More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.16

Awesome53.06%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Average: 2.04%
Pretty Bad: 14.29%
Total Crap: 2.04%

3 reviews, 31 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shallow Grave
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"I'm too busy drilling holes in the ceiling to review right now."
4 stars

Ewan can Obi Wan me any day.

The first time I saw him, it was in this here flick that my little sister made me rent because she was on a thriller/horror movie kick and we thought this must be a slasher flick. Actually in Danish It was entitled "A shallow grave for your friends" so we REALLY thgouht it was.

But it's much more, and much better.

A very short summary, cause I can't give much away (I only spoil movies that suck): Three flatmates are looking for a fourth. After some truly sidesplitting interviews, they agree on one. he moves in...and then events unfold that are too cool to give away.

Between writign and directing that are engaging and unexpectedly skillful, and the above average acting all around, the outcome is a small, remarkable film. With a phenomenal ending. I'll say no more. I've already said too much.

Yay. Ewan. He's cute with floppy hair, too. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=681&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/05/98 03:15:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/08/17 Louise Excellent film. Don't read Gonsalves review, it's full of spoilers. 5 stars
6/18/13 Annie G Creepy, upsetting, (sometimes funny) and worth sticking to the end. 4 stars
7/08/11 Monday Morning Rob Gonsalves, bite it. This is a great, fun, dark movie! 5 stars
7/31/05 yuko brilliant screenplay 5 stars
10/09/04 LilyM Surprising twists. Loved the plot and loved the apartment. 4 stars
6/23/04 R.W. Welch Macabre, but not humorless. Adeptly done parable on greed. 4 stars
3/30/04 john doesn't know what it wants to be -very self concious film making with no real insights 2 stars
7/19/03 Rachel Danny Boyle manages to pull of a movie Hitchcock would be proud to watch. Cast rocks, too 5 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby Its follow-through isn't on par with the excellent set-up, but it's still worth watching. 3 stars
1/21/03 Rene Ewan was fantastic, as usual but the whole movie kicked ass! It was freaky in places! 5 stars
1/20/03 moggy westfall when obnoxious people get even more so 4 stars
9/15/02 Crystal ewan is such a cutie pie in this movie 5 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi I'm in (L) with EWAN 5 stars
4/24/02 Monster W. Kung Very interesting and well done thriller. 4 stars
3/11/02 daniboy really entertaining 4 stars
8/27/01 Jim blah 1 stars
7/09/01 taj Stylish and clever. Not nearly a masterpiece, though! 4 stars
6/03/01 svetlana pretty damn good, especially the use of the music 4 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen This you MUST see! 5 stars
12/07/00 spunky And after this film John Hodge got a lobotamy... 5 stars
4/10/00 punkass Scotland as it really is (with slightly less violence) 5 stars
2/19/00 perverted pixie "I'm not frightened- I'm a bit terrified maybe!" Pure class! Better than Trainspotting. 5 stars
2/16/00 Neil Austin Why all drool over Ewan, Chris Eccalston is the best thing in this movie by Miles. 5 stars
8/05/99 Izumi "Drugged up wandering suicidal search of the self f#%& ups don't have families, David!" 5 stars
11/20/98 Rachael "if you can't trust your freinds...." "i'd pay to have the little fuckers put down!" 5 stars
11/20/98 Evil Buffy this movie rocks:ewan and danny boyle's art direction are wonderful. murder and madness 5 stars
11/20/98 Missy Oh such a wonderful wonderful wonderful film. Gotta love it. 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Wow. What an awesome thriller. Ewan ruled all hell. 5 stars
10/07/98 Maegs Whirlwind, Mad and wonderful. A Thriller with a brain, and good performances 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg Yah ask me and it's the boys' finest work...yes..even better than Trainspotting... 5 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee a great drama/thriller. superb acting, great story, get's you on the edge of your seat. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Feb-1995 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Danny Boyle

Written by
  John Hodge

Cast
  Kerry Fox
  Christopher Eccleston
  Ewan McGregor
  Ken Stott
  Keith Allen
  Colin McCredie



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast