More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.36

Awesome: 10.71%
Worth A Look44.64%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 8.93%
Total Crap: 10.71%

4 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Two Weeks Notice
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Smarter than your average rom-com."
4 stars

Going into this movie, I fully expected it to suck. In general, it's hard to stomach this entire genre. Being a woman, I feel rather insulted rom-coms are supposed to be MY kind of movie. Historically, rom-coms have been pretty uneven, sugary sweet and wholeheartedly predictable. While I can say Two Weeks Notice is the latter, it's not really any of the former.

Sandra Bullock plays Lucy Kelson, a "working for the people" laywer whose roots are embedded in preserving buildings, staging protests for said buildings and being a staunch liberal. Enter George Wade, played by Hugh Grant. Wade is a semi-charming, self-absorbed millionaire that owns one of New York City's top commercial real estate developing firms. Of course, Wade Corporation wants to take over (and knock down) the buildings Lucy has deemed herself protector of.

In the very hurried beginning, George offers Lucy a job as his Chief Counsel in exchange for preserving her childhood community center. Over the course of a year or so, we see George driving Lucy insane by phoning her at all hours of the night, giving Lucy an ulcer and calling in an "emergency" when he has to pick out a suit.

Naturally, along the way, you can see a relationship building. George takes care of Lucy the best he can, by providing her with his wit and monetary presents. She has the corner office, a nice car and a brand new apartment. Lucy puts up with the bowlful of crap he slings at her daily with the fondness of a mother looking after a child that just refuses to grow up.

By the time Lucy decides she has had enough, the two have fallen into a rhythm that is normally only seen in married couples. Lucy figures she's paid her debt and would like to get on with her normal life - thus enters the catalyst and Lucy's replacement, June (Alicia Witt). But wait! Lucy is having second thoughts about leaving George in the hands of someone else? Someone younger, less experienced and possibly attracted to George? Hunh!

From here out, I'm sure you can guess what happens. And you probably aren't entirely wrong. For a "rom-com", this one seems to have a lot more laughs, a bit more plot and a ton more brains than your typical Maid in Manhattan fare.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6490&reviewer=22
originally posted: 12/25/02 10:13:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/04/12 Dane Youssef Grant has never been more devilish. Bullock has never been more endearing. Worthy rom-com. 3 stars
1/27/11 Dane Youssef I normally enjoy have Grant and have no love for Bullock. But this one worked for me. 3 stars
7/13/09 the dork knight Relationship seems forced, but it's no worse than any other Sandra movie. 4 stars
2/09/09 Samantha Pruitt i loooove Hugh Grant in this, he's always so likeable, the homor is great. 4 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT LOSES STEAM FASTER THAN A CUP OF HOT COCOA ON A FROZEN LAKE 1 stars
1/28/08 Pamela White Sandra makes the movie 4 stars
11/16/07 R>A>Keeler Insubstantial; only saving grace is Sandy. 3 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Not terrible, but fairly lame. I only saw it for Bullock 3 stars
9/20/04 angel I luv Sandra Bullock, but i'm sorry, this moving was BORING 2 stars
2/04/04 glenn george menor its soooo bad... i hated it. 1 stars
11/22/03 Amanda Kristine If you identify with being an individualist, feminist, idealist, alienated woman-see it!!! 4 stars
9/17/03 Jinnvisible Sandra bullock produced this,she`s intellegent ,so why drop this`made for tv` turd matinee 2 stars
9/02/03 Kent A few funny moments but it doesn't come together. 3 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald Bullock and Grant bring actual comedy back to the genre 4 stars
7/08/03 Tracy Hibbard I love Hughes and Bullock and I loved this movie! 4 stars
5/31/03 Jack Sommersby Forced comedy with 2 stars who just don't click. 2 stars
3/28/03 Cathy ter Plugg Another message that a guy should pass up a sweet and meek gal for obnoxious Sandra Bullshi 1 stars
3/13/03 Shadaan Felfeli With Maid in Manhattan as the yardstick ; this film is watchable. 2 stars
3/06/03 ashley millard it was great.. my fiance and i laughed the entire time 5 stars
2/15/03 Chris I love Sandra Bullock. I love Hugh Grant. I do not love them as a couple. 3 stars
2/12/03 Kristen this was a sweet movie 5 stars
2/04/03 Lara I an joyed the movie and it was a funny 5 stars
2/03/03 Angie R It's a rental! 3 stars
1/24/03 Starbright Much better than expected. Snappy lines and another super Grant performance. Not bad 4 stars
1/07/03 Suzz just poor; poor acting; poor script; poor chemistry; poor period 2 stars
1/05/03 BAM A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/05/03 michaelb14 actaully enjoyable and funny 5 stars
1/04/03 artemishia M. and R., why dont YOU go cook instead of seeing this shitty movie? 3 stars
12/28/02 M. and R. Why are all these women seeing this shitty movie, shouldn't they be cooking? 1 stars
12/26/02 ajay nothing original. Rent Amelie instead. I'm still mad at my sister for dragging me to this 1 stars
12/21/02 Dan Another boring worthless Chick Flick. Nothing original. 1 stars
12/21/02 George Jung God help us...this movie was good. A total surpise of a movie. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Dec-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2003


Directed by
  Marc Lawrence

Written by
  Marc Lawrence

Cast
  Sandra Bullock
  Hugh Grant
  Mark Feuerstein
  Robert Klein
  Alicia Witt
  Jason Antoon



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast