More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome: 27.23%
Worth A Look28.17%
Average: 21.6%
Pretty Bad: 9.39%
Total Crap: 13.62%

9 reviews, 159 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gangs of New York
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A fantastic Scorsese flick infected with the Weinstein 'love story' virus."
4 stars

Say what you will about Leo DiCaprio; he's a royal pain in the ass, he thinks he's God's gift to women, he's a poe-faced teenage lesbian, he can't grow a beard, but the fact is the guy can act. In this, a Martin Scorsese epic based on a compelling and largely forgotten part of America's history, Leo could have brought the whole thing undone, turning a big budget blockbuster into a commercially-oriented, cookie cutter romance aimed at teenage girls. To his credit, he does no such thing, but Harvey Weinstein does, throwing Cameron Diaz into the mix as a completely miscast love interest in a film that has no place for such trivialities. And that's the only thing stopping this from being a masterwork.

You probably wouldn't know it if you depended on the US school system for your education, but back in the day New York City was a pretty gruesome place. Streetgangs ruled the city. No, not the drive-by drug-dealing wannabe rap star gangs of today, we're talking gangs based on religion, ethnicity and language, where beefs were played out according to rules of war and guns were thrown aside in favor of clubs, machetes, daggers and razors. These gangs didn't just brawl to pass the time, they actively engaged in business, politics and the law, with the powers that be realizing that the support of the gangs meant a rather large chunk of the voting population was ticking your name on the electoral ballot.

In this film, a streetgang war brings down the leader (Liam Neeson) of an Irish Catholic group known as the Dead Rabbits. The archrival Natives, led by a fellow known affectionately as The Butcher (Daniel Day Lewis) gather to celebrate this famous victory every year on the anniversary of their win, but the son of the fallen Irishman (Leonardo DiCaprio) spends his next sixteen years in an orphanage, waiting for the day when he can get revenge.

Upon release from the orphanage, Leo works his way into the Natives gang, eventually becoming the Butcher's trusted lieutenant. And to that point, this is an absolutely phenomenal movie.

But then the infected, pus-filled, commercially conscious, marketing driven hand of Miramax steps in, announcing that if they're going to spend all this money on a Leonardo DiCaprio movie, "there better be fucking love interest" (I don't know if Harvey Weinstein said those words or not, but I can almost hear them in my head).

And so, the company that wanted Chasing Amy to star Drew Barrymore and David Schwimmer brings in Cameron Diaz, a woman well into her 30's, as the love interest for a kid playing a 20-year-old, in a movie that has so little to do with romance that it's like adding a scene with a wise-cracking fish into a Godfather sequel.

I mean (and get comfortable, I predict I'm going to rant here) what the fuck do people even see in Cameron Diaz? How overrated can this person possibly be? In The Mask she was said to have made a 'stunning debut', when in actual fact she just pretended to sing and wired her breasts so they'd stand upright. Then in There's Something About Mary she was said to have great comic timing, when in actual fact she simply schmeared semen in her hair. Janet Reno could have handled that much comic timing. Then she's 'superhot' in Charlie's Angels, a flick that contained one superhot chick (Lucy Liu), one pudgy but cute chick (Drew Barrymore) and one rather tall, rather uncurvy, rather flat-faced chick (Diaz). Let's be honest, menfolk, Cameron Diaz looks like she's been smacked in the face with a rather large shovel. If Mike Tyson had her nose, he'd be even scarier than he is. Her head looks like a football - she could be the kid from Hey Arnold.

So now we have Gangs of New York, a really interesting, elaborately constructed action drama, that's going along at a mighty pace with blood and guts and edge of your seat battles, and then there's a fucking football-headed old woman making the moves on Leonardo DiCaprio, tying up a good half hour of a film that's already going to be a long one.

And on top of that, she's playing one of the most detestable characters that have ever been passed of as a romantic lead. She's a whore, she's screwing the guy who killed Leo's father, she's a petty thief, she looks like she's been wacked about the head with the ugly stick until she bled from the ears, and to top it all off, she and Leo have all the chemistry of David Letterman and Madonna. We're talking different planets here, people.

Look, I'm no fan of movie stars that think they're larger than life and can do anything they please, but if Leo decided to act up on the set of this film, I don't blame him. I would have acted up too. I'd have told the big bossman that he's a commercially-minded hack, I'd have insisted that the love scenes be deleted from the script and I'd have made damn sure that if they were filmed, that every scene was unusable. And more than that, I'd have demanded danger money for having to rub up against Flathead Diaz without protective clothing.

Let me say it one last time - there was no need for any romance in this movie. The action sequences are awesome, Daniel Day Lewis, as the villain of the piece, is totally without peer. He is truly as good as he can be in this role and a dead-set shoe-in for the Best Supporting Oscar. Leo DiCaprio has long made up for Titanic and Man in the Iron Mask. Brendan Gleeson, Jim Broadbent, any number of others, all top notch. In fact, if you extract every scene containing Cameron Diaz from this film, I'd call it one of the finer films of this, or any year. Scorsese's people have reconstructed a time and place that live only in lithographs and fourteenth-hand accounts of the era in question. The cinematography... immaculate. The score... there when it should be, absent when it should be absent, in other words perfection.

On every single count, I can only find petty flaws with this film, the kind of flaws you have to be a student of film to notice and give a rats ass about. With the exception of one.

Notice to the people at 'Cleanflicks': Release a DVD version of this film with all of Cameron Diaz's scenes deleted and I'll buy the thing. I'm sure thousands would. Like For Love of the Game, there's a fantastic movie under the surface here, unfortunately it's smothered to death by romantic ass-istry that only to serves to bore the thick-headed and annoy the intelligent.

Sorry Marty, next time you want to make an epic, make it for a company that hasn't based it's existence on Mickey fucking Mouse.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6489&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/28/02 14:45:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/28/17 Bents DDL and the setting are the show 4 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell epic 4 stars
3/03/13 Monday Morning Learn a bit about the history of the time (Irish Mobs) & you'll appreciate the film more. 4 stars
10/10/11 monkeybiscuit Overrated indulgence from an old director who is past his prime 3 stars
9/15/11 Clemdane Looks beautiful but has no compelling emotional center 3 stars
2/13/11 Quigley Day-Lewis gives one of the greatest performances in cinema history. Not to be missed. 5 stars
6/09/10 Serge Epic albeit overdone vision of New York's beginning 4 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King What a load of rubbish. 1 stars
4/25/10 art BILL the BUTCHER was AN ASSHOLE!,this film SUCK"S! 1 stars
3/02/10 SEBSEB Great film. The review must be an idiot if he doesnt know 'check' from 'cheque'! 5 stars
8/23/09 Jade Hellcat Maggie does have at least 1 line. She says something like "Just gimme a drink!" 3 stars
7/03/09 the dork knight Overwrought, hyper-realistic, leads nowhere. Only Daniel Day-Lewis seems to be trying!! 3 stars
4/20/09 Ron Ingrasin Masterpiece,even if somewhat historically incorrect 5 stars
10/26/08 TigerSlap Unintentionally funny - while being a small orgy of pointless violence... 1 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting storyline. 3 stars
8/17/08 ROB best Scorcese film ever 5 stars
6/17/08 Marvin Very ordinary and a waste of time 1 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT DONT SEE IT! 1 stars
4/15/08 JT Unbelievably good. Most epic movie ever. Awesome Western/mob movie combination 5 stars
2/08/08 mb It wasn't worth watching and was really stupid really. 2 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Is Scorcese trying to be Spielberg?& Diaz is unintentionally hilarous, esp. w/ Irish accent 2 stars
10/17/07 Jimmy One of the best soundtracks Ive ever heard but besides that it was overly violent/sexual 2 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai One of the best films of the year. Great movie! 5 stars
8/27/06 stu i'll never forget this film... 5 stars
8/24/06 Agent Sands Scorsese is so amazing that he's made me riveted by a subject that I've little interest in. 5 stars
6/25/06 great loved it 5 stars
5/15/06 Simon y'know i used to like this movie alright, but really... it IS surprisingly shallow... 3 stars
3/28/06 Indrid Cold Mildly interesting, but really just a mediocre western that happens to be set in NYC. 3 stars
2/26/06 chean its great 5 stars
1/08/06 gerry dunne like many Scorsese movies - way below expectations 1 stars
11/30/05 tatum Historically inaccurate, but Day-Lewis is hilarious...oh, he wasn't supposed to be? 2 stars
10/16/05 Moctezuma A good, though, not great, Scorsese picture 5 stars
10/11/05 Wisamane They worked extremly hard to get the 1880's look, Incredible movie, cast and plot!!! 5 stars
9/05/05 R.W. Welch A shade overdrawn but a good yarn about a little known era. 4 stars
9/04/05 sweetgrrl1972 About 1/2 way through when DiCaprio DOESN'T die, I was bitterly bitterly disappointed. 1 stars
8/30/05 LS Galvin Definitely worth a watch - Day-Lewis is incredible! 4 stars
8/13/05 ES Ug say 'Lewis great, Leo stinky= movie ok' 3 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy Day Lewis' 'tache lost out on Oscar night. And so did that magnificent top hat. 4 stars
6/20/05 Titus Uh . . . I don't get it. This was really pretty dumb. Waste of time. 2 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands It's good, but not up to Scorsese par. 4 stars
4/22/05 pym day lewis is absolutely amazing. very good film but not scorcese's best 5 stars
4/17/05 buic very underrated film. perhaps the best movie ever made.... 5 stars
4/02/05 Cynthia Willingham Great film. Very well done all the way around 5 stars
2/18/05 susee wat the fuc the ending says 2 stars
2/17/05 Daveman Fabulous sets and some impressive performances (even from Leo), not much fun to sit through 3 stars
2/12/05 roy all i can say is wow. 5 stars
1/30/05 Bob Barton Great film...Scorsese should have won Best Director Oscar for this one. 5 stars
11/18/04 Theman987 Great 5 stars
10/24/04 UMER day-lewis deserved an oscar and the movie rocks 5 stars
10/16/04 Taylor Fladgate DiCaprio as an Irish gang leader? OOO, I'm scared! 1 stars
10/15/04 MARZ AWESOME. A LITTLE TO VIOLENT 5 stars
9/26/04 Tor Honolulu How can you not respect Marty's pet project? Danny & Leo do not disappoint 5 stars
8/27/04 Steve Newman Thoroughly enjoyable even overhere in the UK 4 stars
8/24/04 Naka Flawed, muddled, but a fully enjoyable run. 4 stars
8/10/04 kyotomatt People need to stop thinking boring=deep. WAKE UP! 1 stars
8/09/04 rory biggest oscar snub ever 5 stars
8/07/04 ELI um....What was so great about this movie? I hated all the characters! 2 stars
7/19/04 assassin_chick Emotionally charged--a lot is based on true history. We could learn something here. 5 stars
6/25/04 Karen Stockdale Lewis overacts wonderfully and the scenery and fight sequences are incredible 4 stars
6/23/04 Daveman Convoluted and confused, but I'll be damned if there aren't some powerful moments here. 4 stars
6/09/04 horny guy AMAZING! 5 stars
5/19/04 rich do not miss this film. very touching indeed 5 stars
5/04/04 Whatevr A bit of overacting, but most certainly watchable 4 stars
3/23/04 Bikramjit Best movie of 2002 5 stars
3/06/04 zaw very good movie 5 stars
2/15/04 homer holy shit, it was long but it was one outstanding piece of work 5 stars
2/12/04 Chris terrible terrible 1 stars
2/12/04 Shams Huque Daniel Day-Lewis is incredibel! 5 stars
1/31/04 Ultron Daniel Day-Lewis is tremendous. 5 stars
1/21/04 will I agree with eric and erik - and also, diaz sucked hard 3 stars
1/16/04 gloria intersting movie,daniel day lewis is great 4 stars
1/03/04 A F Leo sucks. It needed a better cast. 4 stars
12/24/03 Joel W. De Sario I would rather take a beating then suffer through this mess again. 2 stars
12/05/03 reptilesni ZzzzzzzzzZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 1 stars
11/15/03 Ultron Give praise to Daniel Day-Lewis for one of the all time great performances 5 stars
10/11/03 Jinnvisible Scorsese`s use of narrative to fill script and screenplay holes brings antique cinema feel 4 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Day-Lewis is a fucking force of nature. Too bad the movie can't handle it. CGI elephant. 3 stars
9/28/03 Alan First good DeCrapio role since "...Gilbert Grape." Maybe I should spell his name correctly. 4 stars
9/04/03 Gray "America was born in the streets"? horseshit!!!! maybe NY :) but not America 2 stars
8/14/03 WD40 Excellent! Especially Daniel Day-lewis 5 stars
8/08/03 guisada not impressed 3 stars
7/21/03 I Would Overblown, but worth a look for its beautiful art direction and costumes. 4 stars
7/18/03 EZE the wet dream of violent but epic masterpieces, good supporting actors too 5 stars
7/16/03 123 HOLLZ GREAT REALLY VIOLENT 5 stars
7/12/03 NBCraftsman Early America portrayed with the grandeur (&) spectacle of Fellini (see: Dante Ferretti) 4 stars
7/12/03 glad i saw it! wow great film so inspiring 5 stars
7/11/03 malcolm sweet land of liberty 4 stars
7/09/03 turbocharge Other than a misplaced Cameron Diaz whose character wasn't necessary, this was a great film 4 stars
7/08/03 JC like a braveheart for the civil war, and Dicaprio has finally grown up as an actor 5 stars
7/04/03 oey rome huh? 2 stars
6/13/03 owen barty wonderfull intelligent film 5 stars
6/08/03 MEGAN RAFFLE LEO WAS HOT.........GREAT MOVIE AS WELL 5 stars
6/07/03 amazing 1 word.....wow 5 stars
6/05/03 Elizaveta Its okay overall, but Daniel Day Lewis makes a great villain! 4 stars
5/23/03 Ryan F. Not Martins best by any means, but this IS a great movie. And Jesus Christ its bloody! 5 stars
5/17/03 beach *cough* what can i say cept plz dun make me go thru it again(IM BACK MISS ME??) 1 stars
5/17/03 Jareth Good film. You really do get the feeling you're in 19th Century New York 4 stars
5/14/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) Overrated, even though it's OK. Lots of blood. Not among Scorsese's best, though. 4 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon I'm sorry, but this was complete SHIT. It has the stupidest characters since UHF. 1 stars
5/08/03 Danielle Bryant Great 5 stars
5/04/03 123 playa pretty hot movie 5 stars
5/01/03 Valerie Cameron Overlong; some commanding moments; overall seems more sensational than convincing. 3 stars
4/24/03 Fran I hade to stop myself from hurl;ing at the crapness severeal times 1 stars
4/24/03 PLEASEBEQUIET one word to describe this movie-SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT!SHIT 1 stars
4/23/03 GoldieHawn Im goldie hawn and i thought gangs of new york was horrible cameron and leo shouldnever act 1 stars
4/20/03 Dillon The "Matrix" set do not have opinions that matter. This is a great movie! 5 stars
4/15/03 JoE_fOr_PrEsIdEnT Wow what a hunk of junk. How can u say it is good havent u seen all the mistakes!PHEW! 1 stars
4/15/03 Francis I agree with Paquin's review, but it was still entertaining 4 stars
4/13/03 OrLaNdO_LoVeS_FrAn_4eVa What a piece of crap!Characters dull!Directing atrocious!!Please do not bother! 1 stars
4/10/03 Ross Bernard For once, Paquin's review is fairly accurate. This movie blew. 2 stars
4/07/03 y2mckay Like most of Scorcese's films - overlong, overedited, and gimmicky - but watchable. 4 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon STINKBOMB! Stupid, stupid, stupid characters. Fuck 'em, they deserved death. 2 stars
3/23/03 sicologus It is just magistral. Day-Lewis, you´re the one 5 stars
3/22/03 GMan One of Scorscese's best, despite DiCrapio. Long live Day-Lewis. And Brian, learn to spell. 5 stars
3/20/03 Shadaan Felfeli Mediocre .Go watch the Pianist instead ! 3 stars
3/20/03 Andrew Carden Good Performance By Diaz Cannot Save This Silly, Contrived, and Boring Flick. 2 stars
3/19/03 Debbie This movie sucks DICK! 1 stars
3/18/03 Valerie Cameron Overlong; some commanding moments; overall seems more sensational than convincing. 3 stars
3/15/03 Angolmois Goodfellas-Lite... Except we also have to endure Diaz and DiCaprio's hamming... 1 stars
3/13/03 Stanleycup35 Unbelieveable. Probably the best movie I"ve ever seen 5 stars
3/12/03 Valerie Cameron Overlong; some commanding moments; overall seems more sensational than convincing. 3 stars
3/02/03 King of Swords Not Marty's best but certainly watchable. Atanu is a big baby 4 stars
2/27/03 atanu yeah...an epic like britney spears is a 'diva'. grow up. 2 stars
2/26/03 James Renwick Just goes to show that average film making produces average films. 3 stars
2/24/03 meatgrinder mark bill the butcher is my hero- great fellow. ( francis dolarhyde is still no.1, though ) 5 stars
2/23/03 John Bale Stephen King meets Gone with the Wind. Bloody ! 4 stars
2/20/03 catatafish started great, ended abysmally - it seemed like they were running low on script 1 stars
2/13/03 wetware Could've been great editing lousy in parts good costumes DDL was good 3 stars
2/13/03 mattski mish mash which never really knows where it is heading 3 stars
2/11/03 Ultron The best(and most underrated film) of the year 5 stars
2/11/03 LaNeal Nelson it was wonderfuly done good some things were not really placed by historicaly evented, 4 stars
2/07/03 Goofy Maxwell 'GoNY' is not a NY Hist. Society or Tourism Board production. But it's sho nuff Scorsese. 5 stars
2/05/03 123 if this movie is ever worthy for an award, it is the most violent movie of the year 4 stars
1/27/03 Tobias Klevang Conventional and rather unpersonal for being Scorsese, still a very good film 4 stars
1/22/03 Bobby Peru Best Film of 2002-Bold, Big, Brilliant! 5 stars
1/14/03 thejames Leo is fucking great. Pretty good but not amazing. one of the better movies ive seen recent 4 stars
1/13/03 kosta dicrapio ate ass 1 stars
1/12/03 jesse williams i walked out....granted i snuck in...but i never do that 1 stars
1/12/03 David A. Tries to romanticize crime. Let's face it--street gangs are low class, illiterate scum. 3 stars
1/04/03 George Jung This movie had Daniel-Day Lewis, violence and tits...and the movie was still weak. 3 stars
1/01/03 Jesse the Movie Ventura Day Lewis holds this film in his fist. Waiting for two years and wasnt that good. 3 stars
1/01/03 STEVE GIVE DANIEL-DAY LEWIS AND THIS FILM THERE OSCARS NOW!BEST OF 2002 5 stars
1/01/03 F-Dog Best movie of the year. 5 stars
12/30/02 artemishia Pretty good but way too long. i was ready to leave the 1st hour 3 stars
12/29/02 Jiz Boring. 3 stars
12/29/02 Terry M. Last hour by far makes up for the love story, fucking awesome action sequences 5 stars
12/29/02 Tony Starks Daniel Day plays one of the bests villians in awhile!! 4 stars
12/28/02 Ashley Better than I thought it was going to be. Actually thought provoking at times. 4 stars
12/28/02 Terry M. Underrated 5 stars
12/27/02 ATG Overrated 3 stars
12/27/02 Jesse the Movie Ventura Scorsese's worst:-( Daniel Day-Lewis carries this film in his fist. 3 stars
12/27/02 snowconehead Mediocre acting from all but two, Daniel Day Lewis carried the entire 3 hours 5 stars
12/26/02 bob leather jacket high calibur 5 stars
12/24/02 Film Dude Not bad, but takes way too fucking long to get where it was going. 4 stars
12/23/02 Edler DD Lewis saves the film from the craphouse. The story is out of control. Absurd/Bizarre. 3 stars
12/23/02 Obi Wan Wow! Daniel Day @ his Best. . .Def one of the year's best!!! 5 stars
12/22/02 Terry M. easily one of the finest films to come out this year. stunning work from scorsese. 5 stars
12/22/02 Gary Great scenes, Cameron Diaz deserves best supporting actress!!!! 4 stars
12/21/02 Todd Lewis is the saving grace of an otherwise predictable film 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Dec-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast