More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.08

Awesome: 12.24%
Worth A Look: 14.29%
Average48.98%
Pretty Bad: 18.37%
Total Crap: 6.12%

2 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Get On Up by Peter Sobczynski

Guardians of the Galaxy by Peter Sobczynski

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Outbreak
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Killer Monkey!"
3 stars

Diseases are sooooooooo cool.

The premise of this movie is: A cute adorable, harmless little monkey unleases a lethal disease onto American soil when he comes from Africa.

But the real star is the disease. Cause it's gross. Anything that like, kills a lot of people, travles airborne, kills fast and does it by something gross like liquifying their innards makes for a PERFECT movie subject in my book.

However, when you have the cast of: Dustin Hofman, Morgan Freeman, Rene Russo, Cuba Gooding Jr., cool other people, and a monkey with a disease steals the show, there's gotta be something gone wrong.

I think it's that they tried to do too much. If they stripped it of any romantic tension, and made it more strictly a disaster drama, given more for the actors to work with, I think it could have been spectacular. And given the monkey a starring role. Of course.

Because everybody loves monkeys. 3 sporks

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=688&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/05/98 08:32:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/11 Jeff Wilder Tense and good acting. But the military conspiracy subplot is ridiculous. 3 stars
1/14/11 PAUL SHORTT DISAPPOINTING THRILLER 2 stars
11/07/09 brian Parts of it work and parts don't. Desperately in need of a script editor. 3 stars
9/05/07 Tiffany Losco I saw this movie when I was little, it scared me so bad I had horrible nightmares 3 stars
2/23/07 David Pollastrini Just OK 2 stars
10/19/06 fread head dodgy 1 stars
10/26/05 Carolyn Rathburn Hmm, well it was an ok movie, but I liked The Stand better 3 stars
9/22/05 Sylvanthunder I thought it pretty well knit, on average at least! 4 stars
8/11/05 ES Some good tension and a pre'look I'm so talented' kevin spacey= good stuff 4 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary Donald Sutherland must be choking on all the scenery he chewed. 2 stars
8/04/05 Carolyn Rathburn makes you wonder. need a sale on face masks 3 stars
8/03/05 Eric Rollins Scary because you feel it could happen. 4 stars
2/02/05 G-Man great plot and cast- a must see 5 stars
1/16/05 John Bale What could have been a confronting serious film slides into mediocrity as an action flick. 3 stars
11/12/04 Joan Alliman more movies about biological weapons should be made and yes, I liked the movie 4 stars
6/06/04 John good cast - interessting story but the movie moves along at a rather dull speed 2 stars
2/25/04 art lover great! but not when hoffman recognized the host monkey w/ a girl's drawing using crayons! 3 stars
1/17/04 J A amazing thriller! *** 1/2 5 stars
11/29/03 Samuel very good, Freeman plays every role perfectly!! 3 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon Hey, there's a horrid new disease in the news! Let's make a blockbuster about it! 2 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Frightening set-up; laughable follow-through. Hoffman makes for stalwart hero. 3 stars
4/30/02 Jenny Tullwartrz Just like Renee Russo to play a deathly ill patient who almost makes us sorry she recovers. 2 stars
4/19/02 Aivy EXTRAORDINARIA PELICULA. QUE PASARIA SI ESTO SUCEDIERA? 5 stars
11/15/01 becca i think the movie was awsome. very interesting. not many army movies are good. this one is! 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Searched for "Out Of Africa," and I get THIS? 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Very intense and a scary "what if?" scenario. Great cast makes invisible killer intriguing. 5 stars
4/25/01 Spetters Unexciting disatermovie. Actors are wasted. Uninspired direction. Just plain boring! 1 stars
3/06/01 Jake This was sooo bad it was comical. but not funny enough. 1 stars
12/19/00 R.W. Welch A little short on believability, fails to hold you. 3 stars
12/02/00 The Evil Penguin I agree with Kyle Broflovski 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Disturbing look at our sane little world. Nicely done. GREAT cast. 4 stars
12/10/98 Scion of Graveheart Even the millitary is screwed up. Great flick, but needs more action. 3 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Viruses and infections are soooo intriguing and fascinating.... 3 stars
11/13/98 Jules Like I need another fucking movie to shove the big bad military down my throat.... 2 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Even the monkeys couldn't save this blow-out. 2 stars
8/30/98 Johny Good enough, not great 4 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress awsome movie, scares me that the military is that fucked up it could happen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Mar-1995 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast