More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.93

Awesome: 12.5%
Worth A Look: 5.36%
Average: 8.93%
Pretty Bad: 8.93%
Total Crap64.29%

6 reviews, 76 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Darkness Falls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The exact same crap, only with a cool title...and the title's free."
1 stars

I refuse to give this movie more attention than it deserves. Expect a one-paragraph movie review.

I could rattle off the movies that obviously 'inspired' this 78-minute yawnfest.

But I won't.

I could also try to synopsize the plot, so you the reader can form an educated opinion on whether or not you want to see the movie. I won't do that either; if you see every horror flick under the sun (as I do), this plot will seem as thrilling as bread and water.

I could also spend nine paragraphs breaking down the awful script, the indifferent acting performances, the uninspired directorial style, and the overall sense of movie malaise surrounding this low-budget cheapie.

I'll avoid that as well. Simply put, Darkness Falls is like that snake that eats itself: by the time minute 80 hits the screen, you'll have completely forgotten about minutes 1 through 10. And once the movie ends, you'll forget you ever saw it. Be careful not to pick it up on video shelves and see it for a second time. It's that damn airy and pointless.

Sure, I can see the logic behind introducing a new horror villain named "The Tooth Fairy", but the concept might be cooler had it not been appropriated by author Thomas Harris and Michael Mann's Manhunter. So what we're left with is a vaguely threatening spectre who can only attack in the dark, and the town's electricity just went down. (Whoops, I slipped and divulgled the plot synopsis in one sentence!)

Over the past few months, I've seen great horror movies like Ginger Snaps, Dog Soldiers, and 28 Days Later. None of those films were made by Americans, but THIS one was!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6576&reviewer=128
originally posted: 01/30/03 10:19:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/02/13 EDDIED THIS MOVIE SUCKED. 1 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT ABYSMAL, UNINVENTIVE HORROR 1 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Totally Boring! 1 stars
12/02/07 Bnorm I thought this was supposed to be horror; my dog's thrown up scarier things than this 1 stars
2/16/07 Axel Leos stupid evil toothfairy movie, oh my god stay in the light stay in the light. 1 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A good, short horror film. It gives you thrills and chills. 3 stars
10/06/06 Pritchett I can't believe there are people who actual admit to liking this pile of twat. 1 stars
6/04/06 William Goss Hoover and Oreck should sue. 1 stars
10/29/05 matt this movie kills more brain cells than jagermeister 1 stars
8/25/05 Copper Pure nonsense, the most ball-less "horror" film ever made. 1 stars
8/18/05 ES was this more like 'them' or 'cursed' or 'blair witch 2' or 'darkness' ? = it don't matter 1 stars
5/22/05 dfghfgh great movie, I don't know why everyone says that it sucks ass 5 stars
5/11/05 Sully not a single scene was scary. the director should switch to porn 1 stars
5/06/05 stuart To the director - are you out of your fucking mind???? 1 stars
2/09/05 axe "I don’t know what the fuck is cheesy anymore…" [actual director's quote] *HAHAHA* 1 stars
8/05/04 bondjamesbond some creepy elements to it but....the story line was crap and the scary wasnt scary........ 1 stars
7/19/04 Nikolai A Dan Quayle to the Dick Cheney of scariness 1 stars
5/08/04 Danielo Asdino Agree with Scott,a sucked movie. 1 stars
4/27/04 HorrorScribbler Always nice to see Emma, but you have to pick better scripts honey. 1 stars
4/18/04 valerie hart not very good movie and certanly not gory,scary,or even bloody crap story line 2 stars
4/17/04 LIAM JACKSON i think it would be funny if the people who slam this film were brutally murdered by TTF 5 stars
4/10/04 American Slasher Goddess Not anything extremely great,but it is entertaining. 3 stars
3/14/04 Paul Carone I laughed so hard I decorated a Christmas tree! 1 stars
3/03/04 Charles Tatum Not nearly as bad as everyone says 4 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge zzzzzzzz BOO! ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzz. Blah! Blah! Scary! BLAH!..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 1 stars
2/23/04 Dr.Lecter For a site that slams critics, darkofnight is the dumbest critic I've seen ever 1 stars
2/17/04 caiphn Darkofnight is a fucking troll. 2 stars
2/06/04 Hank What the hell's the matter with you? This movie was great 5 stars
2/02/04 Joe The Villaness Looks Like A Bastard Child Of Freddy Kruger Only Not As Scary 1 stars
12/28/03 Chris If you like horror films this one isn't so bad. I liked the art techinques. Fun. 4 stars
11/29/03 Samuel reminded me of 'They' which sucked too!! 1 stars
11/14/03 jimmy d fuck! 2 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess Not anything great, but entertaining. 3 stars
10/12/03 Gary Great horror movie 5 stars
9/22/03 Jim Good 5 stars
9/18/03 Noacat This movie hurt me and I want to hurt it back. 2 stars
9/18/03 larry Good 5 stars
9/17/03 dontaye it is very scary better than the ring by a long shot 5 stars
9/16/03 Greg GREAT 5 stars
9/06/03 Fred THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!! 5 stars
9/05/03 Joe Suck it, Action movie fan! Suck itl ong and suck it hard 5 stars
9/02/03 Joey Very good horror film 5 stars
8/14/03 thegeld this film makes u jump 2 much :-) 5 stars
7/24/03 Maggie This Movie Is the So good so get your facts stright 5 stars
7/01/03 dontaye darkness falls was so better than the ring 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice The beginning was very good, even scary, then it blew up 3 stars
6/12/03 Paul Trevk I like a lot this Movie, i mean, i knew it was a fake but it's fun enjoy a horror movie. 4 stars
6/10/03 john doe this movie was bad a$$ 4 stars
5/31/03 othee omg did Disney make this ? 1 stars
4/11/03 The Velcro Warlock Tooth Fairy as a Serial Killer? A skuzzumblupcious hoot! Santa Claus 2 is better. 2 stars
4/11/03 Valerie Cameron Sorry, E-Rock,, but amoebas don't have testes! 2 stars
4/11/03 E-Rock Darkness Falls... On this director's career. This film licks amoeba testes... 1 stars
3/12/03 Brandy The film was okay... kind of stupid, but okay... 3 stars
3/12/03 alex seals i thought it was good it hade me keep the light on for awhile i wish it had more of a plot 3 stars
3/07/03 She's Hott At least it has Emma Caufield 2 stars
3/02/03 DarkFaery70 I thought it was okay, but nothing to pay fullprice for 3 stars
2/19/03 Blame Wes Craven All these post-Scream horror flicks are awful, but this one takes the prize 1 stars
2/15/03 Chris Sorry, I thought this film was a guilty pleasure. I loved the settings! 4 stars
2/12/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Clueless, thankless, hapless, hopeless. 1 stars
2/07/03 Tony Starks Had Potential . . . fell short, all though there were a few scares . . . 3 stars
2/05/03 meathole This was literally a joke. It was like a SNL parady of a movie. 1 stars
2/03/03 E-Rock Darkness Falls... On this director's career. This film licks amoeba testes... 1 stars
2/03/03 Collin The Villaness Lokks Like A Bastard Child Of Freddy Kruger Only Not As Scary 1 stars
2/02/03 Bridget Dougherty Could of, Would of, Should of been a better movie. 3 stars
2/02/03 Milkman Wes Meets all the requirements of a formula horror film. Generic but watchable. 4 stars
1/29/03 Kyle Bad, but not horrid. 2 stars
1/28/03 Jon C. Ericson Oh God!!! The Ring was sucessful now here comes the clones. 3 stars
1/28/03 kosta its about the tooth fairy.... i mean, COME THE FUCK ON 1 stars
1/27/03 Vicious "kicksass movie" sounds like a studio tool 1 stars
1/27/03 George Jung A movie about the tooth fairy called "Darkness Falls". Fuck me, even the title sucks. 1 stars
1/27/03 Cyberscout Can a whole town forget how to light a fire when the power goes out? 2 stars
1/27/03 Jack A Shameless Ripoff Of A Nightmare On Elm Street Terrible 1 stars
1/26/03 Want my time back Predictable, boring, awful effects. Burn the fucking negative. 1 stars
1/26/03 Want my Money Back Don't even rent it it is crap 1 stars
1/26/03 NeckBreaker Row Predictable plot, bad acting, more a comedy than a horror flick 1 stars
1/25/03 Grace A plot that doesn't go anywhere, bad acting, and cheesy effect. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jan-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 03-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Aug-2003


Directed by
  Jonathan Liebesman

Written by
  Joe Harris

Cast
  Chaney Kley
  Emma Caulfield
  Andrew Bayly
  Emily Browning
  Lee Cormie
  Peter Curtin



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast