More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome74.14%
Worth A Look: 9.05%
Average: 3.45%
Pretty Bad: 2.59%
Total Crap: 10.78%

4 reviews, 208 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Braveheart
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"If that whore from La Boum weren't in this, it would ge 6 sporks."
5 stars

Won 5 oscars and deserved every one.

The Story of William Wallace's heroic defense of his heartland, the noble Scotland, if the perfect movie. It's got everything: First Love, Second Love (involving a french beetoch), War, Triumph, Sacrifice...is there anything more noble? *sniffle*

Well, melodrama comes with the packet, and I feel Mel did a DAMNED fine job not over doing it. Well, also, Mel can do no wrong in my eyes. I am biased and I apologize.

Summary: William Wallace defends his homeland from the evil clutches of Edward the Longshanks of England. With the help of Robert the Bruce, he fights to free Scotland.

This movie is quite simply: breathtaking. See it in widescreen if you rent it/buy it. It truly makes a difference here. The action is a bloddy, gory dance (just the way i like it mmm mmm guts), the love scenes have Mel in them, so that's all good.

Bottom line: see this movie. You will not regret it, unless you don't like blood in which case you are a pansy. 5 sporks

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=704&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/02/98 12:25:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell epic filmmaking a bit 2 long though 4 stars
9/25/16 Clint This movie not only shows that Mel Gibson can act but Direct as well 5 stars
11/23/13 Lord One of the greatest movies ever made 5 stars
12/07/12 roscoe great action, sweeping score, superb Gibson, but way too long and rather thin.. 4 stars
3/21/11 holly sines a true classic..great film 5 stars
1/12/11 BRAVE-FUCKING-HEART mindblowing epic cinema 5 stars
1/28/10 polar opposite are you kidding, one of the greatest films ever made 5 stars
12/12/09 Maneka Mel Gibson is miscast, part should have gone to Iain Glen 3 stars
12/05/09 Brent although not very historically acurate it was a great movie with much passion 5 stars
4/05/09 Stevo Plot: THE ENGLISH ARE TEH EVILZ!!!! RARARARARARARARA!! 1 stars
1/24/09 PAUL SHORTT WHILE THE VIOLENCE IS RAW, SO ARE THE EMOTIONS 4 stars
9/01/08 lola this movie was OSM!!!!!!!!!! mel gib's BEST!!!!!! idk wat u ppl r talkin bout!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/27/08 pantera best film ever 5 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Gibson rocked this movie!! 5 stars
5/13/08 cf excellent 5 stars
4/06/08 ur mum this is just a fuckin piece of crap LOL i'd rather be doing a crap than watching this shit 1 stars
3/28/08 EY When the Scots meet the Englishmen... 4 stars
3/22/08 Pamela White What men will give up to follow their brother in arms and freedom 5 stars
10/11/07 Jolene Rech Beautiful Film. Mel Gibson is somebody who can act, and direct. Linton can't do shit... 5 stars
8/13/07 charlie poo 1 stars
4/23/07 Elizabeth Absolutely Brilliant. I cried and was inspired. 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Full of steryotypes. Evil malevolent English, and Stupid barbaric scottish. Appalling 1 stars
3/06/07 biscuit great movie...wheres the info? 5 stars
2/24/07 action movie fan exciting battles, and good production make this a very good film 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini should have shown Mel's head flying off at the end! 4 stars
10/14/06 JLRoberson Yap, yap, yap. It sucked, it sucks, it will always suck. 1 stars
10/06/06 Lance historically inaccurate throughout....still entertaining 4 stars
8/03/06 Sepi53 great historical film 5 stars
7/02/06 Morgan I thought it was Awsome! I really liked that Mel Gibson Directed it! 5 stars
6/01/06 hala it is a brilliant emotional violent movie 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE it's so overrated. so the guy's in a war about his wife. SO WHAT? 4 stars
3/09/06 trueman absolutely breathtaking 5 stars
1/22/06 Quigley this movie is powerful in nearly every way. it was everything I wanted it to be...and more. 5 stars
1/20/06 Wiseman No doubt the best movie in the world! Perfect for Both Genders Romance/Action it blends wel 5 stars
1/17/06 Chris Brown Utter rubbish from beginning to end, bearing no resemblance to Scottish history of the 13ty 1 stars
1/09/06 Gerry Dunne Violent times but this is just an excuse for Gibson to air his sadism. He's sick! 2 stars
1/06/06 Tim the Enchanter Really really long. But with a movie this good, that's a good thing 5 stars
12/30/05 chris f exellent film i loved it 5 stars
12/18/05 James You suppose the give the information about the different between the truestory and the film 2 stars
12/16/05 william Fantastic,just fantastic 5 stars
11/23/05 Guy I love this movie, the battles, the romance, the passionate speeches. All wonderful. 5 stars
11/16/05 gina i think it deserves more stars 5 stars
11/07/05 cooler The greatest film of all time.Passion,war,romance,betrayal.Simply breathtaking 5 stars
10/12/05 Quigley the score is moving, the acting great, the action awesome. you gotta see braveheart now! 5 stars
10/08/05 Wisamane Holly fucking shit! this movie OWNS ALL MOVIES! ITS THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!! 5 stars
9/06/05 Lee Still the best of the sword-clashing "historical" epics. 5 stars
8/29/05 Douglas just saw it on dvd -- what a piece of fascist crap 1 stars
8/27/05 Moctezuma Magnificent 5 stars
8/18/05 Stamp learn the difference between screenwriter and director, and get a psychotherapist, Roberson 5 stars
8/17/05 ES Was my favourite movie but Mr. Roberson's valid points have reduced my liking of it= hmmm 3 stars
8/16/05 Klondo Loved the scene where Philip gets tossed out the window 5 stars
8/12/05 D Buckley JL Robertson must be a queer. 5 stars
8/03/05 ALDO the reason d-bag directors keep competing to have the most spectacular battle scene 5 stars
6/08/05 CJ a bit boring but great action 3 stars
6/08/05 Anthony G LOL, fuck this garbage 1 stars
4/24/05 Quigley here's a good film with awesome characters. the story is powerful and the score is moving. 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Excellent story, if somewhat ridiculous. His death scene is transcendent art. 5 stars
3/14/05 Ric Romance, awesome battles, larger-than-life heroes make this the most rousing epic ever. 5 stars
2/27/05 Beverley Mooren Loved the movie, hated the ending. 5 stars
1/10/05 bana the best epic movie ever made 5 stars
12/19/04 Matt F. Great for the most part, but the FREEDOM!!! scene was laughable IMO 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams FREEDOM!!! 5 stars
12/05/04 Sarah One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
10/03/04 Daveman So utterly reverent of its titular hero, that the audience is left passive. 3 stars
9/26/04 Bill O\'Reilly BLOWS ME I'd rather chainsaw my nads than sit thru this 1 stars
9/04/04 jeff best war movie, best music. kanchan there is something wrong with u!!! 5 stars
8/27/04 Aaron Smith Greatest film ever made, seriously!!! 5 stars
7/18/04 Nobody If any movie shows the ture human sprit it is this one 5 stars
7/18/04 Richard best of the best 5 stars
6/24/04 Kanchan sucks 1 stars
6/01/04 Frazier Despite some debatable historical inaccuracies, Linton fails to see the worth of the film. 5 stars
5/24/04 DM John Linton Roberson doesn 5 stars
4/24/04 Sean Dailey Amazing film. 5 stars
3/24/04 Alan Newsflash, Linton! The Lion in Winter & Henry V are historically flawed, also. Doh! 4 stars
3/07/04 reptilesni It's not that great unless you like cliches, melodrama and gratuitous violence. 3 stars
3/05/04 Eukanuba Fabulous, but I was high and confused when I saw it. 5 stars
2/29/04 yes 1 of the best movies ever made. british are really cruel people. 5 stars
2/27/04 Jim. Perfect review- Braveheart is a worthless peice of crud. 1 stars
2/24/04 Nixon john linton you are a fucking cock sucker. this was one of the best movies of the 1990s! 5 stars
2/24/04 shayan one of the best movies i ever watched 5 stars
2/13/04 Zoltan Definitely overrated homophobic piece of shit! There should be more reviewers like John! 1 stars
1/17/04 Rupert I totally agree with the review 1 stars
12/19/03 Jessica I think braveheart was a good movie even though it wasnt perfectly historically accurate. 5 stars
11/30/03 john a bit heavy handed perhaps but Gibson never flinches and pulls it off 4 stars
11/17/03 MM it was okay 3 stars
9/23/03 Sammy Don't listen to Jonh Linton... This movie is awesome... 5 stars
8/17/03 robbie keane john linton robertson is the only person in the world that didn't like this film. 5 stars
8/04/03 Movie Guy Love, War, Sacrifice. This is a movie of great depth, scope, and passion. 5 stars
8/02/03 DM Great epic-above review sucks ass! 5 stars
7/20/03 Gary Schara Unbelievably Good. Mel at his best, both in front of the camera and behind it! 5 stars
5/24/03 K.B My favorite film of all time. I'd never get tried of watching it. 5 stars
5/20/03 Billy Dee So basically, you didn't like the writing, retard. You can't blame Mel for the writing. 5 stars
5/20/03 Charles Tatum Questionable history DOES MATTER in this simplistic blood bath 2 stars
5/17/03 Marcus Aurelius Mel Gibson cheats on wife in Philadelphia's "Rittenhouse Hotel" 1 stars
4/10/03 Ross Bernard Roberson, ever think some people don't give a FLAMING FUCK about historical accuracy? 5 stars
4/09/03 JL Absolutely a beautiful, tragic movie! One you can watch several times! 5 stars
4/09/03 joy this movie deserves 10 thumbs up 5 stars
3/31/03 Jessica Davis Questionable best pic choice, but good compared to UNFORGIVEN, great compared to SHITCAGO! 4 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby A stirring epic with context and resonance. 5 stars
12/13/02 cpbjr one of my all-time favorites 5 stars
10/12/02 Taylor Hall it was a good movie 5 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman Beautuful, breathtaking, and it grips you hard from beginning to end. Classic Mel. 5 stars
9/07/02 Ramblin Wreck The best historical epic to come along in the past 15 years 5 stars
8/03/02 DREW BEST EVER 5 stars
3/31/02 Rockitman007 A Modern Day Epic 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand awesome movie...enough said 5 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee A bit pokey at times, but overall extremely vivid and well-done. 4 stars
3/02/02 Shrike An epic masterpiece that leaves Gladiator for dead 5 stars
2/21/02 luda hoe spartacus, but better fighting scenes. gladiator fell way short 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver very romanticized historical drama. fine acting. 4 stars
2/03/02 hhtyr whomp the one who says this movie bites 5 stars
12/06/01 KMG I want to fuck Mel....gimme some 5 stars
12/05/01 john linton roberson I have to admit this--after THE PATRIOT this almost looks good. 3 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt Freeeeedommmm English Thugs. 5 stars
11/12/01 Joe Schmoe Super de duper 5 stars
10/27/01 Laura I saw most of it and what I saw was a kick ass movie! 5 stars
10/16/01 MaMaFaC Movie kicks ass, loved it when Mormon faggot got thrown out the window. 5 stars
10/09/01 jawsboy GREAT!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/01/01 andrew scott incredible, action and acting makes up for lack of historical accuracies 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith "10 Star" movie! 5 stars
9/20/01 Sheila I watch it at least once every day 5 stars
9/13/01 Matthew Bartley John L Roberson is a whiny little runt who can't write a balanced review 5 stars
9/01/01 I love movies very impressive directorial effort from Gibson, but I prefer Gladiator 4 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Had another look; not quite the piece of crap I'd remembered. 2 stars
8/31/01 Hooker with a Penis Just quite simply one of the best movies of the 90's. ohh yeah, Sophie Marceau was hot!!! 5 stars
8/18/01 Babybelle PERFECTION..on celluloid, what artistry ,what direction whattaguy !!! 5 stars
8/17/01 Gina Best film ever! 5 stars
7/15/01 Richard Wright Amagnificent film. Superb cinema, especially from a first timer 5 stars
6/14/01 Mad Mathias one of the greatest films of all time 5 stars
6/10/01 Ramsey By all measures, the best movie ever! 1 stars
6/07/01 John D. Fucking Awesome and anyone who thinks otherwise, kiss my ass! 5 stars
6/06/01 Kyle Fucking Greatest Movie Ever 5 stars
6/04/01 svtbruno i like it better then gladiator 5 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye One of the best films I've ever seen. Gibson couldn't have done a better job! 5 stars
4/01/01 Linette Callicutt It was GOOD! 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Gibson's best. Only English snobs don't like it... FREEDOM!!... 5 stars
2/26/01 Big P. This movie makes me want to go out and kill English. Oh wait I am English. Still awesome. 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Americans don't know what patriotism is. WILLIAM WALLACE WAS A PATRIOT!!! 5 stars
2/12/01 AK47 This movie is off the meat Rack. A perfect 10 5 stars
2/10/01 buzz better than last year's GLADIATOR 5 stars
2/06/01 Crazy Scot Second best movie ever 5 stars
2/05/01 Big Joe The best movie ever! (right after Boondock Saints) 5 stars
2/02/01 Bob Barker A pretty funky little film 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin Excellent movie!! lots of action. to bad they redid it into the Patriot 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo Best movie ever! 5 stars
12/01/00 King Edward I Didn't bother to stick to the reality at all. Mind you, I got him in the end! Ha, ha, ha! 1 stars
11/29/00 Matt Awesome!! 5 stars
11/25/00 Connoisseur overrated, but it's one hell of a movie! 4 stars
11/20/00 Finity one of the greatest movies of all time. 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin slow and boring 3 stars
10/21/00 Skilure Madison Baxley Totally awesome 5 stars
10/13/00 Josh The all-time epic! 5 stars
10/09/00 Arron Cotrel I thought it was funny, exciting, and had a pretty good plot 5 stars
9/17/00 Bambi NO WORDS WILL SUFFICE!! 5 stars
9/05/00 josh great movie. some parts a bit drawn out, dont watch it if you have an obsessive hate of mel 5 stars
7/23/00 Tyler Peterson "Sucks all ass" is a complement for this bullshit. Mel Gibson can't act to save his life. 1 stars
7/17/00 doug Your conserned with historical innacuracies. So what? It is one hell of a story. Enjoy 5 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Great cinematography & battle scenes; McGoohan fine as "Longshanks''; Gibson fares less. 4 stars
6/27/00 Martin Riggs Lots of quality kills! Loved the Irish guy. 5 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji The most spectacular epic of recent times.A class act for Gibson. 5 stars
6/04/00 ralph best mel gibson film ever 5 stars
5/31/00 DREDD Excellent music, great war portrails.. 5 stars
5/30/00 Dasha Gibson isn't really convincing in the lead role, but still a grand experience 4 stars
5/12/00 Girl9 If you hated this film then there is just no hope for you... 5 stars
5/06/00 P.Rodriguez While the movie isbrilliant the real Wallace wasn't as great as portrayed here.Inspiring th 5 stars
4/30/00 Bruce A Breathtaking Cinematic Adventure 5 stars
4/30/00 Joseph P. Ulibas The real william wallace ddin't do a quarter of these things. He was only in his twenties. 1 stars
4/27/00 Trina Barnard most realistic righting scenes 5 stars
4/17/00 julie no, babe should not have beat it for the oscar 5 stars
4/16/00 BB-15 The best movie I have EVER seen. Better than Saving Private Ryan. 5 stars
4/09/00 Greg Coutu It doesn't get any better than this in film! All actors are superb and believable. 5 stars
4/07/00 Gremlin Braveheart kicks ass, John M. sucks ass 5 stars
3/31/00 Arnaldo Cruz My favorite of all time, powerfull final scene 5 stars
3/16/00 Lame-Oh This movie is magnifique (awesome)! 5 stars
3/15/00 Richard Wright Well plotted, moving and has great battle scenes, but Babe should have got best pic of '95. 4 stars
3/01/00 Ionicera Overidealistic, but there's plenty to make up for it 5 stars
2/29/00 WILLY Those who didn't like this movie truly have no taste for brilliance, one of best films ever 5 stars
2/04/00 Linda Great Flick 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Truly great experience. Gibson's triumph. 5 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 Fuck historical accuracy. This movie is one of the best! Great battles, music, acting, etc. 5 stars
1/10/00 Hangman Without question truly one of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
1/09/00 John Markham I've had better products emerge from my arse. 1 stars
1/06/00 Emmelie Karlsson The best Movie Ive ever seen! Mel Gibson And Sophie Marceau are fantastic!!!!! 5 stars
11/30/99 Mic Dragged a little but a brilliant ending tops off an excellent film. 5 stars
10/01/99 the Grinch Pure fiction, but entertaining/well filmed. Gibson's developing Costneritis.RobRoy's bettr 4 stars
9/23/99 John Roberson Totally inaccurate ego trip by Gibson--more later, I promise. 2 stars
7/17/99 soccer_mum Being a Scot, I appreciate a *real* man (aka Gibson)in a kilt. What a great film..A+ 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 5 stars
6/25/99 john In this film you find what kicking ass is all about 5 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 This is one of the best movies of the whole damn century...I bawled my eyes out 5 stars
4/23/99 Shiv-Dude Good Of Course 5 stars
4/20/99 Tim Mel Gibson is great in this movie. Well worth the three hours it took to make 5 stars
2/18/99 Piz very believable and beautiful...made me want to be a gung-ho Scotsman. 5 stars
1/23/99 C Dub Fascinating film - superb performances and powerful story. 5 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 I love violence. Those battle scenes had me rolling with glee. 5 stars
10/25/98 zeki one of the best movies I have ever seen.Gibson rules 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Incredible movie on all levels. Loved it. 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather Beautiful. That's all there is to say. 5 stars
9/27/98 katherine He didnt have 2 show hi cha cha, the dink, the big string, the penis, the knads............ 2 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan This is one of the best movies made while I've been alive!! 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Mel's best. 5 stars
9/13/98 BBReBozo Sophie Marceau: Come to Butthead... 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF holy shit if their wasn't a better movie. well, their are. but not much! 5 stars
9/07/98 Truthteller Mel can fucking direct, baby. 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass Visually stunning, but very basic. 4 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee You can't diss this movie. I didn't want it to end. Got the romance out of the way early on 5 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress i loved it but it didn't need to be three hours long. 4 stars
8/29/98 Johny Great film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-May-1995 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast