More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.24

Awesome: 24.19%
Worth A Look: 17.74%
Average27.42%
Pretty Bad: 19.35%
Total Crap: 11.29%

4 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Simon Birch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Phloog

"A genuinely touching film about faith."
4 stars

Simon Birch is definitely worth seeing. It manages to entertain while dealing with the uncomfortable concept of faith.

The film 'Simon Birch' questions religion, and faith. It questions our place in the universe. It questions how a loving God can inflict so much pain on both the faithful and the faithless in equal measure. But in doing this, it actually INSPIRES faith. That's the greatest accomplishment of this film.

Throughout my own youth, I was looked upon as some type of minor devil whenever I asked questions about God:

Why does He do these things?

How can He care about us, and yet inflict upon us famine, floods, and John Leguizamo films?

Generally speaking, organized religion seems to believe that the simple asking of a question is not only a sign of weakened faith, but a sin in itself.

But isn't blind faith inherently dishonest? We deny the questions we have honestly formed in our hearts. If we don't ask these uncomfortable questions when we honestly want to know, then we don't do justice to the minds He gave us.

This film shows people for whom faith is subject to scrutiny, and testing. And out of this comes true faith.

Simon Birch supplies no great surprises - ten minutes in and you've already been told nearly all that will happen. The dialog is not particularly sharp…the acting is fairly good throughout, but there are no unforgettable performances.

Where this film shines is in moments - simple discussions between friends, beautiful scenery as the setting for human sorrow. Very little of the emotion seems forced - there is very little of the obvious tugging of heart strings that is seen in other films. Though some of the more humorous sequences seemed a bit over-the-top, the sorrow was done subtly and honestly.

In the end, I came to care for these people - not because of events, but because I was familiar with the questions they were asking of the world.

I didn't cry...honest!!! Don't look at me!!!!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=65&reviewer=20
originally posted: 09/23/98 03:43:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/12/11 jiropan tearjerking film..... 5 stars
10/04/08 Iris Verna Heart felted movie? It put no felt in MY heart! 2 stars
1/16/08 breanna kramer i love this movie it is my favorite 5 stars
1/30/07 keiwi i'd love this heart felted movie to death!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/09/06 Jessica great film, deeply touching. 5 stars
10/20/06 coocooo great movie 1 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen The main character was a jerk, I hate jerks, even short ones 1 stars
5/15/06 Shannen OMG!! the end was so sad all my friends and i were crying!! 4 stars
1/17/06 Agent Sands This movie makes me cry like a little bitch. 5 stars
12/15/05 kamin it was awesome! 5 stars
7/27/05 noli mark alcordo it is nice 3 stars
2/04/05 What've coffee & donuts got to do with God? Well, God is hol(e)y and too much god can make you jittery. 3 stars
1/14/05 Kathy ter Plugg Shows Trashley Dudd CAN play civilized roles -- she just doesn't want to. What a shame! 2 stars
6/15/04 Gray see mitch's comment 1 stars
4/05/04 DM Some decent acting but it tried way too hard to make my cry - I wanted to vomit. 2 stars
10/20/03 Samuel Justus A great movie, but very sad climax! 5 stars
6/09/03 JoAnne Hurley Nothing great, but I give it an extra star because I can't remember Ashley Judd being in it 3 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants Boring movie. Only fitting place for this is FOX Family Channel. Too sappy. 1 stars
1/15/02 Andrew Carden Bland Movie. It's Supposed To Be Good, but Tries Too Hard, and Litterally Explodes. 2 stars
10/17/01 Joe Miller A good movie- it really makes you look at Simon's message 4 stars
8/08/01 ted v. it's one of the better films Hollywood produced. deeply touching 5 stars
3/27/01 BART The reason why he believes in God 4 stars
2/27/01 Franbel Its the best movie i have ever seen in the whole world. 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Just spectacular. It should've won Best Picture for 1999! 5 stars
9/20/00 Jed Excellent piece of cinema one of 1998's finest. 5 stars
11/20/99 Lashundra Bryson A good film that makes you appreciate life, family, and friendship. 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster BooHoo , my heart is breaking . What a shameless act to cash in the easily inpired FORSHAME 2 stars
12/24/98 Lou Pine, Jr. "Based on"? This is the shameless, saccharine butchering of a worthwhile John Irving novel. 2 stars
10/27/98 Hunk@prodigy.net two bikers in the row behind us were bawling by the time the film ended. Damn Good Movie 5 stars
10/24/98 grunter a little too afterschool special/Hallmark; not enough bitter in its bittersweet 4 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons Extremely delightful and at times awe-inspiring. 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz So relentlessly maudlin that even a distinguished supporting cast can't save it. 3 stars
9/23/98 Angela M zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz............... 1 stars
9/20/98 katherine it was slright. but did he have 2 grag her boobs? i mean, that had 2 hurt. 4 stars
9/20/98 Negative Creep This is One of those typical feelgood hollywood films. I loved every fucking minute of it 5 stars
9/14/98 Como Erectus Judd is awesome, the rest plod. 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor THE UGLIEST FUCKING KID IN FILM. OH, YEAH. 1 stars
9/09/98 Karl Denninger A little retard kid with the kung fu grip 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Sep-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 11-Nov-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Apr-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast