More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome83.51%
Worth A Look: 9.28%
Average: 2.06%
Pretty Bad: 2.06%
Total Crap: 3.09%

3 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Once Were Warriors
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"This films is unbelievable. It's just so damn good."
5 stars

This is one of those films you go see not to be humored, not to be soothed, not to be amazed and not to feel all romantic about. This is a knock down, drag 'em out film that you come out shaking your head at, hoping the glipmse of life on the other side you just had doesn't keep you up at nights or scar you for life.

This is one brutal fucking movie.

If seeing someone have a broken beer glass jammed in their groin isn't your idea of something your stomach could deal with, you're not alone. Mine felt very queasy.

But that wouldn't be the point. This is one of the angriest movies since Taxi Driver. But it has reason to be angry. It's not just an excuse for graphic violence, it's a mirror on the graphic violence within the civilised world that you never hear about.

That you don't want to know about.

Okay, so it sounds like something you'd want to stay oblivious to? Sure, I can understand that.

Well you plonked down seven clams to see Schindler's List, didn't ya? You forked over another seven to see Saving Private Ryan.

And yes. I am putting this film in the same class as those two classics. Lee Tamahori knows how to tell a story. The actors he has used know how to let their darker side burst through. And the story he tells is one that has never been told.

I'm not going to get into details of storyline. Just take my word for it. This films is unbelievable. It's just so damn good.

See this film. Make it something you must do this week. Don't bring your parents or girlfriend. See it solo. It'll slam you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=684&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/07/98 13:15:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/03/16 Theresa Miller Adult movie very good. 4 stars
4/13/15 Trev29 i really did not like it 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lolllllllll 1 stars
4/12/15 sjskskdk lol 1 stars
2/20/15 Chris Jarmick powerful, unsettling, unforgettable 4 stars
10/13/10 PAUL SHORTT POWERFULLY EMOTIONAL, STRIKING DRAMA 4 stars
2/19/10 R.W. Welch Maoris try to cope in alien society -- without much luck. Solid acting. 4 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E One of greatest of it's decade. Acting is amazing. The actors shine, the story very touchin 5 stars
9/09/08 JIMMY K AN UNFORGETABLE KNOCKOUT MOVIE EXPERIENCE!! 5 stars
7/17/07 anne it waz gr8 tha end waz tha best wen tha fella got tha beatz 5 stars
6/12/06 leah soper it was mean 5 stars
4/10/06 Shazza I saw this movie while visiting friends in OZ and was moved to tears! 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Go see it 4 stars
1/11/05 Katie Heath one of the most damningly dramatic movies I've ever seen 5 stars
11/05/04 Rich Strickler devasting and touching...I'll never forget it. 4 stars
9/28/04 siboney green really sumthin hey! i cried heaps *sniff* 5 stars
9/17/04 Elryk Brennan very moving film 5 stars
7/12/04 Mel Thomas This movie makes your heart bleed and won't let it stop! 5 stars
7/11/04 Bryan Downing Awesome movie, one of the best ever 5 stars
6/17/04 PAUL GREAT FILM 5 stars
4/01/04 sansho Telling social points but i find the violence hard to stomach. 2 stars
3/22/04 ms young tai i thought it was a sad movie.and a true life of an polynesian 5 stars
3/02/04 Brian Thompson If I had three thumbs, they'd all be up! 5 stars
12/20/03 Pigdaddy Truckdriver What all the fuss man a bit of the rough stuff never hurt no one. 3 stars
12/16/03 Karin Great, powerful movie 5 stars
10/29/03 Dean Rapp you have to watch it once and once only. 5 stars
10/07/03 Lena Chapman A gritty, raw look at parts of other peoples lives we do not usually see. Unforgettable! 5 stars
10/07/03 Goofy Maxwell Mo' gritty, violent reality than a Tyson fight. Iron Mike even wish he wuz tuff as a Maori. 5 stars
9/22/03 jessica serio I think this a fucking great movie! topp stuff Lee and Alan...defeinatley a double watcher 5 stars
9/18/03 Ashley Fast Horse that a really cool movie i love Nig 5 stars
9/02/03 Marie Arcie Anne Sercado The movie was haunting. Domestic violence should never be tolerated. 4 stars
8/20/03 dave This is a truly amazing film 5 stars
8/20/03 sandra Excellent movie.. Not to be misseed 5 stars
8/19/03 Tim Maiava A film that shows violence to be brutal, uncontrolable, and eventually self destructive. 5 stars
8/01/03 BRANDY PEACE GREAT MOVIE, LOVED IT, LOVE JULIAN ARAHANGA 5 stars
7/27/03 Randy One of the most underrated movies of all time & is one of the ten best films of the 90s. 5 stars
7/26/03 Keahi Renaud Ke pau ka loina pau ke ola, he moolelo kaumaha, kupono, minamina pu kekahi. Aue noho'i !! 5 stars
7/13/03 serge stunning, amazingly acted 5 stars
6/11/03 mel yeh it was good 5 stars
5/21/03 Janett it was a real eye opner for me i love it 5 stars
5/13/03 dr.bdma damn good intreging movie 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink very powerful and littered with great perfs, especially Owen and Kerr-Bell 5 stars
4/10/03 alannah morgan umbelievably captivating, I had to watch it again and again, its was the reality of it... 5 stars
3/31/03 Jono Willis A GREAT FILM for more go to www.movie-reviews.colousses.net/movies/o/once_warriors.html 5 stars
3/05/03 DMF This movie is disturbing. But so is the subject. I liked it. 5 stars
1/31/03 Donn Kixote You can do it, aussies! (Good Directors here) Come On! 3 stars
1/29/03 U3 Julian Arahanga is cool 2 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer You're supposed to be horrified. That's the point. and a great point made. 5 stars
1/19/03 Rick Nowosad Spellbinding 5 stars
1/16/03 SAMOANBLK BABYGIRL THIS MOVIE IS HELLA GOOD. I RATE IT A ~*10*~ 5 stars
12/25/02 Stevo Just a superb, gut-wrenching, affecting movie. 5 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Chilling in its realism 5 stars
9/03/02 Shannon Will knock you on your ass-Fantastic film-everyone should see it 5 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Apparently Andrew is still on his mommie's tit. Great movie, obviously, for ADULTS 5 stars
8/01/02 megan damn fine 5 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Brilliant but extremely sad. 5 stars
10/04/01 Kevin Earl Pure choice. No question, go and rent it. 5 stars
8/09/01 drunkenmaster73 Total Shocker. . .Great Film 5 stars
7/12/01 The Bomb 69 chilling and disturbing, I hugged my kids when this was over 5 stars
7/03/01 taj Brave and ballsy moviemaking. Tough movie to love. 4 stars
7/02/01 Boomshanka Jesus, this movie will seriously change you. 5 stars
4/23/01 tom wilder very good, realistic 5 stars
3/22/01 Juanita Downie It's an experience that no one should ever have to go through 4 stars
3/09/01 Elvisfan User comments here are weirder than usual. Movie is unforgettable 5 stars
3/01/01 CJ ONCE WERE WARRIORS ROX!!!!!! 5 stars
10/17/00 master.node Very few movies can change your world view. This one can and will. 5 stars
5/18/00 distant sun saw this movie for the first time three years ago. it's still with me. see it. 5 stars
3/31/00 jen A powerful film that explores violence in interpersonal realtionships 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Powerful filmmaking. 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman a great one 5 stars
12/12/99 Pope Gonzo XIII unbelievably powerful, knocked me on my ass 5 stars
8/11/99 Christopher Rainbow Superb 5 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the maori gang scene was cool. 5 stars
6/25/99 Ryan Mason Makes Jerry Springer looks like the damn Teletubbies. 5 stars
3/27/99 little jerry One film where the sledgehammer approach really works.Form & content are perfectly matched. 5 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink This is one that will fuck your day up for the better. 5 stars
9/14/98 Acappellanowords Brilliant in every way. Rena Owen was robbed of an Oscar! 5 stars
9/10/98 FrankG This movie will knock your ass off of your face. 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein A full-on five star film. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Mar-1995 (R)
  DVD: 02-Sep-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast