More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.26

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look: 26.19%
Average30.95%
Pretty Bad: 19.05%
Total Crap: 7.14%

2 reviews, 30 user ratings



While You Were Sleeping
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's a date movie for insomniacs."
2 stars

I don't get it.

Not the movie. The movie's bland. Ticket taker falls in love with handsome man she barely speaks to. Man goes into coma. Ticket taker pretends to be engaged to handsome guy, but ends up falling for handsome guy's brother through a series of incredible coincidences. Ho-hum.

No, what I don't get is the attraction people have to Sandra Bullock. Maybe she's attractive, but she plays the same role in every movie she's been in. She's the girl next door, somewhat flakey, sometimes clutzy. Sometimes she drives a bus. What's the big deal? I want to see Sandra Bullock flex acting muscle. Be the bad girl. Take a chance.

As I said, the movie's bland. There's no chemistry between Bullock and coma-guy's brother (Bill Pullman) and the plot hinges on coincidences rather than action motivation for the characters. When coma-guy does wake up, there's zero suspense about which guy Bullock is going to choose. And a ticket-taker who comes out of the booth? In Chicago? Right. Not even if you were a millionaire being attacked by a pack of rabid dogs.

It's better than Two If By Sea, though.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=699&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/02/98 23:47:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/23/13 Jamie loved it, loved the cast, warm, funny, sweet..great! 5 stars
12/07/11 Jeff Wilder Predictable and contrived as hell. Likability and heart save it. 3 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Great Movie!! 5 stars
8/19/08 Jack Sommersby Well-acted but it's so predictable without so much as a smidgen of flair. 2 stars
1/28/08 Pamela White romantic sweet , learn to pick carefully 5 stars
3/11/07 Roy F. Moore These hard-hearted cynics dissing this film should be ashamed of themselves. Great flick! 5 stars
9/29/05 Phil M. Aficionado Worth a look for Sandra; otherwise, well, pretty goofy and utterly predictable 4 stars
4/26/04 Janis Loved this movie 5 stars
12/28/03 Chris I loved this movie. Unrealstic but who cares. I had a million laughs. Terrfic. 5 stars
7/07/03 Kelli sweet, but unrealistic 4 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald sweet chemistry between Pullman and Bullock, great family stuff 4 stars
10/12/02 Nicole As far as romantic comedies go, this one is kind of "eh" 3 stars
8/05/02 KMG WHO MAKES THIS SHIT? 1 stars
2/09/02 Ashley Corpening Interesting only as early Sandra Bullock, before utterly convinced her shit dont stink. 3 stars
11/12/01 Gracy Lionheart One of the better Bullock movies. I actually didn't feel like I had wasted my money. 4 stars
8/17/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
6/23/01 Justin Cheung Fun movie, heart warming to say the least =) 5 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe I dislike movies where the entire plot is based on a stupid misunderstanding 3 stars
5/01/01 R.W. Welch Nothing special but has a certain dopey charm to it. 4 stars
3/23/01 Melissa Cute Feel-Good movie 4 stars
3/08/01 Sanja It's cute 4 stars
12/24/00 natasha Pullman and Bullock are immensely likable 4 stars
10/10/99 sara It was good but not excellent 4 stars
7/17/99 soccer_mum Best seen at home while asleep on the couch. Can you say BORING?!?! Skip this! 1 stars
12/08/98 sarah awesome, great romance,took too long to get to the point though 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Another film for people who love TV 3 stars
9/21/98 spork-girl ryan, you rock my world. bullock bites. this movie is pure formula, with a dumb premise. 2 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald Sandra Bullock has this much talent -----> <----- Not a whole lot. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass Fluff. 3 stars
9/01/98 MikeF this was ok cause you get to look at Sandra Bullock and their were a few laughs. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Apr-1994 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast