More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.48

Awesome: 19.72%
Worth A Look: 9.86%
Average: 12.68%
Pretty Bad: 14.08%
Total Crap43.66%

3 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gods and Generals
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Playing hooky from History 101."
1 stars

Ron Maxwell continues his historical conquests ten years after his TNT production of Gettysburg with a prequel in terms of chronology, Gods and Generals.

The Civil War epic, collecting up a 220-minute running time, with an added 12-minute intermission explodes onto the screen with the effect of an overblown PBS (or in this case perhaps, TNT) production. Staggeringly long staging sequences, historical ABCs resulting in plodding plot, cardboard acting, speech-y oratorical dialogue, etc. No doubt the ambition of such a project and the length at which accuracy is researched and depicted are commendable, its scale is something at which only the history scholar and buff is going to appreciate. Reaction different to that will only be of tedium, boredom. Maxwell is so “old style” in his cinematic approach, inserting the materials and values of Gone with the Wind in an era far adapted from that. I do not mean to say that such an homage is a waste of effort, but one does not get the impression that Maxwell’s route-of-choice was out of necessity; the film — if truly designated as a piece of cinema and not a television production plopped into the moviehouses — is made that way because he so chooses. And so I must admit that at the 90-minute mark, I saw no reason to stay in mental pain any longer, and allowed the physical pain to cause me to walk out. It might not have allowed me much time to be introduced to the POV of the North, though from what I saw and what I’ve heard, the movie predominantly unfolds in the one-sidedness of the South; and though it hardly began to give screen time to the endless battles, the long sequences I did see — lots of death, reloading gunpowder, firing, bodies dropping, repeat and so on — I couldn’t have felt as though it were necessary for the accuracy of the movie to need to show each and every individual death that was fought during the war. Taking short cuts out of history can often be cause for misinterpretation or a botched lesson, but to go so far unabridged cannot dream of sustaining its storytelling abilities. I wouldn’t call it normal laziness, but I would call it an over-ambitious laziness.

With Stephen Lang, Jeff Daniels, Robert Duvall, and Mira Sorvino.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7057&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 17:31:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/20/13 JG There was a time when I bought into the myths this movie is selling. I was in high school. 2 stars
8/17/12 Ed Tough one to watch. Battle scenes may be the only thing accurate. 3 stars
6/12/09 Lonsoleil This movie is more entertaining with the audio turned off. Worst civl war movie EVER! 1 stars
5/17/08 PAUL SHORTT YOU WILL WATCH A SERIES OF BATTLE RE-ENACTMENTS AND WAIT FOR A FILM TO BREAK OUT 1 stars
3/17/08 mb Very good enactment. 5 stars
7/16/07 Bloody Hell Anyone who liked this movie is a racist. 1 stars
3/11/07 Yankee REbel Screw liberals who hate this flick. Watch this epic. 4 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson A worthy & epic prequel to GETTYSBURG! Well-staged battle scenes & good acting redeem it. 4 stars
2/04/05 The Paq Kitty: I thought the US's most sorrowful time was 9/11 or Pearl Harbor. "G&G" is dangerous 1 stars
1/30/05 axe we're STILL playing "my great-great granddaddy could beat up your great-great granddaddy?!" 2 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva okay 3 stars
1/30/04 RedSoxFan I LOVED this movie, but its not for everybody, you have to like history to "get it". 5 stars
12/01/03 *A Monotonous Creton Who Loves Tom Hulce* anyone who hates this flic should be strung up by the balls and fucked by their mothers!!!! 5 stars
9/24/03 JesseL Politics aside, this was a very well done, hammily acted movie. 4 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES i loved it im so happy i saw it fuck u peeps who hate it 5 stars
8/31/03 Kitty Kelso FUCK ALL OF U CRITICS WHO MAKE FUN OF OUR NATION'S MOST SORROWFUL TIME! JUST FUCK U!!! 5 stars
8/27/03 TD Eagle When I see bad reviews like these, it must mean that it is hitting very close to the TRUTH! 5 stars
8/23/03 Sugarfoot A great disappointment 2 stars
8/11/03 Taylor Fladgate oh oh oh...It was the CONFEDERACY that was fighting for the Black Man...thanks, Mr Turner!! 2 stars
7/19/03 Daddy Plaid I have to meet anyone north of the mason-dixon line that liked this movie. 5 stars
7/19/03 WWE HHH-HATE CLUB id people ever bleed during the civil war 2 stars
7/13/03 Joe hate it 1 stars
7/05/03 Frank Lynch It kicked ass! 5 stars
5/20/03 Greg I want my money back 1 stars
5/11/03 Andrew Carden My Old History Teacher Had Better Slideshows Than This. Boring and Tediously Long. 1 stars
4/01/03 J F Neo-Confederate Lost Cause Klap Trap. 1 stars
3/26/03 Sharon Worst I've ever seen but a perfect drinking game movie. Drink everytime they say God... 1 stars
3/17/03 Cameron Slick With 2D characters and pompous self-righteousness, this is a long tedious sit. 2 stars
3/14/03 u know i'm hot This movie is gay, just like Americans 2 stars
3/13/03 Flounder I had more of a riveting time taking a huge dump in the toilet than I did with this movie! 1 stars
3/05/03 G. Thoresen Epic and inspiring. Doesn't reduce characters to one dimension as so many movies do. 4 stars
3/03/03 Jim G Awesome. Best Movie since Gettysburg 5 stars
3/03/03 john lol film critics are idiots 5 stars
3/01/03 PilgrimPorky Proving once again that history does not fit into a neat little box 4 stars
2/28/03 Jack Meoff Poor acting, poor editing, no direction. BORING! 1 stars
2/28/03 David Johnson Horrible movie, Historically incorrect 1 stars
2/27/03 salif abdullah simfukwe the 12 minute intermission was the best part. 1 stars
2/26/03 Keith Watts great movie.....you guys are full of shit for bad mouthing this epic film 5 stars
2/26/03 Ubu the Ripper Too much philosophizing. Not as good as "Gettysburg", but worth seeing 3 stars
2/26/03 Wesley Barras How could Maxwell go from Gettysburg to this! I made sure I go my $5 back after the movie. 1 stars
2/26/03 snowconehead I'm I going have to take a test on this or something? 1 stars
2/25/03 sargeanb Yes it's a little slow in places, but very realistic. 4 stars
2/25/03 Christina Kinan Read your history, watch this film, and learn the truth! Slavery was not the cause! 5 stars
2/25/03 Spidey Another example of revisionist hicks who dont want to admit southern ancestors were evi 2 stars
2/25/03 Wha? I came; I saw; I took a nap. 2 stars
2/24/03 John F Neoconfederate claptrap! 1 stars
2/24/03 STEVE AN UNBLIEVABLE BORE FROM THE CIVIL WAR!SEE GETTYSBURG OR GLORY OR GONE WITH THE WIND!. 1 stars
2/24/03 doug It is a refreshing view from all the politcally correct nonsense that is taught in schools 5 stars
2/24/03 jcon This is the worst movie ever made. Ted Turner should be deported 1 stars
2/24/03 Ramblin Wreck Well, I see dionwr has issues....... 5 stars
2/22/03 dionwr Boredom and reprehensible ideas, in equal measure 1 stars
2/22/03 scott B. Sentiments of the world that are totally incomprehensible to the 21st century! 4 stars
2/22/03 Fenian Wretched screenplay...3.5 hours of boredom. Too bad, loved the book and Gettysburg too. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Feb-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Oct-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast