More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.77

Awesome43.33%
Worth A Look: 31.67%
Average: 3.33%
Pretty Bad: 1.67%
Total Crap: 20%

3 reviews, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Camp
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"A showcase with nothing to show off."
1 stars

A youth summer-stock musical/acting camp for a group of self-imposed freaks and geeks.

The drama mostly centers around an all-around golden boy, the frumpy faghag who has a crush on him, and the cross-dressing Latino who also has a crush on him. Any plot is extremely scarce as Todd Graff’s comedy sees itself more as a banal message-movie (read: be who you are) and a miniscule showcase for revival numbers of Stephen Sondheim, whom they equate as a god (and makes a cameo appearance as well). Unfortunately, the showcase is rather truncated insofar as there is not much true talent on display. The one actress who caught my eye (and my ear) is the pintsized Anna Kendrick (her rendition of “Ladies who Lunch” or whatever, was a real show-stopper) and she packs a lot of wallop in the little meat she gets — cut out too early, if you ask me. And if not talented, then at least charismatic, are Joanna Chilcoat, Daniel Letterle, Robin de Jesus, and Tiffany Taylor. Still, for a movie about being yourself, Graff is sure quick to pick on the stereotypes and clichés.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6909&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/28/03 22:23:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/07/12 Joey Just to see and hear Anna Kendrick sing, Terrific! 5 stars
5/15/07 Kay I loved this movie it was very good!! 5 stars
6/08/05 natalie awesome! great talent 5 stars
2/16/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble The kid actors I grew up with were jerks. This movie is a sweet fantasy. 4 stars
10/24/04 Natasha Theobald the music may be the main reason to watch the film 3 stars
10/06/04 Jdoe Silly little movie with incredible theatre performances! 4 stars
8/31/04 Rachel I'll admit being a theatre geek, but this movie was fantastic. 5 stars
7/05/04 Tess Fah-bulous, darling! Heh... 5 stars
7/05/04 cara very unique and metaphorical. A keeper. 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt A blast! The main attraction is Daniel Letterle. It's impossible not 2 fall for this hottie 5 stars
4/06/04 Aviva Siegel Great! 5 stars
3/31/04 Red Wood Mundane story beyond repair;engaging numbers can't make up for idiotic script 2 stars
3/23/04 Matt R 2 VERY Enthusiastic Thumbs UP! ROCK ON! 5 stars
3/07/04 JC The biggest pile of crap I've seen in ages... 1 stars
2/18/04 Meg script is so-so, but the kids shine through with their terrific stage performances 5 stars
9/23/03 Ainsley Awful. Stereotypical homophobic rubbish 1 stars
8/31/03 Barb CAMP - - script a little clumky, but very enjoyable especially for theatre geeks like me. 4 stars
8/30/03 Joey I hate this movie!! hated,hated,hated this movie 1 stars
8/29/03 Brendan It really only makes sense if you're gay and can understand what it's like to be Michael. 5 stars
8/26/03 Hank Rubbish 1 stars
8/23/03 SisterDebMac Damn, Todd Graff cast Don Dixon before I could! 5 stars
8/20/03 Me Great 5 stars
8/17/03 Evan Herring One of the best movies I have seen 5 stars
8/15/03 Lord Chu It manages to be beautiful, touching, and hilarious at the same time. Bravo! 5 stars
8/11/03 steve lot's of fun 4 stars
7/26/03 Hank Queer is here. 1 stars
6/13/03 Betsy Amazing, Awesome, and Thrilling 5 stars
6/11/03 Melissa Smith Excellent! Rock on, Joanna! 5 stars
6/07/03 Hamlet I went to this camp as a teacher - still have nightmares 1 stars
5/29/03 Chris Styls Much better than Fame, bigger talent. Jill and Fritzi are hysterical. Jill is gorgeous! 5 stars
5/24/03 Michael Taylor I left the theater three hours ago and I'm still feeling happy about this film! 4 stars
5/24/03 michele the little kid wth the glasses was so cute funny . 5 stars
5/20/03 Chaz Harris CAMP is the best teen movie in ages to deal with REAL issues! 5 stars
5/19/03 michael It was lots of fun and very real, hits close to home, but I was a musician. Jax film fest 5 stars
5/17/03 ROBERT WILLIAMS REAL TALENT/JILL IS FABULOUS 5 stars
5/15/03 sean amazing film and great cast 5 stars
5/10/03 rich cline a wacky take on the Fame theme 4 stars
5/10/03 jojo this movie is god 5 stars
5/09/03 Al Maw Characters are underdeveloped, and I kept laughing during the serious bits... 3 stars
4/11/03 Greg Cliched but Kosher=cute 4 stars
4/05/03 Kinolieber Incredible Fun! Exhilarating Musical Numbers. 5 stars
2/04/03 Charles Truly awesome! Fritzi kicks ass!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jul-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-2004


Directed by
  Todd Graff

Written by
  Todd Graff

Cast
  Don Dixon
  Joanna Chilcoat
  Robin de Jesus
  Anna Kendrick
  Stephen DiMenna
  Steven Cutts



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast