More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.74

Awesome: 24.39%
Worth A Look: 19.51%
Average: 4.88%
Pretty Bad: 8.54%
Total Crap42.68%

2 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Judge Dredd
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A pox on Stallone's house and all those who reside within."
1 stars

This film hurt me in a way not many others could. Financially.

I was an avid collector of the Judge Dredd comic books way back. Had 'em all. Big collection. All bagged and backed and boxed and perfect. I knew the comic was awesome, but I also knew it woule become mainstream one day and my collection would be worth a fortune.

Then Stallone came along and destroyed it all. His portrayal of Judge Dredd was so terrrible, so worthless, so completely without merit, that as this dud of a movie died at the box office, so too the comic died with it.

Let's be straight. It takes a reaally bad movie to kill off a comics line. The punisher movie stank to high heaven but the comics line stuck around. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles bastardised the original comics line, but it didn't kill it off.

But Sly Stallone, and his god-awful lack of acting skills, coupled with the director's awful portrayal of what should have been a production designer's dream project, meant that this film will always be remembered as a terrible, terrible film, and not a well written, original comic book series.

And with that, my collection was worthless.

Thanks a fucking lot, Sly. You owe me, you bastard.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=711&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/31/98 00:34:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/18/10 Brian Crap. Nothing more. Especially the thoroughly silly outfits 1 stars
1/23/10 Dr.Lao Captures the look and feel of Mega-City 1, sure wish I could understand what Stallone says 3 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder They called it Dredd because there was no room for pathetic. 1 stars
10/29/07 Jack Sommersby Fairly entertaining for the undemanding. 3 stars
9/12/07 julie walden loved it 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Assante really tries to sell his villain, but this is RANCID PILE OF SCUM SHIT 1 stars
10/01/06 Anus SHIT 1 stars
6/01/06 tatum Rob Schneider singlehandedly ruins a decent action flick 2 stars
2/28/06 Anthony Feor Stallone should consider retirement 1 stars
1/26/06 JM Synth I might be alone on this but I loved it. 5 stars
7/29/05 tony i agree with parry. sly owes us for this shit! 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A dreadful film. Avoid it at all costs. 1 stars
2/21/05 Sugarfoot Embarrassing! 1 stars
1/23/05 Jeff Anderson JUDGE DRECK IS MORE LIKE IT!! VERY BADLY DIRECTED AND WHAT A WASTE OF A GREAT CAST!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/05/04 Mixy "Awesome"? WTF? It's TERRIBLE! 1 stars
5/05/04 gray fun and funny +good music 4 stars
2/29/04 Nixon good action movie, and stallone is great with his dry humor. great costumes! 5 stars
11/30/03 john bad action bad story - forced jokes one of the worst action films ever 1 stars
3/27/03 prabin thapa very sexy 5 stars
3/02/03 Monster W. Kung The ONLY decent thing was the robot. The rest blows my dog. 1 stars
12/12/02 Vince Boring. Crappy costumes. Total Crap. 1 stars
9/25/02 Jr. The movie was awsome, and being 7 years old, it still kicks ass 5 stars
9/03/02 Ramblin Wreck OZ,,,, hate to say it but your wrong ..........this is an okay watch. 4 stars
8/10/02 Lucy C This movie is one of the best i have ever seen. Sly is in good form, this is an A+ movie. 5 stars
8/08/02 Raymond this movie rocks 5 stars
7/13/02 JC One of the best movies ever! 5 stars
6/11/02 Stori Long I absolutely loved the movie. I don't see why so many people hated it. It 5 stars
6/01/02 Rachael Hinton It's cool 4 stars
5/22/02 The Crimson Becard Princess Stallone not as bad as OZ thinks; film's just a lurid dark mess! 1 stars
4/24/02 Judge Dredd Pure orgasmic extasy does not describe this work. The greatest thing ever created period. 5 stars
3/10/02 julie walden fantastic, stallone in lycra.....wow!!! 5 stars
1/09/02 Mr. Hat Cool. Sly's in it, and Rob Schneider makes it a lot better than it could've been. 4 stars
12/13/01 StampedeUSMC Only complaint was that it was too short!!! OUTSTANDING OTHERWISE!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/09/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A good comic book turned into a movie film!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/01/01 Blazefire84 It didn't stand up to the comics, but every bit of movie=money, pencils cheap. I liked it. 4 stars
11/28/01 KMG I'd rather stick my head in a hippo's ass then see 2 minutes of this again! 2 stars
11/02/01 dff thgh shit, what a waste of time 1 stars
9/24/01 Lesean Favors loved it 5 stars
9/20/01 Buzzkill I thought it was a worthwhile movie. The fault was not in Stallone but in poor production. 4 stars
8/30/01 donald alan webster actually i liked this film. itis one of stallone's better vehicles. I THOOUGHT IT CAPTU 4 stars
8/28/01 Judge Dredd Brilliant! 5 stars
7/03/01 Teenager Yah I thought that movie kicked.. an' I ain't under 10.... Comic is better.. but whatcha go 4 stars
6/08/01 DOUG BRONSON IT WAS COOL MAN!! 5 stars
5/28/01 JT_KIRK I liked the ADC robot best! :) 4 stars
4/29/01 Onyango Excellent, extravagant, exclusive and all the exesis 5 stars
4/18/01 amey awesome 5 stars
4/01/01 Kostas K. its one of the best movies,i've ever seen 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung This one blows! 1 stars
3/12/01 Greg Wotton Typical Drokking Hollywood. Typical Drokking Yanks 1 stars
2/04/01 Josh Richard That movie totaly rocked 5 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin Brill/sprite6190044 and Ground Zero. You two are great. 1 stars
10/31/00 Emma Bozuwa If Your considering watching it dont! Its a waste of time. 1 stars
10/05/00 lainey louise worth watching to see a cool rob schnieder 4 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero Sly dug an early grave with this movie 1 stars
9/08/00 Terrie Smith What a waste. Stallone is unbearable and Max von Sydow should know better. 2 stars
8/23/00 zall No wonder Arnie is more popular than Sly 1 stars
8/05/00 Viking Read the comic instead !!! 2 stars
4/07/00 SID Pfff 2 stars
11/09/99 Anita Bath This is a underated Stallone vehicle. It had great special effects. The giant robot was a m 3 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Adriaaaaan , Adriaaaaaaaan . Oh sorry wrong movie ,but it sucked more than the Rocky movies 1 stars
10/15/99 Lame-Oh Oz, you genius! Judge Dredd is STUPID! 1 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Im a big fan of the comic books- this was a major dissapointment. 1 stars
4/02/99 The Incredible Sulk Oz's review is great, Sly really needs some real therapy in being the law. 1 stars
3/27/99 Ah Dooey "You shall respeck mah authorit-ah!" 1 stars
2/16/99 Uncle Roy I yam duh Lawh! Judge Dredd id Dreddfull 1 stars
1/11/99 I.P. Freeley Yowza! That was shit. 1 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep One of those films I can watch over and over again. I know it sucks shite. But I have fun. 3 stars
9/16/98 Trav You know, this movie is very funny. Sadly it was meant to be serious! 2 stars
9/10/98 Johny He is the law? Well, this sucked. 2 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. A fucking disgrace. An abomination of a great premise. Awful. Crap. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Aug-1994 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast