Slow moving and boring 1 stars
12/24/03 BOB MORRIS GREAT FROM BEGINNING TO END,ONE OF THOSE FILMS YOU HATE TO SEE END. 5 stars
12/17/03 Monster W. Kung Drama as it should be. Very good, with excellent performances. 4 stars
12/08/03 john sensational - a honest and deeply felt analogy about the state America after 9/11 5 stars
12/06/03 Phil Parma Brian Cox is awesome. Loved it. 5 stars
11/08/03 anne Norton is marvellous! 5 stars
10/30/03 Jinnvisible Spike Lee directs,,,,,,,,,, reformed american history x nazi goes back to JAIL 4 stars
10/02/03 snowconehead You have to work for it, if you want to enjoy it 3 stars
9/27/03 Pete Spike does it again 5 stars
9/21/03 Terryn Really good 5 stars
9/12/03 y2mckay Solid performances, Norton's "FUCK YOU" speech great, but Spike gets pretentious as usual 4 stars
8/22/03 Matt Great acting all around, powerful movie. 5 stars
8/03/03 Norton Awesome movie! 5 stars
7/31/03 r papp I'm a huge Edward Norton fan, so my objectivity is impaired. 5 stars
7/22/03 Unsaying oman I was tranfixed from studio credit to studio credit. The ideal experience too infrequent. 5 stars
7/20/03 The Talking Elbow I wish there were more movies like this, not perfect, but damn, compare this to Juwanna Man 5 stars
7/12/03 bobby it was bullshit 1 stars
7/04/03 Dianne Pope This is the film I have been waiting for to restore my faith in film making again! 5 stars
6/30/03 serbay supper excellent 5 stars
6/30/03 Corky Spike's films always show a truly humanistic core when all is said and done. Bravo! 4 stars
6/28/03 MONK IT SUCKED. IT WAS SLOW, STULTIFYING, AND POINTLESS. I ALMOST TURNED IT OFF. 1 stars
6/28/03 meh meh 5 stars
6/22/03 Johnny Awful. Everyone who says it's great can't really explain because it's style no substance. 1 stars
6/14/03 John Bale An exceptional film maker, exceptional cast and exceptional story. Brilliant ! 5 stars
6/11/03 Rocky Oh please!! I seen better! 2 stars
6/06/03 Bob Amazing and hypnotic in every way 5 stars
5/31/03 S Daniel He capitalized off of 9/11 because he has no talent to produce a real movie 1 stars
5/26/03 mipchunk this movie felt like 25 hours of wasted time! mirror sequence was dramatic kack. 2 stars
5/26/03 Emily Stein Why hasn't Spike Lee won an Oscar? He never dissappoints! I 5 stars
5/25/03 DarkHorse No easy outs, including the uncertain finish 5 stars
5/20/03 JJ Right on Jim The movie Freak. 25th hour is one of my fav films ever! Pepper is amazing 5 stars
5/17/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) GREAT cast and some of Spike Lee's master directing. VERY GOOD music and story, too. 5 stars
5/05/03 thejames How this movie got a bad rep i dont know. 5 stars
4/07/03 Elizaveta a film with lots of potential that never quite materialized. And it sure liked to stagnate. 4 stars
3/22/03 Jimmy3Z Fantastic writing... Barry Pepper is tremendous 5 stars
3/09/03 Emmalen best acting/directing/writing combo i've seen in a long time--eloquent and spare 5 stars
3/08/03 Andrew Carden Three Words: W-O-W! 5 stars
3/07/03 Winn Greenwood Amazingly done. The mirror sequence is Genius. 5 stars
3/01/03 mc had low expectations and yet I was really engaged by the film 5 stars
2/21/03 Jon Great film... 5 stars
2/09/03 pauline I completely agree with you, Jim( the Movie Freak )!. 5 stars
2/06/03 Donnieboy45 The best movie I've seen since Swingers 5 stars
2/01/03 nancy Riveting-moved me to tears 5 stars
1/30/03 Nancy Tee Amazing 5 stars
1/29/03 Jon The worst movie I have seen in the last two years. Ultra boring. 1 stars
1/28/03 Mike Cray This movie is simply amazing, truly great. 5 stars
1/26/03 FrayLo Norton rocks and some powerful images throughout the movie make this worthwhile 5 stars
1/23/03 Stephanie Edward Norton and cast were superb. Recommend not to miss. 5 stars
1/22/03 the white rabbit a masterpiece from spike lee. 5 stars
1/19/03 WestcoastPunk Greatest movie of the year. Norton is a fuckin God 5 stars
1/16/03 nick2k it was very good...and the wonderful cinematography. but i liked narc more overall. 5 stars
1/13/03 Yo Mama! Excellent film/acting/directing/cinematography etc... even the 9/11 stuff wasn't too much. 5 stars
1/12/03 Flip poignant, deep--Lee had me very minute 5 stars
1/11/03 Butterbean Great character developments. Some deja vu from Do The Right Thing, but it's forgivable. 4 stars
1/11/03 dude on first street yeah it's got punch, yes it serves, but I shouldn't have dipped into my rent cash to see it 4 stars
1/09/03 Amy One of the best films I've seen this year! 5 stars
12/27/02 helloevery1 jim knows what's he talking about. this is a monumental film! norton's best in years 5 stars
12/24/02 Me Not U Pony, Martin, & Johnny Are The Ones That Suck Ass. An amazing post 9/11 film! 5 stars
12/23/02 meathole Amazing and important. Benioff is God. 5 stars
12/22/02 pony theee worst film ever, how do you make even P.S. Hoffman suck so hard???? 1 stars
12/21/02 Terry M. Why isn't everybody pushing for this film? Best i've seen in years! 5 stars
12/21/02 Johnny Boring, misplaced monologue, like every Lee film "I hate the minorities." Sleepwalking, yes 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Dec-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Jun-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast