More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.66

Awesome33.04%
Worth A Look: 31.3%
Average: 11.3%
Pretty Bad: 17.39%
Total Crap: 6.96%

6 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Gory, clever death scenes trump poor acting and a shoddy script every time!"
4 stars

What a novel conceit: take exactly what's wrong with modern horror movies (i.e. boredom and predictability) and flip the proverbial script on 'em. Those who (correctly) gripe that the Friday the 13th and Halloween sequels are nothing more than rote assembly line carnage-fests should find their complaints allayed here: the beauty of the Final Destination flicks is that anyone can die at any time - and often do.

Imagine my utter surprise at the entertainment value of a Final Destination 2. Here we have an unplanned sequel to a surprise hit. Add to that the fact that we're talking about America-based horror merchants (who, for the most part, have no balls whatsoever) doling out the sequel, and let's just say that things weren't looking good for this one.

I did my normal mental checklist throughout the film:

Acting: almost uniformly bad.

Script: muddled beyond measure in some spots, surprisingly clever in others.

Direction: fantastic in the "kill shots", pedantic and drab otherwise.

In other words, I intended to analyze this one as if it were any other flick, be it Fellini or Fincher.

Apparently my funny bone overcame my critic's brain, because I found myself squirming, laughing, and hooting along with the rest of the moviegoing masses. I was easily able to overlook the glaring plot holes and intermittently atrocious acting and simply enjoy the more...visceral moments on display.

To those unfamiliar with the original entry, the 'hook' of the FD flicks is simply this: Death is one poor sport, and should his next victims unwittingly discover a way to avoid his touch - the reaper roars back with a vengeance, resulting in some sinfully goopy dispatches.

All in all, cool horror junk for cool horror fans.

The first flick featured a cadre of high school students who were (un)lucky enough to disembark from an ill-fated airliner - only to be picked off later in elaborately nasty ways. Part 2 has its eventual victims avoid a horrific highway accident - only to be picked off later in elaborately nasty ways.

What most impressed me about this follow-up (aside from the frequent moments of gory good fun) is the way in which the original film was referenced. There's a fantastic little scene in which all the soon-to-be-dead realize that they each have a tenuous connection to the victims from Part 1, and in a sea of 'in-name-only / ignore all prior entries' sequels, one that takes the time to tie itself to its source is worthy of a little pat on the back.

The cast is a collection of pretty faces (for the most part), none of whom will leave all that much of an impression. Returing from the original is the long-suffering Ali Larter (who becomes the Linda Hamilton of the FD series) and Tony Todd, as a mortician who mumbles ominously for precisely one throwaway scene.

Plot-wise...why would you even ask? Death wants these poor slobs dead, and we're invited to watch. Isn't that enough? OK, you caught me; I'm avoiding the main plot because A) it's silly and B) it makes very little sense. It's got something to do with the order of the intended deaths and a lot of malarkey about one gal's unborn baby. If the baby is born before everyone's dead, then death's curse is broken andzzzzzzzzzzz...

Like I said, it doesn't really matter. People go to see fireworks for the light show, not for a thought-provoking lecture on the history of colored gun powder. Does Final Destination 2 deliver the gory goods?

Absolutely, and then some. The initial car pile-up is staggeringly cool to behold, as are a few other extended moments of impending death - none of which I'll come close to divulging here. Let's just say that if a movie were rated solely on its creative moments of icky and intense carnage, this one could be an Oscar nominee.

(And a very small and seemingly stupid moment of praise: THANKS for not saddling this enjoyable little flick with a moronic subtitle like Final Destination 2: More Finaler! We horror fans hate that crap.)

The original may be a slightly better film, more finely structured and a bit more crafty - but the sequel doesn't offer Devon Sawa in the lead role, and in many ways that makes Part 2 considerably more entertaining.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6582&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/01/03 14:57:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/09/10 Kyle Awesome sequel, and still has some of the best death scenes... 5 stars
11/12/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, DARKLY COMIC RETREAD 2 stars
2/17/09 action movie fan good anthology style sequel=extre,ly gory but engrossing 4 stars
1/17/09 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
4/02/07 fools♫gold O, how I wish I gave the third one a 1/5! 5 stars
2/23/07 PIPER IT WAS WONDER FUL I LOVED IT 5 stars
2/13/07 Anthony Feor A terrible sequel to a would be passable film (0.5/5) 1 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai The best one of the series. Not scary but thrilling, with some humor elements. 4 stars
5/18/06 R.W.Welch Barely passable retread. 3 stars
3/23/06 Indrid Cold This series has become one of the few good things about Hollywood horror these days. 4 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Nice 2 see an entertaining sequel having so much fun with the serious premise of the first. 4 stars
10/25/05 chris fox (the god) ok 3 stars
10/05/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
9/08/05 Tom Burns A very bloody, also kind of funny, since the death scenes are so unblievable. I loved it. 5 stars
7/09/05 Clubber Lang Good for about 30 minutes, then silliness takes over, and no suspense. 3 stars
5/28/05 critic's critc a lovely little movie....fun, reasonable characters 4 stars
10/31/04 lucas awesome 5 stars
9/30/04 Sarah It was fantastic. 5 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy Not bad for a sequel. Some really brutal scenes. Good! 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff good movie, surprisingly. 4 stars
8/02/04 magaafi its in the genre of "horror".....but its not horror, just good, solid entertainment 5 stars
8/01/04 Wank Boring plataeu-ic storyline 2 stars
7/19/04 Zach For all the people who say this movie is the same as FD1, you are all wrong. Great movie. 5 stars
4/04/04 Reaper Totally Kickass Movie - awesome pileup scene 5 stars
3/11/04 Joey the movie sucked it had totally differaint caracters and that guy in FD1 didnt come out 2 stars
3/05/04 Hayden Añana its very nice, cook is very pretty 5 stars
1/06/04 FR1 That scene at the dentist was a work of genius, with you never knowing who will die. Scary! 4 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Mostly enjoyable but ruined by Clear dying at the end.Shood have come up with a better end. 4 stars
12/09/03 Samuel This film is as equally as good as the origional... 5 stars
11/25/03 Thiago It's just the first one, but with more money. But in this case it's not a bad thing! 4 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess Bascially a repeat of the first movie, but it's still a fun ride. 4 stars
10/10/03 William B. Excellent movie and nothing like its preceder FD1. Not a waste of money or time. 4 stars
10/05/03 Double G first was beta 4 stars
10/02/03 Vitality1 Good GOD this was gory...gross at first, but also amusing & creative 5 stars
8/22/03 The Talking Elbow Really, really shitty performances and bad writting. 2 stars
8/21/03 jill one of the best movies ive eva seen!! 5 stars
8/19/03 snowconehead When gravity attacks accident prone cluster fucks 3 stars
8/13/03 kenny wonderful,scary,twisted and exciting!!! 5 stars
8/02/03 nr beter then the first 5 stars
7/19/03 James Owens Final Destination 2 is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Fantastic Movie! Dont want to hurt anyones feelings,but better than the first! 5 stars
6/09/03 James Morris The best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
5/31/03 Ghetto Smurf This is my favourite movie ever. Gory, fun, exciting, romantic...umm 5 stars
4/25/03 Ashley Corpening Here's what happens to horror sequels when original killed off too many colorful characters 2 stars
4/15/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Charm of 1st has sunk to monotony&ambiguity. Not clear what happens to Clear. 3 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Wait. How did the last character die? 4 stars
4/15/03 Ali Larter fan Scott, comparing Ali Larter to Linda Hamilton? What sacrilege! An extra * in Ali's defense! 4 stars
4/11/03 curious me it was a very nice movie but each and every second i jumped from my chair 5 stars
4/10/03 me GREAT 5 stars
4/09/03 florel penamora pretty bad 3 stars
4/06/03 ömer very goog 5 stars
4/01/03 Penni This movie was one of the best movies i'm ever seen. Defiantly see it if u haven't 5 stars
3/30/03 HE great 5 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 MORE GUTS MORE BLOOD JUST WHAT A SICK MIND NEEDS!A+ 5 stars
3/28/03 Katie & Brian Fucking awesome, I had chills the whole time 5 stars
3/28/03 Tony Ireland This film was fucking brilliant 5 stars
3/15/03 HE BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds David Ellis performs more predictable death situations than the first movie. 2 stars
3/10/03 brecht The best film 5 stars
3/04/03 Layne Fossen sucked 3 stars
3/03/03 kirmit highly entertaining to watch these annoying, idiotic people die annoying idiotic deaths 5 stars
3/01/03 Me Are you all this stupid? You have to be a complete dumb fuck to enjoy this 1 stars
2/11/03 Angela Espinoza I thought it was good and scary 5 stars
2/10/03 johnny fay it was called final destination for a reason...so natural they make a sequal.fuckingstuiped 1 stars
2/09/03 Kyle Really fucked up and disturbing, yet hilarious. If it weren 4 stars
2/07/03 Sean Hansford best film i have seen in a long time 5 stars
2/07/03 Stephanie aucking fwsome! 5 stars
2/06/03 Chris This Makes The Friday The 13th Series Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/04/03 Explodus Annoyingly convoluted plot, but utterly FUCKED-UP deaths. They deeply disturbed me >=^) 5 stars
2/03/03 N A fun ride - would see again 5 stars
2/03/03 venkman Gory good times. I've never seen someone die like THAT before. 4 stars
2/02/03 STEVE UH I CANT WAIT FOR FD3...NOT!HAHAHAHAH 1 stars
2/02/03 Shaun Nice twist to tie the two movies together, nice death scenes, good times 4 stars
2/02/03 Rob Good Action Sequences...but I could have written a better script with my left nut 2 stars
2/01/03 Brian de Castro Finally an R-rated horror film, w/ a capital R! This movie kicks major a**! 5 stars
2/01/03 George Jung I am a fucking idiot for paying to see this movie! 1 stars
2/01/03 scott A GREAT FILM BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
2/01/03 Pure Spring Water Why are we being punished? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jan-2003 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Mar-2003


Directed by
  David Ellis

Written by
  Eric Bress
  J. Mackye Gruber

Cast
  A.J. Cook
  Andrew Downing
  Michael Landes
  Ali Larter
  Tony Todd
  Lynda Boyd



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast