More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome83.51%
Worth A Look: 9.28%
Average: 2.06%
Pretty Bad: 2.06%
Total Crap: 3.09%

3 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Once Were Warriors
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"See it, see it, see it, see it."
5 stars

Go see this movie.

Go see it, damn you.

Not because I'm telling you to, but because you need to. This is one of those movies that you absolutely have to see, have to experience. It's not entertaining in the sense that you'll turn off the VCR or walk out of the theater going, "I really enjoyed it," because odds are you won't.

That doesn't matter.

It's difficult to describe a movie like this. It's about a New Zealand family and domestic violence. While there are several elements of the film that you'll only get if you're familiar with New Zealand, the domestic violence angle is universal.

I can't really put it into words. At least, none that would do this film justice.

Extremely violent at times, but powerfully acted and shot. Temuera Morrison, as the father, has never been able to top his performance as a violent, alcoholic, abusive father. He's been stuck in secondary roles in (of all films) Speed 2, The Island Of Dr. Moreau, and Barb Wire. Forget all those. He's outstanding here, as is the rest of the cast.

Again, go see it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=684&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/09/98 23:45:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/03/16 Theresa Miller Adult movie very good. 4 stars
4/13/15 Trev29 i really did not like it 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lolllllllll 1 stars
4/12/15 sjskskdk lol 1 stars
2/20/15 Chris Jarmick powerful, unsettling, unforgettable 4 stars
10/13/10 PAUL SHORTT POWERFULLY EMOTIONAL, STRIKING DRAMA 4 stars
2/19/10 R.W. Welch Maoris try to cope in alien society -- without much luck. Solid acting. 4 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E One of greatest of it's decade. Acting is amazing. The actors shine, the story very touchin 5 stars
9/09/08 JIMMY K AN UNFORGETABLE KNOCKOUT MOVIE EXPERIENCE!! 5 stars
7/17/07 anne it waz gr8 tha end waz tha best wen tha fella got tha beatz 5 stars
6/12/06 leah soper it was mean 5 stars
4/10/06 Shazza I saw this movie while visiting friends in OZ and was moved to tears! 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Go see it 4 stars
1/11/05 Katie Heath one of the most damningly dramatic movies I've ever seen 5 stars
11/05/04 Rich Strickler devasting and touching...I'll never forget it. 4 stars
9/28/04 siboney green really sumthin hey! i cried heaps *sniff* 5 stars
9/17/04 Elryk Brennan very moving film 5 stars
7/12/04 Mel Thomas This movie makes your heart bleed and won't let it stop! 5 stars
7/11/04 Bryan Downing Awesome movie, one of the best ever 5 stars
6/17/04 PAUL GREAT FILM 5 stars
4/01/04 sansho Telling social points but i find the violence hard to stomach. 2 stars
3/22/04 ms young tai i thought it was a sad movie.and a true life of an polynesian 5 stars
3/02/04 Brian Thompson If I had three thumbs, they'd all be up! 5 stars
12/20/03 Pigdaddy Truckdriver What all the fuss man a bit of the rough stuff never hurt no one. 3 stars
12/16/03 Karin Great, powerful movie 5 stars
10/29/03 Dean Rapp you have to watch it once and once only. 5 stars
10/07/03 Lena Chapman A gritty, raw look at parts of other peoples lives we do not usually see. Unforgettable! 5 stars
10/07/03 Goofy Maxwell Mo' gritty, violent reality than a Tyson fight. Iron Mike even wish he wuz tuff as a Maori. 5 stars
9/22/03 jessica serio I think this a fucking great movie! topp stuff Lee and Alan...defeinatley a double watcher 5 stars
9/18/03 Ashley Fast Horse that a really cool movie i love Nig 5 stars
9/02/03 Marie Arcie Anne Sercado The movie was haunting. Domestic violence should never be tolerated. 4 stars
8/20/03 dave This is a truly amazing film 5 stars
8/20/03 sandra Excellent movie.. Not to be misseed 5 stars
8/19/03 Tim Maiava A film that shows violence to be brutal, uncontrolable, and eventually self destructive. 5 stars
8/01/03 BRANDY PEACE GREAT MOVIE, LOVED IT, LOVE JULIAN ARAHANGA 5 stars
7/27/03 Randy One of the most underrated movies of all time & is one of the ten best films of the 90s. 5 stars
7/26/03 Keahi Renaud Ke pau ka loina pau ke ola, he moolelo kaumaha, kupono, minamina pu kekahi. Aue noho'i !! 5 stars
7/13/03 serge stunning, amazingly acted 5 stars
6/11/03 mel yeh it was good 5 stars
5/21/03 Janett it was a real eye opner for me i love it 5 stars
5/13/03 dr.bdma damn good intreging movie 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink very powerful and littered with great perfs, especially Owen and Kerr-Bell 5 stars
4/10/03 alannah morgan umbelievably captivating, I had to watch it again and again, its was the reality of it... 5 stars
3/31/03 Jono Willis A GREAT FILM for more go to www.movie-reviews.colousses.net/movies/o/once_warriors.html 5 stars
3/05/03 DMF This movie is disturbing. But so is the subject. I liked it. 5 stars
1/31/03 Donn Kixote You can do it, aussies! (Good Directors here) Come On! 3 stars
1/29/03 U3 Julian Arahanga is cool 2 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer You're supposed to be horrified. That's the point. and a great point made. 5 stars
1/19/03 Rick Nowosad Spellbinding 5 stars
1/16/03 SAMOANBLK BABYGIRL THIS MOVIE IS HELLA GOOD. I RATE IT A ~*10*~ 5 stars
12/25/02 Stevo Just a superb, gut-wrenching, affecting movie. 5 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Chilling in its realism 5 stars
9/03/02 Shannon Will knock you on your ass-Fantastic film-everyone should see it 5 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Apparently Andrew is still on his mommie's tit. Great movie, obviously, for ADULTS 5 stars
8/01/02 megan damn fine 5 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Brilliant but extremely sad. 5 stars
10/04/01 Kevin Earl Pure choice. No question, go and rent it. 5 stars
8/09/01 drunkenmaster73 Total Shocker. . .Great Film 5 stars
7/12/01 The Bomb 69 chilling and disturbing, I hugged my kids when this was over 5 stars
7/03/01 taj Brave and ballsy moviemaking. Tough movie to love. 4 stars
7/02/01 Boomshanka Jesus, this movie will seriously change you. 5 stars
4/23/01 tom wilder very good, realistic 5 stars
3/22/01 Juanita Downie It's an experience that no one should ever have to go through 4 stars
3/09/01 Elvisfan User comments here are weirder than usual. Movie is unforgettable 5 stars
3/01/01 CJ ONCE WERE WARRIORS ROX!!!!!! 5 stars
10/17/00 master.node Very few movies can change your world view. This one can and will. 5 stars
5/18/00 distant sun saw this movie for the first time three years ago. it's still with me. see it. 5 stars
3/31/00 jen A powerful film that explores violence in interpersonal realtionships 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Powerful filmmaking. 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman a great one 5 stars
12/12/99 Pope Gonzo XIII unbelievably powerful, knocked me on my ass 5 stars
8/11/99 Christopher Rainbow Superb 5 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the maori gang scene was cool. 5 stars
6/25/99 Ryan Mason Makes Jerry Springer looks like the damn Teletubbies. 5 stars
3/27/99 little jerry One film where the sledgehammer approach really works.Form & content are perfectly matched. 5 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink This is one that will fuck your day up for the better. 5 stars
9/14/98 Acappellanowords Brilliant in every way. Rena Owen was robbed of an Oscar! 5 stars
9/10/98 FrankG This movie will knock your ass off of your face. 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein A full-on five star film. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Mar-1995 (R)
  DVD: 02-Sep-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast