More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.6

Awesome32.89%
Worth A Look: 32.21%
Average: 9.4%
Pretty Bad: 13.42%
Total Crap: 12.08%

7 reviews, 107 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Old School
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Natasha Theobald

"Dumb but funny."
3 stars

This movie does not care about presenting a full-bodied, life-enriching story. Characters don't really grow; lessons aren't meant to be learned. The plot is simply an excuse to put some funny people together and hope that funny things happen. The most amusing parts in this mix, to me, had nothing to do with the set-up or the story at all. Sometimes it's not what someone says or why they say it that makes a person chuckle. Sometimes the funny is all in the delivery. Will Ferrell, Vince Vaughn, and Luke Wilson are all the type of guys who can get a laugh simply by saying something, anything, in a certain way. The funny is what they make of it. So, yes, this movie is pretty stupid. But did I laugh? I did. If that makes me stupid, too, so be it.

Mitch (Luke Wilson) comes home early from a business trip to find his girlfriend (Juliette Lewis) in the midst of an evening home without the boyfriend sort of activity, with multiple partners. After opening the door to another would-be participant ("I'm here for the gang bang."), Mitch decides to decline her kind invitation to join in and moves out, instead. He has to find a new place to live fairly quickly and ends up renting an old house close to campus. Unfortunately, a guy he hated in college (Jeremy Piven) is now the dean of the school. The guy enacts a rule requiring that the house, because of its campus adjacent location, must be used for school purposes. This is when Mitch's friends get their idea.

Beanie (Vince Vaughn) and Frank (Will Ferrell) think it would be fun to start a fraternity, have big parties, meet college women, etc. They start a fraternity for men of all ages and envelop all of the campus and life misfits they can recruit into their community. The dean continues his vendetta against them, and they continue to find ways around him to do what they want to do. Other stuff happens, too, but you can see it for yourself. There is nothing really ground-breaking here. You will probably not be inspired to run out and volunteer to feed the hungry or go back to school for the degree you actually can use. The movie only exists to find new venues and situations to try out some jokes. It is chock-full of various attempts, in various ways, to be funny. Some of the stuff falls flat, but there were enough laughs overall to satisfy me.

As I said, for the most part, the funny people in the cast are able to wring some amusing moments out of next to nothing plot-wise. There are missed opportunities, and some of the smaller character parts seem rootless and/or pointless. This movie isn't going to change the world, but it may make you forget about it for a while.

Slightly off topic, this short line is written with special affection to the familiar faces we know and love from "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart." Though their appearances are all too brief, Matt Walsh and Rob Corddry -- here's to bigger and better parts in the future.

If you're looking for layered, intelligent comedy or sophisticated, drawing room wit, you're looking in the wrong place. If you just want to laugh at the antics of some people who are funny more often than they are not, give this a try.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7058&reviewer=317
originally posted: 03/03/03 04:18:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/01/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Earmuffs! Favorite college comedy in awhile and one of Will Ferrell's best! 5 stars
8/31/08 PAUL SHORTT THIN AND OCCASIONALLY TOXIC, CREATING A SORT OF CINEMATIC WASTING 1 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will can't act 1 stars
8/15/06 Ashley Hinz Weirdest Ferrell movie to date. 4 stars
6/15/06 Billy Totallty fun 4 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor The funniest movie of 2003 5 stars
5/16/06 Sully "you're my boy Blue!!!"......."you look glorious!!!" 5 stars
12/03/05 Indrid Cold The fact that some of it's funny elevates it above average, but nothing to write home about 4 stars
8/16/05 ES Animal house never got me coming back for more= Blue is the man 4 stars
6/01/05 tatum Often funny, but never gets hysterical 3 stars
5/30/05 Phil Extemely funny but suprisingly unknown. Watch out for the dart scene - Ouch! 5 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson It's ANIMAL HOUSE lite, without John Landis' spirited direction & performances. A SHAME!!!! 2 stars
11/27/04 soxfan It's hilarious, a modern Animal House, a new classic 5 stars
9/19/04 Ghetto Smurf Not that funny. 2 stars
9/10/04 jeff i agree with asina, more boobs and booties :) 4 stars
9/09/04 J Funny as hell! 5 stars
9/07/04 BoomerSooner Gets funnier after 20 views 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton I loved the dart scene 4 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues for vince vaughn... he's adorable!!!! 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G its ok 3 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton Farrel and the Crew did it again, very funny 4 stars
7/29/04 JD greatest movie ever...hasn't even gotten old after 100 plus views 5 stars
7/26/04 andrew apodaca crap 1 stars
7/13/04 asina Disappointing. Needs more naked boobs. 3 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I also usually despise films of this sort but Ferrel is great as Frank! 5 stars
3/22/04 Goofy Maxwell Some funny antics, some pretty hot chicks, some rocks tied to ****s...OK, I guess~ 3 stars
3/07/04 Zach G. Awful- Call that COMEDY? What's going on?? Abrasive..... A 15 year old sleepover movie. 1 stars
2/16/04 HorrorScribbler Not exactly the second coming of Animal House, but not bad. Weird to see Piven as a Dean. 4 stars
2/12/04 JAY SHEPPARD THIS MOVIE IS BAD ASS 5 stars
1/29/04 Rapunzel Gladstone When it takes months to catch what the title means, it shouldn't take longer to care. 2 stars
1/22/04 none funny 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Ok, why wouldn't you like this film. 5 stars
12/17/03 Brother NIanno only to a retarted toddler would this movie be more than just a shit-fest, it's a bore 2 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth "Were Going Streaking!" Modern Comedy Classic! 5 stars
11/18/03 NWO4LIFE Starts out amusing, then gets duller and duller. 2 stars
10/25/03 Samuel "Yer' my boy Blue!" I loved this movie it had Titties, Beer, and Stiffler with a mullet! 5 stars
10/23/03 Mike Wardick Blue is tha man. You can not die any better than KY wrestling with two naked women. 5 stars
9/25/03 Megan AWESOME MOVIE, SO WORTH IT 5 stars
9/25/03 kyle debell the funniest movie out 5 stars
9/15/03 Todd Klosterman Fuckin awesome 5 stars
8/11/03 The Savage Come on, it's got Snoop Dogg in it. So it's required to kick ass 5 stars
8/11/03 SB Very funny - "Ear muffs" 4 stars
8/01/03 Jon A Laugh a minute 5 stars
8/01/03 TLsmooth "Denver. The Sunshine State. Gorgeous." It doesn't get funnier than that. 5 stars
7/24/03 Wendy funny as hell 5 stars
7/22/03 Angelica this movie is sooooo money! absolutely hilarious! funnier every time u watch it! 5 stars
7/11/03 rick good, but coulda been better 4 stars
7/09/03 Stephen Crawford It's a comedy. Nobody cares if it has no plot, and isn't filmed well. Just shut up, fag. 5 stars
7/03/03 Stiles Hot and cold. Flat plot, but very funny vignettes. Will Farrell was hilarious. 3 stars
6/28/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite For once I agree w/ Scott Weinberg. I like raunchy humor, but this is just raunchy. 2 stars
6/25/03 B Love This site sucks my hairy balls!! Please make it better. 1 stars
6/21/03 Mike B This movie F'n rocked!!! 5 stars
6/21/03 dana one of the funniest movies i've seen in a while....bought the dvd as soon as it came out 5 stars
6/20/03 Jeff Thsi movie is great. You must accept it for what it is. Vince is the man, baby. 5 stars
6/19/03 Susan Hilarious! 5 stars
6/14/03 Heather It's Glorious! 5 stars
6/13/03 Geo78665 The first 15 minutes are decent. Then it becomes uneven. Then boring. 2 stars
6/11/03 FLiK A cure for depression 5 stars
6/11/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
5/31/03 Ryan Macmahon This is one crappy website 2 stars
5/12/03 Shadaan Felfeli worth a few laughs. The wedding singer and Ferrel (doing artistic gymnastics) were funny 2 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones so stupid it was good...vaughn and farrell are hilarious...only frat i like 4 stars
4/24/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite For once I agree w/ Scott Weinberg. I like raunchy humor, but this is just raunchy. 2 stars
4/17/03 Killer Katers This movie was hysterically funny though the plot was severely lacking 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Painfully Unfunny "Comedy" With Wasted Farrell and Vaghn In Horrid Roles. 1 stars
3/31/03 Edler 1 huge hilarious mountain of garbage! Complete crap but I loved it! 5 stars
3/25/03 Katie I'm in college, and the main guys in it reminded me of something that my friends would do. 3 stars
3/22/03 James VG This is the kind of movie to see on a Friday night when you need to laugh out loud. 4 stars
3/16/03 sra this film was so disappointing, had lots of potential, but ended up sucking 2 stars
3/14/03 Jin I laughed all the way through. You reviewers need to lighten up or just get some. 5 stars
3/13/03 YOUR MY BOY BLUE!!! - your my boy thou shalt not sayest thine ''is crap'' - will ferrell is god. i suggest you recognize. 5 stars
3/13/03 Roy Smith This is what the "C+" grade was invented for. 3 stars
3/10/03 Hugh Like Something About Mary in that it has a few scenes that will have you just dying. 5 stars
3/09/03 keith wow scott weinberg is has no sense of humor or has a huge dildo in his ass! 5 stars
3/09/03 the white rabbit the van sequence was brilliant. laughed so hard i almost pissed myself 5 stars
3/09/03 Josh Big laughs. Will Ferrell is going to be one of the funniest people in movies. 4 stars
3/07/03 Fish Eye Not as funny as expected, but definitely worth seeing for Ferrell 4 stars
3/07/03 Joe This crap is what the studios think they can pass off a funny, well it's not 1 stars
3/05/03 james fucking funny 5 stars
3/05/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! Come on, if you think this is "awesome" you're either dumb or on the studio payroll. 2 stars
3/04/03 Matt An Animal House for the MTV generation, f**king hilarious 5 stars
3/02/03 John Similar to Animal house, except without good acting, humor, and plot. Otherwise, same movie 1 stars
3/01/03 Bob Jones It was great 5 stars
2/27/03 Mark Lianza A funny film that was based on Animal house deserves credit for its non-stop laughter. 5 stars
2/26/03 Elisha Cuthbert's A-hole Stare at me in my pink underwear 5 stars
2/26/03 nick2k the pacing was all wrong, too much of a romantic film, and need more frat hijinks. sorry... 2 stars
2/26/03 GMan tits and ass, man... hot, droopy, pock-marked man ass... 3 stars
2/26/03 Andrew Carden Someone Needs To Just Kill Will Ferrell. 1 stars
2/26/03 Cookie By no means Oscar material and by no means razzie material. A funny, wacky film! 4 stars
2/26/03 ArdRhi What happened to "sucks all ass?" 1 stars
2/25/03 Wha? Don't expect much and you wont be dissappointed 4 stars
2/24/03 joe good 5 stars
2/24/03 FrayLo It's funny...but not laugh every 5 seconds funny. 4 stars
2/24/03 mara z. funny movie. some cheezy silliness, but still really funny 4 stars
2/24/03 Mr. Burns First 2/3 Great. Last 1/3 Okay. Take the boys with you to see it. 4 stars
2/24/03 Peter Bunzl Great comedy! 5 stars
2/23/03 Yo Mama! Aw c'mon. It wasn't that bad. Good laughs. Good cast. Good Movie! 4 stars
2/23/03 Bombadil Constant laughs, not the greatest movie, but good for the guys out there 4 stars
2/23/03 Vicious Pretty funny, Will Farrel is the highlight. 4 stars
2/23/03 Saddam My camel died after being exposed to this wretched film 1 stars
2/23/03 davebo same old same old, not terribly funny 2 stars
2/22/03 Mark Mills I laughed and laughed, never too much at once but plenty all over. 5 stars
2/21/03 Mortis So Fuckin' HILARIOUS! I saw it for free, I will pay to see it again. 5 stars
2/20/03 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla Will Farrell was great, Vince Vaughn was very good, Luke Wilson was also in it. 4 stars
2/18/03 steve this movie is fuckin hilarious! funniest movie I've seen in a real long time 5 stars
2/17/03 los angeles matt awesome, if you are in college you will love this move, and if not you'll still laugh a lot 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Feb-2003 (R)
  DVD: 10-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-May-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast