More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome42.11%
Worth A Look: 29.82%
Average: 12.28%
Pretty Bad: 3.51%
Total Crap: 12.28%

4 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Peter Sobczynski

Boxtrolls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Man From Reno by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Die Mommie Die!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Die, Movie, Die"
1 stars

Fatuous waste of time, starring and based on the play by Charles Busch (but directed by Mark Rucker), in which he is an out-of-shape singer and housewife to Philip Baker Hall’s hack-producer.

An adulterating whore, there is little movement until she kills her husband with an arsenic-laced suppository, further pitting her against her daughter (Natasha Lyonne), but bringing her closer to her son (Stark Sands). Add all three of them to be seduced by a meat-wad Jason Priestly (“It’s the size of a Nathan’s Hot Dog!”), and … we’re still not getting anywhere. Nothing but pure kitsch redefining how bad camp can be, it’s totally humorless, horrendously acted, poorly written, and completely boring. And what’s with the filmed “director’s statement” that proceeds the movie?!

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6888&reviewer=172
originally posted: 05/14/04 09:31:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/25/08 David Fowler Busch is absolute genius. Hilarious, a virtually perfect parody. 5 stars
10/31/06 Charles Tatum Toothless satire 2 stars
7/30/04 Bucky n Wiz Campy, Hilarious, Wonderful homage to Actresses who actually knew how to Act 5 stars
7/28/04 Elizabeth Extremely entertaining with an interesting story. 4 stars
1/29/04 dirk A tour d'force" Angela arden is a screen legend 5 stars
1/19/04 Theaterlover Best Comedy Of The Year 5 stars
12/02/03 Baf A great film for a sophisticated audience 5 stars
12/01/03 J B Not for those who want the standard, formulaic movie tripe 4 stars
11/30/03 Thomas Go see this film. You'll laugh your ass off. It's really cool for the under 30 audience. 5 stars
11/18/03 Alex Very funny spoof of Joan Crawford, et al. 5 stars
11/16/03 Lee Summers Great movie -- Charles Busch is a genius 5 stars
11/13/03 Lorne die mommy die was boring, Jason Priestley sucks. 2 stars
11/11/03 Mike Was laughing the whole time. Sands & Priestly are both very hot in this show 5 stars
11/04/03 Andy Incredibly funny, soft lighting is the best, go see it, its awesome 5 stars
11/04/03 Josser I've not seen a rather hilarious campy gay movie in quite some time. This is worth it 5 stars
11/03/03 Ben cheap sets and uneven story flow 3 stars
11/01/03 liz johnson STARK SANDS: Remember the name. Awesome talent 5 stars
11/01/03 X XC 5 stars
10/31/03 xan taylor Prediction: Stark Sands is the next Tom Cruise 5 stars
10/22/03 Nimh BRILLIANT A very quirky and unique film. Priestley & Busch are particularly funny. 5 stars
10/04/03 mark davis stark sands is a hot little number 4 stars
7/15/03 Jim Smith Lighting, makeup and costumes ... and a great script! 5 stars
6/18/03 Thomas Saw it again in S.F.This movie has to win an Oscar! 5 stars
3/27/03 leah Funny, funny, funny! Jason Priestley is totally funny & hot!!! 5 stars
1/29/03 natasha petrich verry nice,specially the photography 5 stars
1/28/03 kitty saw it at sundance. cant wait to take all my friends! 5 stars
1/27/03 Scott Howard Busch is a genius- his Sundance Best Actor award is well deserved. 5 stars
1/27/03 Adam Little Perfectly cheesy. 4 stars
1/26/03 Thomas This was sensational. Will be a huge crossover hit, and play malls! 5 stars
1/26/03 Sarah An absolute riot. Can't wait to own it, so I can watch over and over. 5 stars
1/24/03 Busch Fan Amazing. The kind of film I will know by heart. 5 stars
1/24/03 Greg Evans My sister shot it. I saw it's premier. I laughed a lot and groaned a little. It is fun! 4 stars
1/23/03 Sean I never laughed once and name this the worst comedy I have ever seen. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Oct-2003 (R)
  DVD: 29-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast