More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.85

Awesome: 7.5%
Worth A Look: 5%
Average: 7.5%
Pretty Bad: 25%
Total Crap55%

1 review, 34 user ratings



Jingle All The Way
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Beware of films costarring Sinbad."
1 stars

Never more have I nearly been driven to violence by a film.

Here's a clue as to how much this movie blows goats.

It's directed by Brian Levant, the man who also directed such timeless classics as The Flintstones, Beethoven and Problem Child 2, and it's produced by Chris Columbus, the guy who directed the first two Home Alone's and that silly little Doubtfire movie.

Now you know what you're up against: sentimental dreck combined with supposedly humorous slapstick "comedy" (and I use that term loosely).

Add in the fact that you've got Ah-nuld trying to be sensitive dad (I know if I were 9, and he was my dad, I'd be scared that he'd rip me in half when I was bad. Either that or he'd make me a Republican) in a comedic role, and it's box office poison. It doesn't work, on so many levels.

The kid's annoying, the would-be cameos stink (Ooh, Harvey Korman! Ooh, Robert Conrad! Ooh, Jim Belushi!), Ah-nuld and Rita Wilson have zero chemistry an husband and wife, even the late Phil Hartman isn't nearly as smarmy as he should be.

A travesty of film, and a waste of money.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=661&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/02/98 23:46:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/03/17 Ken Ridiculous! Schwarzenegger, what have you done???!!! 1 stars
9/08/16 david froman jake lloyd sucks 2 stars
9/08/16 david froman jake lloyd sucks 2 stars
9/08/16 david froman jake lloyd sucks 2 stars
9/08/16 david froman jake lloyd sucks 2 stars
10/01/08 PAUL SHORTT TEDIOUS, FORMULAIC AND HEARTLESS 2 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight Better than I thought. 3 stars
10/09/07 Anthony Feor The WORST holiday movie ever! 1 stars
11/24/05 John Dog Arnie should go back into some action movies. 1 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap Ahnold sucks in this movie and the kid is a bitchy brat. Flush it. 1 stars
8/28/05 Quigley arnold should have stopped family films after kindergarten cop. even sinbad can't save it. 2 stars
7/22/05 tony Arnold should be shooting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 1 stars
6/21/05 tony This moivie drives me nuts! 1 stars
1/31/05 Jeff Anderson Another bad Xmas film. The kid is an insufferable spoiled BRAT who quickly becomes annoying 1 stars
12/23/03 Jenny Tullwartz If Scrooge had seen this no number of ghosts could've changed his mind about Christmas! 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Sinbad and Arnold don't belong in comedy, Arnold - action, Sinbad - dead! 3 stars
11/29/03 john putrid...waste of time and money... 1 stars
4/20/03 Hi there I hope David Rogers doesn't comment on this crappy movie again. 1 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do a true smash..hit.. classic. PILE OF CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/17/02 rotten s. milk One of Arnie's best films. 5 stars
9/29/02 Justin Hey, Hi there, stop fucking your mother and get a clue, also! This movie's funny! 5 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi Jingle Bells, Arnie smells, Brian Levant ran away.... 1 stars
3/16/02 Jenny Tullwartz If Scrooge had seen this no number of ghosts could've changed his mind about Christmas! 1 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Dad panned it,but I thought Sinbad was funny & it was finally a new direction 4 Arnold 2 4 stars
6/14/01 Matt Dorsey Has the distinction of being the worst movie I've ever had to sit through. That's bad. 1 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden If you are a fan of Sinbad, you may find something here. 4 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin Not much of an arnold movie but nice shopping. 3 stars
5/04/00 Hi there Hey, David Rogers, stop fucking your mother and get a clue! This movie SUCKS! 1 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Arnold gets a turn to be the hero in the rubber suit for a change. One of his best. 5 stars
11/08/99 focus Stupid, pointless, boring, cliche, no good. Did we forget anything? 2 stars
11/05/98 Bad Kosh Trash. Nearly bored my Chrismas vacation when I watched it at a friend's house. 2 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Ugh!!! Pure Columbusian crap. 2 stars
9/29/98 katherine crap. hate schwartzaneggar. bored my babysitting charges. 2 stars
9/15/98 Badass Boring all the way 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Nov-1996 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast