More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 11.54%
Worth A Look: 28.85%
Average: 21.15%
Pretty Bad: 5.77%
Total Crap32.69%

2 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Brady Bunch Movie, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"The neighbor wants to make a Brady boy sandwich. Yeah, like that."
3 stars

Satire, people. It's good as a SATIRE.

Exploit the cliches, make fun tirelessly, include serious homosexual undertones and you have the endearing piece of comedy contained within the Brady Bunch Movie.

A summary of events: The Bradys have somehow survived intact and unaged into the nineties. There is evil plotting against them by an evil neighbor that will take away their home unless they can come up with 20,000 smackaroos. So the Brady children come to the rescue.

The casting for this movie is perfect. Greg Brady is absolutely hilarious yet not so much that you don't automatically associate his every move with...well, with Greg Brady. And I never even saw the show except for the occasional re-run. Which brings up the point that it was funny even if you hadn't seen every episode.

Marsha is also very well cast. Well, they all are, really. Shelly Long really delivers, I mean, considering she's a dumb blond who left Sam on their wedding day to go write a book or some shit.

The humor is VERY tongue in cheek, and I can completly understand those who tire of it early on. I saw this on video, so I could easily switch to something else if I got bored. it is a good choice when renting a flick you're not sure if you're gunna like. Watch it on a night when there is something else on.

However, I felt this movie was entertaining and accomplished what it set out to do: parody, yet endearing.

3.5 sporks, but since there is no decimal ranking system, I'll round down, because Shelly Long is in it, and she was never right for Sam anyways,

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=683&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/02/98 11:53:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 U.S. Comedy Arts Festival For more in the 2006 U.S. Comedy Arts Festival series, click here.
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/24/10 BARRY CLOWNS NEVER LAUGHED BEFORE.. 5 stars
6/08/09 R Lan As someone who grew up watching the Brady Bunch, I enjoyed this spoof of the show. 4 stars
5/23/09 art IT SUCK"S! 1 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef If you hate the Brady's, you'd still like this movie. The perfect send-up and antidote. 4 stars
1/08/09 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 1 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go Hilarious, dead-on satire that really nails the show. 4 stars
10/24/07 William Goss Surprisingly adept application of the classic sitcom to the nineties. 4 stars
1/13/07 saad muhammud they are a bunch of retards 1 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor Its worth watching 4 stars
8/13/05 ES This movie was brilliant for a TV show made movie, sequels not bad either 4 stars
4/10/05 judith anderson Terrible. What a snooze! 1 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Perfect send-up of bizarre sitcom 4 stars
6/01/04 Daveman Funny as fuck 4 stars
10/20/03 Samuel Justus So Stupid! 1 stars
5/13/03 olivia good 4 stars
3/05/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik The Brady Yawn. 2 stars
1/20/03 scott just ok 3 stars
9/10/02 STEVE I HATE THE BRADY BUNCH!THERE STUPID!THERE UGLY!I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE THEM! 1 stars
5/15/02 Killer khfjdhfkjdhvgfbucvjh 1 stars
4/28/02 Hepta Hooty Good, only what's the part about no toilet? Don't Bradys have to poop? 4 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean TV to Movie Screen camp that worked! 4 stars
9/05/01 KC Au I loved the idea of a 70's family living in the 90's. My kind of humour : dry, witty, dark 5 stars
7/27/01 Elvisfan Seems most of you missed the point completely..brilliant fucking movie 5 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Mean and hilarious dark comedy that exposes the true idiosity of the cult TV show 5 stars
4/25/01 J Actually Andrew I thought the show was better but this was good. 3 stars
4/12/01 Anna-Marie Wilson This is movie is exallent!I saw it 10 times! 5 stars
4/10/01 Gary This movie is hilarious, but a little too comedic. 4 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden If you liked the show, you will like the movie. 4 stars
3/02/01 lisa the guy next door is a bloody babe 2 stars
10/12/00 Jed It was kinda funny not the best but it wasn't the worst. 3 stars
3/19/00 David Rogers A definent improvement over the unfunny TV series. 4 stars
1/10/00 John Markham Dog shit on film! It stank, totally unfunny. 1 stars
8/17/99 J-E-D I actually felt a little insulted during this film (despite that it was somewhat funny). 2 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness funny movie but it also sucks ass!!!majorly! 1 stars
12/31/98 Todd Funny as hell. While watching Christine Taylor, something suddenly came up. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Too-knowing-humour, but some hilarious jokes and cameo by Rupaul make it acceptable. 3 stars
9/27/98 katherine It was pretty funny. 4 stars
8/29/98 Johny I wanted to gouge my eyes out 1 stars
8/28/98 Chuck-D Not good, but mildly entertaining. I'd watch it on cable or something 3 stars
8/28/98 J-Guy (The MFC) lamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelamelame 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Feb-1995 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-Mar-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast