More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome52.7%
Worth A Look: 21.85%
Average: 7.71%
Pretty Bad: 8.48%
Total Crap: 9.25%

17 reviews, 287 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


28 Days Later
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"I love the smell of monkey blood in the morning"
4 stars

I’m a sucker for the apocalypse. You get to wear whatever you want without anybody looking at you funny. You can eat whatever you want whenever you want without being busted for shoplifting or skipping out on a check. You get to hang out with Mel Gibson and Tina Turner. The weather remains a constant surprise and you never know what sort of leather-bound, emotionless derelict you’ll run into next. Indeed, the apocalypse never has a dull moment. Sure, it’s kinda messy and you may get the urge to pick up a broom or mop to brighten the place up a bit, but you can always just pick up and move to the countryside without anybody raising a fuss. And you don’t have to leave a key for the neighbor so they can feed your cat. But then there’s The Infected.

Don’t know about The Infected? In Danny Boyle’s apocalyptic zombie film “28 Days Later,” The Infected bear only a slight resemblance to “those things” from George Romero’s “Living Dead” trilogy, minus the ghoulish exterior and the sluggish walk. Like most other apocalyptic films, this one concerns an outbreak caused by animal rights activists who set free some laboratory monkeys that, unbeknownst to them, happen to be horribly infected. This unleashes a virus causing a massive wipeout of humans. If the blood of an Infected human spills on you, you become one of The Infected and you will lose all sense of yourself and develop unhealthy appetites.

Okay, so the apocalypse has its drawbacks. You may wake up in the morning not in the mood to fight off a brainless, humorless, somewhat inhuman killing machine. Well, too bad. It can’t all be Snickers bars and free HDTVs. You’re going to have to put some effort into this Paradise Found of yours. You’re going to have to share your Funions with those you meet. You’re going to have to face the military vigilante groups who have fool-proof plans for re-population. And you’re going to have to learn the art of hacking the bejeezus out of a bug-eyed, blood-soaked, pissed off ratboy.

As our main character Jim (Cillian Murphy) finds out, the apocalypse kinda sucks. The first people he meets up with have done away with their emotions. They have taken up military speak and grow impatient every time Jim can’t come to grips with the fact that government has gone the way of the DIVX. Eventually, this team consists of just him and Selena (Naomie Harris), who has decided that survival is as good as it gets. They meet up with a father/daughter team respectively named Frank (Brendan Gleeson) and Hannah (Megan Burns).

Of course, one of these main characters has to lose it, but I’ll leave it to you to find out which one. The movie takes a strange dramatic turn in its third act in which the remaining members happen upon a military group that has their own plan for re-population. Best to end the plot synopses there, as many have criticized this portion of the film for taking a turn for the worst.

I disagree. To me, “28 Days Later” has been mis-marketed as a horror movie. I look at it more as science fiction. When the movie tries for horror and shock, it often fails because of the way the scares have been shot: Too quick, too stylized and too hyperactive. Best to let “28 Days Later” stand on its own as an apocalyptic movie, and it that regard it works beautifully. It only makes sense to add an element of horror related to our eminent doom. What would be scarier? For all of us to die out, or for the world to be re-populated by complete and total maniacs?

At the same time, “28 Days Later” consciously pays homage to Romero’s aforementioned “Living Dead” trilogy. Within his simple set-up, Boyle references the importance of family values from “Night of the Living Dead,” a shopping spree from “Dawn of the Dead” and even a chained up Infected human used for observational purposes, a la “Bub” in “Day of the Dead.” Some may be disappointed if they figure that these nods are indicative of a pending, bloody mass carnage. “28 Days Later” has blood and gore, but not just for the sake of it. Boyle and his remarkable cast play the material seriously, with an atmospheric soundtrack adding a sense of poetry and lyricism.

At one point during the film’s opening, Jim has all but accepted this dream state of everything being up for grabs. He gets a grip on the idea that he has been left alone. He almost cracks a smile at the thought of it. He did, after all, awake nude in a hospital. No need to worry about the bill anymore. This moment gives “28 Days Later” a quality that most other apocalyptic films miss, the idea that many of us actually have that perverse wish to be left alone, to have the planet all to ourselves. Sure, the reality of the situation carries with it a hefty price, but for a moment, it would be nice not to have to endure any more corporate advertising or overhearing anybody’s pointless cell phone conversations. I could get used to that.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6824&reviewer=233
originally posted: 06/27/03 14:44:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/22/17 Louise (the real one) Well made but horrible 3 stars
2/21/17 morris campbell overrated IMO 1 stars
4/15/16 qzgdrsz USA 4 stars
6/24/14 Haley S. This is a great movie. It's engrossing, suspenseful, and creepy. 5 stars
4/09/14 Heidi Embrey Too Scary for me! 4 stars
2/19/14 Monday Morning Un paz de mierda! 2 stars
10/31/13 Seth DeRoule Very scary. Amazing soundtrack. 5 stars
9/29/13 Ted Fits right in with Elitist training about killing rioters and Rob's Colonialist comment A+ 1 stars
10/06/11 David Hollingsworth Dark and Bleak, what a horror film is supposed to be 5 stars
8/09/11 Dreary Puts afterlife in what was a dead genre! 4 stars
7/19/11 anon Rob Gonsalves' review was better than the actual movie 1 stars
3/03/11 chris c A nightmare put on film with nightmarish violence and images 5 stars
4/24/10 art just LIKE 2006's SLITHER it is about MASS-HYSTERIA! 3 stars
12/21/09 Jeff Wilder Loses some steam in 2nd half. Still the best horror film of a decade full of them 5 stars
10/18/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Kidst hat worship MTV will think this is awesome and far out and neato. 2 stars
4/20/09 Diamond Dave Starts out strong- the first thirty minutes were VERY creepy, but the middle is so sloooww! 3 stars
1/11/09 Dark Armani Wow. It's is still an amazing film, years later.The reviewer obvkously had an ax to grind. 5 stars
11/26/08 Leo T I liked the new take on a zombie film... h8d 28Weeks Later 4 stars
2/09/08 Vercious I really like the way they shot some of the scenes without the motion blur. 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White not as bloody as I would have thought so very good movie 4 stars
7/22/07 gr117 Amazing up until that last 1/4 of the film 4 stars
5/17/07 charlie haunting and gripping 4 stars
5/14/07 fools♫gold Can'trateit higher than the superb "Next" that's now out, but still bttr thn Trainspotting. 4 stars
5/02/07 Vin Poorly shot attacks, poor pacing, and how did Murphy survive hospital attack if in a coma? 1 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK A bunch of people are fine. then they decide to die. then they come back to life. and t.... 1 stars
1/15/07 jeannie karlsen modern and unusual .. awesome visuals that stick with you! 5 stars
12/15/06 T. McGregor The first 30 minutes of this movie are fantastic. 5 stars
12/13/06 jdean62 I just dont get the praise?? I hated it! 2 stars
12/12/06 Angela Saunders Chilling, gripping, and thought provoking! Fast moving zombies...could it get any creepier? 5 stars
10/11/06 Baldeadly GREAT! Full Stop! 5 stars
9/25/06 David Pollastrini about time zombies spead up alittle 5 stars
9/19/06 Wootagins this movie fuckin rules PERIOD 5 stars
5/06/06 Reklc Great (neo)zombie flick! 5 stars
3/15/06 R.W.Welch Loses its touch in the late going, but not bad overall. 4 stars
2/07/06 Anthony 28 days later is when i wake up from this boring flick 2 stars
10/30/05 K. Sear How people can claim that Boyle has surpassed Romero astounds me. 2 stars
10/11/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, NEW ZOMBIE/LEAPER GENERATION FLICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/11/05 ES 2/3 of a great movie, haven't seen one fall apart so fast since hollow man 2 stars
7/26/05 Ty Spiceland The Movie the kick started modern horror. A classic! 5 stars
7/25/05 Suke This genre is suffering from formulaic plots and scare tactics. Wait for Land of the Dead. 3 stars
7/06/05 ACTION MOVIE JUNKIE Freakn boring horror film ever......it was more drama then horror.how could anyone like dis 1 stars
7/03/05 Eddie A wicked scary movie 5 stars
6/26/05 DennyRoss Essentially a remake of Day of the Dead - and a very good one at that. Can't wait for 23ML 5 stars
5/27/05 Terri Graham Fantastic. Truly frightening and riveting from start to finish. Chris Eccleston was superb. 4 stars
5/17/05 Indrid Cold Starts off great, but lame action-movie ending. 3 stars
5/11/05 Michael An engrossing film and very chilling. When it finished, i couldn't stop thinking about it 5 stars
4/15/05 Raymond Montoya eerie dark and long for action... 3 stars
3/12/05 Edler A very good horror movie. Nothing amazing. But good. 4 stars
2/09/05 New England Patriots = Dynasty a crappy piece of shit 1 stars
2/01/05 Freedomisanillusion I'm NEVER changing a tyre on my car in anything but open space. Fuckin' Excellent 5 stars
1/27/05 MyGreenBed Far overhyped, relatively boring, rather aimless and tepid, yet ok to sit through I suppose 3 stars
1/23/05 revenge of the poo-nuggets *in pommy accent* "DO YOU THINK THEY SAW US THAT TIME????" *HANNAH SED THAT AT THE END***** 5 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker Could've, should've, would've been better. But even though not a REAL zombie gave... 4 stars
12/02/04 Al Guy Too much hype. A decent movie. 4 stars
11/28/04 Charlene Javier Could have been better! 3 stars
11/25/04 Barry Awsome movie 5 stars
11/24/04 Geoff Saw it recently - great movie! 5 stars
11/23/04 Maalstrom One of my favourite zombie flicks 5 stars
11/22/04 Jack Sommersby Flawed but way better than inane 'Dawn of the Dead" remake. 3 stars
11/22/04 Bobby It was *pretty* good, though the ending kinda sucks and it's not too scary. All in all, Ok. 3 stars
10/08/04 spacecow i almost fell asleep....scary?// not in the slightest. director see cabin fever and learn. 5 stars
9/30/04 whatevr Turn up the volume and turn off the lights... 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton Your review is dead on acurate.. 5 stars
7/31/04 Pure RAGE... seriously 'American Slasher Goddess', do you just insult movies ofr the fun of it? 5 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Pretty dull, although Brendan Gleeson as usual is good. 2 stars
7/25/04 Pure RAGE... Cant wait for "28 Weeks Later..." 5 stars
7/17/04 J Some nice stuff in beginning like super ZOMBIES, but bad ending!!! 4 stars
7/14/04 DM It feels as if it takes 28 days to read your reviews, darkofnight 4 stars
7/08/04 "Meth Lab" for Dummies. 28 Weeks Later... 5 stars
6/26/04 "Meth Lab" for Dummies. Not bad and as for the Zombie like creatures, great. 5 stars
6/23/04 Freeman A cold beer and popcorn, you will get into it !! 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva great 5 stars
6/14/04 Johnny Drags a bit, with great ending. But I would have had Harriers come in to rescue them. 4 stars
6/09/04 The Talking Elbow A great premise and great intro that collapses =( 3 stars
6/03/04 Littlepurch Not as scary as everyone said but immensely enjoyable,completely crazy and proudly British! 4 stars
5/30/04 Daveman One of the best in its genre and damn scary too. 4 stars
5/30/04 liam mateer a great film one of the best modern zombie horrors knocks spots of the new dawn of the dead 5 stars
5/29/04 Mark George Poorly written, plot holes, terrible ending. Don't bother. 1 stars
5/20/04 Borg453 The point of decent zombiemovies tends to be that: the dead teaches us about the living 4 stars
5/17/04 Mitch Absolute Garbage.. Spend your money elsewhere 1 stars
5/16/04 The More You Know This guy comes out of a coma and in days he's a commando?...other than that, very cool! 4 stars
5/15/04 DM Falls apart in last third, but gripping until then 4 stars
5/07/04 Ross I hate I wasted my money 1 stars
5/04/04 Whatevr Kick ass 5 stars
4/23/04 Anus 28 GAYS LATER. TOTAL FAGGY TRASH 1 stars
4/22/04 Lord Durvok 2 ::GASP:: Arrogance! (knocks out Mr. X) Damn religious fanatics... 4 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart great movie but the stupid army thing spoiled it alot but very intense 4 stars
4/08/04 ALI HBOUS a study of human nature 4 stars
4/06/04 Mr X <GASP!> BLASPHEMY! (throws holy water in Maria's face) 5 stars
3/29/04 true review - correct review every time great up until army is introduced and plot just dies, watch last man on earth instead 2 stars
3/26/04 Alfred Guy Good, but less than the hype would have you believe. 4 stars
3/18/04 rachel burke good movie 4 stars
3/18/04 Maria Didn't like this one...I couldn't wait for it to end!! 1 stars
3/17/04 Holly Beeman Not scary, but VERY well executed. The music & art direction are great! Love it. 5 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Possibly the best wide-release horror movie in decades. Just plain great. 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Intense 5 stars
2/14/04 Jon The apocalyptic theme...reminds me somewhere dawn of the dead to day of the dead 4 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr Another piece of proof that a low-budget movie can be as scary as hell. 5 stars
1/16/04 earthling Fantastic! Absolutely intriguing and captivating. Wonderfully shot. 5 stars
1/14/04 Shannon I was prepared to dislike this film and ended up really enjoying it! 4 stars
1/13/04 John not particularly scary or interessting 2 stars
1/13/04 tatum Very scary stuff 5 stars
1/06/04 George CRAPPPPP FUCKING CRAP!! 1 stars
1/06/04 sassy this film really sucked I didn't like it 1 stars
1/03/04 A F Very artistic Cinematography. 4 stars
12/24/03 Jiz Pretty fucking mediocre for the "scarriest movie ever." 3 stars
12/21/03 Vince This is my kind of shit! Brilliant! 5 stars
12/07/03 J Zombies are at there best!!!!!!!!!!!! **** out of 4 5 stars
12/06/03 Megan's guy Megan Burns makes me luv her...she's my new idol! 5 stars
11/30/03 mo Resident Evil ?sucked this is a REAL flick 5 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician waste of time. 2 stars
11/10/03 Alan Layton Not great but definately thought-provoking 4 stars
11/07/03 Samuel Decent 3 stars
11/06/03 Monster W. Kung Total-fucking-comeback for Boyle after the crappy The Beach. Very good. 5 stars
11/06/03 Tommy Crossthread "28 Days Later" we still didn't have the rights to Resident Evil so we ripped it off. 3 stars
11/05/03 gman a beautiful film. what do you do in a world gone mad, when we're just as crazy? this works 5 stars
11/05/03 sam this movie stressed me out (thats good) 5 stars
11/03/03 Rob Innes Plausable sci-fi. Hollywood would ruin it. 5 stars
10/28/03 levi megan burns is hott!!! worth a 10 5 stars
10/27/03 amy gross hide under the blankets kind of fun 4 stars
10/26/03 ~Te~ I loved this film 5 stars
10/26/03 Jackson Py For some reason, I wasn't frightened by this movie... I was inspired and amazed 5 stars
10/26/03 neil j such a good movie on so many levels 5 stars
10/24/03 Kae For sucha low budget and unknown actors, great movie! No, for anyone great movie! 5 stars
10/24/03 Sammy This movie kicks so much ass out of the rest of the films this year it isn't even funny!! 5 stars
10/23/03 othree solid film for the gere, oya *pepsi pepsi pepsi* 4 stars
10/23/03 JJ It's just another world-gone-amuck zombie movie. 3 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Who needs another zombie movie? I do! America does! Behold the great zombie flick! 5 stars
10/08/03 Erik Van Sant The biggest surprise of the summer slew of films. Outstanding horror film. 5 stars
10/03/03 Jack This is without doubt the best movie I`ve seen in many years! 5 stars
9/30/03 Rob Phat film worth watchin, so all u critics of da film, shut da fcuk up 4 stars
9/25/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng I love it! Exciting to watch. Very original. Didn't find it scary though. 5 stars
9/24/03 anna This movie kicked ass, without hitting you over the head 5 stars
9/15/03 Pamela Jaye It was a great movie, instead of fearing the infected, they had to fear the other survivors 5 stars
9/06/03 guisada excellent. 5 stars
9/04/03 maximillion nuffin groundbreakin. 3 stars
9/04/03 BillHead One of the worst fuckin'g movies of all jesus fucking time! 1 stars
8/30/03 John "Lion king was scarier".? OH MY GOD 5 stars
8/28/03 Mr. Hat Definitely 1 of best horror pics. Deeper than the sleazy slasher shit, & great camerawork. 4 stars
8/26/03 Jon Lyrik Is Horror finding a renassiance? 5 stars
8/25/03 Chris Lion King was scarier. 1 stars
8/20/03 Sukanya What was the point?? Worst movie ive ever seen 1 stars
8/14/03 Pyr0 This movie was awesome! This movie is right up there as my favorite with Matrix! Awesome! 5 stars
8/11/03 Andrea gleeful filmmaking 5 stars
8/09/03 Giselle WHAT HAPPENED?! watch it so you can tell me...i dont get it 3 stars
8/06/03 Andrea Please dont waste your time or money to see this movie, you'd be better off renting Barney. 2 stars
8/04/03 Ahnold It should keep U tense for much of film. Worth a look. 4 stars
8/04/03 Joman the best zombie movie since Day of The Dead 5 stars
7/31/03 Liz loved it 5 stars
7/31/03 Garrett B. this movie kicks ass its a great horror flick to see w/ ur g/f plz see it 5 stars
7/30/03 Reilly 'style and originality'! Have you seen Night/Dawn/Day of the Dead? 2 stars
7/30/03 ownerofdajoint best horror flick i've seen in a numb er of years.... 5 stars
7/30/03 Boomer Movie had it's moments, not what I expected. Was like Blair Witch/Resident Evil mix 4 stars
7/29/03 Karrde I think the scariest part is when the car alarm goes off :) 4 stars
7/29/03 Kooler worth a look 4 stars
7/29/03 rungirl this movie gave me nightmares!!! 5 stars
7/29/03 Rich Cirivilleri looks like it was shot using a quicki-mart security cam.substandard all around. 2 stars
7/28/03 sarah i love this movie, it kicks ass 5 stars
7/27/03 malcolm 'day of the dead'+'resident evil' but waaay better; a lesson in efficiency 5 stars
7/26/03 E Maybe I'd have been scared if there were more than like 4 attacks. It was OK... 3 stars
7/26/03 bigger dickus dude this rating system SUCKS...but 28 days later is great 5 stars
7/25/03 jean not too original. combines omega man and living dead with a british accent 2 stars
7/24/03 VANESSA JONES i loved a black woman being the main female only in the UK , and in the U.S it's a problem 5 stars
7/23/03 zeitgeist Chock full of plot holes and poor character development, then again it's a horror flick 3 stars
7/23/03 porckchop The Last Man on Earth (VPrice), The Omega Man (CHeston), and 28 Days are all good. 4 stars
7/22/03 pokesmot beautiful and high quality movie. 5 stars
7/21/03 Devilboy 2002 28 hours later........ 2 stars
7/20/03 snowconehead With one pathetically depressing scence, it's still pretty decent 5 stars
7/20/03 Bryan three thumbs down 1 stars
7/19/03 Daddy Plaid Only in the UK could something like this happen. Brush yo teeth you zombie fock!!! 1 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt Terrible!!! A total waste of money. I actually went into this movie hoping to like it. 1 stars
7/17/03 Laurian Diaconescu Ultimate Dancing Machine, I take a bow before you. Perfect review. Let's say "average", ok? 3 stars
7/15/03 Julie I saw this movie two weeks ago, and I keep thinking about it! It sticks with you. 5 stars
7/14/03 Mike Dooley Wow, Scared the crap outta me several times. 4 stars
7/14/03 Mike love Naomi Harris in the movie 5 stars
7/14/03 ajay i don't like stupid zombie movies, this was fantasic though. 4 stars
7/13/03 Dawn Galasinao More than horrifying, it was very DISTURBING. i am still thinking about it weeks after! 5 stars
7/13/03 Sandy Very Disapointed! DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY! Cant believe Cinema Center even shows it! 2 stars
7/13/03 JoJo Berens This movie sucked big time man! 1 stars
7/12/03 Kyle Holy shit... I was expecting barely anything. 5 stars
7/12/03 ingred extremely scary........please don't see it. its to scary better off not seeing it 5 stars
7/11/03 Rod A future horror classic 5 stars
7/11/03 Bam Margera Gory, violent, scary, suspenseful, engaging, inventive, scary...fucking "A" 5 stars
7/11/03 Fartypants Dawn Of The Dumb 2 stars
7/11/03 Rich Intense from begining to end!!! 5 stars
7/11/03 Tasha IT WAS HORRABLE AND DON'T PAY YOUR MONEY TO SEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/11/03 Danielle Ophelia Intense in its simplicity...and reminds us there's always more than one thing to fear. 5 stars
7/10/03 paganchyk Half of a really good movie, ruined by Rambo-fication 2 stars
7/10/03 .Choadushouse. Perfection. One of the best zombie movie achievements ever! Intense! I loved it. 5 stars
7/10/03 Victoria Bright Great movie! It still gives me a headache. 5 stars
7/09/03 Bob HUGE letdown 1 stars
7/09/03 Rod Johnston Some of those zombies were hot! Who hoo! The naughty things I would do to them!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/09/03 6th Sense Small plot holes, but very enjoyable & very scary 5 stars
7/09/03 Dead Ringers FX Rule! Fun movie but I wanted to see more rage zombies. It was shy on violence. But Gleason!! 4 stars
7/09/03 Sean Despite what very few dumbasses say, this movie is God. Thanks so much, Britain! 5 stars
7/08/03 Zombie-lufagus Uneven,yes,but this film has heart! 5 stars
7/08/03 dredPhul not a horror move, not much of a sci fi flick either 3 stars
7/08/03 Da Lynched 1 I couldn't bare to sit around past the half way mark 1 stars
7/07/03 Chureezee Brilliant Film! Boyle has redeemed himself to me! Anyone remember 'The Beach'? 5 stars
7/07/03 jawsboy24 Almost perfect! Good acting & directing. Decent story with good SFX, but not very scary. 4 stars
7/07/03 Andrea I want my money back 1 stars
7/07/03 Koitus A good movie, but agree a disconnect on what "they" eat / how survived. Passed on T3... 4 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. There IS actually an animal testing lab here in Cambridge - I`m scared ... 5 stars
7/06/03 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. This movie lacks common sense, orginality and suspense. Don't buy the hype. 2 stars
7/06/03 Terrance Rogers That movie was full of bull s**t!!! 1 stars
7/06/03 Jack Wilson The best film of the summer 5 stars
7/05/03 Daniel Boring, boring, boring....no suspense, no action, no tension... 1 stars
7/05/03 RORY GREAT MOVIE....MOST VIOLENT MOVIE SINCE GANGS OF NEW YORK 5 stars
7/05/03 James Whitehead Great 5 stars
7/04/03 Tim Holdener very believable, frightening - with a good score to boot 5 stars
7/04/03 Charlie M Well done, suspenseful, created a great sense of dread in an apocalyptic fashion 5 stars
7/04/03 Bluto Loved it, we need more REAL scary movies 5 stars
7/04/03 J. Doe It's just bad indy film or no, read "The Stand" for a more entertaining story 1 stars
7/03/03 Melissa best movie i've seen all year; intense climax and ending 5 stars
7/03/03 Dead Ringers FX Rule! The best movie I've seen all year. But had flaws. Not enough rage zombies. 4 stars
7/03/03 rog extremely scary 5 stars
7/03/03 harris a laundry basket doent hold any water, frank 5 stars
7/03/03 Gray other than the eye gouge a good film 4 stars
7/02/03 Vanessa Jones I loved a black girl being the main woman never seen that before don't hate! 5 stars
7/02/03 jason vang I love Hanna! After watching the movie i went home and jack off thinking about Hanna. 5 stars
7/02/03 Mikka this movie is more than a horror film, and it's also more than something i expected 5 stars
7/02/03 JoJo SEE IT! 4 stars
7/02/03 Aaron pretty awesome 5 stars
7/02/03 Joe weak ending. could have been OK.. ended up sucking a$$ 1 stars
7/02/03 brad dilmore it was incredible,truly eery 5 stars
7/01/03 A.W. This film is everything that The Beach was supposed to have been! 5 stars
7/01/03 Tanisha Alston A full night of missed sleep!! 5 stars
7/01/03 Gus Sucked, left early, crappy acting. 1 stars
7/01/03 Rhea Blackthorne This film, while gory, was cinematically beautiful. Worth admission price. 4 stars
7/01/03 evilrob Act 1: Zombie/horror. Act 2: English Road Movie. Act 3: Die Hard. all that can be said. 4 stars
7/01/03 Darren Shea Neither as gory, nor as scary as I was expecting, it is still a terrific film. 5 stars
6/30/03 FLiK Not exactly "Scary as hell," but by far, it tops my list of movies all-time! 5 stars
6/30/03 monkeysvsrobots.com great movie, great actors (nonamers even!), great script. don't expect brain munching... 5 stars
6/30/03 KingNeutron After reading Chris Parry's review and THEN seeing it, I was profoundly disappointed. 2 stars
6/30/03 Desperado A great, creepy movie with all of the right elements a great creepy movie need. Awesome. 5 stars
6/30/03 Jack Bourbon Good movie. Annoying 3rd act, though. 4 stars
6/30/03 Carter Wolfe Excellent. Best zombie movie ever. Best scary movie I've seen since Seven. See it! 5 stars
6/30/03 ashley excellent movie!!! not exactly scary but it will make u jump 5 stars
6/30/03 Noize Good movie. I'm buying the DVD when it comes out. 4 stars
6/29/03 Lanna kick but movie! loved the script and Cillian Murphy was an awesome actor! 5 stars
6/29/03 Emily IT was GREAT 5 stars
6/29/03 sydney not that scary, but great movie! good job Danny! 4 stars
6/29/03 Goten1265 Awesome 5 stars
6/29/03 Flounder A well made horror film that is not great, but good enough for me. 4 stars
6/28/03 Brian a nice, well made horror flick that is definitely worth a shot. 5 stars
6/28/03 craig well done, old boy! 5 stars
6/28/03 Mike Really great, but Charlie's Angles got my money because I had to buy that ticket to get in. 4 stars
6/28/03 greensweater sweet 5 stars
6/28/03 Vicious This is GOOD horror. Not shallow shit we get from the states lately. 5 stars
6/28/03 leon %%0qwe people who say Resident CRAP(I MEAN EVIL) ARE DUMB! 4 stars
6/28/03 ^ZuLu^ At last one of the few movies that scared me a bit - it's been a long time! That was fun! 5 stars
6/26/03 jason a bit predictable in plot, well acted, but badly filmed and ultimately not worth seeing 3 stars
6/26/03 LaKisha Morris It beats a lot of the other horror movies for the year 5 stars
6/26/03 moh It's way cool 5 stars
6/24/03 ! It's okay, but resident evil was way better 4 stars
6/19/03 . The sound and movement of those zombies... creepy! 4 stars
6/18/03 Lefteris Not as strong as Shallow grave or Trainspotting. It lacked substance. 3 stars
6/17/03 Imaulana Can't be more scared by fast moving zombies!! 5 stars
6/16/03 Davey Grim, disturbing, grotesque, shocking--I loved it! 5 stars
6/15/03 Nick Wow, just wow.. The sound, giant, and seeing it on friday the 13th.. Just.. I stayed awake. 5 stars
6/15/03 Sh1tstreek It's worth watching just to see London as a ghost town and the city of Manchester on fire. 4 stars
6/15/03 Kill Hollywood Marketing Fuckheads Now Good flick. Very intense. Worth owning. 4 stars
6/14/03 Alice It started OK but why the hell turn it in to a macho army movie ? 3 stars
6/11/03 Peter S. One of the better movies this year. 5 stars
6/09/03 ^ZuLu^ Awesome! Finally a movie that scared me. Been a while. 5 stars
6/01/03 the cool king the best horror film this century 5 stars
5/31/03 mark crump "brilliant" why cant cant there be more horror like this 5 stars
5/29/03 simon_this film rocks this is the best film i has ever seen 5 stars
5/29/03 the cool king the best horror film this century 5 stars
5/27/03 £ukasz Kochan not preety bad movie 4 stars
5/27/03 strider3700 best zombie/crazy movie in years made resident evil look like the crap it was 5 stars
5/20/03 Jeff Excelent 5 stars
5/17/03 Zac Scared the pants off me. 5 stars
5/13/03 Marcel Samson Awesome!!!! 5 stars
4/29/03 moster poster The most fun I've had since "matrix" 5 stars
4/17/03 PETEPRED Chilling. It could happen. 5 stars
4/03/03 christopher fantastic, it's great to see the brits pulling off such a top quality film 5 stars
3/24/03 monk fantastic without pretense 5 stars
3/22/03 Eric BC What can i say more? MrTinkles said everything and even expressed & showed more about it... 5 stars
3/18/03 George surprisingly good! 5 stars
3/11/03 Ola Ojifilijana Mustafa Jævla bra film 5 stars
3/07/03 Glenn First film to scare me the first half!! a shame hollywood took over from there 5 stars
2/25/03 david khalifat favorite horror movie 5 stars
2/14/03 adrian brattle the film shows the way mankind act lick after wipeout it was lick the 12th century 5 stars
1/25/03 Carey Errr... having trouble understanding why this has got such a good reaction... 2 stars
1/24/03 Max Scary as Hell! 5 stars
1/18/03 joel wicked, first film to make me jump 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jun-2003 (R)
  DVD: 21-Oct-2007

UK
  01-Nov-2002 (18)

Australia
  04-Sep-2003 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast