More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.77

Awesome47.56%
Worth A Look: 17.07%
Average: 14.63%
Pretty Bad: 6.1%
Total Crap: 14.63%

2 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jerry Maguire
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"You complete jack shit, Tom."
3 stars

I'm probably the only female in America who hated this movie.

First of all. If you're going to make a chick flick, would *you* make the setting the sports world? I know I woldn't.

Second of all, I would be certain the chemistry between the love interests worked. And in my opinon, it really doesn't here. Well, for 80% of the movie that's how it's supposed to be so I forgive that. And if I were going to make a "reality" love story, I would do jsut that. If I was going to make the guy undesirably uncommited, immature and with serious issues, I wouldn't suddenly resolve everything by making him say "you complete me" and if I *did*, I wouldn't market or present this movie as a reality based love story, because that would be deciving.

I really felt I was cheated. Here's the summary: Jerry is a commitmentphobe. But he finally gets engaged. But then he gets fired. The best scene follows, with Tom Cruise and Jay Mohr battling to get each other's clients. Tom ends up with only Cuba Gooding Jr. The fat kid from Stand By Me defects because he is stupid. He leaves the company and takes Renee Zellweger with him. She has a cute little kid. The remainder of the movie is spent with Tom leading Zellweger on and Cuba gooding Jr. being cool, with a cooler wife. At the end, out of no where, after being incredibly misled and hurt, she takes him back. The only explanation for me is the sex.

Bleah. I hate feeling cheated. 3 sporks, mostly due to the sub plots.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=653&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 14:01:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/15/12 roscoe first hour is great, but it ends up dragging 4 stars
4/15/11 Faraz :) 5 stars
7/25/10 Simon Crowe's sparkling script makes it all seem real-ish, but really its hokey & a bit indulgent 4 stars
11/14/09 MP Bartley Clumsy development aside, this pretty much hits every spot it needs to. 4 stars
11/01/08 ldavies Perfect date movie...chick flick that men like too. Great performances. 5 stars
2/02/08 Chris Awesome movie, Cruise and Gooding are great in this, Zellwegers good too. 5 stars
12/10/06 David Cohen I used to think women were smart, this movie shows how easily they can be manipulated 1 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini Show me the funny! 3 stars
5/30/06 Wanker I have seen mushroom clouds , Tsunamis and Earthquakes but this is the greatest disaster 1 stars
1/28/06 Luca pretty terrible, soppy movie, surprised Cruise was in it. 2 stars
10/01/05 Nick Great movie, could watch it anytime, Cruise rules. 5 stars
8/25/05 ES the supporting cast saves this film, Cruise couldn't act his way throu a 1st grade pageant 4 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones About as riveting as a dunny door in a cyclone 2 stars
5/13/05 Indrid Cold About as good as syrupy drama can get. Cruise and Zellweger have off the charts charisma. 5 stars
3/16/05 Ronin Seeing Tom Cruise in this movie I realised for the first time that HE IS a talented actor. 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER tom's best performance and the great script make this movie more than worth a watch 5 stars
8/22/04 Peter James An entertaining movie full of memorable lines 4 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot loved it. script shines. 5 stars
5/06/04 Bobby Fisher awesome, i cried like a bitch... Dimitri is fat 5 stars
12/01/03 Shlomi Assaf Awesome MOVIE!!!! loved it 5 stars
11/21/03 Edit Szabados I love Jerry O'Connell 1 stars
10/14/03 Erik Van Sant Absolutely sucks shit from the asshole of the universe. Crusie and Gooding should wed. FUCK 1 stars
10/13/03 R.W. Welch Good script, expert acting, feel-good ending. What's not to like? 4 stars
5/25/03 Biff Boffo Cruise plays someone who has een a Hepburn movie, or 2...That's a stretch! ;> 4 stars
4/22/03 The Talking Elbow Contrived and unrealistic, with a typical dream-land hollywood relationship. 3 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald engaging throughout -- great mix of elements 5 stars
12/30/02 Crimson Matrix Not bad 5 stars
11/07/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies Sappy, manipulative, unrealistic , hated it with a passion! 1 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Tom & Cuba's love story aside, this movie is for the ladies at the mall 4 stars
7/25/02 palaboy101 Great movie 5 stars
6/29/02 Phil M. Aficionado In any competitive occupation, and you won't find a "truer" film. I've been there. 5 stars
5/10/02 raj a film that will inspire to be good in our daily activities!! my best tom cruise movieMAGIC 5 stars
3/13/02 Aport_max 2 thumbs up for Jerry's assmilation of cunnilingus!!! 5 stars
3/02/02 Jenny Tullwartz Show me the money I could have saved by missing this tedious and pointless misfire! 1 stars
3/01/02 Butterbean Zellwegger is shit. Gooding deserves the Oscar. This movie grew tedious towards the end 3 stars
12/23/01 Andrew Carden Ok Movie, Cruise Gives The Weakest Performance. 3 stars
11/28/01 ferring gooding was awesome, zellwegger sucked. 3 stars
10/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Eeehhh, it's alright. Not the best in anything or worst in anything, but it's eehh-eehh.... 3 stars
10/26/01 the scarecrow I thought it was pretty good. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I like Cameron Crowe, but did he really expect us to swallow this load of spunk? 1 stars
7/29/01 Henry Ginsberg Great flick .Funny and heart warming . 5 stars
6/28/01 Steve "Did you know the human head weighs 8 pounds?Did you know I was born without any genitalia? 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Show me the ACTING!!!!!! 1 stars
3/26/01 Jake Gooding showed great depth and was brilliant. Romance was forced at the end. 4 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin LLLLLOOOOONNNNGGG and Boring. 2 stars
3/31/00 Arnaldo Cruz the best romantic comedy in years,well directed by crowe 5 stars
2/25/00 Bozo Tom rises to the occasion in a male love story masquerading as popular entertainment 4 stars
1/31/00 JASON SUCKED!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/05/99 PurityJustBegs Common sense tells me that I should not have liked this film. and I didn't. I loved it! 5 stars
8/24/99 Angel Goes to show that Tom Cruise doesn't really know how to stretch himself creatively... 2 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Bollocks. 2 stars
5/28/99 Lisa I can't believe this crap was nominated for an Oscar! So hokey. 1 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson I really like this movie gosh darn it. 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel I fully enjoyed this film. Not just because of Tom Cruise, either. Regina King ruled in it! 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz Great date movie for everyone, heartfelt and touching at times. 5 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci I wouldn't wipe your ass with this movie 1 stars
1/17/99 Melissa Loved it. Nuff said. 5 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart They rated the flick with a "G" rating in Canada. Kinda predictable, is it? Yup. 5 stars
12/07/98 Lindsay Great film, loved it. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Yeah, it worked for me. Chalk it up to Crowe. (Though I am a Tom fan, too) 4 stars
9/29/98 katherine how can u ppl LIKE this crap?? i hated it sooooooooooooooooooooooo much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. A really well written film. Got me in the end. 5 stars
9/06/98 Johny Very Good movie, loses points for overlong running time 4 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee I really dug this movie. Which is weird because I hate Cruise like poison. 5 stars
9/05/98 Jon Great flick. Made me finally respect Cruise as an actor. 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass A sweet movie! 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy good movie, kinda predictable. 4 stars
8/25/98 Pete Big studios can actually make good flicks. Maybe my fave Cruise role. Loved Renee! 5 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball This film was great. Well written, well acted. Zell rules. 5 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress YES! YES! YES! sorry, i got excited. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Dec-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast