More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome: 17.91%
Worth A Look49.25%
Average: 22.39%
Pretty Bad: 5.97%
Total Crap: 4.48%

2 reviews, 55 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Quick and the Dead, The (1995)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Who HASN'T Sharon Stone nailed?"
3 stars

This movie has two good things going for it. That guy from the millenium is in it. And Sharon Stone nails a priest.

But first, your attention please, plugs and sockets: a summary.

In a small town in the wild west, there is an annual gunslinger's competetion. Contenders include Leo Di Caprio (so many people want him dead, this will be perfect for them) Sharon Stone, Gene Hackman (who would believe this guy got an academy award...well, we all make mistakes) that guy from Millenium, and some other people we don't care about. Sharon Stone plays the new girl in town. She hates Gene Hackman because he killed her daddy when she was just a wee thing, so she's determined to kill him. Leo is his son, who hates him too. Anyways, they all kill each other and Sharon Stone nails the town priest.

This is a bad movie. It really is.
The plot could not possibly be more predictable, the acting...it's pre-acting Leo, it's Sharon Stone...I wasn't expecting much, and I got even less, the writing is even worse (yes, it is apparently possible) and the music is more distracting than anything.

But, I loved it.

Going into it knowing it's complete crap make it a fun fun movie.

Plus, Leo kisses Sharon. It's fun to try to pinpoint who is prettier. 3 sporks

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=680&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/03/98 10:31:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/27/14 PAUL SHORTT ABSURD, BORING WESTERN, DESPITE A GOOD CAST 2 stars
8/09/14 ChesterBelloc This is a better Western than I thought it would be. Well done! 4 stars
7/22/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Original and very well made. One of the most underrated movies I've ever seen 4 stars
6/23/08 matthew Entertaining... but style WAY over substance 3 stars
6/25/07 Mr. Mike Damn good western in my book! 5 stars
6/04/07 William Goss Stylized spaghetti Western is rowdy fun, with a solid cast. 4 stars
4/24/07 then came bronson Sharon Stone SUCKS. This movie had potential but blew it. 3 stars
3/19/07 Jennifer I love this movie! One of my favorites of all time. 4 stars
10/16/06 Cor blimey! A western that bends the rules! Great directing by Sam Raimi! 5 stars
8/03/06 Sepi53 great cast in great western 5 stars
12/05/05 cody my most favorite western of all, sharon stone is great in this flim, shoot out baby 4 stars
8/12/05 ES leo before I disliked him, this movie made me re-invest in the western 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig With Leo and Hackman...how bad could it be? Nice to see a Wester after so long. 4 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson A western that bends the rules & goes full throttle with it, thanks to S. Raimi's direction 5 stars
8/31/04 Aaron Smith Modern western, great job by Hackman 4 stars
8/02/04 Raf Milis Great Hackman, my good lord can that guy play. Great Camera work.. 4 stars
7/04/04 Princessrbranch Loved Sharon's duds in this! Would wear her duster, hat, boots and leathers all the time!! 4 stars
6/02/04 Dennis Kehoss good gunfights, interesting story 4 stars
4/28/04 robert e bundy great satire; assuming it was meant to be one 5 stars
11/07/03 Cabin_boy A western at its best..but they play it way too much on TBS!! 4 stars
7/04/03 T3 Sharon gets in her semi bare scene, hard to imagine her as being in the mid-40's now. 4 stars
4/15/03 reptilesni Surpassed "High Noon" as my all time favorite Western. Sharon Stone rocks. 5 stars
3/12/03 R.W. Welch Has a couple good scenes but is nothing special overall. 3 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby An original, adeptly engineered Western. 3 stars
9/23/02 snowconehead The camera angles gave me a headache, movies shouldn't require Dramamine 3 stars
9/06/02 I Can't Swim A masterpiece next to 'Spider-Man' which sucked dogshit 5 stars
8/16/02 JesseL It was good entertainment. Absurd plot, but good entertainment. 4 stars
8/04/02 KMG NOT BAD.....NOT BAD AT ALL 4 stars
7/22/02 Kyle What have we done to Raimi for him to go and make something like this? 1 stars
5/11/02 maximal01 This is a movie that didn't have to be made. It just IS. GO SEE SPIDER-MAN INSTEAD!!! 2 stars
2/07/02 Butterbean Better than I thought it would be. A movie with today's hotshots before they grew egos. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I used to think this sucked before I had an open mind...thank God for that. Raimi rules. 5 stars
7/07/01 TLsmooth Sunlight shines through a bullet hole in Hackman. That's so cool to Keystone Light drinkers 1 stars
6/30/01 Elvisfan Interesting male actors (Leo, Crowe, Hackman) but Stone is channeling Clint Eastwood-WHY? 5 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart I've seen worse movies...but I dislike Di Caprio. 3 stars
3/24/01 bullit17 It's not Citizen Kane, but it's a fun little movie. Raimi's directing rocks 4 stars
2/05/01 Wafer Raimi's camera angles make this a watchable flick 4 stars
1/19/01 scott shoup Sam Raimi is the star of this film. 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla what a bullshit movie, at least hackman is good in this crappy, stupid flick 1 stars
9/09/00 Chris Drake Went from bad to good w/repeat viewings-luv cheap gun sale scene + finale 4 stars
8/31/00 Terrie Smith Offbeat to say the least but it has its moments; over-the-top performance from Hackman. 4 stars
5/26/00 Add Very enjoyable not a great movie but great to watch. 4 stars
3/16/00 Anders Foged Christensen Cool meta-western. It has got allmost every kliché I can thnik of 4 stars
3/07/00 perverted pixie The presence of the brutal Hackman and bright spark DiCaprio are all that save this. 3 stars
1/28/00 Perverted Pixie Stone Kickass as girl cowpoke! Its all a bit daft, but never mind. 4 stars
11/22/99 strike Pretty far out. Very funny. 4 stars
9/30/99 Bozo Leo made the movie, Crowe was good, Stone & Gene phoned it in 4 stars
9/23/99 Matt Yea..Right... The only thing Sharon Stone can do with a gun is use it as a dildo!! 2 stars
4/27/99 Lucas jackson The slut Stone needs acting lessons otherwise it is okay,except for Leonardo defgagio 3 stars
1/22/99 CYaniDERuSH it must be raimi and crowe cause i absolutly love this flick 5 stars
11/28/98 little jerry If Lance Henrikesen had have been the focus this would be a knockout. 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink This is pretty cool! Great camerawork!! 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Just misses 'F.A.', this is intentionally a stylistic, substance abuser! 4 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls A pretty fair movie 3 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Tough to know whether this was tongue in cheek or tongue up own ass. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Feb-1995 (R)

UK
  22-Sep-1995 (15)

Australia
  15-Jun-1995 (MA)


Directed by
  Sam Raimi

Written by
  Simon Moore

Cast
  Sharon Stone
  Gene Hackman
  Russell Crowe
  Leonardo DiCaprio
  Gary Sinise
  Lance Henriksen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast