More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.08

Awesome50.57%
Worth A Look: 28.74%
Average: 9.2%
Pretty Bad: 1.15%
Total Crap: 10.34%

1 review, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

It Follows by Jay Seaver

Sea Fog (Haemoo) by Jay Seaver

Men, Women & Children by Daniel Kelly

Best of Me, The by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Muriel's Wedding
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Great little film, well worth finding."
4 stars

For an Australian film to make any money overseas it must follow a formula.

It must be quirky - very quirky. It should have a sprinkling of "aussie" phrases which mean nothing to locals but are drop dead amusing to foreigners. It must have breasts. It must be very low budget. It must be very very funny to make up for the fact that nobody will have heard of the cast. If possible, it should contain at least one character who is mentally challenged.

Muriel's Wedding fills all of the requirements for a successful aussie film.

Toni Collette plays Muriel - an average girl in a family of morons. Surrounded by vacuous friends and the kind of relatives that make you happy your mother didn't find her cousin Frank attractive, Muriel has only one thing on her mind... to get married.

What ensues is one girl's quest to get married no matter what. Hardly an example for young kiddies, but seriously, who gives a fuck. If your kids are taking life lessons from movies, they're probably planing a high school massacre in a Rambo t-shirt.

This film has been the launching pad for Toni Collette's acting career and it's easy to see why. She's extremely likeable, has great comedy timing and, though it's tough to see in this film as she had to put on a lot of pounds for the role, she's pretty damn fine looking. (Personal observation: She likes a tequila or three - if you ever meet her and want to throw the leg over, get her on the tequila. She's a fan, trust me.)

It's rare that a very Australian film can walk the fine line between being Australian enough for an overseas market to identify with it, but not being so cringingly "aussie" that local audiences feel sick watching it (EG: The Simpsons Vs Australia), but Muriel's Wedding does just that.

It's a well made comedy, a not too fluffy romance and a feel-good flick. Overall, well worth a look.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=687&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/27/98 00:53:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

2/06/13 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE, FRISKY ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
3/01/11 Captain Slog funny and sad. Well acted 4 stars
9/21/09 dori This movie Rocks, Love it's Aussie style and characters, makes you want to visit Aussie. 5 stars
8/22/08 Daisy Love it; satirical, funny, and touching-everything a good comedy should be. 5 stars
11/28/07 Phil M. Aficionado Kind of strains the credulity, but overall it's enjoyable if predictable; well acted 3 stars
4/13/06 anthonyuk an absolute joy 5 stars
11/17/04 Seth Denzil everything about it got on my nerves, but the morals where good 1 stars
11/15/04 Ellie Great Movie!! 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Does the impossible--makes you like ABBA!! 5 stars
5/31/04 Blair incredible 5 stars
4/23/04 daniel potts fukin shit 5 stars
4/06/04 nae one of Australia's great films 5 stars
10/18/03 BB Definately up there with great movies like Two Hands and the Castle 5 stars
10/10/03 ? not a bad little film 5 stars
9/27/03 Nicola Johnson It's an ok film that raises some interesting issues. 4 stars
9/13/03 Jenny you dont know weather to laugh or cry 5 stars
9/11/03 Jessica unreal, boring 2 stars
8/29/03 Stiller Absolute chese i am now dumber for having seen it 1 stars
8/28/03 Dom I can say that I've flushed things down the toilet that have been better then this film. 1 stars
8/11/03 Steph Had to study it in English, it was okay. 3 stars
6/18/03 John Bale Ocka Shocker - but good fun - launched several careers 4 stars
5/06/03 Jenine The best film ever made. 5 stars
2/21/03 Luke Few know this, but the film is based on an actual family who lived in the area it was made. 5 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones Proves you don't have to be a Professional to Make a Film! 1 stars
11/23/02 Melinda Excellent! 5 stars
10/28/02 Hayden Clarke Great for Australians and overseas viewers for numerous reasons 5 stars
8/13/02 Sigfred Mannikin Easy to relate to,fun for all the family 4 stars
7/29/02 karen goldstein AWESOME FLICK - VERY VERY FUNNY - GREAT STORY. 5 stars
6/30/02 angela hearne absolutely fantastic, I lovoed it sooooo much 5 stars
6/12/02 Adam DiBiase An awesome film that takes the spoof but is daring enough to go deeper. One of my faves 5 stars
6/11/02 ROBERT SIMEONE one of the best aussie films... 4 stars
6/10/02 ROBERT SIMEONE GREAT FILM . IT DEPICTS THE REAL AUSSIE LIFESTYLE . GREAT WORK.. 5 stars
4/18/02 Allegra - Sara Elliot Different, but great 4 stars
4/10/02 khrystal carapellotti it was a ok movie butit was to suckful.and the actors suck.to sobby and not funny at all. 1 stars
1/31/02 sarah dever it is very funny 5 stars
1/31/02 joan excellent film very funny and I love the Abba songs. 5 stars
1/29/02 Deborah Bolton not so good the first time, but 2nd time round funny and lighthearted. 3 stars
1/17/02 Ali whitby I luv this movie it's my fav 5 stars
11/05/01 JODIE REED CLASSIC!! 5 stars
10/24/01 Kim Pretty good, worth taking a look 3 stars
10/17/01 Judith Latham LOVED IT SO MUCH!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/16/01 Tracie typical astralian humar 4 stars
10/06/01 Nicky Very Funny 5 stars
9/12/01 Maryan Mikhael good and also inappropriate for the romance/ nude scenes 3 stars
9/03/01 Gary Cute comedy with an edge. Very funny but runs out of steam. Collette is excellent. 3 stars
8/17/01 Kiz I LOVE IT 5 stars
6/14/01 kat I LOVE THAT SHOW SO MUCH email me here if u do too : eatrubbish@hotmail.com im 15 byeee 5 stars
6/01/01 Lauren Great Australian movie love it 5 stars
5/30/01 Teresa yup 4 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez Toni Colette is the Dancing Queen. One for all those high school outcasts. 5 stars
4/22/01 Angelique de la Plata Very funny film - Muriel's mum was the only pleasant character in the entire flick 5 stars
4/19/01 seza bear absolutly loved it 5 stars
3/19/01 Mandy Rogers outragious and funny 4 stars
3/09/01 Matthew Lantry Typical Aussie Film 4 stars
3/01/01 newy total bitches on heat ABBA made it 5 stars
3/01/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Goes from almost slapstick to tragedy...just like *gasp* life. 5 stars
2/04/01 Brett Simpson Great film Typically Australian 4 stars
2/01/01 Vivien Leung Funny, entertaining but a bit insame 4 stars
12/17/00 Megan Butt Fantastic! An masterpiece 5 stars
12/14/00 Robert James Very funny, but with a story worth telling as well. 5 stars
12/12/00 Trip Reid A disappointing movie. Not very amusing, shallow characters, simplistic plot. 3 stars
11/06/00 melly a very inspiring film 4 stars
10/27/00 charles it was fucking perthetic 1 stars
10/26/00 Thingi It Sucked 1 stars
10/04/00 Nixie loved it - good light-hearted fun 5 stars
10/02/00 Susan Estcourt It was a feel good movie and it inspided me to go for it in life 5 stars
9/01/00 Peta Ray I thought it was very funny and made we want to watch it again 5 stars
6/29/00 hcjjhjgggggg fgjjjjjjj 1 stars
5/14/00 Daria Very funny & touching, Toni Colette is wonderful 5 stars
2/29/00 Rachem kick ass flick! 5 stars
11/07/99 Anthony Ellis A very funny, very subtle, very moving, very realistic movie. One of the best aussie films! 5 stars
10/12/99 choi hyuni very good!! 4 stars
9/11/99 Holly Vershovik Toni Colette is amazing! 5 stars
9/11/99 Hogs This is a great movie that sucessfully makes you laugh and cry. 5 stars
7/26/99 SEZ fucking unreal movie 5 stars
4/08/99 Dave Fluffy Austrailian fun 4 stars
2/19/99 Bruce Hedge Don't think you Americans would appreciate the subtle humour! 4 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink Very funny! And it gets back at people that you'd like to punch now and then. 4 stars
9/26/98 Maegs Although not as funny as I anticipated, still an original flick. 4 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha awww... come on, what is this? madonna wouldnt sponsor your movie??? 1 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress they live in porpuse spit, that in itself is amusing. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Mar-1995 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  P.J. Hogan

Written by
  P.J. Hogan

Cast
  Toni Collette
  Rachel Griffiths
  Bill Hunter
  Sophie Lee
  Rosalind Hammond
  Matt Day



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast