More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.27

Awesome: 9.09%
Worth A Look: 6.06%
Average: 18.18%
Pretty Bad36.36%
Total Crap: 30.3%

2 reviews, 21 user ratings



Michael (1996)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Joey Lawren Adams nails EVERYone, man!"
3 stars

Teen Angel, can you hear John Travolta? I bet you can smell him, no matter WHERE you are...

In a small town in rural Iowa (as if there were anything other than 'rural' in Iowa...) an angel arrives at the beconing of a sweet little old lady. When two tabloid journalists arrive to investigate, they meet the archangel Michael, wings and all. In this case "all" means booze, cigs, sex, and lots of sugar. He's the archangel of war, not some singin and preachin wimpy angel. And so he sets of for the windy city at the urging of the aforementioned journalists, to whom we will no longer refer in this review because I would prefer to forget they were ever in this movie. For without them, it would likely get 5 sporks.

In any event, though not terribly well written or surprising, this movie is quite entertaining. Thank goodness Travolta steals this movie and runs away froim the piss-poor performances of unnamed journalists. This movie suffers from trying to do too much. Make it either about Michael and his issues, OR about these other people and how he affects them. Yoh have to pick one, it's like a rule.

3 sporks because Johnny line dances. Haha.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=675&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 09:57:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/01/10 PAUL SHORTT CHARMING ROMANTIC COMEDY BUT WITH UNPLEASANT CHARACTERS 2 stars
4/02/09 Sammy I loved this movie !! 5 stars
5/23/06 Ashley Hinz Anything but Angelic. 1 stars
8/16/05 ES Mr. Travolta do you enjoy making crap or is just your nature? 1 stars
10/03/04 sandy a carpe diem theme 5 stars
5/19/04 ShadowMichael Most accurate depiction of the archangel EVER! 5 stars
6/17/03 Charles Tatum Sappy and derivative of the current angel trend 1 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby Again, Travolta's far better than the material. 2 stars
4/04/02 Francis Fails to amuse 2 stars
1/09/02 Magnum Craphole I'd rather be ground alive and eaten by ants than sit through this shit again. 1 stars
11/27/01 KMG Thiis movie has as much worth as a loose pube. 1 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat Really good. Fuck all you assholes. 4 stars
5/15/01 Monster W. Kung This movie fucking sucks. If anybody says different, I'm gonna kick his ass. 1 stars
4/03/01 Andrew Carden This is an extremly crappy movie. 1 stars
2/23/01 R.W. Welch Whatever they were trying for here, they missed it. 2 stars
2/14/01 Jake The horror. 1 stars
11/03/00 Elvisfan God I hate this movie with a passion! 1 stars
8/29/00 Chris Drake Not my idea of angels or even Midwesterners! Slow, strange, & irreverent 2 stars
3/05/00 Richard Wright A terrible film, no substance to it and its boring & sappy too. Avoid like the plague. 1 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) I thought this really sucked. Besides being boring + cheesy, Travolt lame act, McDowell bad 2 stars
10/01/98 katherine i liked it a lot, but i hate emotional mush. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1996 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast