More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome83.51%
Worth A Look: 9.28%
Average: 2.06%
Pretty Bad: 2.06%
Total Crap: 3.09%

3 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

Aquaman by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Once Were Warriors
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Katsat

"A devastating movie"
5 stars

Even entertaining movies can have the staying power of cotton candy; a select few stay with you long after you leave the theatre, like a punch to the heart. Once Were Warriors belongs to the latter group, and it is not to be missed.

I have never seen a movie that more powerfully captures the pride, passion and spirit of a culture, the tragic relationship between love and violence, the alienation of an indigenous people, and the destruction of innocence.

Living in Hawaii, I could closely identify the plight of the Maories with that of the native Hawaiians.

This is not a movie that makes you feel good, but it is a movie that socks you between the eyes and affects the way you look at the world.

If you are an indigenous person, if you have contact with indigenous people, or if you live on the planet with indigenous people, you owe it to yourself to see Once Were Warriors. It will devastate you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=684&reviewer=76
originally posted: 06/30/99 09:01:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/03/16 Theresa Miller Adult movie very good. 4 stars
4/13/15 Trev29 i really did not like it 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lolllllllll 1 stars
4/12/15 sjskskdk lol 1 stars
2/20/15 Chris Jarmick powerful, unsettling, unforgettable 4 stars
10/13/10 PAUL SHORTT POWERFULLY EMOTIONAL, STRIKING DRAMA 4 stars
2/19/10 R.W. Welch Maoris try to cope in alien society -- without much luck. Solid acting. 4 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E One of greatest of it's decade. Acting is amazing. The actors shine, the story very touchin 5 stars
9/09/08 JIMMY K AN UNFORGETABLE KNOCKOUT MOVIE EXPERIENCE!! 5 stars
7/17/07 anne it waz gr8 tha end waz tha best wen tha fella got tha beatz 5 stars
6/12/06 leah soper it was mean 5 stars
4/10/06 Shazza I saw this movie while visiting friends in OZ and was moved to tears! 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Go see it 4 stars
1/11/05 Katie Heath one of the most damningly dramatic movies I've ever seen 5 stars
11/05/04 Rich Strickler devasting and touching...I'll never forget it. 4 stars
9/28/04 siboney green really sumthin hey! i cried heaps *sniff* 5 stars
9/17/04 Elryk Brennan very moving film 5 stars
7/12/04 Mel Thomas This movie makes your heart bleed and won't let it stop! 5 stars
7/11/04 Bryan Downing Awesome movie, one of the best ever 5 stars
6/17/04 PAUL GREAT FILM 5 stars
4/01/04 sansho Telling social points but i find the violence hard to stomach. 2 stars
3/22/04 ms young tai i thought it was a sad movie.and a true life of an polynesian 5 stars
3/02/04 Brian Thompson If I had three thumbs, they'd all be up! 5 stars
12/20/03 Pigdaddy Truckdriver What all the fuss man a bit of the rough stuff never hurt no one. 3 stars
12/16/03 Karin Great, powerful movie 5 stars
10/29/03 Dean Rapp you have to watch it once and once only. 5 stars
10/07/03 Lena Chapman A gritty, raw look at parts of other peoples lives we do not usually see. Unforgettable! 5 stars
10/07/03 Goofy Maxwell Mo' gritty, violent reality than a Tyson fight. Iron Mike even wish he wuz tuff as a Maori. 5 stars
9/22/03 jessica serio I think this a fucking great movie! topp stuff Lee and Alan...defeinatley a double watcher 5 stars
9/18/03 Ashley Fast Horse that a really cool movie i love Nig 5 stars
9/02/03 Marie Arcie Anne Sercado The movie was haunting. Domestic violence should never be tolerated. 4 stars
8/20/03 dave This is a truly amazing film 5 stars
8/20/03 sandra Excellent movie.. Not to be misseed 5 stars
8/19/03 Tim Maiava A film that shows violence to be brutal, uncontrolable, and eventually self destructive. 5 stars
8/01/03 BRANDY PEACE GREAT MOVIE, LOVED IT, LOVE JULIAN ARAHANGA 5 stars
7/27/03 Randy One of the most underrated movies of all time & is one of the ten best films of the 90s. 5 stars
7/26/03 Keahi Renaud Ke pau ka loina pau ke ola, he moolelo kaumaha, kupono, minamina pu kekahi. Aue noho'i !! 5 stars
7/13/03 serge stunning, amazingly acted 5 stars
6/11/03 mel yeh it was good 5 stars
5/21/03 Janett it was a real eye opner for me i love it 5 stars
5/13/03 dr.bdma damn good intreging movie 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink very powerful and littered with great perfs, especially Owen and Kerr-Bell 5 stars
4/10/03 alannah morgan umbelievably captivating, I had to watch it again and again, its was the reality of it... 5 stars
3/31/03 Jono Willis A GREAT FILM for more go to www.movie-reviews.colousses.net/movies/o/once_warriors.html 5 stars
3/05/03 DMF This movie is disturbing. But so is the subject. I liked it. 5 stars
1/31/03 Donn Kixote You can do it, aussies! (Good Directors here) Come On! 3 stars
1/29/03 U3 Julian Arahanga is cool 2 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer You're supposed to be horrified. That's the point. and a great point made. 5 stars
1/19/03 Rick Nowosad Spellbinding 5 stars
1/16/03 SAMOANBLK BABYGIRL THIS MOVIE IS HELLA GOOD. I RATE IT A ~*10*~ 5 stars
12/25/02 Stevo Just a superb, gut-wrenching, affecting movie. 5 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Chilling in its realism 5 stars
9/03/02 Shannon Will knock you on your ass-Fantastic film-everyone should see it 5 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Apparently Andrew is still on his mommie's tit. Great movie, obviously, for ADULTS 5 stars
8/01/02 megan damn fine 5 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Brilliant but extremely sad. 5 stars
10/04/01 Kevin Earl Pure choice. No question, go and rent it. 5 stars
8/09/01 drunkenmaster73 Total Shocker. . .Great Film 5 stars
7/12/01 The Bomb 69 chilling and disturbing, I hugged my kids when this was over 5 stars
7/03/01 taj Brave and ballsy moviemaking. Tough movie to love. 4 stars
7/02/01 Boomshanka Jesus, this movie will seriously change you. 5 stars
4/23/01 tom wilder very good, realistic 5 stars
3/22/01 Juanita Downie It's an experience that no one should ever have to go through 4 stars
3/09/01 Elvisfan User comments here are weirder than usual. Movie is unforgettable 5 stars
3/01/01 CJ ONCE WERE WARRIORS ROX!!!!!! 5 stars
10/17/00 master.node Very few movies can change your world view. This one can and will. 5 stars
5/18/00 distant sun saw this movie for the first time three years ago. it's still with me. see it. 5 stars
3/31/00 jen A powerful film that explores violence in interpersonal realtionships 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Powerful filmmaking. 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman a great one 5 stars
12/12/99 Pope Gonzo XIII unbelievably powerful, knocked me on my ass 5 stars
8/11/99 Christopher Rainbow Superb 5 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the maori gang scene was cool. 5 stars
6/25/99 Ryan Mason Makes Jerry Springer looks like the damn Teletubbies. 5 stars
3/27/99 little jerry One film where the sledgehammer approach really works.Form & content are perfectly matched. 5 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink This is one that will fuck your day up for the better. 5 stars
9/14/98 Acappellanowords Brilliant in every way. Rena Owen was robbed of an Oscar! 5 stars
9/10/98 FrankG This movie will knock your ass off of your face. 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein A full-on five star film. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Mar-1995 (R)
  DVD: 02-Sep-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast