More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome28%
Worth A Look28%
Average: 16%
Pretty Bad: 15%
Total Crap: 13%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings



How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"How to Lose Your Credibility in 1 Movie."
1 stars

A tale of dual deceptions.

A “how to …” columnist must repel a guy, any guy, within ten days for her next article (she writes for “Composure” — think “Cosmopolitan” meets “Allure”), and the guy ends up being an athletics-wear ad exec vying for a diamond campaign (“Frost yourself”) and in order to get the gig bets that he can woo and make any girl fall in love with him in ten days. Let the games begin. Actually, don’t. Aimless, pathetic, cruel and unfunny are only a few in a long list of stupidity one is subjected to throughout. Predictable and boring fall along the bottom-end of the list. Suggested better title: How to Lose a Viewer in Under and Hour. With Matthew McConaughey, Kate Hudson and Bebe Neuwirth; directed by Donald Petrie.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7005&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/18/04 21:19:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/09/09 Kerry/Kez Extremerly fantastically mind blowing. With a captivating mixture of romance and comedy! 5 stars
9/04/08 Alexandru Totir This is one of my favorite movies all times. I definitely recommend it to watch. 5 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT LACKLUSTRE ROMANTIC COMEDY THAT STRAINS CREDIBILITY 1 stars
1/19/08 Pamela White very funny and the chemistry is there. 4 stars
5/14/07 David Pollastrini Kate Hudson looks hot inthis! 3 stars
2/23/07 Weblynx Funny movie, I bought this dvd after seeing movie 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday McConaughey is definitely not my favorite, but I do like this movie a fair deal. 3 stars
2/09/07 Stanley Thai A funny comedy about battle of the sexes! 4 stars
2/06/07 Matt Doesn't exactly set the screen alight, but it's a passable piece of forgettable fluff. 3 stars
7/21/06 sarah It's the best movie I've ever seen!!!!!! 5 stars
5/16/06 kho amazing 5 stars
11/15/05 Jin Not good 1 stars
6/19/05 Nicole First 2/3 is pretty funny. Last 1/3 is typical rom com crap. 3 stars
11/27/04 tasha one of the best films ive seen its great n matthew McConaughey is sooooo fine!!! 5 stars
7/26/04 RobK Blockbuster could fill whole stores to movies with this formulaic premise... oh, wait. 1 stars
7/14/04 Joel this was a fantastic movie 5 stars
7/11/04 Kimmi The movie was great! 5 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva the movie makes a fool of women 3 stars
7/07/04 heidi kreke i loved the movie and matthew is a hotty!!! 5 stars
6/25/04 Mohammad Salaymeh Awesome 5 stars
4/03/04 shelly it is like the best movie ever! 5 stars
1/30/04 jmsynth Boring, and hardly ever funny. About 2 giggles in 1 1/2 hours. Not worth it 2 stars
1/10/04 Hailey L. LaTour "This show is so cute, funny, and well written"!!!! 4 stars
12/17/03 TheOthersFan very funny for the first 2/3, but sputters and runs out of laughs during the third act 4 stars
12/01/03 The Narxquerst Wump Poor Kate Hudson would be more appealing wallowing in her poopie! 2 stars
11/29/03 sarah fuckin good 5 stars
11/14/03 melanie wilson best movie ever i love it 5 stars
11/12/03 una worth a look!! 4 stars
11/08/03 Kate Fantastic, loved it. just purchased DVD. Funny. Is there a soundtrack? 5 stars
11/08/03 Kate Loved it, have even purchased the DVD. Is there a soundtrack avail? 5 stars
11/05/03 Emmily I thought this movie was excellent and a good laugh 5 stars
10/27/03 Cyra the best movie 5 stars
10/18/03 paris it was pretty good like it was a fun movie to see 5 stars
10/08/03 Erik Van Sant Please infect Kate Hudson with a flesh-eating disease and send her to France. Fuck! 1 stars
10/06/03 Kitty It was okay, but very predictable! 3 stars
8/21/03 Piz Chick flick with good story but terribly written, had awesome potential, fell short 3 stars
8/18/03 Aims It totallyrocks. It's one of the funnies movies i've ever seen. The whole cinema could not 5 stars
8/05/03 laura Ford love it it was really funny 5 stars
7/18/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite Is there really such a card game as "Bull Shit"? And how is it played? 3 stars
7/17/03 Katie Roberts typical teen movie, don't think i'd bother buying it 4 stars
7/08/03 kz cute romantic comedy! 4 stars
7/06/03 sharon is this how us chicks really act...some body slap me...but good dat e movie 4 stars
5/24/03 Joiz Kate Hudson is amazing! The movie is a must-see. Fresh and hilarious. 5 stars
5/08/03 Shadaan Felfeli After surviving Maid in Manhattan this film was a breeze 3 stars
5/08/03 Shanoe Funny:)) 4 stars
3/30/03 Lisabeth It was really good! I loved it 5 stars
3/29/03 B Fun date movie. Good for when in a steady relationship(not 1st date). A rental. 4 stars
3/28/03 Sierra Awai The movied really sucked! There was no plot to it either. 1 stars
3/22/03 Meckenzie LOL so funny go and see it 5 stars
3/15/03 Christina Johnson Matthew McConaughey and Kate Hudson have great chemistry!! 5 stars
3/14/03 Rob You Americans are all stupid with your dumbass movies...go visit the WTC 1 stars
3/13/03 kate it was HILARIOUS!!! omg, it was sooooo funny!!! it just needed more romance 4 stars
3/12/03 ljam awsome...saw it three times 5 stars
3/12/03 Max I absolutely loved this movie :) 5 stars
3/08/03 u know i'm hot If you wanna lose a guy in 1 day, take him to see this... 2 stars
3/04/03 Jim Some very funny bits, but drags in spots 4 stars
3/02/03 fnord Not as crappy as I'd expected. 4 stars
2/21/03 Jon Alright, it wasn't THAT BAD!!! I actually thought it was aite... 4 stars
2/20/03 Nicole The ending was pretty lame, even for a romantic comedy. The rest was hilarious! 4 stars
2/15/03 Sam I loved this movie 5 stars
2/11/03 Silverline Is anyone else as annoyed as I am at the alliterative names? UGH!! 3 stars
2/10/03 Chiendog Should have been called, "How to lose your lunch in 90 minutes." 1 stars
2/10/03 LF I loved it, everyone in the audience was laughing most of the time, even the guys! 5 stars
2/09/03 tania very good 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Feb-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast