More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome59.4%
Worth A Look: 24.81%
Average: 6.02%
Pretty Bad: 3.01%
Total Crap: 6.77%

4 reviews, 109 user ratings


Latest Reviews

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Billy Madison
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"If only morons like Adam Sandler, then I'm a moron."
4 stars

Once in a while you'll find yourself liking a movie that you KNOW you should hate. Such is the case with Billy Madison. It's an immature and often amateurish little comedy, but it's easy to forgive these shortcomings when a movie is so endearingly goofy.

My first contact with an Adam Sandler comedy didn't start off too well. If you've seen this one, then you know what I mean. It's the penguin gag. It almost soured me on Adam Sandler forever. To those unfamiliar, I'll explain: In the first few minutes of Billy Madison, a drunken Adam Sandler is depicted stumbling around chasing a giant penguin. That's the whole gag right there. I sat there dumbfounded, thinking "If this is comedy, then I'm definitely getting old...because I don't get it." Luckily the penguin gag disappeared, and I was then treated to one of the most gleefully infantile and amusing comedies I'd seen in a while.

Basically, Billy has to re-take all his grade school classes in order to inherit his father's huge corporation. Yeah, I know...it sounds like something the Gilligan's Island writers would have come up with. But the plot is merely a speed bump in Adam Sandler's parking lot. (Great analogy there, huh?) The story is a mere framework on which to hang Sandler's joyously vulgar shtick. I was particularly taken with Billy's huge maid, who constantly propositions him in various disgusting ways.

On hand to spread the manic silliness are tons of Sandler's buddies, including Norm McDonald, Steve Buscemi and the late great Chris Farley. Although he only appears in a few scenes, Farley may have some of the best gags of his short career in this movie. As the slimy villain, Bradley Whitford has a lot of fun with the role, and Darren McGavin is as entertaining as ever as Billy's good-natured Dad.

As Billy once again makes his way through elementary school, he must contend with the requisite rites of passage, such as how to deal with bullies ("O'Doyle rules!") and what to do if you pee your pants. ("Everyone COOL pees their pants!") He even snags himself a cute young teacher for a girlfriend! In the climactic 'game-show' finale, keep an eye (and an ear) on the emcee. What he has to say about his disloyal wife makes for some of the biggest laughs in the film.

While Billy Madison could easily be dismissed as 'sophomoric junk', any movie that so obviously KNOWS that it is junk must be measured on its own merits...and those merits are measured in laughs, giggles, snorts and maybe the random 'rolling of the eyes'. It's certainly not a smart movie, but I'd take stupid & funny over smart & boring any day.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=682&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/11/00 14:14:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/09/12 Simon brainless Sandler but f*ck u it's part of my childhood and i quote it practically weekly 5 stars
7/21/12 Sean Harrison One of Sandler's best. 4 stars
6/23/11 G. Carm you're right, Mr. Weinberg, if you liked this junk, you're a moron. 1 stars
12/26/09 car i hat you 5 stars
5/27/08 Carol Baker funnny but not very funny. A poor copy of Jerry Lewis 3 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr it's a classic! so hilarious! get the DVD for the hilarious deleted scenes! 5 stars
1/11/08 Steve Gooler happy gilmore was amazing. Billy madison..much better..thats saying something 5 stars
12/19/07 metal 9 This movie's a work of stupidity for some people, but for my generation- A timeless classic 5 stars
6/22/07 amy n lou this film is soooooooo funi lol "ill turn this damm bus around" haha 5 stars
6/01/07 s. chimp in a critics eyes:it sucks. in the average viewers eyes: watchable 3 stars
4/11/07 ya yer all dumb whoever didn't put 5 stars deserves to die! 5 stars
2/28/07 Beau its a fantastically made movie with good performances but if seen it too much 4 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Brad Whitford is a funny-ass villain. Good stuff 4 stars
2/04/07 Teresa really stupid - can't believe it was rated awesome by so many people 1 stars
1/22/07 Nathaniel D. Poyton This fucking movie was the bomb... But Happy Gilmore was better. 5 stars
10/27/06 Henry A movie to be watched over and over. 5 stars
10/27/06 matty mac good film 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan A classic '90s comedy. 5 stars
7/08/06 NS Like always, Adam Sandler is funny. 4 stars
5/24/06 Kcaj It's abovie average. Just... 4 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Funny, if your a pre-pubescent 12 year old 2 stars
4/29/06 sue great 5 stars
3/14/06 Dk Its pretty funny...... 4 stars
12/01/05 The fat McDonalds worker I am hungry for this movie 5 stars
9/17/05 Quialey BAHAHA..man that movie was fucking HALARIOUS..2 thumbs up.Sandler is 'THE' man!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/11/05 Isaac Its the shit 5 stars
8/01/05 brendon popeyes chicken is funkin awsome 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Adam Sandler sucks. 1 stars
5/31/05 gordo best movie ever made 5 stars
5/17/05 tom haha this movie is so good,never gets old i tell ya! 5 stars
5/05/05 mike macamore awesome, sweet 5 stars
2/02/05 CelticDawn Hilarious 5 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops Hysterical. 5 stars
12/26/04 Geo78665 Somehow hilarious. Like a even more bizarre version of Pee-Wee's Big Adventure. 4 stars
12/08/04 hewerd honerd excellent 5 stars
11/29/04 Kristina Williams I liked Happy Gilore better, but this is still cute. 4 stars
11/07/04 BeLLa YoU nO i LiKe SnAcK PaCkS wHy dOnT u JsT gIvE Me A sNaCk pAcK 5 stars
10/24/04 Kevin It's soooooooo good to see both kissing and a good relation!!!! 5 stars
6/27/04 P Gilmore wick 1 stars
5/28/04 Seth I find the Humor in Billy Madison to be hilarious. 5 stars
4/23/04 Billy Madison ULTRA VIOLET RAYS BAD........LOTION GOOD! 5 stars
2/12/04 faleh excellent movie 5 stars
1/07/04 Kevin hilarious 5 stars
12/30/03 Cassie Friend this movie is possibly the best movies ive ever seen 5 stars
12/27/03 J Adam Sandler is hilarious and at his most retardest!!! 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel definetly the funniest Adam Sandler movie, so far..... 5 stars
10/03/03 neena Adam Sandler is hilarious and this movie is the greatest. 5 stars
8/09/03 dado very good movie, sandler was funny in this movie 5 stars
8/07/03 Marc Ian Very funny ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
5/29/03 Francis A stinker, even if designed that way, is still a stinker - but my daughter liked it. 1 stars
4/15/03 philydside this movie was the shit dogg i love it my fagvorit in the world yo 1 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Passable. 3 stars
3/27/03 Michelle Wood I think this is the best film ever 5 stars
3/11/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Only lead role of the vastly underrated Bridgette Wilson. 5 stars
2/22/03 Jon funny 5 stars
2/21/03 antonio weltch this is a great film 5 stars
2/20/03 Stacey unbelievably funny 5 stars
1/24/03 daniel this movie is hilarious and although stupid....its worth watching if you need to laugh 4 stars
1/15/03 Rae Hymel It was the bomb dot com 5 stars
10/24/02 Glenn This movie is HILARIOUS!!!!! 5 stars
10/16/02 TJ MARCINIAK LOVED IT FAVORITE MOVIE ALL TIME!!! 5 stars
9/02/02 AshFan Funny, but Adam Sandler gets annoying. Chris Farley's the bus driver, though!! 3 stars
6/28/02 The Conscience Objector when you have a dog you have a responsibility... you know the rest 5 stars
6/25/02 Manus Nemo Total and comlete crap, couldn't be worse!!! 1 stars
6/08/02 Film Guy Bags of flaming shit. this is my knid of movie 4 stars
6/02/02 Evil twin Fucking funny 5 stars
3/07/02 Nicole hilarious 5 stars
2/06/02 Aaron best movie ever 5 stars
2/02/02 Rhonda Blankenship Bridgette Wilson's only lead role. WHY must she be so wasted elsewhere? 5 stars
1/24/02 Allysa It was awesome, hilarious, 5 stars
1/17/02 Flick Chick irritatingly stupid. 2 stars
1/05/02 Mr. Hat One of the top funniest fucking movies ever. 5 stars
11/22/01 ferring love that "pen gwin!" oh yeah sandler was good too 5 stars
10/15/01 Mr. Hat Not as funny or bright as it looks. 3 stars
9/21/01 Nate the Great Billy Madison is the best movie ever! If you don't like it then it means you are too old! 5 stars
9/09/01 Gary Watched it sober - unimpressed. Watched it pissed - laughed my arse off. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I have seen the penguin numerous times...Sandler, make em like this again. 5 stars
6/18/01 DaNaEsHa aKa DaDa If peeing your pants is cool, consider me Miles Davis! 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass "It's poop again!" He called the shit poop! 5 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan Karl!!! Nice to see you!!!! 5 stars
4/23/01 Fred Wilkinson Fantastically hilarious 5 stars
3/22/01 Rehayes Penguin Scenes were the best 5 stars
3/11/01 Shaun Turner awesome, sandler's greatest movie 5 stars
3/08/01 K.Ford I think the Janitor that says "rather have a beer during the milk scene is the best 5 stars
2/15/01 lisa I thankyou! for beating the shit out of me!" almost pissed myself laughing. go penguin! 5 stars
11/14/00 Eric Carr The FUNNIEST movie I have ever seen!!! I even own it 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin full of silliness 2 stars
10/28/00 matt moyer hilarious 5 stars
9/21/00 Bender It's moronic, but god help me its hilarious. 4 stars
9/14/00 Jed Overrated but funny enough to like. SANDLER IS NO GOD COMPREHEND THAT! 3 stars
5/26/00 LoonyGoon From before Sandler learned to not to insult the audience. 1 stars
5/04/00 matt madcap YOU SUCK!!! that movie was awesome baby!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/19/00 Ainsley Atkinson Barrel of laughs! 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC I'm sorry, but watching Sandler peg a bunch of kids in a game of dodge ball is great. 5 stars
3/19/00 Jed Half moronic Half hilarious 3 stars
11/08/99 Hayley This movies kicked ass 5 stars
6/16/99 Kim This movie is SO FUNNY. I luv the part when he tries to make the Z's on the chalk board! 5 stars
3/18/99 Madcap Sandler's juvinile antics can't even keep my 12 year old cousin entertained. Pathetic 1 stars
3/05/99 Angelic Good thing it's cool to pee your pants! 5 stars
2/15/99 Stephen Reinken Absoultely hilarious 5 stars
11/26/98 Jack Aster very funny 5 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. The Stuff. 5 stars
9/27/98 katherine I like Adam Sandler, he's so halarious. 4 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg This is the stupidest movie ever made...so stupid, that it is incredibly hilarious... 5 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann they played a styx song in the flick, good call. sandler does his usual comedy. i liked it 3 stars
9/05/98 Badass Good think Sandler well on his first try. 2 stars
8/29/98 Matt Chris Farley doesn't run into stuff -- I like it, he should do that more often 4 stars
8/29/98 Johny I laughed...a lot. Sue me. 5 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Sandler's best film to date. Fucking funny. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Feb-1995 (PG-13)
  DVD: 23-Aug-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast