More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.66

Awesome33.04%
Worth A Look: 31.3%
Average: 11.3%
Pretty Bad: 17.39%
Total Crap: 6.96%

6 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Doug Bentin

"A horror movie with a number in the title is entertaining."
4 stars

I make no secret of my love of the genre, but that means I tend to be tougher on creepshows than I am of offerings from other genres. I may settle down at the end of the day with a cheap cigar and even cheaper frightflick, but I’m honest enough to not confuse “Death Brides of the Living Corpse VI” with “Lawrence of Arabia.” (“Death Brides” has cuter starlets.)

“Final Destination 2” is a movie with a modest goal: it wants to make you squirm in your seat. If it accomplishes that, I have to give it credit. It does, so I do.

Like many horror sequels, this one is a virtual re-play of ideas developed in the original. In “Final Destination” (2000) a group of high school kids were about to fly to Paris when one of them has a dream in which the plane explodes on take off. He convinces a handful of his friends to disembark and, sure enough, the plane explodes on cue.

Since these people didn’t die when they were supposed to, Death’s plan gets all fouled up and the Grim One won’t be happy until he takes everyone on his to-do list. One of the intended victims survives.

The sequel continues with this pattern. A young woman is driving three of her friends to Daytona when she sees a series of odd visions, culminating in one of a multi-vehicle pile up on the highway caused by logs slipping off a truck. We get to see the accident and the sequence is nicely choreographed and edited for maximum suspense and shock effect. Plus, this kind of mayhem on the Interstate gives the filmmakers a chance to put “Highway to Hell” on the soundtrack, which is one of those obvious choices that still gets a grin.

Fearful of what is about to happen, Kimberly Corman (the first film was filled with characters whose surnames were those of horror movie directors—in this one watch for Corman, Carpenter and Lewis) blocks the onramp, thereby saving the lives of everyone who would have driven onto the highway. This creates a new list for Death, who immediately wipes out Kim’s vehicle with the other three kids in it. They would have been first to die in the wreck, you see.

When another of the saved drivers dies in a freak accident, Kim begins to put the puzzle pieces together and with the help of State Police Officer Burke goes in search of the only surviving cast member from part one.

We know that everyone except the headliners are going to die. That’s a given. We expected it when we bought our ticket.

What makes the movie fun—and I use that word advisedly—are the carefully contrived ways in which the characters meet their ends. It would seem that Death is not so pissed off about precognitive people messing with his Naughty and Naughtier list that he can’t make things right again, and use his own considerably morbid sense of humor while doing it.

Some of Death’s methods make the Reaper Man appear to be a Looney Tunes addict. The first fella to go begins cooking on an open flame stove in a dirty, greasy pan. The pan catches fire and the guy’s extinguisher is out of that white spray stuff. He climbs out a window to escape, falls from the metal ladder attached to the side of his apartment building, and lands on his back. The ladder slips down and stops a foot above his head. Then, when he and we let out a sigh of relief, wham, the ladder plunges down the rest of the way, the feet slamming into his eye sockets.

It’s as if the tribulations of Wile E. Coyote turned deadly.

I haven’t heard an entire audience gasp and chorus “Eeeww!” together in ages.

In fact, “Eeeww!” is the best word to describe the shootings, decapitations, crushings, splinterings, slicings, explodings and drownings (that was the boring one) in “Final Destination 2.” If you have any doubt that the human body is frail and easily violated by objects both sharp and blunt, you won’t have after 100 minutes of this grotesque and surreal violence.

Another pattern to the modern horror sequel is the addition of this black humor to the original structure of part one movies. The original film was written by James Wong and Glen Morgan, the two writers who made “The X-Files” such a hit, and contained a fair amount of ebon laughter. They didn’t stick around for Part two, and the level of sick humor has been elevated. The nearness of horror to farce is well known. Movies like this try to blur the line that separates them and the success of the film depends in large part on how convincingly the line is obliterated.

I can’t recommend “Final Destination 2” to a mainstream audience. The gore level is too high, the plot is absurd, and the characters exist merely to be eliminated.

But if you’re in tune with your inner demented child, you’ll have some fun with it. Now, repeat after me: Eewww!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6582&reviewer=405
originally posted: 08/16/05 10:55:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/09/10 Kyle Awesome sequel, and still has some of the best death scenes... 5 stars
11/12/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, DARKLY COMIC RETREAD 2 stars
2/17/09 action movie fan good anthology style sequel=extre,ly gory but engrossing 4 stars
1/17/09 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
4/02/07 fools♫gold O, how I wish I gave the third one a 1/5! 5 stars
2/23/07 PIPER IT WAS WONDER FUL I LOVED IT 5 stars
2/13/07 Anthony Feor A terrible sequel to a would be passable film (0.5/5) 1 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai The best one of the series. Not scary but thrilling, with some humor elements. 4 stars
5/18/06 R.W.Welch Barely passable retread. 3 stars
3/23/06 Indrid Cold This series has become one of the few good things about Hollywood horror these days. 4 stars
11/08/05 Littlepurch Nice 2 see an entertaining sequel having so much fun with the serious premise of the first. 4 stars
10/25/05 chris fox (the god) ok 3 stars
10/05/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
9/08/05 Tom Burns A very bloody, also kind of funny, since the death scenes are so unblievable. I loved it. 5 stars
7/09/05 Clubber Lang Good for about 30 minutes, then silliness takes over, and no suspense. 3 stars
5/28/05 critic's critc a lovely little movie....fun, reasonable characters 4 stars
10/31/04 lucas awesome 5 stars
9/30/04 Sarah It was fantastic. 5 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy Not bad for a sequel. Some really brutal scenes. Good! 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff good movie, surprisingly. 4 stars
8/02/04 magaafi its in the genre of "horror".....but its not horror, just good, solid entertainment 5 stars
8/01/04 Wank Boring plataeu-ic storyline 2 stars
7/19/04 Zach For all the people who say this movie is the same as FD1, you are all wrong. Great movie. 5 stars
4/04/04 Reaper Totally Kickass Movie - awesome pileup scene 5 stars
3/11/04 Joey the movie sucked it had totally differaint caracters and that guy in FD1 didnt come out 2 stars
3/05/04 Hayden Añana its very nice, cook is very pretty 5 stars
1/06/04 FR1 That scene at the dentist was a work of genius, with you never knowing who will die. Scary! 4 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Mostly enjoyable but ruined by Clear dying at the end.Shood have come up with a better end. 4 stars
12/09/03 Samuel This film is as equally as good as the origional... 5 stars
11/25/03 Thiago It's just the first one, but with more money. But in this case it's not a bad thing! 4 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess Bascially a repeat of the first movie, but it's still a fun ride. 4 stars
10/10/03 William B. Excellent movie and nothing like its preceder FD1. Not a waste of money or time. 4 stars
10/05/03 Double G first was beta 4 stars
10/02/03 Vitality1 Good GOD this was gory...gross at first, but also amusing & creative 5 stars
8/22/03 The Talking Elbow Really, really shitty performances and bad writting. 2 stars
8/21/03 jill one of the best movies ive eva seen!! 5 stars
8/19/03 snowconehead When gravity attacks accident prone cluster fucks 3 stars
8/13/03 kenny wonderful,scary,twisted and exciting!!! 5 stars
8/02/03 nr beter then the first 5 stars
7/19/03 James Owens Final Destination 2 is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Fantastic Movie! Dont want to hurt anyones feelings,but better than the first! 5 stars
6/09/03 James Morris The best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
5/31/03 Ghetto Smurf This is my favourite movie ever. Gory, fun, exciting, romantic...umm 5 stars
4/25/03 Ashley Corpening Here's what happens to horror sequels when original killed off too many colorful characters 2 stars
4/15/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Charm of 1st has sunk to monotony&ambiguity. Not clear what happens to Clear. 3 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Wait. How did the last character die? 4 stars
4/15/03 Ali Larter fan Scott, comparing Ali Larter to Linda Hamilton? What sacrilege! An extra * in Ali's defense! 4 stars
4/11/03 curious me it was a very nice movie but each and every second i jumped from my chair 5 stars
4/10/03 me GREAT 5 stars
4/09/03 florel penamora pretty bad 3 stars
4/06/03 ömer very goog 5 stars
4/01/03 Penni This movie was one of the best movies i'm ever seen. Defiantly see it if u haven't 5 stars
3/30/03 HE great 5 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 MORE GUTS MORE BLOOD JUST WHAT A SICK MIND NEEDS!A+ 5 stars
3/28/03 Katie & Brian Fucking awesome, I had chills the whole time 5 stars
3/28/03 Tony Ireland This film was fucking brilliant 5 stars
3/15/03 HE BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds David Ellis performs more predictable death situations than the first movie. 2 stars
3/10/03 brecht The best film 5 stars
3/04/03 Layne Fossen sucked 3 stars
3/03/03 kirmit highly entertaining to watch these annoying, idiotic people die annoying idiotic deaths 5 stars
3/01/03 Me Are you all this stupid? You have to be a complete dumb fuck to enjoy this 1 stars
2/11/03 Angela Espinoza I thought it was good and scary 5 stars
2/10/03 johnny fay it was called final destination for a reason...so natural they make a sequal.fuckingstuiped 1 stars
2/09/03 Kyle Really fucked up and disturbing, yet hilarious. If it weren 4 stars
2/07/03 Sean Hansford best film i have seen in a long time 5 stars
2/07/03 Stephanie aucking fwsome! 5 stars
2/06/03 Chris This Makes The Friday The 13th Series Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/04/03 Explodus Annoyingly convoluted plot, but utterly FUCKED-UP deaths. They deeply disturbed me >=^) 5 stars
2/03/03 N A fun ride - would see again 5 stars
2/03/03 venkman Gory good times. I've never seen someone die like THAT before. 4 stars
2/02/03 STEVE UH I CANT WAIT FOR FD3...NOT!HAHAHAHAH 1 stars
2/02/03 Shaun Nice twist to tie the two movies together, nice death scenes, good times 4 stars
2/02/03 Rob Good Action Sequences...but I could have written a better script with my left nut 2 stars
2/01/03 Brian de Castro Finally an R-rated horror film, w/ a capital R! This movie kicks major a**! 5 stars
2/01/03 George Jung I am a fucking idiot for paying to see this movie! 1 stars
2/01/03 scott A GREAT FILM BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
2/01/03 Pure Spring Water Why are we being punished? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jan-2003 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Mar-2003


Directed by
  David Ellis

Written by
  Eric Bress
  J. Mackye Gruber

Cast
  A.J. Cook
  Andrew Downing
  Michael Landes
  Ali Larter
  Tony Todd
  Lynda Boyd



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast