More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.6

Awesome32.89%
Worth A Look: 32.21%
Average: 9.4%
Pretty Bad: 13.42%
Total Crap: 12.08%

7 reviews, 107 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Babadook, The by Jay Seaver

Duke of Burgundy, The by Jay Seaver

Redeemer by Jay Seaver

Force Majeure by Jay Seaver

Cub by Jay Seaver

Hardkor Disco by Jay Seaver

Zero Theorem, The by Peter Sobczynski

Tusk by Peter Sobczynski

Maze Runner, The by Jay Seaver

Welcome to New York by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Old School
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A Ferrell to remember."
4 stars

“Old School” is, in fact, an old-school film in the spirit of “Porky’s,” with “Saturday Night Live” alum Will Ferrell filling the John Belushi role of chief mischief-maker and beer-imbiber.

There is little other point to the film than what is implied in that statement. It has only the barest remnants of a plot, its agenda instead focused on whimsical debauchery and random comic nudity. It is gleefully crass, and even irrelevantly so: One of the funniest moments is a profanity-laden version of “Total Eclipse of the Heart,” sung at a wedding reception as a throw-away joke.

As such, it’s only as funny as you allow yourself to think it is. Don’t take your mother to see it, or a date. Don’t schedule it as entertainment at a church function. Don’t view it on your last night before entering a monastery.

Luke Wilson is the star and straight man as Mitch, a lawyer whose live-in girlfriend (Juliette Lewis) has developed a hostile position toward monogamy, inspiring him to move out and buy a house near the local university.

His friends, newly married Frank (Ferrell) and married but unhappy Beanie (Vince Vaughn), use the house’s proximity to campus as an excuse to turn it into an unofficial fraternity, drawing in crowds of students in search of free beer and camaraderie.

It also attracts the attention of a crusty old dean -- yes, this college-hijinks movie has a crusty old dean -- named Pritchard (Jeremy Piven), a long-time rival of the trio from their own college days 10 years earlier.

There are amusing cameos from Snoop Dogg and Seann William Scott, as well as a horrifically unfunny one from Andy Dick. The humor is generally sexual, but not of the gross-out variety, despite being from “Road Trip” writers Todd Phillips and Scot Armstrong (Phillips also directed both films).

Vaughn gets off a few good lines and Wilson is OK, but it’s Ferrell whom viewers will remember. As he has proven on “Saturday Night Live” and multiple small film roles, he excels at loosy-goosey, dignity-free merriment and can deliver even the most average of punch lines with enough lunacy to merit a laugh.

“Old School” has its ups and downs, but its raucous, casual attitude is infectious. For its genre -- ridiculous, subversive films that young people like -- it’s above-average, and a nice reminder that when you get right down to it, college is pretty silly.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7058&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/05/03 16:45:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/01/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Earmuffs! Favorite college comedy in awhile and one of Will Ferrell's best! 5 stars
8/31/08 PAUL SHORTT THIN AND OCCASIONALLY TOXIC, CREATING A SORT OF CINEMATIC WASTING 1 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will can't act 1 stars
8/15/06 Ashley Hinz Weirdest Ferrell movie to date. 4 stars
6/15/06 Billy Totallty fun 4 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor The funniest movie of 2003 5 stars
5/16/06 Sully "you're my boy Blue!!!"......."you look glorious!!!" 5 stars
12/03/05 Indrid Cold The fact that some of it's funny elevates it above average, but nothing to write home about 4 stars
8/16/05 ES Animal house never got me coming back for more= Blue is the man 4 stars
6/01/05 tatum Often funny, but never gets hysterical 3 stars
5/30/05 Phil Extemely funny but suprisingly unknown. Watch out for the dart scene - Ouch! 5 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson It's ANIMAL HOUSE lite, without John Landis' spirited direction & performances. A SHAME!!!! 2 stars
11/27/04 soxfan It's hilarious, a modern Animal House, a new classic 5 stars
9/19/04 Ghetto Smurf Not that funny. 2 stars
9/10/04 jeff i agree with asina, more boobs and booties :) 4 stars
9/09/04 J Funny as hell! 5 stars
9/07/04 BoomerSooner Gets funnier after 20 views 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton I loved the dart scene 4 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues for vince vaughn... he's adorable!!!! 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G its ok 3 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton Farrel and the Crew did it again, very funny 4 stars
7/29/04 JD greatest movie ever...hasn't even gotten old after 100 plus views 5 stars
7/26/04 andrew apodaca crap 1 stars
7/13/04 asina Disappointing. Needs more naked boobs. 3 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I also usually despise films of this sort but Ferrel is great as Frank! 5 stars
3/22/04 Goofy Maxwell Some funny antics, some pretty hot chicks, some rocks tied to ****s...OK, I guess~ 3 stars
3/07/04 Zach G. Awful- Call that COMEDY? What's going on?? Abrasive..... A 15 year old sleepover movie. 1 stars
2/16/04 HorrorScribbler Not exactly the second coming of Animal House, but not bad. Weird to see Piven as a Dean. 4 stars
2/12/04 JAY SHEPPARD THIS MOVIE IS BAD ASS 5 stars
1/29/04 Rapunzel Gladstone When it takes months to catch what the title means, it shouldn't take longer to care. 2 stars
1/22/04 none funny 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Ok, why wouldn't you like this film. 5 stars
12/17/03 Brother NIanno only to a retarted toddler would this movie be more than just a shit-fest, it's a bore 2 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth "Were Going Streaking!" Modern Comedy Classic! 5 stars
11/18/03 NWO4LIFE Starts out amusing, then gets duller and duller. 2 stars
10/25/03 Samuel "Yer' my boy Blue!" I loved this movie it had Titties, Beer, and Stiffler with a mullet! 5 stars
10/23/03 Mike Wardick Blue is tha man. You can not die any better than KY wrestling with two naked women. 5 stars
9/25/03 Megan AWESOME MOVIE, SO WORTH IT 5 stars
9/25/03 kyle debell the funniest movie out 5 stars
9/15/03 Todd Klosterman Fuckin awesome 5 stars
8/11/03 The Savage Come on, it's got Snoop Dogg in it. So it's required to kick ass 5 stars
8/11/03 SB Very funny - "Ear muffs" 4 stars
8/01/03 Jon A Laugh a minute 5 stars
8/01/03 TLsmooth "Denver. The Sunshine State. Gorgeous." It doesn't get funnier than that. 5 stars
7/24/03 Wendy funny as hell 5 stars
7/22/03 Angelica this movie is sooooo money! absolutely hilarious! funnier every time u watch it! 5 stars
7/11/03 rick good, but coulda been better 4 stars
7/09/03 Stephen Crawford It's a comedy. Nobody cares if it has no plot, and isn't filmed well. Just shut up, fag. 5 stars
7/03/03 Stiles Hot and cold. Flat plot, but very funny vignettes. Will Farrell was hilarious. 3 stars
6/28/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite For once I agree w/ Scott Weinberg. I like raunchy humor, but this is just raunchy. 2 stars
6/25/03 B Love This site sucks my hairy balls!! Please make it better. 1 stars
6/21/03 Mike B This movie F'n rocked!!! 5 stars
6/21/03 dana one of the funniest movies i've seen in a while....bought the dvd as soon as it came out 5 stars
6/20/03 Jeff Thsi movie is great. You must accept it for what it is. Vince is the man, baby. 5 stars
6/19/03 Susan Hilarious! 5 stars
6/14/03 Heather It's Glorious! 5 stars
6/13/03 Geo78665 The first 15 minutes are decent. Then it becomes uneven. Then boring. 2 stars
6/11/03 FLiK A cure for depression 5 stars
6/11/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
5/31/03 Ryan Macmahon This is one crappy website 2 stars
5/12/03 Shadaan Felfeli worth a few laughs. The wedding singer and Ferrel (doing artistic gymnastics) were funny 2 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones so stupid it was good...vaughn and farrell are hilarious...only frat i like 4 stars
4/24/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite For once I agree w/ Scott Weinberg. I like raunchy humor, but this is just raunchy. 2 stars
4/17/03 Killer Katers This movie was hysterically funny though the plot was severely lacking 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Painfully Unfunny "Comedy" With Wasted Farrell and Vaghn In Horrid Roles. 1 stars
3/31/03 Edler 1 huge hilarious mountain of garbage! Complete crap but I loved it! 5 stars
3/25/03 Katie I'm in college, and the main guys in it reminded me of something that my friends would do. 3 stars
3/22/03 James VG This is the kind of movie to see on a Friday night when you need to laugh out loud. 4 stars
3/16/03 sra this film was so disappointing, had lots of potential, but ended up sucking 2 stars
3/14/03 Jin I laughed all the way through. You reviewers need to lighten up or just get some. 5 stars
3/13/03 YOUR MY BOY BLUE!!! - your my boy thou shalt not sayest thine ''is crap'' - will ferrell is god. i suggest you recognize. 5 stars
3/13/03 Roy Smith This is what the "C+" grade was invented for. 3 stars
3/10/03 Hugh Like Something About Mary in that it has a few scenes that will have you just dying. 5 stars
3/09/03 keith wow scott weinberg is has no sense of humor or has a huge dildo in his ass! 5 stars
3/09/03 the white rabbit the van sequence was brilliant. laughed so hard i almost pissed myself 5 stars
3/09/03 Josh Big laughs. Will Ferrell is going to be one of the funniest people in movies. 4 stars
3/07/03 Fish Eye Not as funny as expected, but definitely worth seeing for Ferrell 4 stars
3/07/03 Joe This crap is what the studios think they can pass off a funny, well it's not 1 stars
3/05/03 james fucking funny 5 stars
3/05/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! Come on, if you think this is "awesome" you're either dumb or on the studio payroll. 2 stars
3/04/03 Matt An Animal House for the MTV generation, f**king hilarious 5 stars
3/02/03 John Similar to Animal house, except without good acting, humor, and plot. Otherwise, same movie 1 stars
3/01/03 Bob Jones It was great 5 stars
2/27/03 Mark Lianza A funny film that was based on Animal house deserves credit for its non-stop laughter. 5 stars
2/26/03 Elisha Cuthbert's A-hole Stare at me in my pink underwear 5 stars
2/26/03 nick2k the pacing was all wrong, too much of a romantic film, and need more frat hijinks. sorry... 2 stars
2/26/03 GMan tits and ass, man... hot, droopy, pock-marked man ass... 3 stars
2/26/03 Andrew Carden Someone Needs To Just Kill Will Ferrell. 1 stars
2/26/03 Cookie By no means Oscar material and by no means razzie material. A funny, wacky film! 4 stars
2/26/03 ArdRhi What happened to "sucks all ass?" 1 stars
2/25/03 Wha? Don't expect much and you wont be dissappointed 4 stars
2/24/03 joe good 5 stars
2/24/03 FrayLo It's funny...but not laugh every 5 seconds funny. 4 stars
2/24/03 mara z. funny movie. some cheezy silliness, but still really funny 4 stars
2/24/03 Mr. Burns First 2/3 Great. Last 1/3 Okay. Take the boys with you to see it. 4 stars
2/24/03 Peter Bunzl Great comedy! 5 stars
2/23/03 Yo Mama! Aw c'mon. It wasn't that bad. Good laughs. Good cast. Good Movie! 4 stars
2/23/03 Bombadil Constant laughs, not the greatest movie, but good for the guys out there 4 stars
2/23/03 Vicious Pretty funny, Will Farrel is the highlight. 4 stars
2/23/03 Saddam My camel died after being exposed to this wretched film 1 stars
2/23/03 davebo same old same old, not terribly funny 2 stars
2/22/03 Mark Mills I laughed and laughed, never too much at once but plenty all over. 5 stars
2/21/03 Mortis So Fuckin' HILARIOUS! I saw it for free, I will pay to see it again. 5 stars
2/20/03 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla Will Farrell was great, Vince Vaughn was very good, Luke Wilson was also in it. 4 stars
2/18/03 steve this movie is fuckin hilarious! funniest movie I've seen in a real long time 5 stars
2/17/03 los angeles matt awesome, if you are in college you will love this move, and if not you'll still laugh a lot 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Feb-2003 (R)
  DVD: 10-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-May-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast