More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.38

Awesome: 5%
Worth A Look: 17.5%
Average: 22.5%
Pretty Bad: 20%
Total Crap35%

3 reviews, 22 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Guy Thing, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Tiresomely against the grain."
2 stars

Jason Lee celebrates his immanent marriage with a typical bachelor’s party and winds up abed with the new dancing tiki girl (Julia Stiles).

What follows is an amiable comedy of errors and exaggerated proportions, particularly when accident-prone Stiles turns out to be the cousin of the bride-to-be. Chris Koch’s quirky romantic-comedy works so hard to go against the grain of convention that the worked-up effort to avoid the formula wears itself out long before the close. There are, however, a few advantages along the way: a diplomatic and high-energy performance by Stiles — too graceful to be so haphazard a character — and an array of zany predicaments (particularly the panty debacle). The disadvantages, Lee’s aging schtick, the rainbow-wild cast, the anxiety fantasies, tend to stack up and outweigh. With Selma Blair, James Brolin, Shawn Hatosy and Lochlyn Munro.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6570&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/11/04 14:18:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/10/10 PAUL SHORTT SENSELESS AND WITLESS 1 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Was'nt all that great! 1 stars
1/23/06 Jeff Anderson Embarrassingly unfunny & Lee is badly miscast. Julia Stiles is the lone saving grace. 2 stars
8/15/05 love not the funniest movie but no so bad either 3 stars
3/13/04 Wlaclaw Kaczmierski I think I'm the Pole that Selma Blair stuck up her ass! 4 stars
3/08/04 Julia Stiles is a lovely flower but possibly should change her name. Stiles always have stigmas attached to them. It comes with the territory. 5 stars
1/19/04 Gretchen Seitz Jeez "Dust For Eyes", Julia Stiles's shrewish persona is insufferable. Don't ENCOURAGE it! 5 stars
1/18/04 Cheerleader who ran out of TP& has to wipe her ass with her pompoms Geez, What is it with Julia Stiles and guys who use shampoo bottles other than as intended? 3 stars
9/08/03 Amanda I enjoyed it, but it wasn't great, Jason Lee was the best thing about it 4 stars
8/19/03 Jeff THIS SHIT SUX!? 1 stars
6/22/03 John Aster Habig the best man character puts a decent enough twist and someone I can relate to 3 stars
6/05/03 Eloquency Zig-Zag What are you idiots talking about? Julia Stiles sucked giant festering cock in this movie 1 stars
5/07/03 JonBenet Ramsey's ghost Of all Julia's styles of acting, the first to do much for me. 4 stars
3/06/03 The Lurchprong Splitter Julia Stiles has finally extracted her head from her anus enough to show she has talent! 4 stars
2/28/03 Uncle Salty Aptly named, If "A guy thing" means the desire to commit ritual suicide. 1 stars
2/22/03 Jon Jason Lee what happened? 2 stars
2/04/03 jgfsjglksdf why? 1 stars
1/31/03 Pure Spring Water whatever it should do, Jason Lee doesn't and Julia Stiles does 4 stars
1/22/03 wishiwasdead I'm easygoing with romantic comedies, but this was 100% unfunny. And Julia Stiles? Blech 1 stars
1/22/03 ars Predictable but pretty funny 4 stars
1/22/03 snowconehead not that bad 4 stars
1/22/03 kosta kill me now 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Jan-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Aug-2003


Directed by
  Chris Koch

Written by
  Greg Glienna
  Pete Schwaba
  Matt Tarses

Cast
  Jason Lee
  Julia Stiles
  Selma Blair
  James Brolin
  Shawn Hatosy
  David Koechner



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast