More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome44.29%
Worth A Look: 32.42%
Average: 9.13%
Pretty Bad: 7.31%
Total Crap: 6.85%

12 reviews, 147 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Truman Show, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Weird on Weir"
5 stars

I just basically think, that this movie started the Originality movement. You can't say more or less. Then after that, Being John Malkovich more broadly defined it. But man, this movie rocked. Basically I never thought that this would be so believable that I wonder what would really happen if this was the real thing. Some people say, "I would immediately know that everything was fake, and I'll walk out". Not true. Let me tell you my friend, if you were born and raised in that environment, you would pretty much buy whatever the fuck it is around you. Hell, after seeing the same setting for thirty years, ever since you were born, would you not believe it?

Well, Truman Burbank (Jim Carrey in a great performance) is an insurance guy living in the fictional town of Seahaven. All the people that he meets are extras, actors that just interact with him when he passes by them, but he doesn't know that yet. Then the first clue arrives when a falling ceiling lamp falls into the road, Truman is just amazed but he's still unaware. The incident is later disguised as an airplane defect. The reason that he suspects that something's not right in the city is that all people in Seahaven behave in a robot-like plastic fashion. They don't care if he screams shouts, or hits at some of them. But he also, in many times he is blocked from leaving the city in every way you can imagine it. Showing disaster posters in travel agencies, the fear for water, thanks to his "fathers'" fake death, and the way people act, his friends and family (the finger crossing by his wife Meryl (Laura Linney) in the wedding picture, the Mount Rushmore picture, and many weird things that Meryl does). Also, one of the many things that makes him want to leave Seahaven is his real love, Lauren/Sylvia (Natascha McElhone), Truman wants to find her, go to Fiji, where she supposedly moved.

The mastermind behind all of this since Truman's birth is the perfectionist Christof (Masterfully played by Ed Harris); he has done everything, physically, mentally, and psychologically, to stop Truman from going anywhere. His actions get to a point of is he caring for him or is he destroying him, everything for the sake of making money. He in a way resembles Big Brother (read 1984), as the person who will stop at nothing, for his own well, to make you believe that this is this, period.

The script, the directing and the acting are the main elements for this film to work. The script is basically perfect, almost no flaws, only that the ending would have been better (Truman and Sylvia meeting and kissing at the door, maybe). Peter Weir's direction is the heart of the movie, it was a masterful way on how he made the film work, and stay true to its idea. The actors are also the ones that make the movie work. Each performance was great, no question about it. The cinematography also helps a lot in the movie; it gives you the feeling that you’re watching the Show from your own TV. Hell, everything just clicked here and makes you think your watching the Show.

In the end, what can I say? Everybody has to see this movie. It’s a modern classic with a great cast, great script, and superb directing. So in case you don't see it, then good afternoon, good evening, and good night.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7&reviewer=235
originally posted: 12/22/00 16:40:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2014 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2014 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/26/14 Richard Brandt Weir takes a Philip K. Dick premise and runs with it; scarily predicts reality TV 4 stars
2/13/14 Martin Some plot holes but a funny, original, underrated film. Very memorable. 4 stars
7/02/09 cindy So-so. Found it kind of disturbing, not very funny. 3 stars
4/02/09 Dane Youssef One of Jim Carrey and cinema's finest hours. I would put it next to "It's A Wonderful Life" 5 stars
12/01/08 Roz One of Carrey's best films. Got me thinking "am I in a TV show without knowing it?" lol 5 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
8/13/08 Brenda Not a Carrey fan but I liked this movie 4 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ELEGANT PARABLE ABOUT TRUTH AND HAPPINESS 4 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White too unbelievable 4 stars
10/04/07 big blow it was good but what happends to him when he leaves 3 stars
7/01/07 fools♫gold "Eternal Sunshine", which was a bit better than this, onlyPROVESMr.Carrey is aseriousactor. 5 stars
1/11/07 David Pollastrini great concept 4 stars
7/15/06 David Cohen It's very nice that ytou want to be a serious actor Mr. Carrey, but you ain't got it kid 3 stars
7/06/06 Hermes Machado The movie is awesome for a single reason, it doesn't fill the blanks, leaving it to us. 5 stars
3/08/06 richard citra EXCELLENT!!! 5 stars
1/13/06 Indrid Cold Doesn't quite fulfill its potential, but still very original and entertaining. 4 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. Excellent film! Jim Carrey's best work, ever. 5 stars
3/15/05 R.W. Welch Far-out but intriguing premise. Another "save" for Harris. 4 stars
3/07/05 Billy Bob it was very really super natural. it makes you fell like a power ranger :) 1 stars
9/04/04 Angela It's one of those great films that really makes you think 5 stars
7/17/04 Peter This film was enchanting. It captivated me, from start to finish. 5 stars
7/12/04 DM Why can't Jim Carrey make more movies like this? 5 stars
6/01/04 Nobody Poignant and thought provoking with a dash of humor. Movies dont get much better than this 5 stars
3/29/04 Amy Great movie! I loved it! 5 stars
2/23/04 ethel this movie was the worst most shittiest movie ever, it had the worst story line and was gay 1 stars
1/26/04 Evangelica Schnapfenschalz Much better than CABLE GUY but still vastly overrated. 3 stars
11/24/03 Samuel A great premise and a great film! 4 stars
8/18/03 Nicole Better than I thought it would be 4 stars
8/16/03 Ghetto Smurf Traumatized me for life 1 stars
8/12/03 Double G good 5 stars
6/23/03 Phil M. Aficianado Innovative concept and well doen; precursor of reality TV boom 4 stars
6/11/03 melissa a great film 5 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Just not believable. Cable Guy is still Carrey's best. 3 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Why would millions want to watch such a boring person? 2 stars
3/19/03 Kat Clarke seen it way 2 many times....but Jim still rocks 3 stars
3/17/03 Peter The movie that made me think about life the most(alongside the Matrix).. Brilliant... 5 stars
3/13/03 Shadaan Wier is a great film maker. Definately worth a look. 4 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Carrey is average. Ultimately overrated. 3 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Great, telling stuff 5 stars
8/13/02 P.Rodriguez This is 1 of the best film ever made. A masterpiece. Peter Weir rocks 5 stars
8/08/02 Nevz I really enjoyed this film. Imaginative to say the least.. 5 stars
7/08/02 internetwhore cheese is not the word. god, what are you people on. this movie BLOWS GOAT. 1 stars
5/29/02 Shrike Check it out for a touching laugh 4 stars
5/27/02 Nicole Surprised at how much I enjoyed Jim Carrey 4 stars
4/29/02 Rockitman007 Great Weir Movie. (Gotta love the fake reviews below) 5 stars
3/29/02 isheunesu magwaza peter weir did his best,so did jim carrey.Its a 4 stars film-worth alook 4 stars
3/19/02 kkkkkkkkkkkk ppppppppppp 1 stars
1/03/02 Turtle Jim Carrey turns out a surprisingly dramatic performance in this great, fun movie. 5 stars
12/29/01 Craig Carrey was great, but unfortunate the movie wasn't. 1 stars
12/29/01 Ron Carrey was great in "Maple Drive", but not here. 1 stars
12/29/01 James A great idea that was badly let down by a poor script 1 stars
12/29/01 Jessica This film was a huge disappointment. It could have been so much better. 2 stars
12/29/01 Luke The satire in this film needed a total re-write - it was predictable and hollow 1 stars
12/29/01 Tim This had great potential, but the ending is such a disappointment 1 stars
12/29/01 Samantha This could have been a great satire on popular culture, but it sadly falls well short 2 stars
10/31/01 Andrew Carden I Found It To Be Confusing and Boring, and In Need Of A Much More Exciting Script. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Not to follow the hype, but Carrey was impressive and the movie was really, really good. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Very creative. Jim Carrey should've been nominated for the Best Actor Oscar. 5 stars
7/03/01 moviegoer I absolutely loved this movie. I cried, laughed, and everything in between. 5 stars
5/27/01 Marijan Srdic One of the BEST movies of all time! 5 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez Loved it! Nuff Said 5 stars
5/14/01 robert large truman is beauty made human, he is everything i 5 stars
3/09/01 GH It stole its story line from "Being There." 3 stars
2/26/01 Big P. Absolutely awesome. Carrey delivers an oscar-worthy performance. 5 stars
2/15/01 joh brilliant! insane! 5 stars
2/13/01 Jake Unique and exquisite 5 stars
1/31/01 Big Isil Proves that Carrey can do a "serious" role. excellent 5 stars
12/30/00 Emily it was just REALLY GOOD. well written and well cast. 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Jim Carrey is totally awesome! A must-see! 5 stars
11/29/00 katie oxtoby i thought it was very thought provoking and a fantastic performance by jim carrey. 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla The weirdest show i evers seen!!! 4 stars
10/23/00 P. Rodriguez Yep like that TwZ episode, but still Weirs' finest work 5 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Fantastic Ending and great acting consistent throughout 5 stars
8/04/00 Elvisfan It was OK, solidifies the fact that Jim cannot do drama very well 3 stars
6/01/00 danilo unmissable 5 stars
4/18/00 foxgroundcolt wierd 3 stars
3/28/00 Richard Wright Avery clever film rather let down by a stupid ending. Still well worth seeing, though. 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers This movie is not one of Jim Carrey's best but better than Ace Ventura or the Cable Guy. 4 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Far from faultless, but it made me use "Jim Carrey" and "brilliant" in one sentence. 4 stars
1/16/00 Anthony Kincaid changed my opinion of Jim Carrey, something I never thought would happen... amazing film 5 stars
11/07/99 Anthony Ellis A movie that, in the end, amounts to absolutely nothing. A real overrated disappointment. 1 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Nothing special , but still good . Jim Carrey attempts to make a few jokes , doesn't work 4 stars
10/07/99 Anne Morrissey "Good morning, and if i don't see you, good afternoon, good evening, and good night" 5 stars
8/19/99 Bob, Lord of Evil Watch me tip the balance to the forces of fucking awesome. Watch me. 5 stars
8/11/99 Ed Wood over hyped piece of crap 2 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg A triumph, but if you're looking for Carrey comedy, this isn't the place. 4 stars
7/04/99 randy grubbs too much jim carrey the comic. too over rated 2 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo A real proof that the Oscar is something to disbelieve... Shapeskeare must to agree on it 5 stars
6/22/99 Angie it was good...a little slow at times....let;s face it Jim's just not funny 4 stars
6/19/99 Jude Hmm.... Truman Show is definitely over-rated... it is not so good actually........ 2 stars
5/23/99 GothamDK This movie was a waste of time. Kept on waiting for something to develop...still waiting. 2 stars
5/11/99 Angie not bad, definitely Jim Carey's best 5 stars
3/30/99 H33eather I have never been so disappointed in a Jim movie in my life, can we say DULL!! 1 stars
3/24/99 Mark Reilly Last 10 minutes were GREAT .. but WAAAAAAAAAYYYY too late 2 stars
3/09/99 Go Swans Why wasn't this nominated for 13 Oscars? Shakespeare in Love can kiss my ass 5 stars
3/04/99 ed bushnell Like most Peter Weir movies, this gets better (and creepier) each time you see it. 5 stars
2/20/99 little jerry Though it's a good film ,being hailed as wildly original seems a tad over the top. 4 stars
2/19/99 Bruce Hedge Wonderful comment on modern (future) society, imaginative,succinct, thought-provoking. 5 stars
2/18/99 Bishop What's all the hype about? so many things could make this better, Carrey's OK. 3 stars
2/09/99 Bob, Lord of Evil Second best picture of the year. 5 stars
1/22/99 Fire-N-Ice It started out kinda boring but it ended up pretty good 4 stars
1/18/99 Yo Momma Great! 4 stars
1/15/99 donkey_dew YOU CAN DO IT TRUMAN...HOLD ON!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/99 Charles Dubé Don't miss it. Carrey gives touching and relatable performance. **** stars! 5 stars
1/03/99 Dasha One of the best movies of the year. 5 stars
12/11/98 Brent O.K. film. Wait for it to come out on video. 3 stars
12/08/98 sarah worst movie!!long,boring,no point.carrey should be funy or nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/06/98 d`d` I honestly left the theatre looking at everyone and everything thinking "What if??" scary. 5 stars
12/05/98 Jason Stein Awesome 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink One of the best films of the year!!! 5 stars
11/13/98 Waldo Mitty Predicatble, moronic wank 1 stars
11/02/98 Darkhero1 One of the best movies of the year. Completely original and trippy. 5 stars
10/27/98 Hunk@prodigy.net WHAT THE HELL WAS THIS! 1 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C Definitely one of the better films this year. 4 stars
10/17/98 y very interesting ideas not fully developed. far better then most main stream films 4 stars
10/02/98 Paul It was entertaining the first time, but I can't see myself watching it again. 4 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple This was a great looking, well directed movie. I usually hate Carrey, so I liked this. 5 stars
9/26/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! ORIGINAL,FUN AND COMPLETELY HARMFUL FUN. Carrey deserves an Oscar !,Ed Harris Sux!! 5 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan It was a good movie, one of the best ones of the year. 4 stars
9/25/98 ShadowStar Way too predictable 3 stars
9/23/98 TrAcY Better than "Titanic"! :) 5 stars
9/13/98 Joeri Ok movie. Seen it twice, worth a third time. 4 stars
9/12/98 ARMA-FUCKN-GEDDON Unique story, Carrey is great again, Harris is cool.. Not as good as "GREAT" as I had hoped 4 stars
9/12/98 Tiffany This Movie Rocked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/09/98 dov Great, symbolic, short and sweet, but why Carrey? 5 stars
9/07/98 kyle chlebowski cool 5 stars
9/06/98 BBReBozo Fine little movie. Ed Harris' character pissed me off. 4 stars
9/04/98 Badass Very clever. Though the movie doesn't really uncover nothing new. It is a somber CABLE GUY 5 stars
9/03/98 The Patriot Didn't trip my trigger. Too nice. 2 stars
8/27/98 {{{OZ}}} Of course he got back with the chick. it's the movies. 5 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress DID HE GET BACK WITH THE CHICK????? 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Superb filmmaking. Forget it's carrey and enjoy a great film. 5 stars
8/23/98 Dutch Liked the film alot, but in the end, was disappointed. Could have been so much more. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee This was one pretty ass movie. 4 stars
8/23/98 Superfly Good movie, but Jim Carrey didn't deserve all the "Best Actor" hype upon it's release 4 stars
8/18/98 spork-girl funny, but not all it was made out to be. 4 stars
8/17/98 Pythomas Almost worthy of Twilight-Zone-episode status. 5 stars
8/16/98 Johny A little too sugar-coated, but a good flick. Could have been better. 4 stars
8/14/98 VioLenT BoB Some Funny Funny Moments.....and some boring as shit ones...oh well. 4 stars
8/14/98 sean The scene on the boat almost made me cry. (the opposite of "Titanic") 5 stars
8/14/98 roxy i saw it on my birthday. yay. presents. 5 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Looks good. Real good. Mmm good. 3 stars
8/13/98 clark no smart ass comments from me, so it must be a damn good movie. 5 stars
8/13/98 Rotten Milk Sweet flick. 'Nuff said 5 stars
8/12/98 Beetchslarp Worth a geek 5 stars
7/14/98 Ryan_A I haven't done this in a while. A fine fine flick. 4 stars
6/10/98 CC best movie I've seen in '98 so far 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 23-Aug-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Oct-1998 (PG)


Directed by
  Peter Weir

Written by
  Andrew Nicol

Cast
  Jim Carrey
  Ed Harris
  Laura Linney
  Noah Emmerich
  Natasha McElhone
  Holland Taylor



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast