More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.38

Awesome: 3.17%
Worth A Look: 1.59%
Average: 6.35%
Pretty Bad: 7.94%
Total Crap80.95%

2 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


National Security
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"It may be hard to believe, but this Martin Lawrence film is awful."
1 stars

Sadly, many Americans are still under a spell that causes them to believe Martin Lawrence is funny, despite his not having been funny since 1995. “National Security” may be the magic kiss that finally breaks the spell, though I have learned never to count on a film’s poor quality being enough to deter people from liking it.

In this mindless rehash of a thousand other movies, Lawrence plays Earl Montgomery, a mouthy security guard who wants to be a cop. One day he gets into a skirmish with Hank (Steve Zahn), who is a real cop, which leads to Hank trying to bat away an intruding bumblebee with his nightstick -- which, from a certain angle, looks like he’s beating on Earl. This farcical event is caught on amateur videotape, and since Earl is a pigheaded jerk, he perpetuates the misinterpretation in court, leading to a six-month jail sentence for Hank. (This is the first time I know of that someone has gone to jail for participating in a farce. Wouldn’t the cast of “Three’s Company” be on death row by now?)

Hank’s career is ruined, naturally, so when he’s released, the only job he can get is that of a security guard. This leads to more encounters with Earl, and the two wind up working together to find the guys who killed Hank’s partner back when he was still a cop.

While Lawrence has excelled at playing irritating loudmouths, few have been as maddening as Earl Montgomery, a moron who never stops playing the race card. He even has a catchphrase, which you are supposed to start repeating: “What the problem is?”

Steve Zahn is funny. Not in this movie, but in general. It’s too bad he’s here.

This film has an alarmingly bad pedigree. The director is Dennis Dugan, whose credits include “Saving Silverman,” “Big Daddy,” “Happy Gilmore” (that’s two Adam Sandler films, if you’re scoring along at home), “Beverly Hills Ninja,” “Brain Donors,” “Problem Child” and episodes of TV’s “Shasta McNasty.” The co-writers are Jay Scherick and David Ronn, whose last two collaborations -- “I Spy” and “Serving Sara” - make them the worst duo in Hollywood.

“National Security” is full of shoot-outs, car chases and exploding things, all accompanied by lame one-liners shouted above the din. It is all familiar and derivative and altogether unpleasant to watch.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6571&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/27/03 08:26:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/28/10 Frank Fontaine Topped only in awfulness by "Black Knight". Steve Zahn needs a better agent. 1 stars
5/23/08 PAUL SHORTT A PATENTLY OFFENSIVE, RACIST AND REPULSIVE WASTE OF CELLULOID 1 stars
10/16/07 Mr Green. Damn,what a movie. Fuck you all who think its not a nice a movie and big-up to Martin. 4 stars
2/24/06 Brett Suckfest 1 stars
5/18/05 Cindy Lovell I just love Steve Zahn so it was tolerable for me! 3 stars
2/20/05 Jeff Anderson Martin Lawrence's ALL TIME WORST FILM! He's an OVERBEARING & RACIST LOUDMOUTH IN THIS JUNK! 1 stars
10/19/04 Igor Sucks Ass 1 stars
9/01/04 Zargo eric, why were you in this? 2 stars
8/12/04 David funnny 5 stars
7/26/04 Mr. Craig A Copeland Below average comedic fluff 2 stars
7/20/04 N. Christopher Bell Proof that it takes more than being an outspoken black guy to be funny. 1 stars
7/17/04 Gray ddie Martin die! 1 stars
7/06/04 tyger,tyger stupid in evrey way 1 stars
7/06/04 Talonsoft please stop martin from working before someone puts out an eye 1 stars
5/25/04 varyouga Worst movie I have ever see. PERIOD 1 stars
4/23/04 Gray Martin Lawrence isn't funny 1 stars
3/20/04 Nannette This was a funny movie. If you want something senceless and funny this is for you 3 stars
3/17/04 Seija Anderson I actually liked it. 3 stars
2/28/04 SoSad so horrible I cried and had nightmares about it. WHY WHY WHY does such garbage exist. 1 stars
2/27/04 scott thank you ,Martin Lawrence, for new always finding new ways to suck 1 stars
2/17/04 Igor Isnt worth the film its printed on. Complete garbage that should be burned 1 stars
2/12/04 Joe Martin Lawrence has absolutly no talent to speek of, all he ever does is make racist jokes 1 stars
2/10/04 Dr.Lecter Hott dogg, learn to spell and use English correctly, you cretin 1 stars
1/24/04 Vinnie This movie was an affront to God and the Heavens above. 1 stars
1/02/04 OnlyChild Wasn't even funny, wasn't anything 2 stars
11/21/03 Jack I would give it a zero if I could. HONESTLY, the worst movie I have ever seen. 1 stars
11/12/03 w it has some fun in it, but the script ruins it. 1 stars
9/16/03 John Movie not funny comedy. Not funny comedy make angry. Angry make chainsaw kill martin 1 stars
7/23/03 Max B This is such a racist crap movie it actually makes me want to join the clan! 1 stars
7/18/03 Igor I am a black comedy fan but THIS MOVIE BLOWS. Its so bad that you cant even make fun of it 1 stars
6/30/03 seldom scene do not see this movie 1 stars
6/23/03 ThaFreek Great movie ! Maybe a lil' bit too much racism ... but otherwise simply GREAT ! 5 stars
6/13/03 Jerry IT SUCKS!! IT REALLY SUCKS!!!! 1 stars
5/29/03 Geller THIS MOVIE WOULD MAKE GANDHI OR JESUS WANT TO KILL MARTIN. ITS FULL OF UNFUNNY HATE! 1 stars
5/18/03 Brett to shitty 1 stars
2/21/03 Evil Bob Death became my best mate during this picture and tempted me a way out with a circular saw! 1 stars
2/19/03 Martin movies suck Martin Lawrence is only funny next to Tim Robbins or Will Smith. 1 stars
2/14/03 Andrew Carden A Complete Horrid Mess With Two Bored Performers. 1 stars
2/12/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Abhorrent stuff. Why do people keep buying tickets? 1 stars
1/31/03 dave Martin hasn't made a good movie since Nothing to Lose... 1 stars
1/31/03 Spidey Imagine a white guy saying racial slurs about blacks, and people laughing... 1 stars
1/30/03 A Dead Body in Your County Morgue Fuck anyone who doesn't think this movie Sucks All Ass, but most of all, fuck you, Martin 1 stars
1/28/03 D It wasnt Martin's worst. Better than Black Knight 3 stars
1/27/03 Will Smith Bad in so many ways. Martin Lawrence is a disgusting Eddie Murphy-wannabe cunt 1 stars
1/27/03 Sultan of Kinakuta Aaahla-haaalah-mnaavi-staaaava-haavala-eaeaea! 2 stars
1/26/03 Mr Math If you idiots would stop paying to see Martin Lawrence movies, THEY'D STOP MAKING THEM! 1 stars
1/24/03 snowconehead I was so proud of the fact I was able to see this for free.......then I watched the movie 1 stars
1/21/03 Narco Whoa, a black cop paired with an white cop? Never heard that idea before! 1 stars
1/20/03 jeff in montco See, he's Black. And everyone else is White! That's what makes it so funny!! 1 stars
1/19/03 Angry Black Man Last nite I went to see this doo doo. I'm going back to reading novels on friday evenings! 1 stars
1/18/03 EatAtMilliways Jesus. Not worth paying for. Hell, it wasn't worth getting in for free. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Jan-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 06-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-May-2003


Directed by
  Dennis Dugan

Written by
  David Ronn
  Jay Scherick

Cast
  Martin Lawrence
  Steve Zahn
  Timothy Busfield
  Bill Duke
  Colm Feore
  Eric Roberts



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast