More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.66

Awesome33.04%
Worth A Look: 31.3%
Average: 11.3%
Pretty Bad: 17.39%
Total Crap: 6.96%

6 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

Predestination by Jay Seaver

Faults by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Should be rated G - as in Giddy, Gratuitous, Gorefest, and Guilty Pleasure"
4 stars

The Original FINAL DESTINATION, while not all that great in the end, had a promising enough beginning, and an interesting premise. In a way, it was the anti-slasher film. It said "let's kill everyone off in a gruesome and creative way . . . but this time let's try it WITHOUT a dude with a mask and a chainsaw." This time the axe-murderer is Joe Black. Old Hood and Scythe himself - Death. Da Reapa Man. So . . . who the fuck you gonna call now?

Final Destination 2 is no masterwork of cinema either. In fact, it's just more of the same. A LOT more. Fully aware that this is a rehash of what was supposed to be a one-trick pony, the filmmakers have upped the ante by delivering some gratifyingly gruesome death scenes (Why couldn't Resident Evil have been more like this?). When the Reaper man comes around to tie up loose ends, he pulls no punches.

So, it's a year after the events of the first movie, and the lone survivor, Clear Rivers (Ali Larter) - woah, wait. Clear Rivers. The chick's name is CLEAR RIVERS? what the . . . I guess mommy was a hippie or a porn star.

ANYWAY

Lone survivor Clear Rivers (ahem) is voluntarily locked up in a padded room for her own protection to keep Death at bay (I didn't know you could treat an asylum like a hotel on the taxpayer's dime). Meanwhile, Kimberly Corman (A.J. Cook) is on a road trip with three friends when she has a vision of a horrific accident happening up ahead, similar to the dream that the guy in the first film had about his plane blowing up. And holy shit, this has got to be the most balls-out over the top gruesome highway pileup in the history of film. This even tops the wrecks in the Mad Max films.

Intent on stopping the accident from happening, She blocks the onramp - the accident still happens up the road, but not to the people whom it was intended for.

Now Death's pissed.

See, Death has a design (a point you will be well versed in by the time this movie's over, since they prattle on about it in expository conversation oh, say, TWELVE FUCKING TIMES). By saving those lives, Kimberly has gotten the cosmic balance between life and death all screwed up, and Death's got his panties in a bunch beneath his itchy black robe. Apparently, saving a group of people's lives when it was their time to go creates a ripple effect that touches everyone those people encounter. So now, because of this groups subsequent actions, other people might be living when they were supposed to be dying, and vice versa.

Ah, horseshit. Like the first one, the premise is interesting but the script is bollocks. If death really did have a design, how would these morons ever be able to figure it out? Even the explanations from the mysterious undertaker from the first film (Tony Todd, a great actor sadly utilized in a one-scene throwaway part) make no sense.

This is not a movie you go to if you are expecting a logical, well crafted plot, or anything above modestly competent acting. This is a movie you go to to see some motherfuckers die in a variety of creative and messy ways. We're talking splattered like a watermelon or chopped up like a cuisinart - and you get to see it all! I have not been so effectively grossed out and giddily amused by gore like that since I first saw Dawn of the Dead. But besides the gibfest, the film does actually use some clever bits of misdirection to throw you off the scent when you're trying to guess who will die next and how. Most of the time you can dodge their fake-out, but every once in a while they'll sneak one under your radar and BLAMMO! Must give props on that.

One other thing that I respect about both films is that they never tried to personify death, much less show him in some physical form (which would have ruined them completely). Death is not some happy go lucky dude like Bengt Ekerot in The Seventh Seal or William Sadler in Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey. Death is a force of nature that you can't outrun. In fact, death seems to be a form of malevolent kinetic energy -one that is usually set into motion by the unwitting actions of the victims themselves. Damn, maybe this movie is a bit more clever than I give it credit for.

I don't know if it's better than the first one, but I have a feeling that parts of it will stick in the memory longer. I don't even remember how everyone died in the first film, but I'll bet you'll remember those moments from number 2 - especially the last one.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6582&reviewer=258
originally posted: 02/03/03 20:50:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/09/10 Kyle Awesome sequel, and still has some of the best death scenes... 5 stars
11/12/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, DARKLY COMIC RETREAD 2 stars
2/17/09 action movie fan good anthology style sequel=extre,ly gory but engrossing 4 stars
1/17/09 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
4/02/07 fools♫gold O, how I wish I gave the third one a 1/5! 5 stars
2/23/07 PIPER IT WAS WONDER FUL I LOVED IT 5 stars
2/13/07 Anthony Feor A terrible sequel to a would be passable film (0.5/5) 1 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai The best one of the series. Not scary but thrilling, with some humor elements. 4 stars
5/18/06 R.W.Welch Barely passable retread. 3 stars
3/23/06 Indrid Cold This series has become one of the few good things about Hollywood horror these days. 4 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Nice 2 see an entertaining sequel having so much fun with the serious premise of the first. 4 stars
10/25/05 chris fox (the god) ok 3 stars
10/05/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
9/08/05 Tom Burns A very bloody, also kind of funny, since the death scenes are so unblievable. I loved it. 5 stars
7/09/05 Clubber Lang Good for about 30 minutes, then silliness takes over, and no suspense. 3 stars
5/28/05 critic's critc a lovely little movie....fun, reasonable characters 4 stars
10/31/04 lucas awesome 5 stars
9/30/04 Sarah It was fantastic. 5 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy Not bad for a sequel. Some really brutal scenes. Good! 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff good movie, surprisingly. 4 stars
8/02/04 magaafi its in the genre of "horror".....but its not horror, just good, solid entertainment 5 stars
8/01/04 Wank Boring plataeu-ic storyline 2 stars
7/19/04 Zach For all the people who say this movie is the same as FD1, you are all wrong. Great movie. 5 stars
4/04/04 Reaper Totally Kickass Movie - awesome pileup scene 5 stars
3/11/04 Joey the movie sucked it had totally differaint caracters and that guy in FD1 didnt come out 2 stars
3/05/04 Hayden Añana its very nice, cook is very pretty 5 stars
1/06/04 FR1 That scene at the dentist was a work of genius, with you never knowing who will die. Scary! 4 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Mostly enjoyable but ruined by Clear dying at the end.Shood have come up with a better end. 4 stars
12/09/03 Samuel This film is as equally as good as the origional... 5 stars
11/25/03 Thiago It's just the first one, but with more money. But in this case it's not a bad thing! 4 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess Bascially a repeat of the first movie, but it's still a fun ride. 4 stars
10/10/03 William B. Excellent movie and nothing like its preceder FD1. Not a waste of money or time. 4 stars
10/05/03 Double G first was beta 4 stars
10/02/03 Vitality1 Good GOD this was gory...gross at first, but also amusing & creative 5 stars
8/22/03 The Talking Elbow Really, really shitty performances and bad writting. 2 stars
8/21/03 jill one of the best movies ive eva seen!! 5 stars
8/19/03 snowconehead When gravity attacks accident prone cluster fucks 3 stars
8/13/03 kenny wonderful,scary,twisted and exciting!!! 5 stars
8/02/03 nr beter then the first 5 stars
7/19/03 James Owens Final Destination 2 is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Fantastic Movie! Dont want to hurt anyones feelings,but better than the first! 5 stars
6/09/03 James Morris The best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
5/31/03 Ghetto Smurf This is my favourite movie ever. Gory, fun, exciting, romantic...umm 5 stars
4/25/03 Ashley Corpening Here's what happens to horror sequels when original killed off too many colorful characters 2 stars
4/15/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Charm of 1st has sunk to monotony&ambiguity. Not clear what happens to Clear. 3 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Wait. How did the last character die? 4 stars
4/15/03 Ali Larter fan Scott, comparing Ali Larter to Linda Hamilton? What sacrilege! An extra * in Ali's defense! 4 stars
4/11/03 curious me it was a very nice movie but each and every second i jumped from my chair 5 stars
4/10/03 me GREAT 5 stars
4/09/03 florel penamora pretty bad 3 stars
4/06/03 ömer very goog 5 stars
4/01/03 Penni This movie was one of the best movies i'm ever seen. Defiantly see it if u haven't 5 stars
3/30/03 HE great 5 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 MORE GUTS MORE BLOOD JUST WHAT A SICK MIND NEEDS!A+ 5 stars
3/28/03 Katie & Brian Fucking awesome, I had chills the whole time 5 stars
3/28/03 Tony Ireland This film was fucking brilliant 5 stars
3/15/03 HE BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds David Ellis performs more predictable death situations than the first movie. 2 stars
3/10/03 brecht The best film 5 stars
3/04/03 Layne Fossen sucked 3 stars
3/03/03 kirmit highly entertaining to watch these annoying, idiotic people die annoying idiotic deaths 5 stars
3/01/03 Me Are you all this stupid? You have to be a complete dumb fuck to enjoy this 1 stars
2/11/03 Angela Espinoza I thought it was good and scary 5 stars
2/10/03 johnny fay it was called final destination for a reason...so natural they make a sequal.fuckingstuiped 1 stars
2/09/03 Kyle Really fucked up and disturbing, yet hilarious. If it weren 4 stars
2/07/03 Sean Hansford best film i have seen in a long time 5 stars
2/07/03 Stephanie aucking fwsome! 5 stars
2/06/03 Chris This Makes The Friday The 13th Series Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/04/03 Explodus Annoyingly convoluted plot, but utterly FUCKED-UP deaths. They deeply disturbed me >=^) 5 stars
2/03/03 N A fun ride - would see again 5 stars
2/03/03 venkman Gory good times. I've never seen someone die like THAT before. 4 stars
2/02/03 STEVE UH I CANT WAIT FOR FD3...NOT!HAHAHAHAH 1 stars
2/02/03 Shaun Nice twist to tie the two movies together, nice death scenes, good times 4 stars
2/02/03 Rob Good Action Sequences...but I could have written a better script with my left nut 2 stars
2/01/03 Brian de Castro Finally an R-rated horror film, w/ a capital R! This movie kicks major a**! 5 stars
2/01/03 George Jung I am a fucking idiot for paying to see this movie! 1 stars
2/01/03 scott A GREAT FILM BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
2/01/03 Pure Spring Water Why are we being punished? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jan-2003 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Mar-2003


Directed by
  David Ellis

Written by
  Eric Bress
  J. Mackye Gruber

Cast
  A.J. Cook
  Andrew Downing
  Michael Landes
  Ali Larter
  Tony Todd
  Lynda Boyd



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast