More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.51

Awesome69.67%
Worth A Look: 21.31%
Average: 1.64%
Pretty Bad: 4.92%
Total Crap: 2.46%

1 review, 116 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Horseplay
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Scratched"
2 stars

All of the characters in the Australian comedy Horseplay are nasty, stupid or both.

It’s set amongst the high echelons of Melbourne’s upper-crust rich, a predictably narcissistic and shallow bunch. Circling them is a couple of wannabe snobs - Max (Marcus Graham) and schoolgirl Becky (Abbie Cornish) - who will do anything to get their hands on money. The destinies of Max and Becky intersect on Melbourne Cup day, as Max’s grandiose plan to fix the race and make his fortune comes to fruition.

Most of the performances are keyed at such a shrill pitch as to be deafening. The exceptions are a laidback Jason Donovan as a sex-addict accountant and Amanda Douge as his airhead society wife. I’ve previously been impressed by Marcus Graham’s stage work, especially his Tom Wingfield in a 2002 Sydney Theatre Company production of The Glass Menagerie. He often seems ill at ease on screen, and is unable to provide the devilish charm the part of Max desperately needs.

Writers Stavros Kazantzidis (also director) and Allanah Zitserman (also producer) have constructed an impressively complicated revolving plot of murders and kidnappings, pregnancy and adultery, crime and dishonour and farcical mistaken identity. They’ve carefully omitted any inkling of romance, generosity or good humour. Unable to identify or empathise with anyone, I cared not a jot for what transpired.

Perhaps Kazantzidis was looking for a change of pace after his frothy but highly enjoyable romantic comedy, Russian Doll. If so, I’m not exactly sure what he was aiming for. Horseplay is too dim-witted for satire and not funny enough for black comedy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7007&reviewer=104
originally posted: 09/09/03 13:44:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

11/17/17 T.Westwood Koman, Donovan, Hunter, Measor, Burgen, Cornish and Douge are extremely good in this movie. 5 stars
11/01/17 SteelLady Dean Measor (born 3 October 1965) is an English and Australian actor, musician and artist. 5 stars
10/20/17 Sold for a song Absolute terrible review. Graham is ALWAYS at ease on screen. Measor good also in 2nd film 4 stars
9/27/17 Louise Parrey This is a fantastic movie & Stephen review is pathetically harsh and OTT. 5 stars
9/01/17 Kay I just don't understand why this film wasn't a massive hit in Australia? Marketing? 5 stars
8/25/17 SteelLady Dean Measor (born Dean Gary Measor, October 03, 1965) is an English stage, film & tv actor. 5 stars
8/19/17 Victoria I agree 100%. He always has been, especially in Australia. 5 stars
8/15/17 UKBernice Dean Measor is easily the most UNDERRATED actor in Australia. What a ••••••• 5 stars
8/12/17 A.Alexander I did not even know about this movie until seeing it on YouTube. 4 stars
8/09/17 Dale Evans The actual production on this movie is first class. Beautifully shot. Great musical score. 4 stars
8/04/17 TTD Came across this movie on youtube and it still holds up excellent. High class production. 5 stars
7/25/17 Cankles Not bad! Poor marketing and advertising! Woeful press and media bordering on unfair. 4 stars
7/20/17 T. Westwood Too much negative press treatment! 5 stars
7/16/17 SteelLADY Dean Measor (born Dean Gary Measor October 03 1965) is an English born Australian actor. 5 stars
7/16/17 Russell This is a really great Aussie film! Why so much negativity from critics & reviewers? 5 stars
7/15/17 Smackers Yep, definately work a look. Underrated movie from Kazantzidis. (Australian film) 4/5 4 stars
6/30/17 C.Lander There's "bugger all" movies made about horse racing both in oz and around the world! 5 stars
6/29/17 Steel lady Dean Measor (born Dean Gary Measor, October 03, 1965) is an English born Australian actor. 5 stars
6/20/17 Michael There is not enough films made about horse racing. Good effort. Safe bet! 4 stars
6/15/17 Steve Barker Cornish, Koman, Menzies, Donovan, Hunter, Measor, Beamer, T Donovan, Cato are awsome. 5/5 5 stars
6/14/17 Annabelle S. Horseplay is 10 times better than The Cup movie. Unfair above review. Luv Jason 5 stars
6/13/17 Permina Jacek Koman is easily one of Australia's greatest actors. Genius! 5 stars
6/10/17 Eric Better than Russian Doll. Beats Strange Planet. Not as good as True Love & Chaos 4 stars
6/05/17 G.Annear (Dean Measor-Joe Byrnes) Very natural actor. Good sense of comic timing. 5 stars
6/02/17 Vannessa Grimmins I came across it on youtube by chance. It's a good film and I enjoyed it. Recommend. 4 stars
6/01/17 John Devries Pathetic talentless wannabees who can only "review" nasty negative "words" are useless . 4 stars
5/31/17 Dane A. For what it is worth; Dean Measor remains a very underrated & under used actor. 4 stars
5/13/17 Bernice Dean Measor (born Dean October 3, 1965) is an English actor, musician and singer. 5 stars
5/06/17 Troy Quality show. 5 stars
4/22/17 All the characters in the Australian comedy are funny and well acted, A. Bracken 5 stars
4/12/17 Dane A. Dean Measor remains a very underrated & under used film & TV actor in my opinion. 5 stars
3/30/17 Adrian Despite the negative reviews & press....I still loved it. 5 stars
3/03/17 H.Mahoney Marcus Graham is EXCEPTIONAL as Max. Way too harsh Stephen Groenewegen! Poor call. 5 stars
2/17/17 Eliza Honeybone Long lost and forgotten Australian gem. Why? 5 stars
2/12/17 R.Kemble One of the best movies starring the late Bill Hunter. 4 stars
2/10/17 Lewis Little known mpvie classic. Still no one knows it even exists! 5/5 every time! 5 stars
2/09/17 Miklos I am also a fan of the underrated British/Australian actor Dean Measor (Joe) under used. 4 stars
1/09/17 Dane BADLY WRITTEN REVIEW. A VERY, VERY, COOL MOVIE. 4/5 @ least. 4 stars
1/03/17 Pauline C. Just watched this movie on youtube and it was absolutely AWESOME! Above review is wrong. 5 stars
12/31/16 Christine The continuous negative comments on ALL social media platforms are pathetic. Great flic. 5 stars
12/24/16 Rene Horn Dean Measor is a totally underrated and under used actor. 5 stars
12/20/16 Pauline C. Dean Measor is a massively underrated actor and voice artist. (Joe Byrnes) 5 stars
12/02/16 S. Aladice Very fast paced & very funny movie. Good cast, very well shot. Winner! 5 stars
11/29/16 Effat I really love this movie. 5 stars
11/24/16 Rene I know that Alison but it still pains me. He deserves it as much as any of them. 5 stars
11/23/16 Penny Good film! 4 stars
11/19/16 Alison Don't worry about it Rene. He wouldn't care less, he's not like that. He's a great guy. 5 stars
11/18/16 Rene Horn Why is Dean Measor the only actor from this movie who is NOT listed on wikipedia? WTF? 5 stars
11/15/16 Jasmine Faulkner Hands down the best & most underrated horse racing & OZ movie made so far. 5 stars
11/11/16 Lynda Rudd The character of JOE played by DEAN MEASOR is not nasty or stupid Mr. Groenewegen. 5 stars
11/09/16 Ria Pankhurst confirmed. it's finally on YOUTUBE. best & most underrated movie ever. 5 stars
11/07/16 L. GIGGS Horseplay is finally on youtube. (full movie) Dean Measor is cute in it. Donovan is good. 5 stars
11/03/16 Lynda Rudd THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE PLAYED EVERY SINGLE CUP EVE IN AUSTRALIA. 5 stars
10/03/16 Jenny Babbage Craig Beamer, Dean Measor & Liz Sandy are breaths of fresh air. Vendy & Collard are average 4 stars
9/29/16 Miranda Snuggs I do not agree with all the negative press, media and reviews this film has had to endure 5 stars
9/24/16 Angelina Couglin Don't agree with review. I'm a fan of actor Dean Measor and also Stavros Kazantzidis. 5 stars
9/09/16 Michelle C. Impressive construction of plot. Dean Measor is not in it enough. 9/10. 4 stars
8/29/16 Mark Evans Watched this movie on Sunday night on DVD. Letterbox format and great movie. Very cool. 5 stars
8/10/16 Alison Hi Bernice-Yes, unfortunately I know he is in very poor health. Very unfair indeed. 4 stars
8/02/16 Debbie Stanton. Enjoyable movie. Good cast. Underrated film, 3 stars
7/02/16 snowblindspy Dean Measor has an interesting look in this movie in wnich I liked quite a lot. He's good 4 stars
6/06/16 Bernice Hi Alison & J.Graham. He is now in very poor health and unable to work. Take care. 5 stars
6/01/16 J.Graham Joe Byrnes played by English actor Dean Measor. Good movie. Underrated movie. 5 stars
5/20/16 Alison I filmed on location at Exbury with Dean. He is a smashing bloke and a good actor. 4 stars
5/09/16 Bernice Dean Measor has been my favourite since 1989. 5 stars
5/07/16 Tony Mitchell Cute and sexy babes! 5 stars
5/05/16 Steve I liked it. Cool characters and dark humour. Abbie Cornish is a stand out. 4 stars
5/05/16 Susan Gordon Marhus Graham, Abbie Cornish, Amanda Douge, Dean Measor, Jazek Koman & Liz Sandy SHINE! 5 stars
5/01/16 Matt Wiltshire This movie is WAY better than The Dish, The Castle and Cracker Jack. 5 stars
4/30/16 Salanitiri I have no idea why this movie is not rolled out each Melb Cup eve? Good little movie. 4 stars
4/29/16 Tess Westwood There are some pretty awesome characters in this Australian movie. 4 stars
4/28/16 F.j.S. THE ABOVE REVIEW BY GROENEWEGEN IS UNFAIR AND POOR. 5 stars
4/27/16 Damien Gilchrist Stumbled upon Horseplay by pure accident. Thorougly enjoyed it. Nasty above review by SW. 4 stars
4/27/16 Linda Ball Stephen Groenewegen is nasty, stupid or both. Really good black comedy. 4 stars
4/19/16 Stacie Williams. The person who wrote this review is an idiot. Jacek Koman & Dean Measor were very good. 5 stars
2/21/16 Angela Stephen Groenewegen, that is the WORST review EVER! Fantastic little gem of a movie! WINNER 5 stars
1/14/16 Kylie Hanlin This is a very good film & Dean Measor is super CUTE! Best Australian film so far made. 5 stars
1/01/16 Bernice Dean Measor has been my favourite since 1989. Great movie! 5 stars
11/22/15 Dane Antoni Angel Horseplay is a good movie and Dean is the best actor, miss ya buddy! 5 stars
11/21/15 Lorraine Tipler Great little Australian movie. 5 stars
9/04/15 Gypsey Girl Kushsti Bok from the GG. Dean Measor is very sexy. Great little actor. 10/10 5 stars
8/29/15 Angela Dean Measor is a little cad and a swine but I still love the little poppet! He's a scream! 5 stars
8/20/15 josie this was a very funny and entertaining motion picture. Dean was cute in this motion pictu 5 stars
6/04/15 Victoria Finally a site where people know this film and like me, they love it as well. about time. 5 stars
6/01/15 Rachell & James This is a very underrated movie. Very funny. Cornish, Korman, Measor & Menzies R outstandin 5 stars
5/25/15 Bobby Dob I watched this movie once again on the week end & the stand out actors are KOMAN & MEASOR. 5 stars
5/22/15 amanda Dean is the best actor in Australia and the most underrated. 5 stars
1/19/15 bloodbrotherjohn downloaded this movie 2 weeks ago. It's awesome! 5 stars
11/17/14 Trisha Best movies Dean Measor has made are Body Melt, Commedia del'Arte & I Can't Get Started. 5 stars
10/24/14 Kirsty Saunders Dean Measor is HHHHOOOOTTTT! 5 stars
10/13/14 Charmaine "chuckles" Lawson Dean Measor is VERY CUTE and I also liked Jason Donovan too. 5***** 5 stars
9/24/14 lemonade-lady13 I watched this movie last week and it was hilarious! 5 stars
8/24/14 Bernice Dean Measor is my all time favourite actor. 5 stars
7/02/14 putty awesome! 5 stars
6/03/14 paula dean measor is gorgeous as Joe Byrnes. 4 stars
5/11/14 jamie Highly entertaining Australian movie. Brilliant cast. 5 stars
3/03/14 janice my favourite australian movie ever. 5 stars
3/17/12 Emmathesurvivor I love this 100% underrated movie. Dean Measor is my favourite actor. 5 stars
2/09/10 David AWESOME MOVIE DUDES! 5 stars
8/11/09 Beth the PC What a great Australian movie, my fav since muriels wedding. 5 stars
7/29/09 RITA P FUNNIEST, most BRILLIANT MOVIE I HAVE SEEN. 5 stars
2/02/09 dt pretty cool 4 stars
1/30/09 dan m what a great movie, saw it in hospital, it made me laugh! 5 stars
12/10/08 M.Phelps Pretty funny movie. 5 stars
12/08/08 KIM Fantastic movie! 5 stars
12/03/08 Mandy Davis why is this movie not yet played on free to air TV stations? 5 stars
10/30/08 Twang. very funny 5 stars
10/28/08 Colin Parnall Funniest Australian Film I've seen! 5 stars
8/31/08 Felicity Brilliant 5 stars
4/24/05 Gibbo Pwor what's that smell? Another Stavros film. 1 stars
1/14/05 Legs 11 Biggest mystery of Oz film industry: How does Stavros keep getting money? 1 stars
6/12/04 Loren Great! 5 stars
1/20/04 Eva Brilliant! The actor who plays Jockey Joe Byrnes is a great little Actor 5 stars
5/28/03 Colin Hodges A testimonial to has beens 1 stars
5/22/03 Andrew Good movie. Rochelel Goodman (as an extra) looks great. Next big star! 3 stars
3/17/03 Steve Absolutely awesome,great script!Good perve for guys too, provided by a trio of HOT blondes! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Feb-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-May-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast