More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.8

Awesome: 10.61%
Worth A Look: 9.09%
Average37.88%
Pretty Bad: 34.85%
Total Crap: 7.58%

6 reviews, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Recruit, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dust For Eyes

"How about we recruit a better script?"
3 stars

Glossy thriller with Al Pacino being the seen-it-all CIA instructor along side Colin Farrell as the young know-all upstart who is being considered for a special assignment. Despite the competent leads, itís the script that lets this film down.

James Clayton (Farrell) is rescued from nerd hell as a computing whiz by Walter Burke (Pacino), a CIA recruiter. As James goes through training he learns that the special recruits go to be on the Government-Denies-All-Knowledge Jobs. Itís from there on then, that James starts getting paranoid and second-guessing everything.

These itís-real-except-it-isnít-except-it-is plots can test the patience of the viewer and one can feel a little over manipulated by them. Although not as bad as The Game, The Recruit keeps you guessing for most of the film. To its credit it ties up everything so it doesnít leave you wondering what really happened.

The action is polished with a prompt pace. Colin Farrell has potential as an action hero. That would actually be a shame as he has also shown promise as a proper actor. Yet in these big budgeters he has the charisma to pull it off.

The plot doesnít concern itself with any of those nasty annoyances like credibility or believability, but weíll pay no mind. Itís all trust-no-one spy stuff. If you put on your I-believe-everything-in-James-Bond-could-happen-for-real glasses, then you shouldnít have too many problems with this film.

The Recruit just doesnít feel special enough. The by the numbers script is probably the culprit. Pacino may be able to make good with what heís got by playing this on autopilot, but even he is not good enough to cover up a film whose problems stem from the page.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6585&reviewer=166
originally posted: 03/10/03 14:24:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/25/08 PAUL SHORTT LIKE COTTON CANDY, IT ALL EVAPORATES RIGHT AFTER ITS OVER 1 stars
8/07/06 Tangelo Soosepot Collin is a cute monkey who acts his way from A to B 3 stars
8/07/06 R.W.Welch If you can't trust your friendly local CIA agent, who can you trust? C+ spy thriller. 3 stars
2/23/06 Frank Rountree the acting was believable, not bad 3 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams dull 1 stars
11/08/04 Steve Newman Surprised this had bad reviews - i really enjoyed it 4 stars
5/13/04 Dean Rapp It was ok, i like the bugs 4 stars
4/25/04 Carla i liked it a lot, the plot twists were awesome! 5 stars
3/17/04 luke good movie 5 stars
10/23/03 jessica brilliant!! 5 stars
9/02/03 Jinnvisible Has it started yet , Oh its finished already , oh I though it was a long trailer. 2 stars
8/06/03 keith langman to many plot twist to follow 3 stars
7/14/03 Bob Wee Great!!!! 5 stars
6/12/03 Jerra This is a very bad movie... The story lacks any intelligence what so ever.... 2 stars
5/31/03 bigbro its amazing how little they think we know about the CIA 2 stars
5/27/03 Jack Sommersby Smoothly directed but nonsensical plotting sinks it. 2 stars
5/23/03 .. great 5 stars
5/14/03 Natalie Stonecipher SLOW start, but 2nd half has some excitement. Pacino recovering from insomnia somewhat. 4 stars
3/20/03 Cameron Slick polished thriller is engaging until it takes one twist too many into the predictable. 4 stars
3/20/03 Boris Loved it. Typical spy stuff but good nonetheless. 5 stars
3/12/03 Greg Edmiston It was interesting, and enough to keep me attentive. No more, no less. 4 stars
3/10/03 George Jung How come FUCKING and ALL ASS aren't in the ratings? I'll say it: This movie SUCKS ALL ASS!! 1 stars
2/15/03 Chris I was hoping for more but I really enjoyed myself. 4 stars
2/06/03 Todd I wonder if Sid and I saw the same movie. typical spy crap 1 stars
2/04/03 ownerofdajoint pacino and moynihan are worth the time..... 3 stars
2/02/03 Bill Kilpatrick A manual on how to write a bad movie. 1 stars
2/02/03 will were it not for the ending, I would've said it was pretty decent 3 stars
2/02/03 Rob Decent concept, but in the end just kisses the ass of Geroge Bush 2 stars
2/01/03 dave not overly convincing of its plot-twist. a yawn and good to watch before going to bed tho' 3 stars
1/29/03 Sid Whiting Vintage Pacino, great story, brilliant directing. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jan-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast