More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.62

Awesome: 26.09%
Worth A Look31.88%
Average: 26.09%
Pretty Bad: 10.14%
Total Crap: 5.8%

5 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shanghai Knights
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Poor quality copy all the way around."
2 stars

Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson reunite after the successful run (financially, at least) of Shanghai Noon several seasons back.

The adventure this time, slightly manipulating the formula of the first, has the unlikely duo traveling to London in order to avenge the murder of Chanís father and free his sister from incarceration. Noon was tepid at best, playing with the degradation and hybridization of westerns, and placing two totally anachronistic characters into the setting. Ostensibly, the set-up was easily enough copied, and so these two sore thumbs should stick out in any ordinary setting. But the sequel merely carries on in the most indistinct direction the game of the first initiated: coincidental-historical and fictional names (Jack the Ripper, Arthur Doyle, Charlie Chan, Sherlock Holmes) and then the screen-flashing fight sequences and choreography. Chanís own dexterity is never called into question, and his array of stuntwork is all very well rehearsed, but they hardly differ from the same thing in his other, unfranchised movies. And to settle the perpetual argument in the movie as to whom is whose sidekick, Wilson is the Tonto to Chanís Lone Ranger.

Directed by David Dobkin.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7006&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/21/03 14:43:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/14/15 Ionicera 2 stars for the movie + 1 extra for Aidan Gillen 3 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 4 stars
5/26/08 PAUL SHORTT DESPERATELY UNFUNNY ACTION/COMEDY MIRTHLESS NOT ONLY FOR ITS AUDIENCE BUT IN ITS WHOLE AURA 1 stars
7/04/06 Ashley Hinz Better than Shanghai Noon. 5 stars
7/28/05 Quigley the plot was bad, but the action and wilson's humor redeemed it. gotta see this movie 5 stars
7/16/05 tony Better than the first one. But still had flaws 3 stars
1/24/05 keithers.. Fun...but Chan Fans would be let down 3 stars
9/19/04 nicole alright 5 stars
5/09/04 reuben jay martin A lot of action 5 stars
4/13/04 Daniel Lowe A hilarious movie with a tonne of action, it is my al time favourite movie. 5 stars
1/29/04 stuntman A very fun film to watch 4 stars
1/01/04 Punk_Ass I was very suprised by this movie. Much better than the first. Really a fun movie 4 stars
11/26/03 jason fchan fucking great 5 stars
11/21/03 rony i was kind of let down by the plot and story, but the action sequences were great. 4 stars
9/08/03 Lauren Duggan It's a awesome movie 5 stars
8/12/03 tricia I loved it 5 stars
5/29/03 Blong It was Awesome 5 stars
4/30/03 Valerie Cameron Plot thickens when some silly boob lets them into secret room! 5 stars
4/22/03 Eloise shame HBS offers no rating lower than 1 Star. 1 stars
4/21/03 jackie chunny i too studied years in film so i must know alot,this movie rocks you pussys 5 stars
4/21/03 eddy mc murphie fucking awsome,i am a critic and could not fault this wonderful chan masterpeice 5 stars
4/13/03 Max Coakley Good 4 stars
3/20/03 Cameron Slick A silly, anachronistic mess, but the pairing of Chan and Wilson makes the movie fun. 4 stars
3/13/03 Roy Smith truth :the plot is.. pathetic, but the action and jokes are fun 4 stars
3/07/03 nick2k it was actually a fun movie. i think jackie and owen got a WORKING formula going. wheee! 4 stars
2/17/03 Suzz fun Jackie Chan film as usual 4 stars
2/17/03 stuntman one wacky adventure!! 5 stars
2/16/03 123 the plot is.. pathetic, but the action and jokes are fun 5 stars
2/12/03 KingNeutron Lots of fun, esp if you're a M.A. fan. 5 stars
2/12/03 Brian One-liners that are funny, JC fights, and they added a chick (hmm.. Rush Hour 2?). Decent. 3 stars
2/12/03 bob leather jacket Surprisingly enjoyable, hilarious and fun to watch 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper Not As Good As "Noon". Wait for the DVD 3 stars
2/10/03 scooby anything with jackie chan rules! 5 stars
2/10/03 Yo Mama! Not as bad as the rest make it out to be...good laughs, although a bit predictable. 4 stars
2/10/03 Darth Cunnilingus Lots of laughs, Jackie Chan delivers another winner. 5 stars
2/09/03 Large Farve Please..... make it stop...... 1 stars
2/08/03 Titus Some fun sequences, but generally not nearly as good as the first. 3 stars
2/08/03 George Jung Fuck me for watching this, fuck me up my stupid ass. 1 stars
2/08/03 Rob Just bad...honestly 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Feb-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Apr-2003


Directed by
  David Dobkin

Written by
  Alfred Gough
  Miles Millar

Cast
  Jackie Chan
  Owen Wilson
  Fann Wong
  Donnie Yen
  Tom Fisher
  Aidan Gillen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast