More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.02

Awesome57.63%
Worth A Look: 15.25%
Average: 5.08%
Pretty Bad: 15.25%
Total Crap: 6.78%

3 reviews, 41 user ratings



Bridges of Madison County, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"I was dragged to see Bridges, don't let it happen to you...."
2 stars

Trust your instincts on this one.

Look, I have no problem with Streep or Eastwood. I like them both fine, but Bridges was not a highlight in either's careers.

Bridges of Madison County is based on the book of the same name by Waller, which spent untold number of weeks on the bestseller list appealing to every middle-aged lonely women (who we all know have the money to spend on a hardcover to satisfy their poor lives with some tepid romantic fiction) in America.
Let's get it out in the open, I'm a girl, I know this movie was aimed at me, and I found it laughable. I was also insulted. Rest easy, I put solid blame on Waller who has made a career out of peddling this kind of crap. Hollywood can't help buying the rights to a bestselling book, Hollywood wants to make MONEY. Getting the rights to Bridges was guarenteed to draw in the overweight housewife and her unfulfulled corporate cousin in droves to the box-office. To get a higher draw, the suits were smart and they cast the big names, Eastwood in particular, to help draw out the reluctant male counterpart to the romance-starved woman.
Its easy to tell Streep and Eastwood could have phoned in the parts. Streep plays Francesca, the Italian War Bride, who settled in Iowa and into placid domesticity (where's Friedan when you need her!) Eastwood, the dashing (I'm sorry, can Dirty Harry be _dashing_?) and worldy photographer sweeps into her life and they have a whirlwind love-affair. Francesca's husband and kids are at the state fair (no doubt parading the hogs while mom is screwing the dashing [?] camera guy.)
I was insulted by the indictment of marriage. I was insulted by the story of a shooting star love that was only good for a miniscule increment of time. I was insulted to be offered Eastwood as a love interest. I was insulted by Streep's accent!

You can't blame Hollywood for wanting a cash crop. Its not their fault Bridges became a bestseller, precluding the film option. They were just trying to make a buck--right?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=706&reviewer=44
originally posted: 11/11/98 18:35:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/24/16 roger He expects a one-night-stand...She wants a LTR HA 1 stars
6/09/16 Mike This movie hits all the soft spots in your heart. Keep the kleenex close! 5 stars
9/21/14 PAUL SHORTT SOLID, WELL CRAFTED LOVE STORY, WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
3/14/14 Quigley I appreciate this film more for the atmosphere than the morals. 4 stars
5/04/10 Roger Iverson She expects him to make a COMMITMENT after sleeping together for 1 night? Give me a break 1 stars
3/22/08 Pamela White Heartwarming to see Clints soft side 4 stars
9/28/07 mr.mike only saw it as a Clint completist , dragged after 1 hour 2 stars
5/12/07 Helena my all time favourite movie. Allows you to dream and think 'what if .....' 5 stars
4/30/07 Francesca Jo This is the best movie I've ever seen. Beautiful and sad at the same time and very real. 5 stars
4/26/07 jun tena A must see movie.You'll sure love it! 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies Shame on you clint! This movie will neuter any man 1 stars
8/15/06 Sepi53 very very good romance 5 stars
6/15/05 Bridges or Bust One of the favorite love stories of all time ... 5 stars
5/13/05 Jennifer Regan Very heartwarming, highly recommend 5 stars
7/01/04 george perfect,perfect,perfect,perfect,perfect 5 stars
2/25/04 john surprisingly Eastwood delivers a serious and honest film from a romance novel like plot 4 stars
12/22/03 R.W. Welch Low key Brief Encounter flick is pokey but you can't knock the acting. 3 stars
7/31/03 Tatyana This film makes the soul vibrate and the memory revive 5 stars
6/22/03 Wanda Better every time I see it 5 stars
6/15/03 skf Awesome! Loved it! 5 stars
6/10/03 nee I have loved this filmed ever since I first saw it. Its the most beautiful movie 5 stars
5/16/03 mr. Pink An okay movie which could have been worse, which applies also to Streep 3 stars
5/08/03 Andrew Carden Sappy, but Unlifting Film With Amazing Performances By Eastwood & Streep. 4 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby A near-perfect film. Beautifully acted, sensitively directed. 5 stars
4/24/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Tedious storyline but impressive performances by leads 4 stars
4/05/02 Scott Sumner Uh, no. Tearfully.....tedious. 2 stars
5/09/01 amanda i thought the book was absolutely boring what a waste of time 1 stars
7/06/00 Jesús García Razcón Streep gives another excellent performance. 5 stars
6/08/00 TERRIE SMITH Well done; exceptional performances from Eastwood and Streep. A bittersweet story . 5 stars
5/19/00 tank A moving romance with Eastwood displaying deep emotion. Streep is excellent. . 4 stars
4/11/00 Elvisfan Meryl Streep is the best actor, male or female, that I've ever seen in my forty years 5 stars
4/02/00 LucyB Wonderful movie. Makes you cry burt not for the usual reasons Includes VERY powerful scene 4 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright One big slopfest which will appeal only to the romantic, the guillable or the infirm. 2 stars
10/26/99 KC The three-hanky weepie, deconstructed. Eastwood's direction is masterful. 5 stars
10/24/99 little jerry The Man With No Name finally falls in love.No wonder when the woman is Meryl. 5 stars
8/11/99 Alex Lee The best love romance I have ever seen,Streep is the best actress especially here ! 5 stars
7/30/99 Ditte Frederiksen It's the best film ever ! 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Very powerful love story. You gotta see it!! 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn ending was the most profound thing i've ever seen, I bawled yet again..hey, this is a trend 5 stars
1/24/99 Hannah At times, interesting. At times, achingly boring. Liked Streep, though. 3 stars
9/05/98 Badass I dug it. THe secene with the two trucks at the end is wonderful 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Oct-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast