More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.27

Awesome33.9%
Worth A Look: 16.95%
Average: 13.56%
Pretty Bad: 13.56%
Total Crap: 22.03%

3 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Evita
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Eileen

"A wonderful musical, great performances all around!"
5 stars

"Don't cry for me, Argnetina."

I can remember seeing commercials on television for this musical when I was a kid. I recall a buxom blonde with big red lips singing with her arms raised to the sky. Funny, that same scene was in the movie too. Who'd have thought. But, on to the review...

Evita is the story of the rise and fall of Eva Peron, the wife and some-what political partner of the Argentine dictator Juan Peron. She was a woman who came from a humble background of the lower class to become a powerful player in Argentina's political system, if you count a dictatorship as politics. Incidentally, she did this by sleeping her way to the top. Eva was a manipulative young hussy, but she knew exactly what she wanted and she got it. (I realize this sounds a lot like the star of the film, but please keep your abusive comments about the divine Madonna to yourself. I love her.) Madonna did an admirable job with the role of Eva, and Antonio Banderas was outstanding as Che. If you have a heart at all, you will be quite moved with this story.

I don't care what anyone says, I loved this film. I loved everything about it, from all of the singing and dancing to Madonna's 1001 costume changes. I thought is was perfect. This film gets 5 slaps, bitch.

Slap. Slap. Slap. Slap. Slap.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=672&reviewer=41
originally posted: 10/28/98 08:21:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/16/14 Charles Tatum Theater geeks will love it, but I was bored. 2 stars
7/11/10 Carmen Madonna was a bit stony in that, Pryce was great .but there was some damn weird music! 2 stars
1/15/10 Cody It was really good! If you don't like the people in it, you won't like it though! 5 stars
1/23/07 Sepi53 great music and Madonna is good! 4 stars
11/22/05 Michael Ok music video, bad movie 2 stars
5/09/05 sbpat21 good movie, suffers from the bombast of Webber 4 stars
10/19/04 John A musical without any charm and real emotion 2 stars
7/16/04 DM Superb direction, Banderas is great, but music is bad and.....MADONNA? 2 stars
6/26/04 Alex much better than expected 4 stars
4/20/04 Kelly wilson breathe taking 5 stars
4/16/04 Ashley Evita Rocks! 5 stars
11/23/03 Jennifer It's the best movie ever! 5 stars
6/01/03 Rob Madonna was Eva. Spectacular showcase of a patriarch's life. 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink Way better than anyone could've predicted. Entertaining, well-played and directed. 4 stars
4/26/03 Goofy Maxwell Muerte a Evita. 2 stars
4/24/03 Ragin' Pope Angus Dear God, make the pain go away. It sucked donkeys. 1 stars
3/27/03 Robert It sucks like shit. I wanted that dam movie to stop, but it didn't. Antonio sucks shit. 1 stars
11/25/02 Kyle Overall, not very good. But worth seeing just for the dramatic first 15 minutes! 4 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants I fucking hate musicals, and this was particularly bad. Madonna's a blackhole of an actress 1 stars
8/13/02 1983 Madonna is fine: overly long & some music is far too turgid. 4 stars
3/25/02 Jimmy Bad movie 1 stars
1/22/02 Andrew Carden Gives The Broadway Musical A Bad Name. 1 stars
1/11/02 Travis R. Sorensen way too much singing. some of the sequences work and madonna and banderas are good 4 stars
8/29/01 Gary It has to be said: Madonna was fucking great. Every word didn't need to be sung tho. 4 stars
6/26/01 Natasha Fox stunning and inspiring,Madonna's best performance to date 5 stars
5/23/01 Matthew This movie was great! Nice music. Where's the Oscar win? 5 stars
5/06/01 Rohit Johari The greatest movie of all time! 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Madonna ruins it. 1 stars
4/19/00 yankee decent, good music, no plot, Madonna once in a while has a good voice, 3 stars
12/18/99 Kim Madonna desreves an oscar and Banderas is hot and cool. Great music!! 5 stars
10/05/99 the Grinch Overblown, grandiose bullshit by overrated hack Andrew Lloyd Weber...Stay away! 2 stars
8/24/99 Elizaveta Once is most definitely enough for a lifetime. 3 stars
8/18/99 Rodney Duke Madonna And Antonio Are Awesome 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Under rated. 5 stars
2/12/99 mandy Madonna is in it. 5 stars
12/16/98 Scion of Graveheart There was a Madonna movie?! 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Very well done, but only for those who care. (Damn I hate Webber) 4 stars
9/13/98 Dave Pelletier A good movie, in spite of Banderas! 4 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie Fuck everybody that don`t like it- it`s great! 5 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Antonio Banderas was the only one in this who had the right accent and he's not Argentinian 1 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress I had the fuckin songs stuck in my head for weeks, i hate that 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1996 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast