More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.6

Awesome32.89%
Worth A Look: 32.21%
Average: 9.4%
Pretty Bad: 13.42%
Total Crap: 12.08%

7 reviews, 107 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

Predestination by Jay Seaver

Faults by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Brett Gallman

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Old School
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"For a crappy collegiate comedy, it's fairly solid."
4 stars

This is going to be one short review, because I've got a ton of things to do today. You saw the previews. Did you laugh at them at all? If you did, you'll probably laugh at the movie. It is what it is, and while it's no ANIMAL HOUSE, it's no VAN WILDER either.

The plot is the basic Animal House meets Road Trip (same director) meets Revenge of the Nerds with a few Fight Club scenes thrown in verbatim. There is no plot worth expounding on, just a string of gags - some of which are hysterically funny. As usual with a comedy like this, it starts to wear out its welcome around the 80 minute mark, but has the decency to not dredge on past the 90 minute moratorium set aside for crappy genre comedies.

The cast is competent, nothing more or less. Will Farrell plays the 40 year old newlywed who has not progressed mentally or emotionally beyond his high school drinking years. His antics as "Frank the Tank" are consistently amusing for the most part, and he doesn't play it out for too long like in Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back or Zoolander (and really, what wasn't too fucking long about that stinkfist fest?) Likewise, Vince Vaughan does the same shtick as usual as the pushy, extroverted friend with either a "get rich" or "get laid" quick scheme. He's not as funny as he was in Swingers (nor will he ever be again), but he's not ponderously overbearing like he was in Made either. Luke Wilson plays the somewhat bemused straight man Mitch, and as usual provides no real laughs on his own but occasionally makes for a good springboard. The likes of Andy Dick and Craig Kilborne show up for roles so brief they're practically cameos, while Artie Lang has a cameo so brief he's practically not in the movie. Jeremy Piven plays the humorless asshole college dean, using the paint-by-numbers "Scheming Dean Wermer" template. Most of the female cast has thankless roles, as they're either playing college sluts or bitchy wives, although Ellen Pompeo lights up the screen a bit as Mitch's old high school crush who he unexpectedly crosses paths with.

It's nothing special, but what were you expecting? It's got comedy. It's got Titties. It's got Beer. It's got K-Y Jelly wrestling. It's got Snoop Dogg. That combination can't be ALL bad, can it?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7058&reviewer=258
originally posted: 02/25/03 09:18:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/01/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Earmuffs! Favorite college comedy in awhile and one of Will Ferrell's best! 5 stars
8/31/08 PAUL SHORTT THIN AND OCCASIONALLY TOXIC, CREATING A SORT OF CINEMATIC WASTING 1 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will can't act 1 stars
8/15/06 Ashley Hinz Weirdest Ferrell movie to date. 4 stars
6/15/06 Billy Totallty fun 4 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor The funniest movie of 2003 5 stars
5/16/06 Sully "you're my boy Blue!!!"......."you look glorious!!!" 5 stars
12/03/05 Indrid Cold The fact that some of it's funny elevates it above average, but nothing to write home about 4 stars
8/16/05 ES Animal house never got me coming back for more= Blue is the man 4 stars
6/01/05 tatum Often funny, but never gets hysterical 3 stars
5/30/05 Phil Extemely funny but suprisingly unknown. Watch out for the dart scene - Ouch! 5 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson It's ANIMAL HOUSE lite, without John Landis' spirited direction & performances. A SHAME!!!! 2 stars
11/27/04 soxfan It's hilarious, a modern Animal House, a new classic 5 stars
9/19/04 Ghetto Smurf Not that funny. 2 stars
9/10/04 jeff i agree with asina, more boobs and booties :) 4 stars
9/09/04 J Funny as hell! 5 stars
9/07/04 BoomerSooner Gets funnier after 20 views 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton I loved the dart scene 4 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues for vince vaughn... he's adorable!!!! 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G its ok 3 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton Farrel and the Crew did it again, very funny 4 stars
7/29/04 JD greatest movie ever...hasn't even gotten old after 100 plus views 5 stars
7/26/04 andrew apodaca crap 1 stars
7/13/04 asina Disappointing. Needs more naked boobs. 3 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I also usually despise films of this sort but Ferrel is great as Frank! 5 stars
3/22/04 Goofy Maxwell Some funny antics, some pretty hot chicks, some rocks tied to ****s...OK, I guess~ 3 stars
3/07/04 Zach G. Awful- Call that COMEDY? What's going on?? Abrasive..... A 15 year old sleepover movie. 1 stars
2/16/04 HorrorScribbler Not exactly the second coming of Animal House, but not bad. Weird to see Piven as a Dean. 4 stars
2/12/04 JAY SHEPPARD THIS MOVIE IS BAD ASS 5 stars
1/29/04 Rapunzel Gladstone When it takes months to catch what the title means, it shouldn't take longer to care. 2 stars
1/22/04 none funny 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Ok, why wouldn't you like this film. 5 stars
12/17/03 Brother NIanno only to a retarted toddler would this movie be more than just a shit-fest, it's a bore 2 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth "Were Going Streaking!" Modern Comedy Classic! 5 stars
11/18/03 NWO4LIFE Starts out amusing, then gets duller and duller. 2 stars
10/25/03 Samuel "Yer' my boy Blue!" I loved this movie it had Titties, Beer, and Stiffler with a mullet! 5 stars
10/23/03 Mike Wardick Blue is tha man. You can not die any better than KY wrestling with two naked women. 5 stars
9/25/03 Megan AWESOME MOVIE, SO WORTH IT 5 stars
9/25/03 kyle debell the funniest movie out 5 stars
9/15/03 Todd Klosterman Fuckin awesome 5 stars
8/11/03 The Savage Come on, it's got Snoop Dogg in it. So it's required to kick ass 5 stars
8/11/03 SB Very funny - "Ear muffs" 4 stars
8/01/03 Jon A Laugh a minute 5 stars
8/01/03 TLsmooth "Denver. The Sunshine State. Gorgeous." It doesn't get funnier than that. 5 stars
7/24/03 Wendy funny as hell 5 stars
7/22/03 Angelica this movie is sooooo money! absolutely hilarious! funnier every time u watch it! 5 stars
7/11/03 rick good, but coulda been better 4 stars
7/09/03 Stephen Crawford It's a comedy. Nobody cares if it has no plot, and isn't filmed well. Just shut up, fag. 5 stars
7/03/03 Stiles Hot and cold. Flat plot, but very funny vignettes. Will Farrell was hilarious. 3 stars
6/28/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite For once I agree w/ Scott Weinberg. I like raunchy humor, but this is just raunchy. 2 stars
6/25/03 B Love This site sucks my hairy balls!! Please make it better. 1 stars
6/21/03 Mike B This movie F'n rocked!!! 5 stars
6/21/03 dana one of the funniest movies i've seen in a while....bought the dvd as soon as it came out 5 stars
6/20/03 Jeff Thsi movie is great. You must accept it for what it is. Vince is the man, baby. 5 stars
6/19/03 Susan Hilarious! 5 stars
6/14/03 Heather It's Glorious! 5 stars
6/13/03 Geo78665 The first 15 minutes are decent. Then it becomes uneven. Then boring. 2 stars
6/11/03 FLiK A cure for depression 5 stars
6/11/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
5/31/03 Ryan Macmahon This is one crappy website 2 stars
5/12/03 Shadaan Felfeli worth a few laughs. The wedding singer and Ferrel (doing artistic gymnastics) were funny 2 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones so stupid it was good...vaughn and farrell are hilarious...only frat i like 4 stars
4/24/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite For once I agree w/ Scott Weinberg. I like raunchy humor, but this is just raunchy. 2 stars
4/17/03 Killer Katers This movie was hysterically funny though the plot was severely lacking 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Painfully Unfunny "Comedy" With Wasted Farrell and Vaghn In Horrid Roles. 1 stars
3/31/03 Edler 1 huge hilarious mountain of garbage! Complete crap but I loved it! 5 stars
3/25/03 Katie I'm in college, and the main guys in it reminded me of something that my friends would do. 3 stars
3/22/03 James VG This is the kind of movie to see on a Friday night when you need to laugh out loud. 4 stars
3/16/03 sra this film was so disappointing, had lots of potential, but ended up sucking 2 stars
3/14/03 Jin I laughed all the way through. You reviewers need to lighten up or just get some. 5 stars
3/13/03 YOUR MY BOY BLUE!!! - your my boy thou shalt not sayest thine ''is crap'' - will ferrell is god. i suggest you recognize. 5 stars
3/13/03 Roy Smith This is what the "C+" grade was invented for. 3 stars
3/10/03 Hugh Like Something About Mary in that it has a few scenes that will have you just dying. 5 stars
3/09/03 keith wow scott weinberg is has no sense of humor or has a huge dildo in his ass! 5 stars
3/09/03 the white rabbit the van sequence was brilliant. laughed so hard i almost pissed myself 5 stars
3/09/03 Josh Big laughs. Will Ferrell is going to be one of the funniest people in movies. 4 stars
3/07/03 Fish Eye Not as funny as expected, but definitely worth seeing for Ferrell 4 stars
3/07/03 Joe This crap is what the studios think they can pass off a funny, well it's not 1 stars
3/05/03 james fucking funny 5 stars
3/05/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! Come on, if you think this is "awesome" you're either dumb or on the studio payroll. 2 stars
3/04/03 Matt An Animal House for the MTV generation, f**king hilarious 5 stars
3/02/03 John Similar to Animal house, except without good acting, humor, and plot. Otherwise, same movie 1 stars
3/01/03 Bob Jones It was great 5 stars
2/27/03 Mark Lianza A funny film that was based on Animal house deserves credit for its non-stop laughter. 5 stars
2/26/03 Elisha Cuthbert's A-hole Stare at me in my pink underwear 5 stars
2/26/03 nick2k the pacing was all wrong, too much of a romantic film, and need more frat hijinks. sorry... 2 stars
2/26/03 GMan tits and ass, man... hot, droopy, pock-marked man ass... 3 stars
2/26/03 Andrew Carden Someone Needs To Just Kill Will Ferrell. 1 stars
2/26/03 Cookie By no means Oscar material and by no means razzie material. A funny, wacky film! 4 stars
2/26/03 ArdRhi What happened to "sucks all ass?" 1 stars
2/25/03 Wha? Don't expect much and you wont be dissappointed 4 stars
2/24/03 joe good 5 stars
2/24/03 FrayLo It's funny...but not laugh every 5 seconds funny. 4 stars
2/24/03 mara z. funny movie. some cheezy silliness, but still really funny 4 stars
2/24/03 Mr. Burns First 2/3 Great. Last 1/3 Okay. Take the boys with you to see it. 4 stars
2/24/03 Peter Bunzl Great comedy! 5 stars
2/23/03 Yo Mama! Aw c'mon. It wasn't that bad. Good laughs. Good cast. Good Movie! 4 stars
2/23/03 Bombadil Constant laughs, not the greatest movie, but good for the guys out there 4 stars
2/23/03 Vicious Pretty funny, Will Farrel is the highlight. 4 stars
2/23/03 Saddam My camel died after being exposed to this wretched film 1 stars
2/23/03 davebo same old same old, not terribly funny 2 stars
2/22/03 Mark Mills I laughed and laughed, never too much at once but plenty all over. 5 stars
2/21/03 Mortis So Fuckin' HILARIOUS! I saw it for free, I will pay to see it again. 5 stars
2/20/03 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla Will Farrell was great, Vince Vaughn was very good, Luke Wilson was also in it. 4 stars
2/18/03 steve this movie is fuckin hilarious! funniest movie I've seen in a real long time 5 stars
2/17/03 los angeles matt awesome, if you are in college you will love this move, and if not you'll still laugh a lot 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Feb-2003 (R)
  DVD: 10-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-May-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast