More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome: 20.55%
Worth A Look42.47%
Average: 17.81%
Pretty Bad: 9.59%
Total Crap: 9.59%

13 reviews, 68 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Yesterday by Peter Sobczynski

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Rounders
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"I got three queens, a pair of aces and a stupid-ass Russian."
4 stars

I got the impression from most folks that this film sucked mighty turds. What gives? I thought it was great.

Well okay, maybe not great, but darn good. It was Will Hunting playing cards! What's not to like?

Seriously. I'm not joking here. Okay, so Damon's not your average Olivier. So what? Who is? He's no Mark-Paul Gosselaar at least.

Ed Norton is as cool-ass as ever, as Damon's lowbrow buddy "Worm", fresh outta jail and being a general pain in Damon's freshly legitimised ass. Damon, having given up being a card-shark so he can get into law-school, is dragged screaming back into the seedy underworld of crooked games and game crooks when Worm is in danger of having his face turned into worm-food over an increasing gambling debt.

All sounds fair enough. It runs well, dialogue is clean enough, the game itself is portrayed in an interesting fashion, there's lots of high points and suspense.

So what drags this film into the shit? Easy. John Malkovich. What the hell was this guy thinking? I've heard better Russian accents on Saturday Night Live. I've seen better temper tantrums on four year olds. I've seen better rounded characters in WB sitcoms.

Seriously, they should have dubbed someone else's voice over him. It was distractingly awful. It was hilarious. His every line was cracking people up.

Speaking of audiences, I don't know how truly low the IQ can get, but hearing people call out audibly "YES!" when a good card is turned for Damon... well that's just the piss-funniest thing I've experienced all year.

In closing, Rounders is, in my opinion, a fine movie. It's a good story, well done. And if that's not enough for you, watching John Malkovichski stumble over an accent is worth the price of admission.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=66&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/28/99 15:52:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/10 Ken Jacobi Whoever wrote negative comments is crazy. 1 of the Best films ever and VERY real characters 5 stars
3/02/09 KingNeutron Must-see for any poker fan - Malkovich steals the show 4 stars
9/26/08 Timothy Kirkland "If you can't spot the sucker at the first half hour than you are the sucker" Enough said. 5 stars
1/19/07 MARGARET PESKOFF I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE TO BE VERY INSIGHTFUL INTO THE WORLD OF GAMBLING 5 stars
9/09/06 Michele not the best not the worst 3 stars
8/04/06 ruth ammelia it's a great film i've ever seen 4 stars
5/06/06 dionwr Entertaining but silly film 2 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Beat the poker craze by about five years. Slick movie. 4 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Haven't seen it. 3 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius all in 5 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH i work for chewlie's gum 4 stars
5/02/06 Monday Morning Very tight, slick, entertaining flick. Malkovich's Russian accent is cartoonish, tho'. 4 stars
2/17/06 tatum Good flick, despite Norton's patented weasely performance 4 stars
1/06/06 Phil M. Aficionado I agree with Guide2Film's review. Almost awesome; lots of insight into gambling. Slick. 4 stars
8/17/05 ES Sweet film, good characters, right mixture of suspense and style 4 stars
7/13/05 nixon obviously the reviewers have never played poker before in their pathetic lives 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands Best card game movie I can think of. 5 stars
5/11/05 Simon As good as can be a poker movie. 5 stars
10/22/04 John so well shot and great acting...much better than expected 4 stars
6/23/04 Phil Ivey If you don't believe people make money playing poker, you might not like it. 5 stars
6/21/04 Dick Logan Good cast, great film. Malkovich is the bomb in this!!!! 5 stars
2/23/04 Courtney Rounders is one of the best movies out there! It never gets old. 5 stars
12/03/03 Kyle GAG! Might possibly appeal to poker players. Abysmal for everyone else. 1 stars
12/02/03 George Tucker This film is awesome!!!!!!! If you like playing cards watch this movie!!! 5 stars
10/12/03 Leo McDermott So far, everyone who reviewed this movie must NOT play poker. Poker is a FINE career! 5 stars
9/26/03 Darryl I only made it about halfway through. BORING! 1 stars
6/05/03 Picky Critic Good acting. If you want a movie about gambling, this is a good choice 4 stars
5/02/03 Bri Travis I think it is a kick ass movie!!! 4 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby You've been down this tired road soooooo many times before... 2 stars
3/14/03 R.W. Welch Rather intriguing pic, somewhat undermined by predictable finale. 3 stars
7/29/02 Claire This is as almost as gratifiyng as Vegas, but without the drunken imprompu wedding... 4 stars
7/09/02 erick i don't know know shit bout poker, and i loved this movie, great performances, ect. 5 stars
5/14/02 jason green top ten of all time here.... 5 stars
2/26/02 IP Freely Has some of the best lines, this movie kicks ass, I play a lot so I guess I am biased 5 stars
1/15/02 Chris Delehanty Great Movie 5 stars
1/02/02 Katre It has Edward Norton,so it is worth a watch. 3 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean People who don't play cards (like me) would be bored with some parts of this movie. 3 stars
7/10/01 Ted Donnelly I thought Jon Malcovich's portrayal of "Teddy KGB" was outstanding. 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Best gambling movie made...if you like poker you'll love it 5 stars
5/03/00 Matt Sabian Mol is hot, Damon good, but ending should've been together 4 stars
3/13/00 Trina Barnard I've seen it more than once! 5 stars
2/19/00 Neil Austin Where did Malko go and learn his accent??? 2 stars
10/30/99 Bozo mee too zenabll, but norton makes even shite like this better 2 stars
8/10/99 adjovi worth seeing if only for Norton's effortless scene stealing performance. 4 stars
7/27/99 emperor Norton/Damon good pair. 4 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK Don't really dig Damon, but I love hold'em poker. Good flick. 4 stars
2/20/99 Piz The story drains after a while, same-o same-o, but its worth a look see. 4 stars
2/19/99 Bruce Hedge Great verisimilitude,except the aftermath of the cop beating was a bit unbelievable. 4 stars
2/19/99 Derek Great Damon-Norton rapport. Still, mainly for those versed in poker. 4 stars
2/11/99 Mr Film Predictable, but extremely entertaining and very well done.. Damon is the man... 5 stars
10/29/98 zenball i don't care if he is the IT boy of Hollywood, I HATE MATT DAMON 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Pulse-jacking crash course in the rites, risks, and honor system behind illegal poker-for-g 5 stars
10/13/98 jym marty from st louis is a tool---why didnt it have character development??? 5 stars
10/13/98 tom sweet flick--perfect ending, not to happy or sad--norton /damon--the best in one film 5 stars
10/04/98 Jay Stein They took The Gambler and put it in a blender with Good Will Hunting. Fuggit! 2 stars
10/02/98 Specter A good movie, but pointless on the whole. 3 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Totally predictable, no character development, go rent the Hustler. 2 stars
9/26/98 Armageddon Pretty good flick.. Matt Damon is great again, and supporting actors are cool. 4 stars
9/15/98 Gamma Terrific performances from all involved. Malkovich is awesome, as always. 4 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Norton's great though his disapearance with 40 mins left to go leaves the film feeling flat 3 stars
9/15/98 jack gordon Good, but Malkovich's fake Russian accent has to go. 4 stars
9/15/98 Badass A strong poker face of actors covers up a shitty hand of a script 4 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Who the hell knows 3 stars
9/14/98 Johny Good enough, not spectacular or anything though 4 stars
9/14/98 Jon The acting was great; the plot wasn't----Damon and Malkovich were amazing. 4 stars
9/13/98 Daniel Eskin John Turturro saved this from a sucks all ass! The acting and story were both horrid. 2 stars
9/13/98 Kimberly Finally, a film that understands! Poker is a life...and this is THE movie! 5 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Norton is better than Hoffman in Drugstore Cowboy. Damon's fine, but the movie is no GWH. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Sep-1998 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Feb-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast