More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 10.91%
Worth A Look: 10.91%
Average: 1.82%
Pretty Bad: 16.36%
Total Crap60%

1 review, 49 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Kangaroo Jack
[] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"It's funny cuz it's a kangaroo, and he steals money. And he's a kangaroo."
2 stars

“Kangaroo Jack” is the sort of useless movie where two guys put $50,000 in a jacket pocket, then put the jacket on a kangaroo they think is dead so they can pose it for photos, and then it turns out to be still alive and it hops away, leaving the two guys to be killed by gangsters who want to know where their $50,000 is. You know, THAT kind of movie.

It’s also the sort of movie where a character makes it past airport security and onto a transatlantic flight with a pair of scissors in his pocket and doesn’t get caught with them until he LANDS -- you know, where there are no more metal detectors and no reason to search him. Yes, it’s that kind of movie. The kind where two guys wedge themselves into an airplane lavatory and examine a huge pile of cash, with their dialogue -- audible to the entire plane, because apparently they’re SCREAMING it -- sounding like off-color bathroom talk. (”I’ve never seen so much green!,” etc.)

This is a a simple-minded comedy of errors in which a lot of mistakes are made, but few of them are funny. And yet, it is not intolerable. I’m not saying you should watch it, by any means. But if something happened where you HAD to watch it -- I don’t know, terrorists forced you at gunpoint, or your little brother made you be his slave for the day -- then you’d probably survive.

The stars are Jerry O’Connell and Anthony Anderson, who seem to be genuinely enjoying themselves. They are two life-long friends who wind up in Australia for convoluted reasons I won’t go into, and subsequently lose $50,000 for convoluted reasons I have already gone into.

Christopher Walken has an amusing few bits as O’Connell’s mobster father; otherwise, it is tiresome proceedings all around, with one scheme after another aimed at catching the kangaroo while avoiding the bad guys. Don’t miss the fabulous camel-flatulence scene!!!!!!

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 01/27/03 08:29:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/04/12 The Big D Silly lighthearted fun--the camel farts added just enough crude to keep it from being wimpy 4 stars
10/28/10 Jeff Wilder What exec was smoking crack and thought that an idea this inane would make money I wonder. 1 stars
4/04/06 JRE amusing sometimes but mostly just stupid. What else do you expect from such a stupid story? 2 stars
8/26/05 EZ Everything was sh*tty about this film 1 stars
12/21/04 Ghetto Smurf Not good. However, not bad. Well, in some scenes anyway. 3 stars
9/24/04 tatum One funny scene- the plane bathroom- but the rest is strictly 'roo poo 1 stars
6/03/04 Estella Warren Dam Dam Good Movie But Sexual Scenes were too shot that we cannot do penis up and down 5 stars
5/25/04 fuck fucking god! hoW! how can osmething be this bad! fuck this! dont see it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/21/04 Kayla i liked that movie the kangaroo was realy cute :) 4 stars
2/22/04 samuel l jackass jesus! 5 stars
2/16/04 Jack If you liked this movie, please, think about killing yourself. Movie = vomit. 1 stars
2/15/04 othree kangaroos RULE#@! & I made mans0n watch this muahaha! 5 stars
2/15/04 mans0n waited for it to get good, seems as if it never did 1 stars
1/16/04 Not an elitist critic I actually liked this! 5 stars
8/19/03 Penny Kuntzsch One of the best commedy's I've seen in a while, excellent 4 stars
7/29/03 Johnny Cake The only good part of this movie was the american chic bathing in waterfall pond 1 stars
7/14/03 Christian Harding The movie doesn't suck, the people who hate it do. 4 stars
6/23/03 marzio Poor kangaroos, they didn't deserve this! Anderson is awful 2 stars
5/17/03 Turtle Okay...the kangaroo had more personality than the leads. In other words, it sucked. 1 stars
5/06/03 Jenny Tullwartz A return to good old-fashioned rip-roaring action/comedy. Fun without gore for gore's sake. 5 stars
2/21/03 The Bint You must be fucking retarded to see this shit or must be related to Michael 'Fuckhead' Bay. 1 stars
2/14/03 Todd If three year olds could type it would be "fucking awesome"....too bad 1 stars
2/14/03 Andrew Carden Despite One Merit From Walken, The Film Is Unfunny and Boring. 1 stars
2/07/03 Player_Hater I didn't see it...and I'm not going to, just wanna give this a suck ass rating! 1 stars
2/04/03 Cole slaw well if it hopped like a Kangaroo...... 1 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Loud, stupid, annoying and unfunny...most of the time. Almost a total piece of movie crap. 2 stars
1/31/03 Spidey Seriously, why are people surprised this movie is bad? And why did it make that much money? 1 stars
1/30/03 Stanley Knickers Yes, there is no God. 1 stars
1/28/03 Terry Gatton & Chris Cole We never realized a Kangaroo could be sexy. Just look at how it wiggle it's tail. 1 stars
1/27/03 Johnny Cochran I am outraged that I had to sit through this exploitative piece of filth! 1 stars
1/27/03 E-Rock Proof That Jerry Bruckheimer Ate The Blue Acid... 1 stars
1/26/03 Mr Math Gee, really? It sucked? And you're surprised? You brain-dead sheep never question, do you? 1 stars
1/25/03 bullit17 Downloaded it from KaZaa. Watched it. Went to the nearest theater to demand my money back. 1 stars
1/25/03 Harry Johnson Australia will never side with us in war again..... 1 stars
1/24/03 Slap Happy McCrackin If you like boring stupid crap and have the mentality of a retard,then you'll like KJ... 1 stars
1/21/03 sarah great movie 4 stars
1/21/03 rue the whirl #1 at the box office this weekend! way to go you fucking brain-dead hicks! 1 stars
1/20/03 Uncle Salty Make sure to rent it....... then throw it into a lake and run into traffic. 1 stars
1/20/03 J. Misleading trailer & abysmal movie. 1 stars
1/20/03 dave retardo humor at its finest. bruckheimer's sold out. news at 11. 1 stars
1/18/03 Jason Biggs The makers of this movie need to throw themselves off a cliff. 1 stars
1/16/03 Malcontent Man I want to murder the makers of this movie. 1 stars
1/15/03 OMFG I loved this movie. Aussies R TEH FUNNIEST!! 4 stars
1/14/03 Ken Jerry Bruckheimer is the anti-christ 1 stars
1/13/03 Angie Hart Don't waste your money 1 stars
1/13/03 pod very funny nice chick when wet 5 stars
1/09/03 The Talking Elbow Why do I have a feeling this movie is really really gonna suck? 1 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  13-Jan-2003 (PG)



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast