More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.97

Awesome: 30.23%
Worth A Look40.7%
Average: 25.58%
Pretty Bad: 2.33%
Total Crap: 1.16%

9 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pieces of April
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Like looking through transparent gelatin jiggling on Elvis' pelvis."
3 stars

The pieces are her family, on their way from Upstate New York to Manhattan, under the occasion of her invitation for Thanksgiving.

They expect a mess — why?, because she’s the family’s self-dubbed black sheep, though none of them seem to see their own flaws, except maybe the pacifistic father who’s too far in denial. So the movie is split between their hellish drive down (additionally including the bitchy wife who has breast cancer, her mother who suffers from Alzheimer’s, their pothead son, and all-too-perfect Miss Priss younger daughter) and April’s travails to prepare a nice homemade meal, complicated when her oven breaks down. Writer/director Peter Hedges packs in a fair amount of caustic, über-dysfunctional humor that ails most from its inability to say “when.” The feel-good mark at the end undoubtedly comes off as a stretch and doesn’t maintain the persona of any of the characters, but it slightly helps to offset the caked-on dysfunction that so persistently sticks to everything before that point. Notwithstanding the quirkiness of the apartment’s denizens, the actual casting is quite well-utilized, especially Patricia Clarkson. Katie Holmes does a fair share holding up her almost solo half with some solid support by Derek Luke (Antwone Fisher), but what makes the movie almost impossible to sit through is the horrific digital video image, gunky, distilled, faded, as though looking through a bowl of gelatin cranberry sauce (pretending that it’s transparent, of course). It does not help, either, to subject us to the nauseous mindset of Clarkson’s character by shaking the camera around so much you’d think it was attached to Elvis’ pelvis.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6954&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/28/03 23:36:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Starz Denver Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Starz Denver Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Chicago Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Chicago Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/24/08 PAUL SHORTT WHOLESOME FILM, OF LOVE IN SPITE OF OUR FAILURES, GRUDGES AND DISAPPOINTMENTS 3 stars
12/28/07 Tiffany Losco I found it boring and stupid. Wasted time watching it. 1 stars
9/11/06 claudine chamaa very sensitive and touching 4 stars
7/02/06 Graham Mason Boring and not at all funny 2 stars
1/29/06 sweetgrrl1972 I saw it on TV and was surprised to find I didn't want to change the channel once. 4 stars
12/27/04 mjoc This is a truly funny, heartwarming, and wonderful holiday film! 5 stars
11/21/04 Phil M. Aficionado Pulls you along at the right pace, alternatively humoring & crushing, Terrific cast/script 5 stars
7/01/04 Mikey Crunt Katie Holmes or Katie Crunt - You decide!! Good film, sloppy ending! 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva th e family is a little odd but the idea is sweet 4 stars
4/13/04 joannetc i loved this movie (i think it was supposed to look brownish to suit the digital format) 5 stars
4/08/04 Andrew b pieces of april :( but also :) 5 stars
3/24/04 Margie very touching. i was pleasantly surprised by katie holmes. 4 stars
3/15/04 Elena It's amazing how much you care about the whole family when the story is so simple. So good. 5 stars
3/10/04 Joan Papuzynski I thought it was outstanding and very emotional 5 stars
3/10/04 Jose felix It was simple yet, remarkable!! 5 stars
2/27/04 carla pritchett Pieces of April is a very pleasant surprise. I enjoyed it tremendously. 5 stars
2/26/04 Cindy Ames Possibly the surprise sleeper of the year -- see it! 5 stars
2/26/04 Julia Cox A not laugh-out-loud but subtly hilarious comedy. 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Clarkson and Platt are wonderful in this rather average comedy. 3 stars
12/29/03 y2mckay decent performances from supporting cast, a tad overwrought, but not with sappy overkill 3 stars
11/17/03 Lilian Tomaran I think the movie was wonderful! Wonderful preformance by Patty. Hope she wins an oscar 5 stars
10/23/03 Lucy great movie! It was amazing and my friend was in it -she's the little girl in the bathroom 5 stars
10/16/03 Carmelita Florine brilliant film,although Katie Holmes certainly did not do justice to April.offwithherhead!! 3 stars
10/16/03 Meme R. Outstanding 5 stars
10/02/03 Bill Cumberson Fantastic Film 5 stars
9/30/03 Clare Evans The best movie I have seen in a long time 5 stars
9/16/03 Beth Hinton I thought it was okay, at best... 2 stars
9/15/03 Rachel Pradilla Katie Holmes was great and the little girl in the bathroom really affected me 5 stars
3/10/03 "Toots" Suite Terrific movie 5 stars
3/03/03 Elizabeth Douglass It was awsome! I loved it!! 5 stars
2/05/03 Danny Howes Katie Holmes is awesome 5 stars
2/05/03 Jean-Claude Laurent Katie Holmes is awesome 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Oct-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-2004


Directed by
  Peter Hedges

Written by
  Peter Hedges

Cast
  Katie Holmes
  Oliver Platt
  Patricia Clarkson
  Derek Luke
  Alison Pill
  Sean Hayes



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast